لماذا تعتبر المقاومة أساسية للأدب الكردي

15 سبتمبر, 2021
كيف شكل انعدام الجنسية والصدمة والمنفى السياسي رواية آفا هوما "بنات الدخان والنار".

افا هوما

 

عندما بلغت سن الرشد كفتاة كردية في إيران، تعلمت في وقت مبكر أن وجودي على قيد الحياة كان عملا من أعمال التخريب. أنا أنتمي إلى شعب تعرض لإبادة جماعية متكررة. منذ أن أعاد الحلفاء رسم خريطة الشرق الأوسط بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى، تعرضنا للهجوم من قبل أربع دول فظيعة نظرت إلينا على أننا تهديد يجب إبادتنا، وليس بشرا. من مذبحة درسيم 1937-1938 على يد الحكومة التركية، والإبادة الجماعية للأنفال في العراق 1986-1988، وعمليات الإعدام المستمرة في إيران، إلى المذبحة العرقية اليوم في سوريا، الأكراد هم أمة حرمت من دولة خاصة بها، وبالتالي، حرمنا من الحق في الوجود والعيش في سلام.

لقد نشأت مع قصص صامتة عن المذابح وكيف نجونا منها. كيف جاء جنود الدولة، وحتى الميليشيات المتطوعة، إلى مدننا وقرانا لقتلنا، لأكثر من قتلنا. لقد قتلونا بالغاز، وأحرقوا قرانا، واغتصبوا نساءنا، وأطلقوا النار على الآباء أمام أعين أطفالهم الواسعة...

أولئك منا الذين نجوا من المحو المادي لحياتنا واجهوا دمارا ثقافيا. أخبرتنا الدول التي حكمتنا أننا غير موجودين ، أو إذا فعلنا ذلك ، فنحن مجرد ما سمونا. ووصفت تركيا الأكراد بالأتراك الجبليين. وصفت إيران الأكراد بالمخلصين: المفسدين على الأرض. أولئك الذين قاوموا عدوان الدولة وصفوا بالإرهابيين.

وبينما حاول الآباء الأكراد حماية أبنائهم في ظل سياسات الإبادة أو الاستيعاب، فقدنا تدريجيا أجزاء من تراثنا وطورنا تنافرا معرفيا بين الأجيال التي واجهت صعوبة في التواصل. تم حظر لغتنا وتاريخنا ، وتم السخرية من ألمنا واستخدامه ضدنا - تم إنكارنا وتعريفنا من قبل مضطهدينا ، واختزلوا إلى دون البشر ، بطرق حطمت كبرياءنا وكرامتنا.

بنات الدخان والنار متاح من Overlook / Abrams.

وعلى الرغم من كل ذلك، أو ربما بسببه، أصبح الأكراد أسياد النهوض من الرماد. لقد قتلنا انعدام جنسيتنا ولكنه علمنا أيضا أن نبعث من جديد. لا عجب أن شعارنا الأكثر شيوعا، خاصة في روج آفا، كان باركسودان جيانا: المقاومة هي الحياة.

للمقاومة / الوجود ، اعتمدت على الفنون. لقد كان الأدب ملجئي وملجئي ، ودعم حياتي ، لكن بحثي لأجد فيه أثبت عدم جدواه. نشأت أميا في اللغة والأدب الكردي، وبالتالي اغتربت عنهما، بحثت عن تأملي في الأدب الفارسي والعالمي باللغة الإنجليزية. لكنني لم أجد أي شخص يشبهني عن بعد. لم يكتب أحد النساء الكرديات في الأدب. كان علينا أن نفعل ذلك بأنفسنا. لقد فزت بمنحة دراسية للحصول على درجة الماجستير في اللغة الإنجليزية والكتابة الإبداعية في جامعة وندسور في كندا.

وهكذا ، بدأت سنوات كتابتي في المنفى. لقد بذلت الدم والعرق في صياغة قصص قصيرة لنساء إيرانيات معاصرات ونشرت أصداء من الأرض الأخرى التي تم ترشيحها لجائزة فرانك أوكونور للقصة القصيرة لعام 2011. وقضيت السنوات التسع التالية في كتابة روايتي الأولى بنات الدخان والنار ، والتي نشرتها The Overlook Press في الولايات المتحدة و HarperCollins في كندا في بداية الوباء. (تم إصدار الغلاف الورقي في وقت سابق من هذا العام.)

مثل العديد من أكراد الشتات الآخرين، علمت القراءة والكتابة بلغتي الأم وتعلمت تاريخي وسياستي. بحثت عن قصص النساء الكرديات اللواتي حاربن في الوقت نفسه الاضطهاد الجنساني والعرقي وكان لهن صوت: نساء مثل ليلى زانا وبرلمانيات أخريات ورؤساء بلديات وقادة تم انتخابهم ولكنهم سجنوا، والذين تحملوا التعذيب الجنسي الأكثر سادية وما زالوا يرسلون رسائل الشجاعة والتصميم من وراء القضبان. في الأدب الكردي وفي الحياة الواقعية، نساء ورجال أكراد أقوياء، مثل المعلم الذي تم إعدامه فرزاد كامانغار، الذي كانت حياته مصدر إلهام لروايتي. مثل صلاح الدين دميرتاش المسجون الذي أطلق عليه اسم أوباما الكردي - عاش حياة معقدة ومرنة.

وتمكن الأكراد من حكم منطقتهم منذ رفع القبضة الحديدية للرئيس السوري بشار الأسد عن منطقتهم المضطهدة في عام 2012 مع تحول الانتباه إلى سحق انتفاضة في الجنوب. فقد حوالي 11,000 شخص حياتهم في الجهود المبذولة لهزيمة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، وانتشرت صور واسعة النطاق للمقاتلات الكرديات على وسائل الإعلام الدولية. عندما ظهرت روج آفا إلى الوجود اعتبارا من عام 2012، أصبحت جنتي المستعادة. ما أعطى كتاباتي الأمل والشجاعة هو نوع المجتمع الذي أنشأه الأكراد: جيب من أسفل إلى أعلى ، ديمقراطي ، نسوي ، شامل عرقيا ، ومستدام بيئيا. لقد حظروا زواج الأطفال والزواج القسري وتعدد الزوجات ، وأنشأوا كوميونات حيث تتمتع النساء بحق النقض.

روج آفا، هذه الواحة في منطقة مضطربة، على الرغم من عدم الكمال، كانت سببا رئيسيا آخر اعتقدت أنه يمكنني إنشاء شخصيات تجد وتوظف الوكالة ضد أهوال الإبادة الجماعية والإعدامات والخيانات. كان وجود تحرير المرأة والكونفدرالية الديمقراطية والبيئة في روج آفا – وهو نموذج لا يحتاجه الأكراد فحسب، بل يحتاجه العالم – هو الواقع الكردي الأكثر إلهاما. الشخصيات التي أنشأتها في روايتي قفزت من الصفحة وعاشت في روج آفا. يروي فيلم "بنات الدخان والنار"، الذي يتشابك مع 50 عاما من التاريخ الكردي الحديث، قصة ثلاثة أطفال أكراد نشأوا معا، ليلى وشيا وشيلر، لكنهم يجدون وسائل مختلفة لتحدي عدم الوجود: قلم، كاميرا، بندقية.


اقرأ مقتطفا من بنات الدخان والنار لآفا هوما


ولكن بعد ذلك ، حدث الغزو في أكتوبر. عندما نزح 400,000 شخص وأحرقوا وقتلوا وأصيبوا بصدمات نفسية، سيطر علي اليأس. شاهدت كل ما هو جيد وصحيح وممكن يتم تدميره أو استخدامه كورقة مساومة بين السياسيين.

من بين مقاطع الفيديو المروعة وغيرها من الأدلة على جرائم الحرب التي ارتكبتها تركيا والتي ظهرت منذ غزو البلاد لسوريا، حطمني أحدها على وجه الخصوص.

يتم سحب السياسية الكردية هيفرين خلف البالغة من العمر 35 عاما، والتي كانت تعمل على تعزيز التعاون الكردي العربي في سوريا ما بعد الحرب، من سيارتها وتضرب بعنف بأشياء معدنية. وتظهر لقطات رجال الميليشيات المدعومة من تركيا وهم يصرخون بالشتائم أثناء اغتيالها. يسحبونها من الشعر حتى يتم تقشير جلدها من فروة رأسها. وبثت وسائل الإعلام التركية الرئيسية بفخر جريمة القتل باعتبارها "عملية ناجحة لتحييد" "إرهابي".

بالنسبة لكاتب كردي في المنفى مثلي، لم يكن هذا مجرد فيديو دموي وغير إنساني آخر على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لقد فتحت ألمي التاريخي وصدمتي بين الأجيال وابتلعتني على قيد الحياة. شعرت بالشلل لعدة أيام وليال.

ومع ذلك، فإن كونك كاتبا كرديا يتعلق بالنهضة والمقاومة. لقد سافرت حياة الأكراد المحفوفة بالمخاطر عبر التاريخ وستستمر في ذلك. إذا فعلت ما أعرف كيف أفعله، على الأقل، يمكنني أن أظهر أنه حتى في عصر الدول القومية، فإن الأكراد عديمي الجنسية مهمون ونحن معقدون ومهمون وغير كاملين ومضحكين ورائعين مثل أي مجموعة أخرى من البشر. ربما إذا تم تذكيرنا بإنسانيتنا - الأكراد والجميع - يمكننا وضع سياسات عالمية تعكس ذلك.

 

مؤلفة كتاب " بنات الدخان والنار" الذي نال استحسان النقاد ، آفا هوما هي أيضا ناشطة وصحفية. وهي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في اللغة الإنجليزية والكتابة الإبداعية من جامعة وندسور. تم ترشيح مجموعتها من القصص القصيرة ، أصداء من الأرض الأخرى ، لجائزة فرانك أوكونور الدولية ، وهي المستفيدة الأولى من منحة PEN Canada-Humber College للكتاب في المنفى.

إيرانالعراقالهوية الكرديةالأدب الكرديسورياتركيا

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Why Resistance Is Foundational to Kurdish Literature

15 September, 2021
“The Peace Dance” by Kurdish artist Delawer Omer.

Ava Homa


how statelessness, trauma and political exile shaped her novel Daughters of Smoke and Fire

 

Coming of age as a Kurdish girl in Iran, I learned early on that my being alive was an act of subversion. I belong to a people who have been subject to repeated genocides. Ever since the Allies redrew the map of the Middle East after World War I, we have been under attack by four atrocious states that have perceived us as threats to be annihilated, never humans. From the 1937–1938 Dersim Massacre at the hands of the Turkish government, Saddam Hussein’s 1986–1988 Anfal Genocide in Iraq, and the ongoing executions in Iran, to today’s ethnic massacre in Syria, Kurds are a nation that has been denied a state of its own and, consequently, we have been denied the right to exist and live in peace.

I was raised with hushed stories of massacres and how we survived them. How state soldiers, even volunteer militia, came to our cities and villages to kill us, to more than kill us. They gassed us, torched our villages, raped our women, shot fathers before the wide eyes of their children…

Those of us who survived the physical erasure of our lives faced cultural destruction. The states that ruled over us told us we didn’t exist, or if we did, we were merely what they named us; Turkey called Kurds mountain Turks. Iran called Kurds mofsid filarz: corruptors on earth. Those who fought back against state aggression were labeled terrorists.

As Kurdish parents tried to protect their offspring under the annihilate-or-assimilate policies, we gradually lost parts of our heritage and developed a cognitive dissonance between generations who had difficulty communicating. Our language and history were banned, our pain was ridiculed and used against us — we were denied and defined by our oppressors, reduced to subhumans, in ways that shattered our pride and dignity.

Daughters of Smoke and Fire is available from Overlook/Abrams.

In spite of — or perhaps because of — all of that, Kurds have become masters of rising from the ashes. Our statelessness killed us but also taught us to resurrect. It’s no wonder that our most common mantra, especially in Rojava, has been Barxodan Jiana: Resistance is life.

To resist/exist, I have relied on the arts. Literature has been my refuge and shelter, my life support, but my search to find myself in it proved futile. Growing up illiterate in, and therefore alienated from, the Kurdish language and literature, I searched for my reflection in Persian and world literature in English. But I never found anyone remotely similar to me. No one had written Kurdish women into literature. We had to do it ourselves. I won a scholarship to earn my Master’s Degree in English and Creative Writing at Windsor University in Canada.

Thus, my years of writing in exile began. I put blood and sweat into crafting short stories of modern Iranian women and published Echoes from the Other Land which went on to be nominated for the 2011 Frank O’Connor Short Story Prize. And I spent the next nine years writing my debut novel Daughters of Smoke and Fire, which was published by The Overlook Press in the United States and HarperCollins in Canada at the beginning of the pandemic. (The paperback was released earlier this year.)

Like many other diasporic Kurds, I taught myself to read and write in my mother tongue and learned my history and politics. I searched for the stories of Kurdish women who had simultaneously fought gender and ethnic oppression and had a voice: Women like Leyla Zana and other parliamentarians, mayors, and leaders who were elected yet jailed, who endured the most sadistic sexual torture and still sent out messages of courage and determination from behind bars. In Kurdish literature and in real life, powerful Kurdish women—and men, like the executed teacher Farzad Kamangar, whose life was the inspiration for my novel; like the imprisoned Selahttin Demirtas who has been called the Kurdish Obama—lived complex, resilient lives.

Kurds have been able to govern their own area since Syrian President Bashar al-Assad’s iron fist was lifted from their suppressed region in 2012, as he turned attention to crushing an uprising in the south. Some 11,000 lives were lost in the effort to defeat the Islamic State, and widespread images of Kurdish female fighters went viral on international media. When Rojava came to exist as of 2012, it became my paradise regained. What gave my writing hope and courage was the type of society Kurds created: a bottom-top, democratic, feminist, ethnically-inclusive, and ecologically sustainable enclave. They banned child marriage, forced marriage, and polygamy, and they created communes where women had veto power.

Rojava, this oasis in a volatile region, though imperfect, was another major reason I believed I could create characters who’d find and employ agency against horrors of genocides, executions, and betrayals. The existence, in Rojava, of women’s liberation, democratic confederalism and environmentalism—a model that not only the Kurds but the world needs—has been the most inspiring Kurdish reality. The characters that I had created in my novel jumped out of the page and lived in Rojava. Daughters of Smoke and Fire, which is interwoven with 50 years of modern Kurdish history, tells the story of three Kurdish children growing up together, Leila, Chia, and Shiler, but finding different means to defy nonexistence: a pen, a camera, a gun.


Read an excerpt from Ava Homa’s Daughters of Smoke and Fire


But then, the invasion happened in October. As 400,000 were displaced, burned, killed and traumatized, hopelessness took over me. I watched all that’s good, right, and possible being destroyed or used as a bargaining chip between politicians.

Among the horrific videos and other evidence of Turkey’s war crimes that have emerged since the country’s invasion of Syria, one, in particular, shattered me inside.

A 35-year-old Kurdish female politician, Hevrin Khalaf, who had been working to foster Kurdish–Arab cooperation in postwar Syria, is pulled out of her car and violently beaten with metal objects. Footage shows Turkish-backed militiamen shouting insults as they assassinate her. They drag her by the hair until her skin is peeled off her scalp. Turkey’s mainstream media proudly broadcasted the murder as a “successful operation of neutralizing” a “terrorist.”

For a Kurdish writer-in-exile like me, this wasn’t simply another gory and inhumane video on social media. It opened up my historic pain and intergenerational trauma and swallowed me alive. I felt paralyzed for several days and nights.

Still, being a Kurdish writer is about rebirth and resistance.The precarious life of Kurds has traveled through history and will continue to do so. If I do what I know how to do, at the very least, I can show that even in the age of nation-states, stateless Kurds matter and we are as complicated, important, imperfect, funny, and fascinating as any other group of humans. Perhaps if we are reminded of our humanity — of Kurds, of everyone — we can create global policies that reflect that.

Critically-acclaimed author of Daughters of Smoke and Fire, Ava Homa is also an activist and a journalist. She holds an MA in English and creative writing from the University of Windsor. Her collection of short stories, Echoes from the Other Land, was nominated for the Frank O’Connor International Prize, and she is the inaugural recipient of the PEN Canada-Humber College Writers-In-Exile Scholarship.

IranIraqKurdish identitySyriaTurkey

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *