فن 7 أكتوبر الجميل يكذب أهوال الحرب

13 نوفمبر, 2023

الآراء المنشورة في مجلة المركز تعكس وجهة نظر مؤلفيها ولا تمثل بالضرورة مجلة المركز.

 

يحذر مارك ليفين، الباحث في جامعة كاليفورنيا في إيرفين والمؤلف في كتاب الشرق الأوسط، من أن حرب غزة هذه تلدغ أكثر مما يساوم عليه أي شخص.

 

مارك ليفين

 

لن أنسى قريبا صباح يوم 7 أكتوبر. استيقظت ، وما زلت شاحبا ، وقمت بالتمرير على Facebook فقط لرؤية آخر الأخبار من الأصدقاء. ما رأيته بدلا من ذلك كان أعمالا فنية مختلفة لطائرات شراعية معلقة وطائرات ورقية تطير نحو الشمس ، بالإضافة إلى لوحة جميلة في كل مكان فجأة لجرافة تصطدم بالسياج. أدركت أن هذه تشير بطريقة ما إلى فلسطين ، وكان تفكيري الفوري ، "يا إلهي ، لقد فعلوا ذلك أخيرا. لقد خرجوا من غزة. لقد بدأت 'مسيرة العودة' الحقيقية".

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يعرفون عنها، كانت "مسيرة العودة الكبرى" مسيرة ضخمة ولكنها رمزية إلى حد كبير من قبل الفلسطينيين إلى المناطق الحدودية المشددة التي تطوق غزة وتسجنها في 2018-19 لتذكير العالم بمحنة غزة الحالية وجذورها في طرد مئات الآلاف من الفلسطينيين من منازلهم في ما أصبح إسرائيل في عام 1948. وردت القوات الإسرائيلية، كما هو الحال دائما، بقوة هائلة، مما أسفر عن مقتل ما يقرب من 300 شخص وإصابة أكثر من 10,000 آخرين. لطالما تحدث أصدقائي الفلسطينيون في غزة، حيث عملت كصحفي وباحث منذ ما يقرب من 30 عاما، عن مثل هذه المسيرة، ولكن حتى عام 2018 منعتها حماس إلى حد كبير، لأن عملا هائلا من العصيان المدني المناهض للاستعمار لم يكن على المحك، وليس شيئا يعرفون كيفية إدارته أو السيطرة عليه. والواقع أنها وضعت أسلوب عمل الحركة الكامل المتمثل في الهجمات المذهلة على المدنيين موضع تساؤل. لكن ضغط ما يقرب من عقدين من الحصار أثبت أنه أكثر من اللازم، وفي النهاية لم يكن أمام حماس خيار سوى السماح بحدوث ذلك، ثم وقفت إلى حد كبير متفرجة بينما ردت إسرائيل بطريقتها المعتادة.

وكان استخدام جرافة، رمز الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، استخدمت لتدمير منازل الفلسطينيين وأشجار الزيتون وبناء المستوطنات، لاختراق سياج أمني منيع ظاهريا، أمرا رائعا. ومع ذلك، وبينما كنت أعد قهوتي وأحاول إيقاظ عيني، كنت أخشى على المتظاهرين الذين افترضت أنهم يتدفقون عبر السياج، وكنت آمل أن ينضم إليهم نشطاء سلام إسرائيليون، كما حدث في مسيرات أخرى في الضفة الغربية، وأن يصلوا بضعة كيلومترات إلى داخل إسرائيل قبل أن يتوقف الجيش الإسرائيلي ويبدأ في اعتقالهم. أو ما هو أسوأ.

