زياد كلثوم: مسار مخرج سوري

15 سبتمبر, 2022
المخرج السوري زياد كلثوم في النصب التذكاري للهولوكوست في برلين (حقوق الصورة لزياد كلثوم).

 

حاورته فيولا شفيق

 

زياد كلثوم هو مخرج أفلام من الجيل الجديد من سوريا حائز على جوائز. أخرج ثلاثة أفلام وثائقية إبداعية، "يا قلبي" (أيدال أيوها القلب، 2011)، و"الرقيب الخالد"، و"طعم الإسمنت" (تعم الأصمد، 2017). في حين تم حظر الفيلم الأول في سوريا عندما صدر ، حيث يصور قرية كردية سورية ، أصبح الثاني سردا شخصيا للغاية لتجربة المخرج في الجيش الذي يوثق في الوقت نفسه صنع "سلم إلى دمشق" (سلوم دمشق ، 2011) للمخضرم محمد ملس. تم تصوير فيلم كلثوم الثالث بالكامل في المنفى، وهو فيلم وثائقي "واقعي سحري" عن عمال البناء السوريين في بيروت. في الوقت الحالي، تعمل كلثوم على فيلم وثائقي جديد ولديها مشروع فيلم روائي قيد التطوير. وهو مقيم في برلين، لكنه انتقل من حمص إلى بيروت وستالينجراد، من بين مدن حرب سابقة أخرى.

 

فيولا شفيق: في مشروعك السينمائي الروائي القادم، تبرز برلين بشكل بارز. أدهشتني جملة واحدة في الاقتراح تقول إنه بالنسبة للشخصية الرئيسية كريم ، وهو مصور سوري ، تمثل برلين مقبرة. لماذا يعيد الاتصال بالحياة فقط عندما يغادر برلين؟

زياد كثوم: أولا، لم أختر برلين. بدلا من ذلك ، اختارتني برلين. جئت إلى برلين لأنني كنت أبحث عن مصمم صوت ل Taste of Cement. في المرة الأولى التي سافرت فيها إلى الخارج وجدت في ستالينجراد (فولغوغراد) في روسيا ، التي كانت خصم برلين في الحرب العالمية الثانية. تم تدمير معظم المدينة. حتى الآن آثار الحرب واضحة وجميع المنحوتات والآثار في المدينة تتعلق بالحرب. عندما عدت إلى سوريا وبدأت الحرب، ذهبت إلى بيروت – بيروت بالطبع كانت مدمرة أيضا، وهذا بينما أنا من حمص، المدينة التي دمرت بدورها بالكامل.

مجيئي من الحرب جعلني أقرأ برلين بشكل مختلف. أشياء كثيرة تثير أسئلة هنا. بالنسبة للزائر الشاب من إسبانيا أو إيطاليا ، تعني برلين Happyland ، وهو المكان الذي يزور فيه النوادي الليلية ويستمتع بالموسيقى والمخدرات وما إلى ذلك. هذه الأرض السعيدة ، أو دعنا نقول أليس في بلاد العجائب مقدر لها أن تثير صدمة سورية. يأتي الناس إلى برلين لتعاطي المخدرات ، للقيام بجولة في النوادي ، والاستمتاع ، وفقدان أنفسهم ، والاستيقاظ مرة أخرى ، وما إلى ذلك. ماذا عن شخص يأتي من الحرب ، إلى مدينة لها علاقة كبيرة بالحرب؟ على سبيل المثال، مكعبات الأسمنت المطلية بالعبث التي تجدها على أرصفة برلين، ستولبرشتاين، لتعثر عليها [في ذكرى سكان برلين اليهود المرحلين]، تذكرني بشواهد القبور التي تحمل اسم الشخص وتاريخ الميلاد والوفاة. بالنسبة للسائح ، فإن أحد الأماكن الأولى التي يجب زيارتها هو النصب التذكاري للهولوكوست (الذي يتحدث عن اليهود المقتولين في أوروبا). إنه أكبر نصب تذكاري في المدينة وأحد مواقعها السياحية الرئيسية. عندما وقفت لأول مرة بين الكتل الإسمنتية الضخمة، ذكروني كثيرا بسوريا بعد الانهيار. عادة، في سوريا تبني منزلا وتترك الأعمدة الخرسانية على السطح لابنك لملء الجدران. من الناحية الرمزية ، يتابع الابن ، ويترك بدوره أعمدة جديدة لابنه وما إلى ذلك. عندما دمرت المنازل، سقطت هذه الأعمدة وحولت المشهد السوري إلى جبل خرساني.

ذكرني النصب التذكاري للهولوكوست أيضا بأن هذا البلد لا يزال من أكبر منتجي الأسلحة ، ويصدرونها إلى العالم. ماذا يعني معرفة أن ألمانيا باعت أسلحة كيميائية لنظام الأسد استخدمها ضد السوريين؟ كيف تم قتل ستة ملايين شخص بالغاز في الهولوكوست ولا يزال هذا النظام ينتج أسلحة كيميائية؟ ويظهر أيضا أننا نعيش في حلقة حرب لا تتوقف، ننتقل من حرب إلى أخرى.

VS: ماذا تعني مساحة الشخص المنفي ، مساحة حقيقية أو بالأحرى مرآة تعكس عالمه الداخلي؟ يبدو أن هذا الأخير هو منطق مشروع فيلمك الروائي.

ز.ك.: في رواياتي، وجد كريم المصور نفسه في موقف لم يختاره: يصبح مصورا للنظام. مهمته هي تصوير المعتقلين. بعد أن ينهي وظيفته سيموتون ، ويصبح شريكا في قتلهم. في برلين، يطارد كريم شبحه، هذا الجندي الذي اعتاد أن يكون في سوريا والذي وقف خلف الكاميرا لتصوير الوجوه. يلتقي به في النصب التذكاري للهولوكوست. تشعر صديقة كريم أو عشيقته أنه على وشك الانهيار وتأخذه إلى الطبيعة. حدث هذا لي في الواقع. وجدت في بولندا مع عائلة غريبة للغاية ، أشخاص يستخدمون لأسباب صحية. عندما جربتهم ورأيت الدم الفاسد يخرج من جسدي ، تخيلت أن الدودة تلتهم اللقطات الدموية من رأسي ، كل صور الحرب هذه في ذاكرتي.

الآن أبدأ أيضا مشروع فيلم وثائقي جديد. تطورت فكرة ذلك منذ حوالي عام وبمحض الصدفة كلا البطلين مصوران. فكرت في الأمر لفترة من الوقت ووجدت أنه من الجيد صنع فيلمين يتناولان معنى الصورة ونوع المصورين الذين نصبح في لحظة الانهيار. كيف يمكن حمل كاميرا يمكن أن تصبح أداة للقتل ، كما في حالة كريم في الخيال. الكاميرا كمسدس. بمجرد أن يضغط على الزر ، يبدو الأمر كما لو أنه أعلن حكم الإعدام للشخص الذي يصوره.

وبالتالي ، أعتبره عرضا من زاويتين مختلفتين. الشخص الذي التقط صورا للنظام يشعر بالذنب ، لديه عقدة الذنب. المصور الثاني، مظفر، صديق قديم، شهد الانتفاضة منذ البداية. ليس لديه عقدة الذنب. لم يكن في أي منصب مسؤول عن التدمير أو القتل وما إلى ذلك. ومع ذلك فهو في حالة من الضياع والحرمان من المكان والأشخاص الذين غادروا أمام عدساته ، الذين وثق وضعهم. في الواقع، كان مظفر من أوائل المصورين الذين وثقوا الثورة. نشرت الصحف من جميع أنحاء العالم صوره. هرب مثل العديد من السوريين ووجد نفسه في روان ، عاصمة نورماندي ، محاطا بمناظر طبيعية رائعة. جاء مونيه والمدرسة الانطباعية من هناك.

ومع ذلك ، نكتشف أنه يعيش في مكان لا تزال فيه آثار الحرب العالمية الثانية حاضرة إلى حد كبير ، لا سيما في هذه المنطقة ، حيث نزل الأمريكيون لتحرير فرنسا من النازيين: الدبابات على شاطئ البحر ، والمقابر الجماعية الضخمة مع الآلاف من الوفيات الناتجة عن الأمريكيين والنازيين القتال في أماكن قريبة. عندما وصل مظفر إلى هناك لأول مرة ، عزل نفسه. ست سنوات قضاها خلف نافذة المطبخ في تصوير المناظر الطبيعية. انتهى به الأمر بإنتاج ضخم. ثم في مرحلة ما يخرج أقراصه الصلبة ويبدأ في طباعة صوره من الحرب في سوريا. هذا هو الموضوع الذي نتناوله ، كيف يختبر شخص في المنفى غارق في مثل هذا المشهد الرائع الظهور المفاجئ لصدمته. 

VS: إذا سألنا زياد، مع من هذين البطلين لديه المزيد من القواسم المشتركة؟

ز.ك.: كنت في موقف كريم. كنت جنديا لكنني لم أجبر على التقاط صور لأشخاص انتقلوا بعد ذلك إلى المقصلة. لقد رأيتني في الرقيب الخالد. في الصباح كنت جنديا يوثق المكان الذي أشعل الحرب، في المساء الذي قضيته مع محمد ملص أجري هذه المقابلات مع أشخاص جاءوا من الأماكن التي ألقيت عليها القنابل. بطريقة ما ، كنت هنا وهناك ولكن ليس بالكامل. التوثيق في لحظة الانهيار، لحظة الدمار والحرب يطرح سؤالا كبيرا، كيف نوثق ومن أي منظور؟ هل أنتج دعاية لحزب معين أم أنني أسجل من وجهة نظري دون انتماء أو تلوين ديني أو قومي؟ ماذا يعني أن تكون شاهدا على آخر تصوير للوجه ، كما هو الحال في حالة سيزار. إذا كنت تتذكر ، ليس لديهم تعبير. صور سيزار 50000 جثة بدون تعبير. كريم هو عكس ذلك ، يلتقط صورتهم الأخيرة ووجوههم مليئة بالخوف.

بعد أن غادر سوريا، سأل مظفر نفسه عدة مرات، ما الذي أصوره هنا بعد كل الدمار الذي سجلته، هذه الدراما والمأساة؟ ماذا تصور الآن؟ كنت أقرأ حتى الصور التي التقطها في روان على أنها مختلفة عن صور المناظر الطبيعية لأي شخص آخر. أنفاسه وروحه وعقله الباطن تطبع على صوره. هناك استمرارية إذا رأيت صوره من سوريا وتلك من روان.

VS: أتذكر أن مغادرتك سوريا كانت دراماتيكية للغاية. هل أنهيت خدمتك العسكرية أم تركت؟

ز.ك.: نعم، لقد هجرت. كانت المشكلة الرئيسية هي أنني "أنتمي" إلى الطائفة العلوية، الطائفة التي تهيمن على النظام. وهكذا كانت جريمتي ذات شقين، خيانة مزدوجة، كجندي وكعلوي. هذا وضعني في موقف صعب ، مع أبناء عمومتي الذكور. اتهمني أقاربي الذين لا يشاركونني نفس القناعات بالخيانة، على غرار أصدقائي في الحي منذ الطفولة. كان من الصعب التعامل مع هذه الخيانة المزدوجة. كوني جنديا ذهب إلى العمل من الساعة 7 صباحا حتى 2 ظهرا لإدارة مبنى السينما أعطاني مساحة للمناورة ، لكن في اللحظة التي وضعوا فيها اسمي في القائمة وطلبوا مني حمل الأسلحة ، تهربت على الفور.

VS: لقد هربت إلى بيروت، أليس كذلك؟

ولد زياد كلثوم في حمص عام 1981 وتخرج بعد دراسة السينما. عمل كمساعد مخرج في العديد من الأفلام والمسلسلات والبرامج التلفزيونية، بما في ذلك "سلم إلى دمشق " لمحمد ملص (2013). في عام 2011 ، أخرج فيلمه الوثائقي القصير الأول ، أوه ، قلبي ، الذي تم اختياره لأيام قرطاج السينمائية. يتناول أول فيلم روائي طويل لكلثوم " الرقيب الخالد " (2013) الحياة اليومية الفصامية ولقاءاته بين خدمته العسكرية الإلزامية في الجيش السوري ودوره كمساعد مخرج أثناء تصوير فيلم "سلم إلى دمشق". في "طعم الإسمنت"، تأخذنا كلثوم إلى حياة عمال البناء السوريين الذين يعيدون بناء بيروت بعد الحرب.

ز.ك.: مكثت في سوريا ثمانية أشهر. خلال ذلك الوقت قمت بتحرير الرقيب الخالد. بقيت مختبئا في دمشق، ثم تمكنت من المغادرة سرا إلى بيروت في أوائل عام 2013.

VS: أستطيع أن أرى بالفعل خطا بيانيا يمتد من الرقيب الخالد في دمشق إلى طعم الأسمنت في بيروت وينتهي في برلين.

ز.ك.: اكتشفت ذلك لاحقا، بينما كنت أتنقل من مكان إلى آخر، مما جعلني أفهم أيضا خصائصي كمخرج. أنا شخص يصنع أفلاما بعد أن عاش في مكان وتأثر به. بعد إبداء ملاحظاتي ، طورت صورة معينة لذلك المكان الذي أجبرت على اللجوء إليه. ولكي أكون صادقا ، فإن كل مكان هربت إليه يحمل ذاكرة قوية للحرب. سنتان ونصف في بيروت! ماذا يمكن أن نقول عن بيروت؟ خمسة عشر عاما من الحرب الأهلية ، والدمار الهائل الذي يمكنك رؤيته حتى اليوم وآثاره ، سواء كانت مادية على المباني أو على وجوه الناس ، وسلوكهم وكيفية تعاملهم مع الوضع. ثم برلين. ستالينجراد، حمص، بيروت، برلين، يا له من حادث! وهكذا ، بمحض الصدفة كنت أنتقل من مكان حرب إلى آخر. هربت من الحرب ، وبطبيعة الحال ، لم أستطع منع من رؤية تلك المدينة بشكل نقدي كان الجميع معجبين بشخصية أليس في بلاد العجائب.

VS: بما أنني أعرف برلين مختلفة عن مراهقتي ، فأنا أشارك انطباعك عن أليس في بلاد العجائب وكيف تنشر كذبة كبيرة. ما يكمن تحته ، ما تعبر عنه قد يكون أكثر من الحقيقة ، في رأيي أيضا.

ز.ك.: يتم تخدير الناس، ليس فقط جسديا ولكن عقليا أيضا، مما يمنعهم من وضع أي علامات استفهام. حتى كل المظاهرات التي تجري في برلين ، لديهم بالتأكيد أسبابهم المبررة ، ولكن هناك شيء واحد واضح للغاية لا يتحدث عنه أحد. نعتقد أننا نعيش في مكان يسمح فيه بحرية التعبير ولكن في برلين لا نجرؤ على التحدث عن فلسطين على سبيل المثال.

VS: نعم، قيل لي إن الاحتجاجات من أجل القضية الفلسطينية غير مصرح بها حاليا.

ز.ك.: هنا نعود إلى نفس الفكرة: في سوريا كان الأمر هكذا، وفي بيروت كان لديك شرق وغرب، نفس العقلية مختلفة فقط في الأسلوب والقوة. هذا هو السبب في أنني أشعر أيضا بالغضب من هذا النظام العالمي. إنها تعتقد أن لها الحق في دخول أي بلد، واستبدال نظام - مهما كان هذا النظام سيئا - وتدمير البلاد من أجل الديمقراطية.

VS: هل يمكننا اللجوء إلى زياد، السينما السورية قبل الحرب وبعدها، أو أفضل، الآن في المنفى، لأن الحرب لم تنته بعد.

ZK أشعر ، كنت نفس الشيء قبل وبعد الثورة ، لكن الدراما اشتدت وأنا معها. أصبحت الأعمال أكبر ، ووقعت أعمال القتل الآن أمامنا. عندما بدأت الثورة وكنت لا أزال جنديا، إذا تم القبض على شخص ما في الجيش يحمل هاتفا محمولا كان يعتبر خائنا ويتم إعدامه على الفور. واجهت هذا التحدي عندما ذهبت للتصوير. هناك فيلمي الوثائقي الذي تبلغ مدته 45 دقيقة (أوه ، قلبي) من قبل الحرب ، تم تصويره في عام 2009. لقد كانت بالفعل تتحدى النظام أثناء تعامله مع المجتمع الكردي.

في ذلك الوقت، لم يسمح لنا بإحضار كاميرا إلى الأراضي الكردية. لم يسمح لنا بإطلاق النار على الأكراد، وبالتالي كصحفي كنت أقترب من الكاميرا على الخط الأحمر. كنت أصور قرية كردية صغيرة تسكنها النساء وحدهن. في المجتمع الكردي السوري يغيب الرجال لثلاثة أسباب. إما القتال في الجانب الكردي ضد الأتراك في الجبال، أو أنهم مطلوبون ومعتقلون من قبل النظام السوري، أو أنهم فروا بسبب الثأر العشائري. ما جذبني هو كيف عبرت النساء عن آلامهن ومعاناتهن. عندما تروي امرأة قصتها ، تتوقف فجأة وتواصل القصة بأغنية مرتجلة ورثاء.

قبل الثورة ، كنت أحلم بصنع أفلام عن وضع الناس ، وكذلك عن وضعهم السياسي ، فقط أنه في مرحلة ما انفجر كل شيء. حتى الفيلم الذي ساعدت فيه، "سلم إلى دمشق " لملاس كان فيلما سياسيا. (توفي للتو ممثله الرئيسي غسان الجبعي). كان قد احتجزه النظام لمدة عشرين عاما. أتصور أنه حتى بدون الثورة كنا سنظل نصنع أفلاما معارضة للنظام. أحببت عمر أميرالاي وعملت مع محمد ملص وأسامة محمد. كلهم كانوا منشقين.

أيضا ، لقد نشأت في عائلة ملحدة منشقة. بدلا من ذلك، أصبح أصدقائي وجيراني الذين نشأت معهم "شبيحة" [مضاءة: أشباح تدل على فرق الإرهاب شبه العسكرية التابعة للنظام]. لا أستطيع حقا أن ألومهم على الطريقة التي نشأوا بها ، وما تعلموه ، وغسيل الدماغ الذي خضعوا له. لو أتيحت لهم نفس الفرصة مثلي ، لربما كان وضعهم مختلفا. أستطيع أن أقول إن زياد بقي على حاله، لم يترك السيناريو أو التغيير، فقط أن المشهد أصبح أسوأ، نظام مجرم فاسد يقضي معتقلوه عقودا في السجون، دولة تقمع كل من يخالف أو يقول لا للنظام ويضعه في السجن، مجتمع يحاول فيه النظام القضاء على الفردية، خصوصية كل شخص.

في المدرسة كنا نرتدي الزي العسكري. كان علينا جميعا أن نحلق شعرنا بنفس الطريقة ، كما هو الحال في كوريا الشمالية. لقد حرمنا من خصوصياتنا لتشبه أي شخص آخر. كان لهذا تأثير قوي علي وكنت على دراية به في وقت مبكر جدا من خلال عائلتي وتربيتي.

VS: إذا كنت ستختار ، فهل ستستمر في البقاء في برلين؟

ز.ك.: حاولت تعلم اللغة ولكني في الحقيقة لا أريد البقاء. أريد أن أكمل الخيال ثم أغادر. الحد الأدنى هو الذهاب إلى مكان مشمس.

 

حررت هذه المقابلة وترجمتها من العربية فيولا شفيق وراجعها زياد كلثوم.

 

فيولا شفيق هي صانعة أفلام وقيمة فنية وباحثة سينمائية. كتبت العديد من الكتب عن السينما العربية، مثل السينما العربية: التاريخ والهوية الثقافية، 1998/2016 (دار نشر الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة) والمقاومة والانشقاق والثورة: جماليات الأفلام الوثائقية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا (روتليدج 2023). ألقت محاضرات في جامعات مختلفة، وشغلت منصب رئيس قسم الدراسات في برنامج الحرم الجامعي للأفلام الوثائقية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا 2011-2013، وعملت كقيمة ومستشارة للعديد من المهرجانات الدولية وصناديق الأفلام، مثل بينالي فينيسيا، وبرلينالي، وسوق دبي السينمائي، ومختبر راوي لكتاب السيناريو، ومختبر تورينو السينمائي، وصندوق السينما العالمي. تشمل أعمالها الإخراجية "شجرة الليمون" (1993)، و"زراعة البنات" (1999)، و"اسمي ليس علي" (2011)، و"أريج – رائحة الثورة" (2014).  تعمل الآن على كل من الأعمال التالية Home Movie on Location و Der Gott in Stücken. كانت فيولا شفيق المحررة الضيفة لعدد برلين من مجلة المركز في عام 2022.

 

اللجوءبيروتبرليندمشقمحمد ملصشبيحةسورياصناع الأفلام السوريونالحرب

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Ziad Kalthoum: Trajectory of a Syrian Filmmaker

15 September, 2022
Syrian filmmaker Ziad Kalthoum at Berlin’s Holocaust Memorial (photo courtesy Ziad Kalthoum).

 

Interviewed by Viola Shafik

 

Ziad Kalthoum is an award-winning new generation filmmaker from Syria. He‘s made three creative documentaries, Oh My Heart (Aydal ayuha al-qalb, 2011), The Immortal Sergeant (al-raqib al-khalid, 2014) and Taste of Cement (ta`m al-asmant, 2017). While the first film was banned in Syria when it came out, portraying a Syrian Kurdish village, the second became a very personal account of the filmmaker’s experience in the army documenting at the same time the making-of The Ladder to Damascus (sulum illa Dimashq, 2011) by film veteran Mohamed Malas. Kalthoum‘s third film was conceived entirely in exile, a “magic realist” documentary on Syrian construction workers in Beirut. Presently, Kalthoum is working on a new documentary and has a fiction film project in development. He is based in Berlin but has gone from Homs to Beirut and Stalingrad, among other former cities of war.

 

Viola Shafik: In your upcoming fiction film project, Berlin features prominently. One sentence struck me in the proposal saying that for the main character Karim, a Syrian photographer, Berlin represented a cemetery. Why does he reconnect to life only when he leaves Berlin?

Ziad Kathoum: First of all, I did not choose Berlin; rather, Berlin chose me. I came to Berlin because I was looking for a sound designer for Taste of Cement. The first time in my life I traveled abroad I found myself in Stalingrad (Volgograd) in Russia, which was Berlin’s adversary in WWII. Most of the city was destroyed. Until now the traces of war are obvious and all of the city’s sculptures and monuments relate to war. When I returned to Syria and the war began, I went to Beirut — Beirut of course was ruined as well, and this while I myself hail from Homs, a city that has been in turn totally destroyed.

Coming from a war made me read Berlin differently. Many things raise questions here. For a young visitor from Spain or Italy, Berlin means Happyland, a place where he visits night clubs and enjoys music, drugs, whatever. This Happyland, or let’s say Alice in Wonderland is predestined to trigger a Syrian’s trauma. People come to Berlin to take drugs, to tour the clubs, have fun, lose themselves, wake up again, and so on. What about someone who comes from the war, to a city that has a lot to do with war? For instance, the messing-plated cement cubes you find on Berlin’s sidewalks, Stolpersteine, to stumble upon [in the memory of deported Jewish Berlin residents], they remind me of gravestones that carry a person’s name, date of birth and death. For a tourist, one of the first places to visit is the Holocaust Memorial (that speaks of the murdered Jews of Europe). It’s the biggest monument in the city and one of its main touristic sites. When I stood the first time between the huge cement blocks, they reminded me a lot of Syria after the collapse. Normally, in Syria you build a house and leave the concrete pillars on the roof for your son to fill in the walls. Quite symbolically, the son continues, leaves in turn new pillars for his son and so on. When the houses got destroyed, these pillars came down and turned Syria’s landscape into one of concrete mountains.

The Holocaust Memorial reminded me also that this country is still on of the biggest producers of weapons, exporting them to the world. What does it mean to know that Germany had sold chemical weapons to the Assad regime that he used against Syrians? How come, six million people were gassed in the Holocaust and this system is still producing chemical weapons? It shows also that we are living in a non-stop loop of war, moving from one war to the next.

VS: What does a space for an exiled person signify, a real space or rather a mirror that reflects his inner world? The latter seems to be the logic of your fiction film project.

ZK: In my fiction, Karim the photographer found himself in a position that he did not chose: he becomes a photographer for the regime. His task is to photograph detainees. After he finishes his job they are going die, and he becomes an accomplice in their murder. In Berlin, Karim is in pursuit of his own ghost, this soldier he used to be in Syria who stood behind the camera to photograph faces. He meets him at the Holocaust Memorial. Karim’s girlfriend or lover senses that he is about to collapse and takes him out to nature. This happened to me in reality. I found myself in Poland with a very strange family, people who use leeches for health reasons. When I tried them and saw the bad blood exiting my body, I imagined that the worm is eating up the bloody footage from my head, all these images of war in my memory.

Now I am also starting a new documentary film project. The idea for it developed around a year ago and by mere accident both protagonists are photographers. I thought about it a while and found it a good idea to make two films dealing with the meaning of the image and what kind of photographers we become in the moment of collapse. How is it to carry a camera that can become the tool for killing, as in the case of Karim in the fiction; the camera as revolver. As soon as he presses the button it is as if he has announced the death verdict for the person he photographs.

Thus, I consider it is a presentation from two different angles. The one who took pictures for the regime feels guilty, has a guilt complex. The second photographer, Muzaffar, is an old friend, who witnessed the uprising from the beginning. He has no guilt complex. He was not in any position responsible for the destruction or the killing etc. Yet he is in a state of loss, deprivation of place and people who left in front of his lenses, whose situation he documented. In fact, Muzaffar was one of the first photographers to document the revolution. Newspapers from all over the world published his photos. He escaped like many Syrians and found himself in Rouen, the capital of Normandy, surrounded by a wonderful landscape. Monet and the Impressionist school came from there.

However, we discover that he lives in a place where the traces of WWII are still very much present, particularly in this area, where the Americans descended to liberate France from the Nazis: the tanks at the seaside, huge mass graves with thousands of deaths resulting from  Americans and Nazis fighting at close quarters. When Muzaffar first arrived there, he isolated himself. Six years he spent behind the kitchen window photographing the landscape. He ended up with a huge production. Then, at one point he takes out his hard discs and starts printing his images from the war in Syria. This is the topic we are addressing, how a person in exile engulfed by such a wonderful landscape experiences the sudden reappearance of his trauma. 

VS: If we ask Ziad, with whom of these two protagonists does he have more in common?

ZK: I was in the position of Karim. I was a soldier but I was not forced to take pictures of people who then proceeded to the guillotine. You saw me in The Immortal Sergeant. In the morning I was a soldier documenting the place that sparked the war, the evening I spent with Mohamed Malas running these interviews with people who came from the places on which the bombs had been dropped. In a way, I was here and there but not entirely. Documentation at the moment of collapse, the moment of destruction and war poses a big question, how are we documenting and from which perspective? Am I producing propaganda for a certain party or am I recording from my perspective without affiliation, religious or nationalist coloring? What does it mean to be a witness of the last portrayal of a face, like in Cesar’s case. If you remember, they have no expression. Cesar photographed 50,000 bodies with no expression. Karim is the opposite, he takes their last picture with their faces full of fear.

After he left Syria, Muzaffar asked himself many times, what am I shooting here after all the destruction that I recorded, this drama and tragedy? What to photograph now? I was reading even the images he took in Rouen as being different from anyone else’s landscape photographs. His breath, his soul, his subconscious are imprinting on his images. There is a continuity if you see his images from Syria and those from Rouen.

VS: I remember that your departure from Syria was quite dramatic. Had you finished your military service or did you desert?

ZK: Yes, I deserted. The main problem was that I “belong” to the Alawite sect, the sect that dominates the regime. Thus my crime was twofold, a double treason, as soldier and as an Alawite. This put me into a difficult position, with my male cousins. My relatives who do not share the same convictions accused me of betrayal, similar to my neighborhood friends from childhood. This double treason was difficult to deal with. Being a soldier who went to work from 7 am to 2 pm administrating the cinema building gave me space to maneuver, but the moment they put my name on the list and asked me to carry weapons, I evaded right away.

VS: You escaped to Beirut, right?

Ziad Kalthoum was born in Homs in 1981 and graduated after studies in film. He has worked as an assistant director on several films, series and television programs, including Mohamed Malas’s Ladder to Damascus (2013). In 2011, he directed his first short documentary, Oh, My Heart, which was selected for the Carthage Film Festival. Kalthoum’s first feature-length documentary The Immortal Sergeant (2013), deals with the schizophrenic daily life and encounters he experiences between his mandatory military service in the Syrian Army and his role as assistant director during the shooting of Ladder to Damascus. In Taste of Cement, Kalthoum takes us into the lives of Syrian construction workers rebuilding post-war Beirut.

ZK: I remained for eight months in Syria. During that time I edited The Immortal Sergeant. I stayed in hiding in Damascus, then I was able to clandestinely leave to Beirut in early 2013.

VS: I can see indeed a graphic line going from The Immortal Sergeant in Damascus to Taste of Cement in Beirut ending in Berlin.

ZK: I discovered that later, while I was moving from one place to the other, which made me also understand my own characteristics as filmmaker. I am a person who makes films after he has lived in a place and has been affected by it. After making my observations, I develop a certain image of that place in which I was forced to take refuge. And to be honest, every place I escaped to carried a strong memory of war. Two and a half years in Beirut! What can we say about Beirut? Fifteen years of civil war, vast destruction that you can see until today and its aftereffects, be they physical on the buildings or on the faces of people, their behavior and how they deal with the situation. Then Berlin. Stalingrad, Homs, Beirut, Berlin, what an accident! Thus, by mere chance I was moving from one war place to the next. I fled the war and, naturally, could not prevent myself from seeing that city critically that everybody was admiring for its Alice in Wonderland character.

VS: As I know a different Berlin from my adolescence, I share your Alice in Wonderland impression and in how it spreads a big lie. What lies underneath, what you are expressing might be much more of the truth, in my view as well.

ZK: People get drugged, not just physically but also mentally, preventing them from putting any question marks. Even all the demonstrations that take place in Berlin, they surely have their justified reasons, but there is one very obvious thing that no one speaks about. We think we live in a place where free speech is allowed but in Berlin we don’t dare to speak about Palestine for instance.

VS: Yes, I was told that protests for the Palestinian cause currently are not authorized.

ZK: Here we come back to the same idea: In Syria it was like that and in Beirut you had an East and a West, the same mentality only different in style and power. This is why I also feel anger at that global regime. It thinks it has the right to enter any country, exchange a regime — as bad as this regime may be — and destroy the country for the sake of democracy.

VS: Can we turn to Ziad, the Syrian cinéaste before the war and after, or better, now in exile, as the war has not ended yet.

ZK I feel, I was the same before and after the revolution, but the drama intensified and me with it. The acts got bigger, the acts of killing took now place in front of us. When the revolution started and I was still a soldier, if someone was caught in the army carrying a mobile phone he was considered a traitor and executed immediately. I met this challenge when I went to shoot. There is my 45 minute-long documentary (Oh, My Heart) from before the war, shot in 2009. It was already challenging the regime as it tackled Kurdish society.

At that time, we were not permitted to bring a camera to the Kurdish territories. We were not allowed to shoot Kurds, thus as a cinéaste I was closing in with my camera on the red line. I was depicting a small Kurdish village populated by women alone. In Syrian Kurdish society men are absent for three reasons; either the fight on the Kurdish side against the Turks in the mountains, or they are wanted and detained by the Syrian regime, or they have escaped because of tribal revenge. What attracted me was how the women expressed their pain and suffering. When a woman tells her story, she stops suddenly and continues the story with an improvised song and lamentation.

Before the revolution, I dreamt of making films on the situation of people, also on their political situation, only that at one point everything exploded. Even the film on which I assisted, The Ladder to Damascus by Malas was a political film. (His lead actor, Ghassan al-Jabai, a theatre director just passed away.) He had been detained by the regime for twenty years. I imagine, even without the revolution we would be still making films opposed to the regime. I liked Omar Amiralay and worked with Mohamed Malas and Oussama Mohamed; all of them have been dissidents.

Also, I was brought up in a dissident atheist family. My friends and neighbors with whom I grew up became all “shabiha” [lit.: ghosts denoting the regime’s paramilitary terror squads] of the regime, instead. I cannot really blame them for the way they were brought up, what they learned, the brainwashing they underwent. If they had had the same opportunity as me, their situation might have been different. I can say Ziad remained the same, he did not leave the script or change, only that the scenery became worse, a criminal, corrupt regime whose detainees have been spending decades in prisons, a country that suppresses anyone who disagrees or says no to the regime and puts him in prison, a society where the regime tries to eliminate individuality, the peculiarity of each person.

At school we wore military uniforms. All of us had to shave our hair the same way, as in North Korea. We got deprived of our peculiarities to resemble everybody else. This had a strong impact on me and I was very aware of it quite early through my family and my upbringing.

VS: If you were to choose, would you continue to stay in Berlin?

ZK: I tried to learn the language but in fact I don’t want to stay. I want to complete the fiction and then leave. The minimum is to go to a sunny place.

 

This interview was edited and translated from Arabic by Viola Shafik and revised by Ziad Kalthoum.

 

Viola Shafik is a filmmaker, curator and film scholar. She is the author of Arab Cinema: History and Cultural Identity1998/2016 (AUC Press), Popular Egyptian Cinema: Gender, Class and Nation (AUC Press 2007), Resistance, Dissidence, Revolution: Documentary Film Aesthetics in the Middle East and North Africa (forthcoming from Routledge, 2023) and the editor of Documentary Filmmaking in the Middle East and North Africa (AUC Press 2022). She has taught at the American University in Cairo, Zurich University, Humboldt University and Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich where she held the position of a researcher 2016-2020. She served as the Head of Studies of the Documentary Campus MENA Program 2011-2013, curator and consultant for numerous international film festivals and film funds, such as La Biennale di Venezia, the Berlinale, Dubai Film Market, Rawi Screen Writers Lab, Torino Film Lab and the World Cinema Fund. She directed several documentaries, among others The Lemon Tree/Shajarat al-laymun (1993), Planting of Girls/Mawsim zaraa al-banat (1999), Jannat `Ali-Ali im Paradies/My Name is not Ali (2011) and Arij – Scent of Revolution (2014). Current works in progress are Home Movie on Location and Der Gott in Stücken. Viola Shafik is the guest editor of TMR’s BERLIN issue.

asylumBeirutBerlinDamascusMohamed MalasshabihaSyriaSyrian filmmakerswar

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *