الفلسطينيون المحرومون من المياه يعانون من هياج المستوطنين، بينما يعاقب الجيش متظاهرين من منظمات غير حكومية

4 أكتوبر, 2021

بريت كلاين

 

في الأيام الأخيرة من شهر سبتمبر، جذبت حوادث العنف في منطقة تلال جنوب الخليل في الضفة الغربية المحتلة اهتمام وسائل الإعلام عبر الطيف السياسي في إسرائيل، ولكن لم يتم ذكرها إلا قليلا في الصحافة الغربية الرئيسية. وشملت هذه الحوادث جيشا صغيرا من المستوطنين المتطرفين هاجموا قرية فلسطينية صغيرة ولكنها ذات موقع استراتيجي، حيث قام جنود جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي قبل عدة أيام بضرب نشطاء سلام في منتصف العمر مع منظمة مقاتلون من أجل السلام ومنظمتين غير حكوميتين أخريين كانتا تجلبان المياه إلى القرية.

واقتحم نحو 60 مستوطنا ملثما قرية خربة المفقرة الصغيرة، ودمروا السيارات وناقلات المياه وحطموا نوافذ المنازل. وأصيب عشرات السكان الفلسطينيين على يد المهاجمين، بمن فيهم صبي يبلغ من العمر ثلاث سنوات، نقل إلى المستشفى في بئر السبع القريبة. وقال سكان فلسطينيون إن مثل هذا المستوى المنظم للغاية من عنف المستوطنين نادر الحدوث، على الرغم من أن الحوادث التي تنطوي على إلقاء الحجارة وقطع أشجار الزيتون تحدث بانتظام.

وأعربت واشنطن عن انتقادها الشديد لهجوم المستوطنين، كما ورد في عدد من الصحف اليومية الإسرائيلية، على الرغم من أنه حتى يوم الجمعة، لم يتم التقاط التعليقات من قبل صحيفة نيويورك تايمز أو غيرها من وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية الرئيسية. "تدين الحكومة الأمريكية بشدة أعمال عنف المستوطنين التي وقعت ضد الفلسطينيين في القرى القريبة من الخليل في الضفة الغربية"، قال متحدث بإسم السفارة الأمريكية يوم الجمعة.

وقال وزير الخارجية الإسرائيلي يائير لابيد: "هذا الحادث العنيف مروع وهو إرهاب. هذا هامش عنيف وخطير وعلينا مسؤولية تقديمهم للعدالة".  نشر الاقتباس في صحيفة جيروزاليم بوست من يمين الوسط، وتايمز أوف إسرائيل الوسطية ويسار هآرتس، التي لديها جمهور دولي مهم لنسخة الإنترنت باللغة الإنجليزية، وكذلك في وسائل الإعلام الإسرائيلية الأخرى باللغتين العبرية والإنجليزية.

ووصفت جماعة "السلام الآن" اليسارية الهجوم بأنه "مذبحة".

اعتقلت الحكومة الإسرائيلية ما لا يقل عن ستة مستوطنين، من بينهم قاصر، وفلسطيني أطلق سراحه فورا تقريبا. ولا يزال أربعة على الأقل من المستوطنين محتجزين، وفقا ل JPost. نادرا ما تعتقل الحكومة أي مستوطن يهودي متورط في أعمال عنف ضد الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية. والأكثر ندرة هو إدانة المستوطنين بحوادث عنف متكررة.

نشرت منظمة بتسيلم لحقوق الإنسان المعروفة والمحترمة دوليا أشرطة فيديو مقلقة للغاية التقطها الفلسطينيون في مجلة 972 و JPost و The Times of Israel وغيرها من وسائل الإعلام. وهي تظهر مستوطنين ملثمين في أواخر سن المراهقة وربما أوائل العشرينات من العمر وهم يحطمون نوافذ السيارات والمنازل، وكثير منهم لا يزال السكان في الداخل.

ويمكن رؤية جنود جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي المدججين بالسلاح يقفون مكتوفي الأيدي إلى جانب المستوطنين. ثم يلقي الجنود قنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع على الفلسطينيين ويصفونهم ب "الشرموتة" باللغة العربية.

وفي أحد المنازل، أصيب محمد البالغ من العمر ثلاث سنوات بالحجارة. أخذه جنود في جيب عسكري مع عمه إلى سيارة إسعاف قريبة. وبعد أن هاجمهم المستوطنون، أفادت التقارير، تمكنت سيارة الطوارئ من المغادرة ونقلهم إلى مستشفى إسرائيلي في بئر السبع. وعلى الرغم من معاناته من كسر في الجمجمة ونزيف داخلي، إلا أن حالة الصبي الصغير مستقرة.

تقع خربة المفقرة بين بؤرتين استيطانيتين، أفيغايل وحفات ماعون، وكلاهما غير قانوني بموجب القانونين الإسرائيلي والدولي. سعت الحكومة الإسرائيلية السابقة بقيادة بنيامين نتنياهو إلى إجبار السكان هناك وفي القرى المجاورة الأخرى على المغادرة، من خلال الاستيلاء على أراضيهم وهدم المباني والمنشآت.

بالنسبة للمقيم محمود حمامدة، الذي نقلته مجلة 972، فإن الاعتداء يخدم غرضا واضحا. وقال: "يريد المستوطنون خلق تواصل إقليمي بين أفيغايل وحفات ماعون، لكننا في الوسط". "هذا هو هدفهم الآن: استخدام العنف لإجبارنا على المغادرة. إنهم يستولون دائما على المزيد من الأراضي ويهاجموننا. إنه مثل الجيش الذي يدمر منازلنا. [يفعلون] كل شيء حتى نغادر".

وقبل عدة أيام، قام نشطاء إسرائيليون يهود وفلسطينيون من منظمة مقاتلون من أجل السلام ومنظمتان غير حكوميتين يساريتين أخريين بإحضار ناقلة مياه إلى سكان القرية، غير المتصلين بشبكة المياه الإسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية. في مقطع فيديو، هاجم جنود جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي بقيادة قائد كتيبتهم العديد من النشطاء اليهود في منتصف العمر، وأسقطوهم على الأرض الصخرية. كما أبلغ ناشطان فلسطينيان عن إصابتهما بجروح طفيفة.

في إحدى الحوادث، قال تولي فلينت، القائد السابق في احتياطي الجيش الإسرائيلي والمنسق الإسرائيلي الحالي لمقاتلين من أجل السلام، إنه كان يقف حاملا لافتة في يد ومكبر صوت في اليد الأخرى عندما جاء جندي نحوه من الخلف وثبته على الأرض في خنق. ثم وضع الجندي ركبته على رأس فلينت، وهو مشهد يتكرر غالبا في مقاطع فيديو أخرى في الضفة الغربية صورها متطوعو بتسيلم حيث تحتجز القوات الإسرائيلية الفلسطينيين. بالنسبة لأي شخص شاهد الصورة ، فإنها تذكرنا على الفور بضابط شرطة مينيابوليس وهو يمسك بركبته على رقبة جورج فلويد في صيف عام 2020.

واتهم الجنود نشطاء المنظمات غير الحكومية بسد مدخل إحدى بؤر المستوطنين الأمامية والاعتداء عليهم. ووصف النشطاء الجنود بالكذابين، وقالوا إن مصلحتهم الوحيدة هي القضية الأساسية لحقوق المياه للفلسطينيين.

ووبخ مسؤولو جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي قائد الكتيبة ووحدته على ردهم العنيف على الاحتجاج، ولكن لم يتم إخراج أي منهم من الخدمة الفعلية خلال ما يسمى بالتحقيق اللاحق. وأفيد بأن جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي لم يقم بأي متابعة فيما يتعلق بالوحدة.

يرأس رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي اليميني نفتالي بينيت حكومة مكونة من ائتلاف غير عادي من الأحزاب السياسية اليمينية واليسارية، بما في ذلك لأول مرة في تاريخ إسرائيل، حزب عربي. ومن بين كل شيء، هو حزب إسلامي. وقد تبنى بينيت استراتيجية يقال إنها "تقليص الصراع". وبينما يرفض حتى الحديث عن دولة فلسطينية مستقبلية، فإنه يسعى إلى توفير المزيد من فرص العمل للفلسطينيين في إسرائيل ولكن أيضا في الضفة الغربية، وتحسين نوعية حياتهم.

ويقول منتقدون يساريون إنها عملية احتيال للتغطية على زيادة بناء المستوطنات ومصادرة الأراضي وهدمها واعتقال أو قتل المتطرفين. في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة الأخيرة، ركز بينيت على الحاجة إلى احتواء أو تدمير البنية التحتية النووية الإيرانية، وهو حديث تحب دول الخليج العربي سماعه. كما أشاد بفتح العلاقات الدبلوماسية والتجارية مع البحرين والإمارات والمغرب. وباستثناء لحظة انتقاد لمتطرفي حماس والجهاد، لم يذكر الفلسطينيين ولو مرة واحدة.

نظمت منظمة مقاتلون من أجل السلام، إلى جانب منظمات غير حكومية ناشطة أخرى بما في ذلك كسر الصمت وكل ما تبقى والسلام الآن، مظاهرة يوم السبت بالقرب من خربة المفقرة، القرية التي هاجمها المستوطنون في تلال جنوب الخليل. ووفقا لبيث شومان، مديرة الأصدقاء الأمريكيين ل CFP، ذراع جمع التبرعات للمنظمة غير الحكومية، حضر حوالي 600 شخص، حوالي 400 إسرائيلي و 200 فلسطيني.

"كان تركيز الاحتجاج على حقوق المياه الأساسية للفلسطينيين"، قال شومان. "نحن مجموعة لحقوق الإنسان. نحن لا نتخذ موقفا من حل الدولة الواحدة أو الدولتين، على سبيل المثال. وللأعضاء آراء مختلفة حول عدد من القضايا".

وقال شومان إن جنود الجيش الإسرائيلي شاهدوا المظاهرة عن بعد، لكنهم لم يتدخلوا. قد يفترض المرء أنه بعد الصحافة السيئة والانتقادات التي وجهها كبار المسؤولين في الجيش إلى إسرائيل بسبب ضربهم المفرط مؤخرا للنشطاء اليهود الإسرائيليين الذين يجلبون المياه للفلسطينيين، تلقى الجنود أوامر بالتراجع.

وقد تكون هناك أخبار جيدة. في أعقاب أحداث العنف، ذهب الجنرال الإسرائيلي المسؤول عن المنطقة إلى القرية وخلال زيارة قصيرة جدا، تحدث مع السكان.  وأفيد بأنه وعدهم بنفس فرص الحصول على المياه التي توفرها البؤر الاستيطانية غير القانونية القريبة. ما يلي كلماته ، بالطبع ، يبقى أن نرى. سيكون بالتأكيد قد حان الوقت. إن حرمان القرى الفلسطينية خارج الشبكة من المياه الجارية، وإجبارها على شراء صهاريج من مصادر خاصة بأسعار مرتفعة، وطرد السكان من أراضيهم هي جزء من استراتيجية إسرائيلية للتطهير العرقي. إنها أمثلة على سبب نظر الكثير من الناس إلى هذا الصراع على أنه وضع محصلته صفر ، رجل جيد - رجل سيء. لكن رؤية الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين في منظمة مقاتلون من أجل السلام وغيرها من المنظمات غير الحكومية التي تعمل معا قد تكون دليلا على عكس ذلك.

بريت كلاين عمل كصحفي منذ فترة طويلة، في وسائل الإعلام المطبوعة والإلكترونية والإذاعية والتلفزيونية. في الأصل من سكان نيويورك، عاش في باريس على مدى العقود الثلاثة الماضية، وزار إسرائيل/فلسطين عشرات المرات، وعمل عن كثب مع أشخاص على جانبي الخط الأخضر. بينما كان مراسلًا ثنائي اللغة بدوام كامل في France Télévisions ، نشر مقالات في Haaretz, The Times of Israel, Globes and the Jerusalem Post. كان شغفه بأصدقائه في إسرائيل/فلسطين شخصيًا للغاية، مليئًا بالأمل وخيبة الأمل والصمت وزوبعة من الكلمات.

مقاتلون من أجل السلامالجيش الإسرائيلينفتالي بينيتالأراضي المحتلةنشطاء فلسطينيونحقوق المياه

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

اصبح عضوا

Water-Deprived Palestinians Endure Settler Rampage, while Army Punishes NGO Protesters

4 October, 2021
Com­bat­ants for Peace and oth­er NGOs bring water truck to water-deprived Pales­tin­ian res­i­dents in the South Hebron Hills.

Brett Kline

In the last days of Sep­tem­ber, vio­lent inci­dents in the South Hebron Hills area of the Occu­pied West Bank attract­ed media atten­tion across the polit­i­cal spec­trum in Israel, but scant men­tion in main­stream West­ern press. The inci­dents involved a small army of rad­i­cal set­tlers who attacked a tiny but strate­gi­cal­ly placed Pales­tin­ian vil­lage, where sev­er­al days ear­li­er IDF sol­diers had beat up mid­dle-aged peace activists with Com­bat­ants for Peace and two oth­er NGOs who had been bring­ing water to the village.

Some 60 masked set­tlers ram­paged through the tiny vil­lage of Khir­bet al-Mafaqarah, destroy­ing cars and water car­ri­ers and smash­ing win­dows in homes. A dozen Pales­tin­ian res­i­dents were injured by the attack­ers, includ­ing a three-year-old boy, who was tak­en to hos­pi­tal in near­by Be’er She­va. Pales­tin­ian res­i­dents said such a high­ly orga­nized lev­el of set­tler vio­lence is rare, though inci­dents involv­ing throw­ing stones and cut­ting down olive trees take place regularly.

Wash­ing­ton expressed strong crit­i­cism of the set­tler ram­page, as quot­ed in a num­ber of Israeli dailies, though as of Fri­day, the com­ments had not been picked up by the New York Times or oth­er main­stream US media out­lets. “The US gov­ern­ment strong­ly con­demns the acts of set­tler vio­lence that took place against Pales­tini­ans in vil­lages near Hebron in the West Bank,” a US Embassy spokesper­son said on Friday.

Israeli for­eign min­is­ter Yair Lapid remarked, “This vio­lent inci­dent is hor­rif­ic and it is ter­ror. This is a vio­lent and dan­ger­ous fringe and we have a respon­si­bil­i­ty to bring them to jus­tice.”  The quote ran in the cen­ter-right Jerusalem Post, the cen­trist Times of Israel and the left of cen­ter Haaretz, which has an impor­tant inter­na­tion­al audi­ence for the Eng­lish lan­guage inter­net edi­tion, as well as in oth­er Israeli media in Hebrew and English.

The left­ist Israeli activist group Peace Now called the attack a “pogrom.”

The Israeli gov­ern­ment arrest­ed at least six set­tlers, includ­ing a minor, and a Pales­tin­ian who was almost imme­di­ate­ly released. At least four of the set­tlers are still being held, accord­ing to the JPost. The gov­ern­ment rarely arrests any Jew­ish set­tlers involved in vio­lence against Pales­tini­ans in the West Bank. Even more rare are con­vic­tions of set­tlers for fre­quent vio­lent incidents.

Extreme­ly dis­turb­ing videos tak­en by Pales­tini­ans were pub­lished by the well-known and inter­na­tion­al­ly respect­ed B’Tselem, the human rights orga­ni­za­tion, in 972 Mag­a­zine, JPost, The Times of Israel and oth­er media out­lets. They show masked set­tlers in their late teens and per­haps ear­ly 20s smash­ing win­dows of cars and homes, many with res­i­dents still inside.

Heav­i­ly armed IDF sol­diers can be seen stand­ing idly along­side the set­tlers. The sol­diers then throw tear gas can­is­ters at the Pales­tini­ans and call them “shar­mou­ta,” or whores, in Arabic.

In one home, three-year-old Mohammed was hit by stones. He was tak­en by sol­diers in a mil­i­tary jeep with his uncle to a near­by ambu­lance. After report­ed­ly being attacked by set­tlers, the emer­gency vehi­cle man­aged to leave and take them to an Israeli hos­pi­tal in Be’ersheva. Though suf­fer­ing from a frac­tured skull and inter­nal bleed­ing, the lit­tle boy is report­ed­ly in sta­ble condition.

Khir­bet al-Mafaqarah sits between two set­tler out­posts, Avi­gay­il and Havat Ma’on, both ille­gal under Israeli and inter­na­tion­al law. The pre­vi­ous Israeli gov­ern­ment under Benyamin Netanyahu had sought to force res­i­dents there and in oth­er near­by vil­lages to leave, by seiz­ing their lands and demol­ish­ing build­ings and structures.

For res­i­dent Mah­moud Hamam­dah, quot­ed in 972 Mag­a­zine, the assault serves a clear pur­pose. “The set­tlers want to cre­ate ter­ri­to­r­i­al con­ti­gu­i­ty between Avi­gay­il and Havat Ma’on, but we are in the mid­dle,” he said. “That is their goal now: to use vio­lence to force us to leave. They are always tak­ing over more land and attack­ing us. It’s like the army, which destroys our homes. [They do] every­thing so that we leave.”

Sev­er­al days ear­li­er, Israeli Jew­ish and Pales­tin­ian activists from Com­bat­ants for Peace and two oth­er left­ist NGOs had brought a water car­ri­er to vil­lage res­i­dents, who are not con­nect­ed to the Israeli West Bank water grid. Cap­tured on video, IDF sol­diers led by their bat­tal­ion com­man­der attacked sev­er­al mid­dle-aged Jew­ish activists, knock­ing them to the rocky ground. Two Pales­tin­ian activists also report­ed minor injuries.

In one inci­dent, Tuly Flint, a for­mer com­man­der in the IDF Reserves and cur­rent­ly the Israeli coor­di­na­tor for Com­bat­ants for Peace, said he was stand­ing with a sign in one hand and a mega­phone in the oth­er when a sol­dier came at him from behind and pinned him to the ground in a choke­hold. The sol­dier then placed his knee on Flint’s head, a scene often repeat­ed in oth­er West Bank videos shot by B’t­se­lem vol­un­teers in which Israeli forces hold down Pales­tini­ans. To any­one who has seen the pho­to, it is imme­di­ate­ly rem­i­nis­cent of the Min­neapo­lis police offi­cer hold­ing his knee on George Floyd’s neck in the sum­mer of 2020.

Sol­diers accused the NGO activists of block­ing the entrance to one of the set­tler out­posts and of attack­ing them. Call­ing the sol­diers liars, the activists said their sole inter­est is the fun­da­men­tal issue of water rights for Palestinians.

IDF offi­cials rep­ri­mand­ed the bat­tal­ion com­man­der and his unit for their vio­lent response to the protest, but none of them were tak­en out of active ser­vice dur­ing the sub­se­quent so-called inves­ti­ga­tion. There has report­ed­ly been no fol­low-up by the IDF con­cern­ing the unit.

Israeli right-wing Prime Min­is­ter Naf­tali Ben­net heads a gov­ern­ment made up of an unusu­al coali­tion of right- and left-wing polit­i­cal par­ties, includ­ing for the first time in Israeli his­to­ry, an Arab par­ty. And of all things, it is an Islam­ic par­ty. Ben­net has adopt­ed a strat­e­gy report­ed­ly called “shrink­ing the con­flict.” While refus­ing to even talk about a future Pales­tin­ian state, he seeks to offer Pales­tini­ans more job oppor­tu­ni­ties in Israel but also in the West Bank, and to increase their qual­i­ty of life.

Left­ist crit­ics say it is a scam to cov­er up increased set­tle­ment build­ing, land seizures and demo­li­tions, and arrests or killings of rad­i­cals. At the recent Unit­ed Nations Gen­er­al Assem­bly, Ben­net focused on the need to con­tain or destroy Iran’s nuclear infra­struc­ture, talk that Arab Gulf coun­tries like to hear. He also praised the open­ing of diplo­mat­ic and busi­ness rela­tions with Bahrain, the UAE and Moroc­co. Except for a moment of crit­i­cism of Hamas and Jihad rad­i­cals, he did not men­tion Pales­tini­ans even once. 

Com­bat­ants For Peace (CFP), along with oth­er activist NGOs includ­ing Break­ing the Silence, All That’s Left, and Peace Now, held a demon­stra­tion on Sat­ur­day near Khir­bet al-Mafaqarah, the vil­lage attacked by set­tlers in the South Hebron Hills. Accord­ing to Beth Schu­man, direc­tor of the Amer­i­can Friends of CFP, the fundrais­ing arm of the NGO, some 600 peo­ple attend­ed, about 400 Israelis and 200 Palestinians.

“The focus of the protest was fun­da­men­tal water rights for Pales­tini­ans,” Schu­man remarked. “We are a human rights group. We don’t take a posi­tion on the one-state or two-state solu­tions, for exam­ple. Mem­bers have dif­fer­ent opin­ions on a num­ber of issues.”

Schu­man said that IDF sol­diers watched the protest from a dis­tance, but did not inter­vene. One might assume that after the bad press and crit­i­cism by army high­er-ups that they got in Israel for their recent over-the-top pum­melling of Israeli Jew­ish activists bring­ing water to Pales­tini­ans, the sol­diers were giv­en orders to stand back.

And there might be good news. Fol­low­ing the vio­lent inci­dents, the IDF gen­er­al in charge of the area went to the vil­lage and dur­ing a very short vis­it, spoke with res­i­dents.  He report­ed­ly promised them the same access to water as the near­by ille­gal set­tler out­posts. What fol­lows his words, of course, remains to be seen. It would cer­tain­ly be about time. Depriv­ing off-the-grid Pales­tin­ian vil­lages of run­ning water, forc­ing them to buy tankers from pri­vate sources at high prices, and kick­ing res­i­dents off their land are part of an Israeli strat­e­gy of eth­nic cleans­ing. They are exam­ples of why so many peo­ple view this con­flict as a zero-sum, good guy-bad guy sit­u­a­tion. But the sight of Israelis and Pales­tini­ans in Com­bat­ants for Peace and oth­er NGOs work­ing togeth­er may be proof to the contrary. 

Combatants for PeaceIDFNaftali BennettOccupied TerritoriesPalestinian activistswater rights

Brett Kline is a long-time journalist who has worked in print, online, radio and television media. Originally a New Yorker, he has lived in Paris for the past three decades, and visited Israel/Palestine dozens of times, closely involved with people on both sides of the Green Line. While a full-time bilingual reporter at France Télévisions, he has published articles in Haaretz, The Times of Israel, Globes and the Jerusalem Post. His passion for his friends in Israel/Palestine has been intensely personal, full of hope and disappointment, silence and a whirlwind of words.