عندما عدت إلى هاتفي بعد نصف ساعة، بدأت تظهر صور جديدة، هذه المرة صور لإسرائيليين مع نص عبري تحتها، بما في ذلك صورة لشاب لامع في مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه يدعى حاييم كاتسمان، الذي كنت قد نصحته بشكل غير رسمي خلال بحث الدكتوراه في جامعة واشنطن. كان أول ما فكرت به هو أنه فاز للتو بجائزة عن عمله أو تم تعيينه في مكان ما ، ولكن عندما قرأت العبرية أصبح من الواضح أن الصورة كانت نصبا تذكاريا وليست احتفالا. وأصبح من الواضح أيضا أن حاييم قد قتل في هجوم غير مسبوق لحماس على المدنيين والجنود الإسرائيليين في محيط غزة كان لا يزال يتكشف ، والذي أصبح مداه واضحا. فجأة ، أصبح معنى الطائرات الشراعية والطائرات الورقية والجرافات واضحا. لم تكن ترمز إلى آمال واسعة في الحرية ، أو عمل عصيان مدني شامل. لقد أشاروا إلى شن حرب من قبل حماس ضد إسرائيل، ضد أي إسرائيلي يمكن أن يجدوه، بما في ذلك أحد أكثر الناشطين المناهضين للاحتلال الذين قابلتهم على الإطلاق، حاييم كاتسمان. بداية حرب شاملة. وسرعان ما وضعت منشورا تكريما لحاييم، وغيره من نشطاء السلام الذين أعرفهم ممن قتلوا أو اختطفوا، وكنت آمل – على الرغم من أنني كنت أعرف أفضل – ألا يكون هذا هو الأول من سلسلة لا تنتهي من الإشادة بالأصدقاء والزملاء والرفاق الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين الذين فقدوا بسبب العنف في الفترة المقبلة.

في تلك اللحظة، عندما بدا أن أعداد القتلى والمختطفين الإسرائيليين تتضاعف كل ساعة وبدأت الصور ومقاطع الفيديو التي نشرتها حماس لهجماتها في الانتشار، كنت أعرف أيضا ما سيأتي: رد إسرائيلي غير مسبوق من المرجح أن يهلك غزة، ويقتل ما يزيد عن عشرات الآلاف من الناس، وربما يؤدي إلى الفرار القسري لمئات الآلاف من السكان عبر الحدود إلى مصر. كان هذا في الواقع هدفا إسرائيليا معروفا منذ فترة طويلة، وإن كان هدفا غير قابل للتحقيق في ظل الظروف العادية: إذا أمكن إجبار عدد كاف من سكان غزة على الخروج من القطاع، يمكن لإسرائيل ضم كامل الأراضي المحتلة وحتى منح الفلسطينيين شكلا من أشكال المواطنة دون قلب التوازن الديموغرافي لصالحهم. نهاية فلسطين، نهاية الصراع. لطالما ادعت إسرائيل أن "الفلسطينيين لا يفوتون فرصة لتفويت فرصة" للسلام. لن تدع هذه الفرصة تفوتها لتغيير ميزان الناس والقوى بشكل دائم، خاصة بعد تعرضها لمثل هذا الهجوم المروع والمهين من قبل مجموعة اعتقدت أنها اشترتها.

لم يتضمن أي من الأعمال الفنية التي تم إنتاجها في الوقت الفعلي للفلسطينيين ومن قبلهم والتي تصورهم وهم ينزلقون ويجرفون نحو الشمس ونحو الحرية أسلحة. كانوا تقريبا هلوسة في انطباعيتهم. ربما لأن الفنانين فهموا ضمنيا أن البنادق لن تجلب الحرية ، ولكن فقط الموت الجماعي من جميع الجوانب ، ولا يمكنهم تحمل تضمينهم. أو ربما لم يكن فنانو الصور الأولى يعرفون ما كان يحدث عندما صنعوا الفن (الصور الأولى لأشخاص يتدفقون عبر السياج أظهرتهم بدراجات وحقائب ظهر ، وليس AK-47s أو RPGs). في كلتا الحالتين، كان الغياب معبرا، وفي الواقع كان نابعا من الجمالية الثورية التقليدية لفن المقاومة الفلسطينية. في الواقع ، في هجمات الطائرات الشراعية المعلقة السابقة (التي تحدث عادة من الأراضي اللبنانية) ، تضمن العمل الفني بوضوح AK-47s التي تحملها الطائرات الشراعية. ليلى خالد، أشهر مقاتلة / إرهابية فلسطينية خارج ياسر عرفات، لم يتم تصويرها تقريبا بدون بندقية AK أو كوفيتها. عرفات نفسه جاء إلى الأمم المتحدة "بغصن زيتون وبندقية".

الفنان الأردني- إبراهيم العواملة بإذن من فن فلسطين المحتلة
الفنان الأردني إبراهيم العواملة يتحدث عن فلسطين، تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2023 (بإذن من فن فلسطين المحتلة).

لكن هذه كانت الأيام التي كان الفلسطينيون لا يزالون يتمتعون فيها بدعم الاتحاد السوفيتي وغيره من الأنظمة التي يفترض أنها "مناهضة للاستعمار" مثل صدام أو القذافي أو الأسد. كان حزب العدالة والتنمية لا يزال رمزا شبه عالمي لنضالات التحرر على الصعيد العالمي، والمعادل الكبير ضد الأسلحة الأكثر تطورا للمضطهدين الإمبرياليين أو المستعمرين (الجدد). غيابهم قال كل ما كنت بحاجة إلى معرفته عن الافتقار إلى الخيال بين جميع الأطراف اليوم. يستخدم الفلسطينيون المقاومة المدنية غير العنيفة منذ عقود لإبطاء الاحتلال الذي لا هوادة فيه. معظم كل من قاد تلك الحركة قد سجن أو نفي أو قتل. حتى يومنا هذا، كل يوم، يواصلون مثل هذه النضالات، التي أصبحت الآن بعيدة إلى حد كبير عن أنظار العالم، حيث تمكنت إسرائيل من منع الناشطين الإسرائيليين والدوليين من الانضمام إلى هذه الأعمال كما فعلوا في الماضي، مما مكن من نشر المزيد من القوة ضدهم في المقابل. وفي الوقت نفسه، لم تنظر «حماس» قط إلى اللاعنف المسلح كأداة مفيدة. إنه ببساطة خارج النظرة المحدودة للغاية للحركة للعالم وطريقة تفكيرها ووجودها. أجريت مقابلة مع المتحدث باسم حماس حمد في غزة في عام 2002 أو 2003، خلال موجة التفجيرات الانتحارية التي أخرجت انتفاضة الأقصى عن مسارها تماما، وعندما سألته عن سبب اعتماد حماس كليا على تكتيك لم ينجح إلا في قتل المزيد من الفلسطينيين، وتجريف المزيد من المنازل، ومصادرة المزيد من الأراضي، هز كتفيه وأجاب: "نحن نعلم أن العنف لا يجدي نفعا، لكننا لا نعرف ماذا نفعل أيضا".

وغني عن القول إن حماس لم تكلف نفسها عناء تعويض الوقت الضائع في تعلم تكتيكات جديدة. في الواقع، بعد سيطرتها على غزة في عام 2006، منعت قوات حماس بانتظام حدوث احتجاجات غير عنيفة. وعندما سار شباب غزة إلى نقطة تفتيش إيرز، كان مسلحو حماس هم الذين منعوهم من الاقتراب، وليس القوات الإسرائيلية. عندما حاول سكان غزة تنظيم حركات جديدة يقودها الشباب من أجل التغيير، كانت حماس هي التي ضايقت النشطاء وأجبرت العديد منهم على العيش في المنفى. احتفظت الحركة برؤيتها الفريدة للمواجهة المذهلة مع إسرائيل، حتى أثناء تنسيقها مع إسرائيل للحفاظ على بعض مظاهر السلام، تتخللها رسائل غير مرغوب فيها من إطلاق الصواريخ من حين لآخر والتي من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى "جز العشب" الإسرائيلي ردا على ذلك، وتدمير بعض الأحياء وقتل بضعة آلاف من الناس. الخسائر المقبولة، على ما يبدو، للحفاظ على الوضع الراهن الذي أبقاهم في السلطة وعلى قطار المال من الخليج الذي يصل في الموعد المحدد – حتى عندما أعلنت الحكومات الإسرائيلية المتعاقبة صراحة أن دفع حماس كان أفضل استراتيجية لإبقاء الفلسطينيين منقسمين ومنع أي احتمال لحل الدولتين.

حسنا ، لا أحد يكلف نفسه عناء "جز العشب" اليوم. كان هجوم حماس في 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر واحدا من أسوأ الأعمال الإرهابية منذ نصف قرن، حيث انضم إلى 11 أيلول/سبتمبر كتاريخ سيعيش في العار ليس فقط في إسرائيل ولكن في الغرب، الذي شهد أصداء بن لادن، وداعش في القتل الجماعي العشوائي للمدنيين (ومئات الجنود أيضا). ومهما كانت العقلانية الكامنة وراءه وتبريره في أذهان قادة حماس ومقاتليها (تشير المقابلات التي أجريت مع قادة حماس في وسائل الإعلام العربية إلى أن الحركة تخشى من أن الاستيلاء الإسرائيلي على مجمع الأقصى كان وشيكا، من بين مخاوف أخرى)، فإن هذا العمل لا يمكن تفسيره إلا على أنه بداية حرب شاملة، صراع لا يمنع فيه أي احترام متبق للقانون الإنساني الدولي وحقوق الإنسان. من أجل أرواح المدنيين وسلامتهم، سيتم دفنهم تحت أنهار من الدماء وأكوام من الأنقاض والجثث. ويشكو النشطاء منذ فترة طويلة من أن إسرائيل استخدمت القانون الدولي وأساءت استخدامه لصالحها. كنا جميعا على وشك معرفة ما يحدث عندما لا يكلف نفسه عناء التشدق به.


إليكم الشيء المتعلق بالحرب الشاملة: عندما "تخلع القفازات" ، عندما تتم إزالة جميع قواعد الاشتباك ، عادة ما يفوز الجانب الأقوى ، وتبدأ الإبادة الجماعية في الظهور. إذا كان رد إسرائيل التاريخي على الهجمات الفلسطينية هو نسبة 10-1 من القتلى والجرحى أكثر بكثير، فمن المؤكد أن 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر سيحرف هذا الرقم أكثر. كان 15 أو 20 إلى 1 أكثر احتمالا، ومع تحول الأيام إلى أسابيع والآن شهر، يصبح معنى هذه النسبة واضحا مع كارثة إنسانية حتى أن المراسلين المخضرمين في مناطق النزاع وموظفي الأمم المتحدة والدبلوماسيين، الذين اعتادوا على رؤية مثل هذه المذبحة، يواجهون صعوبة في العثور على الكلمات لوصفها.

خاصة في المواقف الاستعمارية ، حيث أمضى المستعمر عقودا في تجريد المستعمر من إنسانيته ، مما يوفر فرصة للتصرف من خلال هذا التجريد العميق الجذور من الإنسانية بقوة نيران هائلة خارج أراضي الوطن حيث يجب أن تعمل قوانينه الأكثر تقييدا إذا كان للمجتمع أن يعمل ، يؤدي دائما تقريبا إلى مشاهد لا يستطيع الناس العاديون العثور على الكلمات لوصفها. يجب أن تؤدي حرفيا إلى هذا ، لأن الهجوم على شعبها لا يمكن أن يمر دون رد دون نزع الشرعية الكاملة عن المشروع بأكمله. كذلك، يصبح "إنهاء المهمة" احتمالا مروعا بنفس القدر - في هذه الحالة، مهمة عام 1948، المتمثلة في إجبار عدد كاف من الفلسطينيين على الخروج من الأراضي المحتلة بشكل دائم لمنع أي إمكانية للاستقلال في المستقبل المنظور.

وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن حقيقة أنه في الأيام التي تلت 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، بدأت إسرائيل عملية الاستيلاء الوحيدة الأكثر نجاحا على الأراضي منذ عام 1967، في المناطق البدوية في الضفة الغربية التي طالما طمعت فيها إسرائيل ورفضت منح الفلسطينيين أي سيطرة عليها، تذكرنا بأن غزة في نهاية المطاف كانت دائما بمثابة إلهاء وأداة. الجائزة الحقيقية ظلت دائما القدس الشرقية ومعاقل الضفة الغربية ل "إسرائيل التوراتية". وكلما اندلع العنف داخل غزة ومنها، فإن الاستيلاء على الأراضي يحدث دائما تقريبا معه.

مع استمرار الرد الإسرائيلي بلا هوادة، أخشى أن تكون إسرائيل وفلسطين قد دخلت مرحلة الحرب الشاملة، وهي حرب عالمية ثانية مصغرة، بهدف أن يكون هدف كل جانب هو قتل ما يكفي من المدنيين على الجانب الآخر لإجبارهم على الاستسلام أو على الأقل تسوية تفاوضية أقرب إلى الشروط المقبولة.

إن الحسابات الرهيبة للحرب الشاملة هي أنه كلما زاد العنف الذي يعاني منه أي من الجانبين، كلما اضطر إلى استخدامه ردا على تبرير موتاه. وتتمتع إسرائيل بقوة نيران أكبر بكثير من الفلسطينيين، وميزة استراتيجية هائلة، والآن سبب وجودي على ما يبدو لإلقاء أي مظهر من مظاهر احترام القانون الدولي في مهب الريح. والغرب، الذي يستشعر أن هذه لحظة حاسمة "نحن وهم"، يقف إلى جانب إسرائيل، ليس فقط ضد حماس، أو حتى كل الفلسطينيين، بل وأيضا ضد أي شخص، بما في ذلك مواطنوه، الذين يتحدون السياسة الرسمية المتمثلة في الدعم المطلق لأي قوة تستخدمها إسرائيل لتدمير أي معارضة فلسطينية. من الواضح أن بايدن وماكرون وترودو وشولتز وسوناك وألبانيز وغيرهم من قادة القوى الاستعمارية الاستيطانية السابقة (وفي الواقع ، لا تزال نشطة في كثير من الأحيان) التي تشكل الغرب يرون هذا كنقطة انعطاف ، بلا شك في سياق نقطة تحول تغير المناخ تقترب بسرعة والتي ستضع ما يزيد عن 2 مليار شخص من الجنوب العالمي في حالة تنقل ، أولا إلى مدنهم الساحلية (إذا كانت لديهم) ، وعندما تصبح غير صالحة للسكن ، إلى الشمال - وهو أمر لا يمكن السماح له بحدوثه تحت أي ظرف من الظروف. بالمشاهدة المريحة من الخطوط الجانبية ، لا يمكن أن تكون روسيا والهند والصين أكثر رضا. حتى أن رئيس الوزراء الهندي مودي يضع ميمات تظهره بمفرده وهو يهزم حماس، وهي وكيل مفيد للهنود المسلمين الذين يسلب حقوقهم كل يوم. ومع تجاهل القانون الدولي، يمكن لكل قوة عظمى ومتوسطة أن تتجاهله أيضا دون خوف من النقد، ناهيك عن العواقب.

هذه هي المخاطر النهائية التي تنطوي عليها الحرب الحالية بين إسرائيل وغزة.


إذا كنا مدينين للموتى بأي شيء - وسيكون هناك المزيد من القتلى الذين ندين لهم بالكثير في الأيام والأسابيع والأشهر المقبلة - فهو صدق واضح. يحتاج الجميع إلى فهم المخاطر. هذه حرب من أجل مستقبل البشرية. إنه يتجاوز مجرد مستقبل فلسطين وإسرائيل ، ويرتبط بشكل مباشر بفشلنا الجماعي المستمر في معالجة نقطة تحول الاحترار العالمي التي تقترب بسرعة ، والتي لا يوجد بعدها سيناريو غير كارثي للجميع باستثناء القلة المتميزة عالميا. لهذا السبب، إذا لم تتوقف هذه الحرب الآن، والمفاوضات الحقيقية نحو الحرية الكاملة والعدالة للجميع، بما في ذلك العدالة البيئية والاستدامة، بين نهر الأردن والبحر الأبيض المتوسط - وفي الواقع، للجميع في كل مكان - فإن ما نراه في غزة وكل فلسطين وإسرائيل سيأتي في طريقنا قبل أن نعرفه.

 

مارك ليفين هو أستاذ التاريخ ومدير برنامج دراسات الشرق الأوسط العالمية في جامعة كاليفورنيا في إيرفين. وهو زميل غوغنهايم 2020-21 ، ومؤلف العديد من الكتب ، من بينها هيفي ميتال إسلام: الصخرة والمقاومة وروح الإسلام ؛ لماذا لا يكرهوننا: رفع الحجاب عن محور الشر ؛ والإطاحة بالجغرافيا: يافا وتل أبيب والنضال من أجل فلسطين. أحدث كتبه هي "سنلعب حتى نموت: رحلات عبر عقد من الحركات الثورية في العالم الإسلامي " (كاليفورنيا ، 2022) ، والفن القادم ما وراء الحافة: الإبداع والصراع في عالم يحترق ، مع بريان رينولدز. تابعه على تويتر @culturejamming

غزةحماسإسرائيلليلى خالدتقص العشبحرب السلامالفلسطينية لحقوق الإنسان

1 تعليق

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Beautiful October 7th Art Belies the Horrors of War

13 November, 2023
Reading Time :10 minutes

Opinions published in The Markaz Review reflect the perspective of their authors and do not necessarily represent TMR.

 

UC Irvine scholar and author on the Middle East Mark LeVine warns that this Gaza war is biting off more than anyone is bargaining for.

 

Mark LeVine

 

I will not soon forget the morning of October 7. I woke up and, still bleary-eyed, scrolled on Facebook just to see the latest from friends. What I saw instead was various artwork of hang-gliders and kites flying towards the sun, as well as a suddenly ubiquitous, beautiful painting of a bulldozer crashing through a fence. I recognized these as somehow referencing Palestine, and my immediate thought was, “My God, they’ve finally done it. They broke out of Gaza. The real ‘March of Return’ has begun.”

For those who don’t know about it, the “Great March of Return” was a massive but largely symbolic march by Palestinians to the heavily policed border zones encircling and imprisoning Gaza in 2018-19 to remind the world of Gaza’s present plight and roots in the expulsion of hundreds of thousands of Palestinians from their homes in what became Israel in 1948. Israeli forces, as always, responded with massive force, killing almost 300 people and injured over 10,000. My Palestinian friends in Gaza, where I’ve worked as a journalist and researcher for almost 30 years, had long talked about such a march, but until 2018 Hamas largely prevented it, because a massive act of anti-colonial civil disobedience was not on brand, not something they knew how to manage or control. Indeed, it called the movement’s entire modus operandi of spectacular attacks on civilians into question. But the pressure of almost two decades of siege proved too much and ultimately Hamas had little choice but to let it happen, and then largely stood by as Israel responded in its usual manner.

Using a bulldozer, the symbol of the Israeli occupation, deployed both to destroy Palestinian homes and olive trees and to build settlements, to break through an ostensibly impregnable security fence was brilliant. Still, as I made my coffee and tried to wake up my eyes, I feared for the marchers I presumed were streaming through the fence, and hoped they might be joined by Israeli peace activists, as had occurred at other marches in the West Bank, and get a few kilometers into Israel before the IDF stopped and began arresting them, or worse.

When I came back to my phone a half hour later, however, new images began appearing, this time photos of Israelis with Hebrew text underneath, including a photo of a brilliant young postdoc named Haim Katsman, whom I’d informally advised during his doctoral research at the University of Washington. My first thought was that he’d just won a prize for his work or got hired somewhere, but when I read the Hebrew it became clear that photo was a memorial, not a celebration. It also became clear that Haim had been murdered in an unprecedented Hamas attack on Israeli civilians and soldiers in the vicinity of Gaza that was still unfolding, and whose extent was just becoming clear. Suddenly, the meaning of the gliders, kites and bulldozers became clear. They didn’t symbolize broad hopes for freedom, or a mass civil disobedience action. They indicated the launching of a war by Hamas against Israel, against any Israeli they could find, including one of the most anti-occupation activists I’d ever met, Haim Katsman. The beginning of a total war. I quickly put up a post in tribute to Haim, and other peace activists I knew who’d been killed or kidnapped, and hoped — although I knew better — that it wouldn’t be the first of an unending stream of tributes to Israeli and Palestinian friends, colleagues and comrades lost to violence in the coming period.

At that moment, as the numbers of Israeli dead and kidnapped seemed to double by the hour and images and video posted by Hamas of their attacks began to circulate, I also knew what was coming: an unprecedented Israeli response that would likely decimate Gaza, kill upwards of tens of thousands of people, and potentially lead to the forced flight of hundreds of thousands of inhabitants across the border to Egypt. This was in fact a long held and well-known Israeli goal, if an unrealizable one under normal circumstances: if enough Gazans could be forced out of the Strip, Israel could annex the entirety of the Occupied Territories and even give Palestinians some form of citizenship without tipping the demographic balance in their favor. End of Palestine, end of conflict. Israel has long claimed “Palestinians never miss an opportunity to miss an opportunity” for peace; it would not let this opportunity pass to change the balance of people, and forces, permanently, especially after suffering such a horrific and humiliating attack by a group it thought it had bought off.

None of the artwork produced in real time of and by Palestinians depicting them gliding and bulldozing towards the sun, towards freedom, included weapons. They were almost hallucinatory in their impressionism. Perhaps it’s because the artists implicitly understood that the guns would not bring freedom, but only mass death on all sides, and could not bear to include them. Or perhaps the artists of the first images didn’t know what was happening when they made the art (the first images of people streaming through the fence showed them with bicycles and backpacks, not AK-47s or RPGs). Either way, the absence was telling, and in fact out of the traditional revolutionary aesthetic of Palestinian resistance art. Indeed, in previous hang glider attacks (which usually occurred from Lebanese soil), the artwork clearly included AK-47s held by the gliders. Leila Khaled, the most (in)famous Palestinian freedom fighter/terrorist outside Yasser Arafat, was almost never depicted without her AK or her keffiyeh. Arafat himself famously came to the UN “with an olive branch and a gun.”

Jordanian artist- Ibrahim Alawamleh courtesy The Art of Occupied Palestine
Jordanian artist Ibrahim Alawamleh on Palestine, October 2023 (courtesy The Art of Occupied Palestine).

But these were the days when Palestinians still enjoyed the support of the Soviet Union and other supposedly “anti-colonial” regimes like Saddam, Ghaddafi or Assad. The AK was still a near universal symbol of liberation struggles globally, the great equalizer against the far more sophisticated weaponry of the imperialist or (neo)colonial oppressors. Their absence said everything that I needed to know about the lack of imagination amongst all sides today. Palestinians have been using non-violent civil resistance for decades to slow down the relentless occupation. Most everyone who has led that movement has been imprisoned, exiled or killed. To this day, every day, they continue such struggles, now largely out of view of the world as Israel has managed to prevent Israeli and international activists from joining these actions as they did in the past, enabling far more force to be deployed against them in return. At the same time, Hamas has never seen militant non-violence as a useful tool. It’s simply outside the movement’s extremely limited worldview and way of thinking and being. I interviewed spokesman Ghazi Hamad in Gaza in 2002 or 2003, during the wave of suicide bombings that completely derailed the al-Aqsa Intifada, and when I asked him point-blank why Hamas relied entirely on a tactic that only succeeded in getting more Palestinians killed, more homes bulldozed, and more land expropriated, he shrugged and responded, “We know the violence doesn’t work, but we don’t know what else to do.”

In the ensuing two decades, needless to say, Hamas didn’t bother to make up for lost time learning new tactics. In fact, after it took control of Gaza in 2006, Hamas forces regularly prevented non-violent protests from occurring. When young Gazans marched to Erez check point, it was Hamas gunmen who stopped them from getting close, not Israeli forces. When Gazans tried to organize new youth-led movements for change, it was Hamas that harassed the activists and forced many of them into exile. The movement retained its singular vision of spectacular confrontation with Israel, even as it coordinated with Israel to maintain some semblance of peace, punctuated by occasional spams of rocket-fire that would lead to Israel’s “mowing the lawn” in response, destroying a few neighborhoods and killing a couple of thousand people. Acceptable casualties, apparently, to maintain a status quo that kept them in power and on the money train from the Gulf arriving on schedule — even as successive Israeli governments openly declared paying off Hamas was the best strategy to keep Palestinians divided and foreclose any possibility of a two-state solution.

Well, no one’s bothering to “mow the lawn” today. Hamas’s October 7 attack was one of the worst acts of terrorism in half a century, joining September 11 as a date that will live in infamy not just in Israel but in the West, which saw the echoes of bin Laden, and ISIS in the live-streamed indiscriminate mass murder of civilians (and hundreds of soldiers as well). Whatever the rationality behind and justifying it in the minds of Hamas leaders and fighters (interviews with Hamas leaders in the Arab media report the movement feared an Israeli takeover of the al-Aqsa compound was imminent, among other fears), this action could only be interpreted as the start of a total war, a no holds barred conflict where any remaining respect for international humanitarian law and human rights, for civilian lives and safety, would be buried beneath rivers of blood and piles of rubble and corpses. Activists have long complained that Israel has used and abused international law to its advantage. We were all about to find out what happens when it doesn’t even bother to pay it lip service.


Here’s the thing about total war: when the “gloves come off,” when all rules of engagement are removed, the stronger side usually wins, and genocide begins to come into view. If Israel’s historic response to Palestinian attacks has been a 10-1 ratio of dead and far more injured, October 7 would surely skew that number even more. 15 or 20 to 1 was more likely, and as the days have turned to weeks and now a month, the meaning of that ratio becomes clear with a humanitarian catastrophe that even seasoned conflict zone reporters, UN personnel and diplomats, who are used to seeing such carnage, are having trouble finding the words to describe.

Especially in colonial situations, where the colonizer has spent decades dehumanizing the colonized, providing an opportunity to act out that deep-seated dehumanization with massive fire power outside the home territory where its more constrained laws must operate if society is to function, almost always leads to scenes that normal people can’t find the words to describe. They literally have to lead to this, because the attack on its people cannot go unanswered without completely delegitimizing the entire enterprise. As well, “finishing the job” becomes an equally horrific possibility – in this case, the job of 1948, of forcing enough Palestinians out of the Occupied Territories permanently to foreclose any possibility of independence in the foreseeable future.

At the same time, the fact that in the days after October 7, Israel initiated the single most successful land-grab since 1967, in the Bedouin areas of the West Bank that Israel has long coveted and refused to give Palestinians any control over, reminds us that in the end Gaza has always served as both distraction and tool; the real prize has always remained East Jerusalem and the West Bank heartlands of “Biblical Israel”; whenever violence in and from Gaza has flared, land seizures almost always occur along with it.

As Israel’s response continues unabated I fear that Israel-Palestine has entered its total war phase, a World War II in miniature, with the goal of each side being to kill enough civilians on the other side to force surrender or at least a negotiated settlement closer to one’s acceptable terms.

The horrible calculus of total war is that the more violence either side suffers, the more it will have to use in response to justify its dead. And Israel has a lot more firepower than Palestinians, a massive strategic advantage, and now a seemingly existential reason to throw any semblance of respect for international law to the wind. And the West, sensing this is a defining “us-and-them” moment, is taking Israel’s side, not just against Hamas, or even all Palestinians, but against anyone, including their own citizens, who challenges the official policy of unquestioned support for whatever force Israel uses to destroy any Palestinian opposition. It’s clear Biden, Macron, Trudeau, Scholtz, Sunak, Albanese and other leaders of the former (and indeed, often still active) settler colonial powers that comprise the West see this as an inflection point, no doubt in the context of a fast approaching climate change tipping point which will put upwards of 2 billion people from the Global South on the move, first to their own coastal cities (if they have them), and as they become uninhabitable, to the North — something that under no circumstances can be allowed to transpire. Watching comfortably from the sidelines, Russia, India and China couldn’t be more satisfied. Indian PM Modi is even putting up memes showing him single-handedly defeating Hamas, a useful proxy for the Muslim Indians more of whose rights he’s taking away every day. With international law all but ignored, every great and middling power can ignore it as well without fear of criticism, never mind repercussions.

These are the ultimate stakes involved in the current Israel-Gaza war.


If we owe the dead anything — and there’s going to be even more dead to which we owe much in the coming days, weeks, and months — it’s clear-headed honesty. Everyone needs to understand the stakes. This is a war for the future of humanity; it goes way beyond just the future of Palestine and Israel, and directly relates to our ongoing collective failure to meaningfully address the rapidly approaching global warming tipping point, beyond which there is no scenario that is not catastrophic for all but the globally privileged few. Because of this, if this war is not stopped NOW, and real negotiations towards full freedom and justice for everyone, including environmental justice and sustainability, between the Jordan River and the Mediterranean — and indeed, for everyone everywhere — what we see in Gaza and all of Palestine and Israel will be coming our way before we know it.

 

Mark LeVine is Professor of history and Director of the Program in Global Middle East Studies at UC Irvine. He is a 2020-21 Guggenheim Fellow, and author of several books, among them Heavy Metal Islam: Rock, Resistance, and the Soul of Islam; Why They Don’t Hate Us: Lifting the Veil on the Axis of Evil; and Overthrowing Geography: Jaffa, Tel Aviv and the Struggle for Palestine. His most recent books are We’ll Play till We Die: Journeys Across a Decade of Revolutionary Movements in the Muslim World (California, 2022), and the forthcoming Art Beyond the Edge: Creativity and Conflict in a World on Fire, with Bryan Reynolds. Follow him on Twitter @culturejamming

GazaHamasIsraelLeila Khaledmowing the lawnPalestinian human rightspeacewar

1 comment

  1. Hi Mark, this is one of the most thoughtful pieces I have read on the war. Many thanks for sharing it.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *