الافتتاحية: هل يقودنا العالم إلى الجنون؟

15 يوليو, 2022
محمد حافظ، "رحلات من حاضر غائب إلى ماض ضائع"، وسائط مختلطة، 2022 (بإذن من الفنان).
لا جدال في أننا نعيش في أوقات مجنونة ، حيث نجتاز سنوات من الطاعون والحرب والهجرة وتغير المناخ - سنوات صعبة يتزايد فيها المرض العقلي.
عندما اجتمع محررونا وقاموا بعصف ذهني لعدد خاص حول MADNESS ، كنا نعتزم بالطبع التحدث عن الصحة العقلية أثناء ونتيجة للعزلة في ظل Covid ، ولكن أيضا مناقشة بعض الأزمات العديدة في اليوم.
قليل منا لديه خبرة كافية لمعرفة كيفية التعامل مع شخص ما في عائلتنا المباشرة يعاني من مرض عقلي ، سواء كان الفصام أو الاكتئاب السريري أو جنون العظمة أو الذهان الكامل. في الولايات المتحدة ، وفقا للتحالف الوطني للأمراض العقلية (NAMI) ، يعاني واحد من كل أربعة بالغين من مرض عقلي في سنة معينة. في فرنسا، تؤكد الأرقام الحكومية، يواجه واحد من كل خمسة بالغين تحديات تتعلق بالصحة العقلية، مما يزعج ما يصل إلى 13 مليون مواطن كل عام. ووجد مشروع بورغن أن أرقاما مماثلة هي الحالة في إيران، على الرغم من أن أكثر من 60٪ من الإيرانيين لا يتلقون أي علاج، في حين أن حوالي 20٪ فقط ممن يعانون من الإجهاد النفسي لديهم إمكانية الوصول الكافي إلى علاج الصحة العقلية. يبدو أن الحصول على أرقام الصحة النفسية في الدول العربية أصعب قليلا.
فيما يتعلق بالانتحار كنتيجة للمرض العقلي ، يذكرنا الروائي الأمريكي الإيراني والمحرر المساهم في TMR سالار عبده بأن "العديد من حالات الانتحار ليست مسألة مرض عقلي ، ولكنها نتيجة جحيم شخصي بسبب الظروف السياسية والتاريخية. إن النساء الأفغانيات اللواتي يقتلن أنفسهن بأعداد كبيرة بعد استيلاء طالبان على السلطة في العام الماضي يفضلن ألا يفعلن ذلك. إذا اختاروا قتل أنفسهم ، فذلك لأنهم لم يتبق لهم خيار آخر. ويمكن القول إن الشيء نفسه ينطبق على الرجال والنساء في إيران، الذين يصلون إلى نهاية حبلهم بسبب المصاعب الاقتصادية، وغالبا ما يكون ذلك نتيجة للعقوبات الاقتصادية القاسية التي تفرضها الولايات المتحدة".
ولمزيد من التوضيح، كما تشير عالمة الأنثروبولوجيا ومحررة جدلية مايا مكداشي، فإن العنف ضد المرأة وقتل الإناث آخذ في الازدياد، بما في ذلك في فرنسا ولبنان ومصر والعراق. "لقد ارتفع العنف ضد المرأة بشكل حاد في جميع أنحاء العالم" ، غردت مؤخرا ، "في سنوات كوفيد / الأزمة الأخيرة".

في مراجعتها للفيلم الفرنسي التونسي "البلوز العربي"، وجدت ميشا جيراكوليس أن التونسيين يعانون من مجموعة من الأمراض العقلية، في حين وجدت دراسة حديثة أن أكثر من 40٪ من التونسيين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع يفكرون في مغادرة البلاد كمهاجرين غير شرعيين. وتستكشف فرح عبد الصمد في مراجعتها للفيلم التجريبي 1941 تأثير الحرب والصدمة على نفسية الرجال والنساء اليمنيين. في مراجعته ل Waves '98 ، يناقش يوسف مانيسا الصحة النفسية للبنانيين في العقود الأخيرة. ويستعرض يوسف رخاوطغرل مندي كتبا جديدة لماجد زاغر وشهد الشمري، التي تشارك مع مجلة المركز مقتطفا من كتابها الأول، الجنون الأدبي في كتابات النساء البريطانية وما بعد الاستعمارية والبدوية، والذي يهدف إلى التحقيق في التمثيلات الأدبية لشخصيات النساء المجانين اللواتي يحتجن على مجتمعاتهن وبيئاتهن.
ويتناول ثلاثة كتاب قصة قصيرة الجنون كنتيجة ثانوية لمحاولة التأقلم، على التوالي، في إيران وإيطاليا/لبنان والقاهرة، في " لاله الكبيرة، لالة الصغيرة " (شقوح مغيمي)، و" إلى أين الآن، يا عصفورة؟" (سارة الكهلي-ميلز)، و" قائمة انتظار الشيطان" (أحمد صلاح المهدي).
وأخيرا، تنظر آني زونيفيلد إلى جنون القرارات الأخيرة الصادرة عن المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة، في كتابها "الثيوقراطية الأميركية والدول الفاشلة".
قد يقودنا العالم إلى الجنون ، لكن مشاركة قصصنا عبر الثقافات والحدود هي إحدى الطرق للتشبث بعقلنا.

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

اصبح عضوا

Editorial: Is the World Driving Us Mad?

15 July, 2022
Mohamed Hafez, “Jour­neys from an Absent Present to a Lost Past,” mixed media, 2022 (cour­tesy of the artist).

 

It’s indis­putable that we live in mad­den­ing times, as we tra­verse years of plague, war, migra­tion and cli­mate change — dif­fi­cult years in which men­tal ill­ness is on the rise.
When our edi­tors got togeth­er and brain­stormed a spe­cial issue on MADNESS, we intend­ed, of course, to talk about men­tal health dur­ing and as a result of iso­la­tion under Covid, but also dis­cuss some of the many crises of the day.
Few of us have enough expe­ri­ence to know how to deal with some­one in our imme­di­ate fam­i­ly who suf­fers from men­tal ill­ness, whether schiz­o­phre­nia, clin­i­cal depres­sion, para­noia or full-throt­tle psy­chosis. In the Unit­ed States, accord­ing to the Nation­al Alliance on Men­tal Ill­ness (NAMI), as many as one in four adults expe­ri­ences men­tal ill­ness in a giv­en year. In France, assert gov­ern­ment fig­ures, one in five adults encoun­ters men­tal health chal­lenges, trou­bling as many as 13 mil­lion cit­i­zens each year. Sim­i­lar fig­ures are the case in Iran, the Bor­gen Project found, although over 60% of Ira­ni­ans receive no treat­ment while only about 20% who suf­fer psy­chic stress have ade­quate access to men­tal health treat­ment. Men­tal health fig­ures in Arab coun­tries appear a lit­tle hard­er to come by.
Regard­ing sui­cide as an out­come of men­tal ill­ness, Iran­ian Amer­i­can nov­el­ist and TMR con­tribut­ing edi­tor Salar Abdoh reminds us that, “Many sui­cides are not a mat­ter of men­tal ill­ness, but the result of a per­son­al hell due to polit­i­cal and his­tor­i­cal cir­cum­stances. The Afghan women killing them­selves in droves after the Tal­iban took over last year would much rather not do so; if they choose to kill them­selves, it is because they are left with no oth­er option. The same can be said to be true of men and women in Iran, who reach the end of their teth­er due to eco­nom­ic hard­ship, often as a result of the harsh eco­nom­ic sanc­tions enforced by the Unit­ed States.”
By way of fur­ther expla­na­tion, as anthro­pol­o­gist and Jadaliyya edi­tor Maya Mik­dashi notes, vio­lence against women and femi­cide is on the rise, includ­ing in France, Lebanon, Egypt and Iraq. “Vio­lence against women has risen sharply around the world,” she tweet­ed recent­ly, “in recent Covid/crisis years.” 
 

 
In her review of the Fran­co-Tunisian film Arab Blues, Mis­cha Ger­a­coulis finds that Tunisians suf­fer from a range of men­tal mal­adies, while a recent study found that over 40% of Tunisians sur­veyed would con­sid­er leav­ing the coun­try as undoc­u­ment­ed immi­grants. And Farah Abdessamad in her review of the exper­i­men­tal film 1941, explores the effect of war and trau­ma on the psy­che of Yemeni men and women. In his review of Waves ’98, Youssef Manes­sa dis­cuss­es the men­tal health of Lebanese in recent decades. And Youssef Rakha and Tugrul Mende review new books, by Maged Zager and Shahd Alsham­mari, who shares with TMR an excerpt from her first book, Lit­er­ary Mad­ness In British, Post­colo­nial, and Bedouin Women’s Writ­ing, which aims to inves­ti­gate lit­er­ary rep­re­sen­ta­tions of mad­women fig­ures who protest against their respec­tive soci­eties and environments.
And three short sto­ry writ­ers tack­le mad­ness as a byprod­uct of try­ing to cope, respec­tive­ly, in Iran, Italy/Lebanon and Cairo, in “Big Laleh, Lit­tle Laleh” (Shok­ouh Moghi­mi), “Where to Now, Ya Asfoura?” (Sarah AlKahly-Mills), and “The Dev­il’s Wait­ing List” (Ahmed Salah Al-Mahdi).
Final­ly, Ani Zon­n­eveld looks at the mad­ness of the US Supreme Court’s recent deci­sions, in “Amer­i­can Theoc­ra­cy and Failed States.”
The world may be dri­ving us crazy, but shar­ing our sto­ries across cul­tures and bor­ders is one way to hang on to our sanity.