معاناة أن تكون لبنانيا: حوار مع الكاتبة رشا موناج

18 أكتوبر, 2021
وقت القراءة :10 دقائق
الروائية اللبنانية البلجيكية رشا موناج في بروكسل من قبل AJ Naddaf.

أ.ج. النداف

 

بين البرلمان والمسار الملكي في وسط بروكسل ، ليس بعيدا عن Grand Place السياحي ، توجد حديقة بها كشكان متوازيان يقدمان المرطبات: أحدهما حيث يتأرجح الحجارة ويدخنون المفاصل على خلفية موسيقى Zen ، والآخر حيث يجتمع الأشخاص غير الرسميين بعد أيام العمل لاحتساء الكابتشينو. ذهبت إلى الكشك الثاني في أمسية صافية من شهر يوليو، وهو أحد الأيام الوحيدة هذا الصيف في بلجيكا حيث كان هناك أسبوع من الشمس المتتالية، للقاء الروائية اللبنانية البلغارية الناشئة رشا منجد.

يتم نشر La Blessure من قبل Éditions Complicités.

اقترحت راشا الاجتماع في "بارك رويال" لأنه سيكون أكثر بهجة من شرفة المقهى التقليدية. ومع ذلك ، فإن موقفها ومظهرها ينقلان شكليات هذا النوع من الاجتماعات على وجه التحديد. ارتدت بلوزة كريب باللون الأزرق المخضر مع بنطال رمادي منقوش بدقة وصور ظلية سوداء بكعب سميك. خاطبتها في vous الرسمية وحافظنا على هذه الكياسة على الرغم من توقي إلى الترابط على فارق السن الطفيف بيننا والعديد من أوجه التشابه. كلانا مواطنان بلجيكيان ، لكننا غرباء عن البلاد (ولدت والدتي وترعرعت خارج بروكسل ونقلت الجنسية إلي من خلال قانون الدم ، في حين أن راشا تقدمت مؤخرا وحصلت على الجنسية بعد العيش والعمل في بلجيكا لسنوات عديدة). كما أننا نعتبر لبنان وطنا بطريقة أو بأخرى (ولدت رشا وترعرعت بين طرابلس وبيروت. أدرس للحصول على درجة الماجستير في الأدب العربي في بيروت، وكان جدي جدي من لبنان قبل أن يهاجروا إلى بوسطن). ما زلت متمسكا بما قاله الممثل اللبناني المصري الشهير عمر الشريف عن شعوره بالانتماء: "بمجرد أن تكون لبنانيا، فأنت دائما لبناني".

قبل كل شيء ، التهمت روايتها الأولى لعام 2020 La Blessure (ربما أفضل ترجمة لها باسم الجرح) في يومين ، وهو كتاب صنع جولات في عائلتي وبدا أنه يتحدث إلى الجميع بسبب حكايته المؤلمة للقلب ونثره الشعري البسيط والتشويقي. بطل الرواية ، طفل صغير يدعى جاد ، كان له صدى معي على المستوى الشخصي بسبب طفولته المضطربة وعمله الأخير من الأمل ، على الرغم من أنه عاش محنة أكثر مما عشته في أي وقت مضى.

كان إعداد قائمة طويلة من الأسئلة حول حبكة الرواية وموضوعاتها وإلهامها أمرا بسيطا. كروائي وصحفي طموح ، جاءت الأسئلة حول فعل الكتابة والأحداث الجارية بسهولة. ومع ذلك ، فإن شكلية المقابلة وتسجيلي لجهاز iPhone الخاص بي على الطاولة أوقفت المحادثة في بعض النواحي ، أو منعتنا من الاقتراب كما أردت في ذلك اللقاء الأول.

اليوم، فيما يتعلق بلبنان، أنا شخصيا تائه. أعتقد أننا تجاوزنا مرحلة الفكاهة اللبنانية التي اعتدنا عليها دائما - اللبناني الذي يمزح ويقول إن كل شيء يسير دائما على ما يرام - نحن الآن في فترة من الاكتئاب. أخبرني طبيب نفساني أن هذا الاكتئاب أكثر تقدما الآن من ذي قبل. .. نحن غير سعداء ، الأمور ليست على ما يرام ، لم يعد بإمكاننا التظاهر بأن الأمور على ما يرام.

ولدت رشا عام 1982 في بيروت، ونشأت خلال نهاية الحرب الأهلية التي استمرت 15 عاما والتي اجتاحت البلاد وقتلت أكثر من 100 ألف شخص. واستذكرت ذكريات دائمة عن التجمعات العائلية الممتدة، والمناظر الخلابة للريف والمناظر الطبيعية الساحلية، ولكن أيضا التفجيرات، وصور بيروت المحروقة. قالت: "عشت بعض الحلقات واللحظات التي اختبأنا فيها في الخزائن لأن القنابل كانت تنفجر من حولي".

بالإضافة إلى الحرب ، عاشت صدمة الانفصال الوحشي لوالديها. في حين أن الكثير من روايتها ، والتي ، كما تفعل أفضل القصص الخيالية في كثير من الأحيان ، توظف الأحداث الخيالية والأشخاص كمرشح للواقع ، فقد أظهرت إخلاصا صارما لهذا الصراع بين ولاء الأطفال. أو ، كما أخبرتني ، "أردت أن أضع في مكان طفل وأسأل: ما هو شعور شخص ، من أجل الحفاظ على أحد والديه ، يجب أن يزيل الآخر من حياته؟"

قسمت نقاط التفتيش التي لا تعد ولا تحصى في جميع أنحاء لبنان البلاد وخلقت حاجزا بين والدها، عالم الاجتماع والصحفي الذي عاش في طرابلس ويكتب باللغة العربية، وأمها، وهي لبنانية فرنكوفيلية ملأت منزلها بالكتب الفرنسية، والتي عاشت معها رشا في بيروت إلى جانب أختها. في هذه الأيام، تبعد العاصمة ساعتين على الأقل بالسيارة عن مدينة طرابلس الشمالية، ناهيك عن أزمة الوقود التي تزيد من تعقيد السفر.


منذ صغرها، غرست والدتها اللغة الفرنسية في رشا، فضلا عن تعليمها في واحدة من المدارس العلمانية الفرنسية الممتازة في البلاد، التي خلفتها الحقبة الاستعمارية: ليسيه عبد القادر في حي مار الياس في بيروت. تفوقت في جميع المواد ووجدت ملجأ في المدرسة ، لكن أن تصبح كاتبة لم يكن أبدا اعتبارا جادا. وكما هو معتاد هنا وفي معظم الأماكن الأخرى في العالم، فإن العلم هو مفتاح النجاح المهني، الذي يعادل في زمن الحرب في لبنان، تماما كما هو الحال اليوم، تذكرة وحياة مستقرة في الخارج.

بالنسبة للبنانيين، عادة ما ينظر إلى فرنسا بشكل إيجابي حيث يتابع الشباب اتجاهات الموضة والموسيقى التي تخرج من باريس (على عكس علاقات الجزائر بفرنسا التي ينظر إليها عادة من خلال عدسة عدائية). "كانت فرنسا مكانا أسطوريا وخياليا. لقد كانت لغة جعلتني أحلم" ، قالت مع بريق في عينيها يلمع من خلال نظارتها المستديرة ذات الإطار السميك والذهب الوردي. في سن ال 18 ، كان إتقانها للغة الفرنسية هو الذي سهل تحقيق حلمها: حصلت على منحة دراسية كاملة للحصول على شهادة في التكنولوجيا الحيوية في المدرسة الوطنية العليا في تولوز. ومع ذلك، مثل العديد من اللبنانيين الآخرين الذين كانوا موجودين بلغات متعددة، فقد خلقت مشاكل في الهوية. الآن، على الرغم من أنها تشعر براحة أكبر في التحدث باللغة العربية منها بالفرنسية، إلا أنها تكتب بسهولة أكبر باللغة الفرنسية. "الفرنسية هي اللغة التي اختارتها أمي وكان والدي صحفيا باللغة العربية. لذلك تخلصت من الأدب العربي وتوجهت نحو الفرنسية، على الرغم من أنني أتحدث مع أمي باللغة العربية"، قالت، ونظرة الحيرة واضحة على وجهها. "اليوم، أشعر بالذنب وعدم الولاء للأدب العربي". وتأمل في تغيير ذلك والتعامل مع الكتابة باللغة العربية في السنوات المقبلة.

وعلى الرغم من ابتعادها عن وطنها، إلا أنها لم تنضم إلى شبكة الشتات على الرغم من الحنين الحتمي إلى الوطن. بقيت على اتصال مع المنزل فقط من خلال العائلة والأصدقاء ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وبهذا المعنى، ربما تتفق مع ما وصفته الكاتبة اللبنانية هدى بركات في مقال ترجم مؤخرا إلى الإنجليزية عن الشتات: أنه لا توجد جالية (وهو أمر أختلف معه، لأنني وجدت دائما جاليات لبنانية أو عربية في الخارج!)  كان افتقارها إلى شبكة لبنانية هو الأكثر تضررا خلال انفجار 4 أغسطس/آب عندما واجهت تباينا كبيرا بين واقعها وواقع من حولها. بعد 4 أغسطس/آب، كان كونها لبنانية في سياقاتها الطبيعية أمرا مقلقا. كانت الأسئلة التي طرحها الأصدقاء مثل "أين ستذهب لقضاء إجازة؟" سخيفة تماما.

بعد عقد من الهجرة إلى بلجيكا، أنجزت رشا كل ما يبدو جيدا على الورق: شهادة من جامعة عليا، ووظيفة عليا في صناعة الأدوية المربحة، والأمن والسلام الذي كانت تتوق إليه. لكن شيئا ما كان مفقودا. تذكرت نذر الحكة الذي قطعته منذ فترة طويلة لوالدها ، قبل وفاته في عام 2013 ، بأنها ستكتب يوما ما. استمرت في دفع الوعد مثل حلم مؤجل حتى أصبح أكبر من أن يتجاهله ويذهلها في العمل. تعاني بالفعل من الإرهاق ، تركت وظيفتها ، ووضعت نفسها في نوع من العزلة القاسية ، وبدأت الكتابة. قالت، كما لو كانت مرتاحة: «إنه الجزء الذي يأتي من والدي، هكذا فسرت ذلك، كنت بحاجة إلى دمج هذا الجزء منه الذي كان أكثر فنية وأدبية، ومختلفا عن البحث العلمي البحت»، كما لو كانت مرتاحة.

على الرغم من تصميمها ، كانت كتابة الرواية صعبة ، معركة ضد حالتها النفسية والمادية وأصواتها الخارجية. بدأ الناس من حولها في الذعر. "لم يكن لدى والدتي أي فكرة عما كان يحدث لي ولا أنا. كنت أسير في كل اتجاه وكنت بحاجة إلى تسييجه وإنهائه والعثور على وظيفة ".


فيلم "لا بليسوير " لراشا منجيد يجسد صدمة الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية

بينما أخذت استراحة من العلم ، ساعدتها المنهجية الدقيقة لإدارة المشاريع التي شكلت عقلها بشكل كبير ، وهو نوع من التخطيط المهووس الذي قد يجعل "بعض الكتاب يسحبون شعرهم". كتبت ملخصا للفصول على ملاحظات لاصقة ثم نقلتها إلى جدول بيانات Excel مع كمية ثابتة من الكلمات لكل فصل ، وحددت نفسها لكتابة 1200 كلمة في اليوم. بعد ثلاثة أشهر: فويلا! لقاء صادق مع ماضيها ولد النبع الذي تدفقت منه كلماتها ، وكانت المخطوطة جاهزة.

على حد تعبيرها ، إنها "غير نمطية وهامشية" ، وقد أرضى جائحة كوفيد الجانب الانطوائي منها ، مما سمح لها بالبقاء في المنزل مع كتبها وأفكارها. قالت: "لم ألوم لأنه ليس كما لو كان أي شخص يخرج".

مع عدم وجود علاقة بعالم التحرير ، كانت متحمسة لروايتها الأولى للعثور على منزل. لم يكن لدى ناشرها ميزانية تسويقية كبيرة، لذلك عملت راشا على ضمان وصول الرواية إلى العديد من المكتبات في بروكسل بمفردها، وعلى الرغم من أنها أرادت وضعها في رفوف بلدها الأم، إلا أن الانهيار الاقتصادي جعل الكتب ترفا.

وقالت إن هدفها "هو العيش ككاتبة، لكن هذا حلم. تعلمت أن المهنة الأدبية صعبة للغاية وليست وسيلة لكسب المال".

قبل كل شيء ، تريد أن تكتب عن الموضوعات التي تهمها ، أو بالأحرى ، تشفيها. "بالنسبة لي الكتابة ضرورية، حتى بدون اعتراف. إذا كنت قادرا على العيش جزئيا منه ، فهذا رائع. ولكن إذا كان علي أن أنفق المال والوقت لأكون غير مرئي ، فسأفعل ذلك أيضا ". هناك مخطط يجب اتباعه لإنتاج أفضل الكتب مبيعا ، لكنها تتمتع بحرية الكتابة عن الموضوعات التي تهمها.

راشا ، المستوحاة إلى حد كبير من رمزية الشعر وبساطته ، تجد بودلير مثاليا ، نوعا من الكمال في الأسلوب والشكل واللحن. لديها أيضا قصائد قادمة مختارة في مراجعات في بلجيكا وسويسرا وفرنسا.

في هذه المرحلة من المحادثة ، مرت ساعتان ، وتحولت موسيقى الجاز الصاخبة إلى إديث بياف بصوت أعلى ومشتتة تماما. غادرنا عندما أشرقت الشمس علينا ، لكنني لم أستطع إلا أن أشعر وكأنني قد خدشت للتو سطح عقل راشا الاستبطاني ، على الرغم من الساعتين والنصف التي قضيناها معا. لذلك اتصلت بها مرة أخرى ، مما أثار استياء صديقتي ، بعد عشر دقائق من مغادرتنا ، وسألتها عما إذا كان بإمكانها العودة لالتقاط صورة لأنها كانت الساعة الذهبية لليوم وكانت الإضاءة مثالية. وافقت ، وقالت إنها تقدر الجانب المثالي مني - وهو أمر ارتبطنا به أيضا.

عقد اجتماعنا الثاني في المقهى الصغير داخل مكتبة Filigrane القريبة ، متجرها المفضل حيث تقضي الكثير من الوقت في قراءة وتصفح مجموعة كبيرة من الكتب المرتبة بشكل قاطع والتي تمتد عبر عدة طوابق. وكانت توقعات الطقس قد تنبأت بيوم من هطول الأمطار ، ولكن ربما لم يكن من المستغرب أن يكون ذلك خاطئا ولم يكن هناك سوى أمطار متقطعة.

تواصلت مع لقاء آخر مع حافز لتقديم راشا إلى صديقة جدتي ، وهي امرأة ديناميكية تبلغ من العمر 83 عاما تدعى جينيفيف ، وهي قارئة نهمة للفلسفة ، وكانت طالبة لريموند آرون في جامعة السوربون ، وأوصتني بروايتها في المقام الأول.  بالصدفة ، كان مارتن شريك راشا ، الذي انضم إلى اجتماعنا ، مكملا مثاليا. مثل جينيفيف ، درس الفلسفة في باريس ، وكانوا سعداء بتبادل الديالكتيك. هذه المرة ، كان الاجتماع أكثر عفوية (تحدثنا في tu غير الرسمي والودي) وبعيد المدى في مواضيع تتراوح من أفغانستان إلى كانط إلى الإسلام في أوروبا وبروكسل إلى الخيال.

فقط عندما نظرت إلى ساعتي ، مرت أربع ساعات في ما كان أحد أكثر الاجتماعات متعة في حياتي. ربما كان الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام هو محادثاتنا حول رحلات رشا ومارتن الأخيرة إلى لبنان وكيف تنقلوا في البلاد في أعقاب نقص الكهرباء والمياه والغاز. (في اليوم التالي، كنت أركب طائرة في طريقي إلى لبنان وقامت شركات الطيران بعمل رائع متظاهرا وكأننا ذاهبون إلى بلد طبيعي، أو على الأقل، لبنان منذ عامين قبل أن نخرج من الهاوية). ومع ذلك، كانت رشا ومارتن قد أعداني جيدا للجحيم الذي ينتظرني، وكنت أعرف أنه من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة هنا مع كل ما لدي من نقص، يجب أن أعزز ثباتا عقليا وأن أضع في حي الحمرا بالقرب من جامعتي. "فقط تأكد من أنك لست بحاجة إلى الغاز ، أو تمرض ، أو تترك الطعام في ثلاجتك" ، حذر مارتن ، وهي نصيحة كنت أحاول منذ ذلك الحين الاستجابة لها. في الآونة الأخيرة ، تلقيت أول جرعة من لقاح فايزر في مستشفى الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت.

مع تحول فترة ما بعد الظهر إلى الليل ، خرجنا من المتجر تحت الرذاذ للحاق بالقطارات في محطة المترو ، حيث افترقنا أخيرا. وعدنا باجتماع آخر في المرة القادمة التي توحدنا فيها جميعا بالقدر في المدينة. لقد غادرت بارتياح هائل لما كنت قد شرعت في العثور عليه في البداية: صديق جديد مرتبط بحبنا لبلجيكا ولبنان والثقافة الفرنسية واللبنانية والقراءة والتأمل والبحر الأبيض المتوسط وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.

فازت مؤخرا بمنحة دراسية للكتابة من اتحاد والونيا-بروكسل لدعم روايتها الثانية ، والتي تستكشف أيضا قضايا صدمة الطفولة بالإضافة إلى تحديات اندماج محترف فرنسي شاب في القوى العاملة. وقالت: "قد يكون من الصعب أحيانا أن تكون مهاجرا هنا ، لذا فإن كتابة شيء ما في أوروبا يشبه الهبوط هنا".

 

أ.ج. نداف صحفي ومترجم وسائط متعددة. حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية من كلية ديفيدسون، ويسعى حاليا للحصول على درجة الماجستير في قسم الأدب العربي ودراسات الشرق الأدنى في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت. ظهرت أعماله في LARB و Associated Press و The Washington Post و The Intercept و Columbia Journalism Review ، من بين منافذ أخرى. تابعه على تويتر @ajnaddaff.

الهوية العربيةعربيبيروتالحرب الأهلية اللبنانيةكتاب لبنانيون

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

The Anguish of Being Lebanese: Interview with Author Racha Mounaged

18 October, 2021
Lebanese-Bel­go nov­el­ist Racha Mounaged pho­tographed in Brus­sels by AJ Naddaff.

A.J. Naddaff

 

Between the Par­lia­ment and the Roy­al Path­way in the cen­ter of Brus­sels, not too far from the touris­tic Grand Place, there is a park with two par­al­lel kiosks serv­ing refresh­ments: one in which ston­ers lol­ly­gag and smoke joints against a back­drop of Zen music, and anoth­er where the more busi­ness-casu­al folk gath­er after work days to sip cap­puc­ci­nos. I went to the sec­ond kiosk on a clear-skyed July evening, one of the only days this sum­mer in Bel­gium where there was a week of con­sec­u­tive sun, to meet the bud­ding Lebanese-Bel­go nov­el­ist Racha Mounaged. 

La Blessure is pub­lished by Édi­tions Com­plic­ités.

Racha had pro­posed to meet in the “Park Roy­al” because it would be more con­vivial than a tra­di­tion­al café ter­race. Yet her atti­tude and appear­ance con­veyed the for­mal­i­ty of pre­cise­ly that kind of meet­ing. She dressed in a teal crêpe blouse with fine­ly pat­terned grey pants and thick heeled black sil­hou­ettes. I addressed her in the for­mal vous and we main­tained this civil­i­ty despite my yearn­ing to bond over our slight age dif­fer­ence and many sim­i­lar­i­ties. We are both Bel­gian cit­i­zens, but out­siders to the coun­try (My moth­er was born and raised out­side Brus­sels and passed the cit­i­zen­ship onto me through jus san­gui­nis, where­as Racha recent­ly applied and received cit­i­zen­ship after liv­ing and work­ing in Bel­gium for many years). We also both con­sid­er Lebanon home in one way or anoth­er (Racha was born and raised between Tripoli and Beirut. I am study­ing for a master’s in Ara­bic lit­er­a­ture in Beirut, and my father’s grand­par­ents were from Lebanon before they immi­grat­ed to Boston). I still hold true to what the famous Lebanese-Egypt­ian actor Omar Sharif said regard­ing his sense of belong­ing: “Once you’re Lebanese, you’re always Lebanese.”

Above all, I devoured her debut 2020 nov­el La Blessure (per­haps best trans­lat­ed as The Wound) in two days, a book that made the rounds in my fam­i­ly and seemed to speak to every­one because of its heart-wrench­ing tale and sim­ple, sus­pense­ful, poet­ic prose. The pro­tag­o­nist, a young child named Jad, res­onat­ed with me on a per­son­al lev­el because of his trou­bled child­hood and his final act of hope, although he lived through more adver­si­ty than I ever did.

Prepar­ing a long list of ques­tions on the novel’s plot, themes and inspi­ra­tions was sim­ple. As an aspir­ing nov­el­ist and jour­nal­ist, ques­tions on the act of writ­ing and cur­rent events also came with ease. Yet the for­mal­i­ty of the inter­view and my iPhone record­ing it on the table stilt­ed the con­ver­sa­tion in some ways, or pre­vent­ed us from get­ting close as I had want­ed on that first encounter. 

Today, regard­ing Lebanon, per­son­al­ly I am lost. I think we have sur­passed the stage of Lebanese humor that we were always used to have  — the Lebanese who jokes, and says every­thing is always going well — we are now in a peri­od of depres­sion. A psy­chol­o­gist told me that this depres­sion is more advanced now than pre­vi­ous­ly. ..We are unhap­py, things are not okay, we can no longer pre­tend that things are okay. 

Born in 1982 in Beirut, Racha grew up dur­ing the end of the 15-year civ­il war that engulfed the coun­try and killed more than 100,000 peo­ple. She recalled endur­ing mem­o­ries of extend­ed fam­i­ly gath­er­ings, pic­turesque views of coun­try­side and sea­side land­scape, but also bomb­ings, images of a Beirut scorched. “I lived some episodes and moments where we hid in clos­ets because bombs were explod­ing around me,” she said. 

In addi­tion to war, she lived the trau­ma of her parent’s bru­tal sep­a­ra­tion. While much of her nov­el, which, as the best fic­tion often does, employs imag­i­nary events and peo­ple as a fil­ter for real­i­ty, she dis­played a strict faith­ful­ness to this con­flict of child loy­al­ty. Or, as she told me, “I want­ed to put myself in the shoes of a child and ask: what does it feel like for some­one who, in order to keep one of his par­ents, has to remove the oth­er from his life?”

The innu­mer­able check­points across Lebanon divid­ed the coun­try and cre­at­ed a bar­ri­er between her father, a soci­ol­o­gist and jour­nal­ist who lived in Tripoli and wrote in Ara­bic, and her moth­er, a Lebanese Fran­cophile who filled her house with French books, and with whom Racha lived in Beirut along­side her sis­ter. These days, the cap­i­tal is at least a two-hour dri­ve from the north­ern city of Tripoli, to say noth­ing of the fuel cri­sis that fur­ther com­pli­cates travel. 

 

From a young age, French was incul­cat­ed in Racha by her moth­er, as well as her edu­ca­tion at one of the excel­lent French sec­u­lar schools in the coun­try, left over from the colo­nial era: the Lycée of Abdel Kadar in the Mar Elias neigh­bor­hood in Beirut. She excelled in all sub­jects and found refuge in school, but becom­ing a writer was nev­er a seri­ous con­sid­er­a­tion. As is typ­i­cal here and in most oth­er places in the world, sci­ence is the key to a suc­cess­ful career, which in wartime Lebanon, just as today, equat­ed with a tick­et and sta­ble life abroad. 

For the Lebanese, France is usu­al­ly looked at pos­i­tive­ly as young peo­ple fol­low fash­ion and music trends that come out of Paris (unlike Algeria’s ties to France which are typ­i­cal­ly viewed through an antag­o­nis­tic lens). “France was a myth­i­cal and fan­tas­ti­cal place. It was a lan­guage that made me dream,” she said with a glit­ter in her eyes that shone through her pair of thick­ly framed, rose-gold round glass­es. At the age of 18, it was her mas­tery of French that facil­i­tat­ed the real­iza­tion of her dream: she received a full schol­ar­ship to pur­sue a degree in biotech­nol­o­gy at the École Nationale Supérieure in Toulouse. Yet, like many oth­er Lebanese who have exist­ed in mul­ti­ple lan­guages, it cre­at­ed iden­ti­ty prob­lems. Now, although she is more com­fort­able speak­ing in Ara­bic than in French, she writes with more ease in French. “French was the lan­guage cho­sen by my mom and my father was a jour­nal­ist in Ara­bic. So I threw out lit­er­ary Ara­bic and went towards French, even though I speak with my mom in Ara­bic” she said, a vis­i­ble look of befud­dle­ment on her face. “Today, I feel guilty and dis­loy­al to Ara­bic lit­er­a­ture.” She hopes to change that and to approach writ­ing in Ara­bic in future years.

While estranged from her home­land, she did not join a dias­poric net­work despite inevitable home­sick­ness. She only stayed con­nect­ed with home through fam­i­ly, friends and social media. In this sense, maybe she would con­cur with what the Lebanese writer Hoda Barakat described in an essay that was recent­ly trans­lat­ed into Eng­lish about the dias­po­ra: that there is no com­mu­ni­ty (some­thing I dis­agree with, as I always have found Lebanese or Arab com­mu­ni­ties abroad!)  Lack­ing a Lebanese net­work hit her hard­est dur­ing the August 4 explo­sion when she expe­ri­enced a huge dis­crep­an­cy between her real­i­ty and that of those around her. After August 4, being Lebanese in her nor­mal con­texts was unset­tling. Ques­tions posed by friends such as “Where are you going to go for vaca­tion?” were utter­ly absurd.

A decade after emi­grat­ing to Bel­gium, Racha had accom­plished every­thing that looks good on paper: a degree from a top uni­ver­si­ty, a top job in the lucra­tive phar­ma­ceu­ti­cal indus­try, and the secu­ri­ty and peace she longed for. But some­thing was miss­ing. She remem­bered the itch­ing vow that she had long made to her father, before he passed away in 2013, that she would write one day. She kept push­ing the promise like a dream deferred until it grew too large to ignore and star­tled her into action. Suf­fer­ing already from burnout, she quit her job, put her­self in a sort of dole­ful soli­tude, and got to writ­ing. “It is the part of me that comes from my father, this is how I’ve inter­pret­ed it, I need­ed to inte­grate in me this part of him that was more artis­tic, lit­er­ary, dif­fer­ent from pure sci­en­tif­ic research,” she said, as if relieved.

Despite her deter­mi­na­tion, writ­ing the nov­el was hard, a fight against both her psy­cho­log­i­cal and mate­r­i­al con­di­tion and out­er voic­es. Peo­ple around her start­ed to pan­ic. “My moth­er had no idea what was hap­pen­ing to me and nei­ther did I. I was going in every direc­tion and I need­ed to fence it in, fin­ish it and find a job.”


Racha Mounaged’s La Blessure Captures Trauma of Lebanese Civil War

While she took a break from sci­ence, the metic­u­lous method­ol­o­gy of project man­age­ment that had mold­ed her mind helped her tremen­dous­ly, a type of obses­sive plan­ning that might make “some writ­ers pull out their hair.” She wrote a syn­op­sis of chap­ters on sticky notes and then trans­ferred them into an Excel spread­sheet with a fixed amount of words for each chap­ter, and set her­self to writ­ing 1,200 words per day. Three months lat­er: voilà! An hon­est encounter with her past birthed the well­spring from which her words poured, and a man­u­script was ready.

In her words, she is “atyp­i­cal and mar­gin­al,” and the Covid pan­dem­ic sat­is­fied the intro­vert­ed side of her, allow­ing her to stay home with her books and ideas. “I did not blame myself because it’s not like any­one was going out,” she said. 

With no rela­tion­ship to the edi­to­r­i­al world, she was excit­ed for her debut nov­el to find a home. Her pub­lish­er didn’t have much of a mar­ket­ing bud­get, so Racha worked to ensure the nov­el reached var­i­ous book­stores in Brus­sels on her own, and although she want­ed it to be put in the shelves of her home coun­try, the eco­nom­ic col­lapse has made books a luxury. 

Her goal, she said, “is to live as a writer, but this is a dream. I learned that the lit­er­ary career is very dif­fi­cult and is not a way to make money.”

Above all, she wants to write on sub­jects that inter­est her, or rather, heal her. “For me writ­ing is essen­tial, even with­out recog­ni­tion. If I am able to live par­tial­ly from it, that’s great. But if I have to spend mon­ey and time to be invis­i­ble, I would do that, too.” There is a blue­print to fol­low to pro­duce best sell­ers, but she rather have the lib­er­ty to write on sub­jects that inter­est her.

Racha, who is large­ly inspired by the sym­bol­ism and sim­plic­i­ty of poet­ry, finds Baude­laire exem­plary, a sort of per­fec­tion in style, form, and melody. She also has forth­com­ing poems select­ed in reviews in Bel­gium, Switzer­land and France.

At this point in the con­ver­sa­tion, two hours had passed, and the loud jazz music had shift­ed to an even loud­er and quite dis­tract­ing Édith Piaf. We depart­ed as the sun shone down on us, but I couldn’t help but feel like I had just scratched the sur­face of Racha’s intro­spec­tive mind, despite the two and a half hours we spent togeth­er. So I called her again, much to my girlfriend’s cha­grin, ten min­utes after we had depart­ed, and asked if she could come back for a pho­to since it was the gold­en hour of the day and the light­ing was per­fect. She agreed, and said that she appre­ci­at­ed the per­fec­tion­ist side of me—something we also bond­ed over. 

Our sec­ond meet­ing was held at the mini-café inside the near­by Fil­igrane book­shop, her favorite store where she spends a lot of time read­ing and brows­ing the mas­sive selec­tions of cat­e­gor­i­cal­ly arranged books that span sev­er­al floors. The weath­er fore­cast had pre­dict­ed a day of down­pour yet per­haps unsur­pris­ing­ly, it was wrong and there were only inter­mit­tent rains. 

I reached out for anoth­er meet­ing with the incen­tive to intro­duce Racha to my grandmother’s friend, an 83-year-old dynam­ic woman by the name of Genevieve, who is a vora­cious read­er of phi­los­o­phy, was a stu­dent of Ray­mond Aron at the Sor­bonne, and had rec­om­mend­ed her nov­el to me in the first place.  By coin­ci­dence, Racha’s part­ner Mar­tin, who joined our meet­ing, was an ide­al com­ple­ment. Like Genevieve, he stud­ied phi­los­o­phy in Paris, and they were delight­ed to exchange dialec­tics. This time, the meet­ing was far more casu­al (we spoke in the infor­mal, friend­ly tu) and far-rang­ing in top­ics rang­ing from Afghanistan to Kant to Islam in Europe and Brus­sels to imagination.

Just when I looked at my watch, four hours had passed in what was one of the most enjoy­able meet­ings of my life. Per­haps most inter­est­ing was our con­ver­sa­tions about Racha and Martin’s recent trav­els to Lebanon and how they nav­i­gat­ed the coun­try in the wake of the elec­tric­i­ty, water, and gas short­ages. (The next day, I would board a plane on my way to Lebanon and the air­lines did a fan­tas­tic job feign­ing like we were going to a nor­mal coun­try, or at least, a Lebanon from two years ago before we stepped off the precipice). Yet Racha and Mar­tin had well pre­pared me for the infer­no await­ing me, and I knew that to sur­vive here with all my short­ages, I would have to have solid­i­fy a men­tal for­ti­tude and box myself with­in the Ham­ra neigh­bor­hood near my uni­ver­si­ty. “Just make sure you don’t need gas, get sick, or leave food in your fridge,” Mar­tin warned, advice I’ve since been try­ing to heed. Recent­ly, I even received my sec­ond first doze of the Pfiz­er vac­cine at the Amer­i­can Uni­ver­si­ty of Beirut hospital.

As after­noon turned to night, we ambled out the store under the driz­zle to catch trains at the metro sta­tion, where we final­ly part­ed ways. We promised anoth­er meet­ing next time we were all unit­ed by fate in the city. I had left with the enor­mous sat­is­fac­tion of what I had ini­tial­ly set out to find: a new­found friend bond­ed by our love for Bel­gium, Lebanon, French and Lebanese cul­ture, read­ing, intro­spec­tion, the Mediter­ranean and so much more.

Recent­ly, she won a writ­ing schol­ar­ship from the fed­er­a­tion Wal­lo­nia-Brus­sels to sup­port her sec­ond nov­el, which also explores issues of child­hood trau­ma as well as a young French professional’s chal­lenges inte­grat­ing into the work­force. “It can be dif­fi­cult some­times to be an immi­grant here, so to write some­thing in Europe is like land­ing here,” she said.

Arab identityArabicBeirutLebanese civil war

A.J. Naddaff is a multimedia journalist and translator. He received his bachelor’s degree in political science from Davidson College and is currently pursuing a Master’s in the department of Arabic literature and Near Eastern Studies at the American University of Beirut. His work has appeared in the LARB, the Associated Press, The Washington Post, the Intercept, and Columbia Journalism Review, among other outlets. Follow him on Twitter @ajnaddaff.

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments