رسالة إلى رئيس التحرير حول "التفكير المشكوك فيه بشأن سوريا"

15 أغسطس, 2022
مدينة حلب، التي قصفتها الطائرات السورية والروسية، تحولت إلى أنقاض افتراضية (صورة أرشيفية تم التقاطها في كانون الثاني/يناير 2021).

 

ترحب TMR بالرسائل الموجهة إلى المحرر ردا على المقالات المنشورة ، والتي سيتم تحريرها من أجل الإيجاز والوضوح. هذه الرسالة ردا على "التفكير المشكوك فيه حول الثورة السورية" لفؤاد مامي ، والذي ظهر في المركز ريفيو في 1 أغسطس 2022.

 

عبدالله شاهين

 

أود أن أبدأ بشكر الدكتور فؤاد مامي على الوقت الذي خصصه لمراجعة كتابي: نوار (المتوحشين: سبر تحول الوعي الفردي والجماعي في ظل الأنظمة الشمولية: المجتمع السوري نموذجا، رياض الريس: بيروت، لبنان. ردمك: 978-9953-21-748-2). لم يكن هذا الكتاب سهل الكتابة ، كما أنه ليس من السهل قراءته. ويحاول تتبع التغيرات الأيديولوجية والسلوكية للمجتمعات السورية في ظل النظام الوحشي الذي هو في السلطة حاليا، وكيف أعادت هذه التغييرات تشكيل التفاعلات الاجتماعية والشخصية. لم يختطف النظام الشمولي الساحة السياسية فحسب، بل الجوانب الاقتصادية والثقافية والدينية للحياة في المجتمع السوري. لقد مارس النظام العقاب الجماعي من أجل إحكام قبضته على مجتمعنا الذي أصبح يضطر فيه الناس إلى مراقبة أنفسهم ومحيطهم لغرض الحفاظ على الذات. لم يؤد ذلك إلى تعميق الشعور بالآخر في المجتمع فحسب، بل خلق أيضا فكرة خاطئة عن "الجميع" مقابل أولئك الذين يخالفون النظام - وبالتالي يتم تصويرهم على أنهم أحدثوا قطيعة مع المجتمع ككل.

كان الجواب في عنوان الكتاب طوال الوقت!

هذا الطعن لا يعالج بشكل شامل جميع أوجه القصور في حجة الدكتور مامي. بدلا من ذلك ، تهتم بالأكثر فظاعة. أحد الأخطاء الرئيسية في قراءة الدكتور مامي هو عدم قدرته على تتبع سبب وتأثير المستنقع السوري. يشير عنوان الكتاب بوضوح إلى أن الفحص هو تحول مجتمعي ناتج عن نظام شمولي وحشي ، وليس العكس. لقد صدمت من أن الفرضية الكاملة لحجته ضد الكتاب تدحضها عنوانه ذاته! إن الادعاء بأن هذا الكتاب يلوم المجتمع السوري على النظام الوحشي هو هراء مطلق ولا أساس له من الصحة. وكذلك جميع الاستنتاجات التي توصل إليها الدكتور مامي بعد قراءة الكتاب.

يقتبس الدكتور مامي ، الذي يعبر عن انطباع إيجابي عن الفصل الثاني ، المقطع التالي (يستشهد خطأ بالصفحة ذات الصلة على أنها 175 ، في حين أنها في الواقع 177): "بالتعاون مع العديد من الخبراء في مجالات مثل الاقتصاد الجزئي والقيادة البشرية والتنمية المستدامة ، خططنا في عام 2013 لمشروع تنموي صغير يسمى مهاد . كان الهدف من المشروع هو بناء مجموعة من المهارات لدى الأفراد، وتحديدا تلك التي أشار إليها الخبراء والناشطون على الأرض في المناطق المحررة. على الرغم من أن الوعي بنقص التدريب يأتي من نفس الأشخاص الذين تقدموا بطلب للحصول على التمويل ، فقد لاحظنا أن التفاعل كان غير موجود تقريبا ... من بين أكثر من 200 شخص سجلوا لحضور هذا الحدث ، حضر 10 أشخاص فقط ورشة العمل الأولى. أما الورش المتبقية فلم تشهد أكثر من خمسة مشاركين..."

ثم يقول بشكل مضلل أنني خلصت إلى أن "عدم المشاركة كارثي" وأن "السوريين العاديين لا يمكن تعويضهم، بالنظر إلى طرقهم الحالية في الإدراك وفهم العالم". هذا الاستنتاج الفاحش والغريب هو استنتاج الدكتور مامي ، وليس استنتاجي. لا يتطلب الأمر سوى قراءة الفقرة التالية لمعرفة النقطة التي كنت أحاول توضيحها من ذكر عملي في مجال بناء القدرات في سوريا، وهي أنه كانت هناك رؤية ضعيفة بين المشاركين عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمهارات التي اعتقدوا أنهم يمتلكونها - في هذا السيناريو، الإدارية والتنظيمية. للادعاء بأنه ، ببساطة بسبب هذا التفاعل البسيط مع مجموعة صغيرة من المشاركين ، شطبت أمة بأكملها على أنها غير قابلة للإصلاح تتحدث عن مجلدات من جودة القراءة التي قدمها الدكتور مامي لهذا الكتاب.

كنت آمل أن تكون مراجعة الدكتور مامي أكثر تفصيلا ، مع أمثلة وانتقادات تمت صياغتها بشكل أفضل. بدلا من ذلك ، يرفض الكتاب باعتباره "مجموعة من الأفكار نصف المهضومة والمستعارة من العلوم غير المرغوب فيها ، والحكمة الشعبية ، وعلم النفس التحفيزي ، وأدب المساعدة الذاتية". هذا لا ينعكس بشكل جيد على موضوعية أو مهنية المراجع ، خاصة عندما يفشل في تقديم مثال واحد لما يدعيه.

بصفتي ناشطا سياسيا خاض تجربته الأولى في الاحتجاز والاستجواب غير القانونيين في سن 14 عاما، وفقد عددا لا يحصى من الأصدقاء وأفراد الأسرة بسبب مذابح النظام والاختفاء القسري، فإنني أدين وصفه لي بأنني "معاد للثورة بشكل افتراضي" و "إصلاحي مكتئب". هذا الكتاب منعني من دخول سبع دول عربية. جلبت تهديدات بالقتل إلى صندوق الوارد الخاص بي. ويزيد ذلك من خطر الانتقام من أفراد عائلتي المتبقين في سوريا. أريد أن يعرف الدكتور مامي أن هذه ليست سوى بداية كفاحنا. نجحنا في فضح النظام السوري كمافيا عنيفة، لكننا لم نحقق بعد تطلعاتنا في الحرية والعدالة والمساواة والتعددية في سوريا. إن طريقنا طويل، ولكننا مستعدون للمضي قدما. إن الدماء والدموع التي نراقبها بشكل جماعي من أجل هذه القضية يجب ألا تذهب سدى.

 

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Letter to the Editor Re “Questionable Thinking on Syria”

15 August, 2022
The city of Alep­po, bombed by Syr­i­an and Russ­ian jets, reduced to vir­tu­al rub­ble (file pho­to tak­en Jan 2021).

 

TMR wel­comes let­ters to the edi­tor in response to pub­lished arti­cles, which will be edit­ed for brevi­ty and clar­i­ty. This let­ter is in response to Fouad Mami’s “Ques­tion­able Think­ing on the Syr­i­an Rev­o­lu­tion,” which appeared in TMR on August 1, 2022.

 

Abdullah Chahin

 

I want to start by thank­ing Dr. Fouad Mami for tak­ing the time to review my book: Nawãr (Sav­ages: Prob­ing the Trans­for­ma­tion of Indi­vid­ual and Col­lec­tive Con­scious­ness under Total­i­tar­i­an Regimes: Syr­i­an Soci­ety as an Exam­ple, Riad El-Rayyes Books: Beirut, Lebanon. ISBN: 978‑9953-21–748‑2). This book was not an easy one to write, nor is it easy to read. It attempts to trace the ide­o­log­i­cal and behav­ioral changes of Syr­i­an com­mu­ni­ties under the bru­tal regime that is cur­rent­ly in pow­er, and how those changes reshaped social and inter­per­son­al inter­ac­tions. The total­i­tar­i­an regime hijacked not only the polit­i­cal are­na, but the eco­nom­ic, cul­tur­al, and reli­gious aspects of life in Syr­i­an soci­ety. The regime has prac­ticed col­lec­tive pun­ish­ment in order to tight­en its grip on our soci­ety, which became one in which peo­ple had to police them­selves and their sur­round­ings for the pur­pose of self-preser­va­tion. This has not only deep­ened the sense of oth­er­iza­tion in soci­ety, but has also cre­at­ed a false notion of “every­one” ver­sus those who dis­sent from the regime — and are con­se­quent­ly depict­ed as hav­ing effect­ed a break with soci­ety at large.

The answer was in the book’s title all along!

This rebut­tal does not exhaus­tive­ly tack­le all the defi­cien­cies in Dr. Mami’s argu­ment. Instead, it con­cerns itself with the more egre­gious ones. One of the major errors in Dr. Mami’s read­ing is his inabil­i­ty to trace the cause and effect of the Syr­i­an quag­mire. The title of the book clear­ly indi­cates that the exam­i­na­tion is of a soci­etal trans­for­ma­tion caused by a bru­tal total­i­tar­i­an regime, and not the oppo­site. I am shocked that the entire premise of his argu­ment against the book is refut­ed by its very title! Claim­ing that this book blames Syr­i­an soci­ety for the bru­tal regime is utter non­sense and is base­less. And so are all the con­clu­sions Dr. Mami came to after read­ing the book.

Dr. Mami, who express­es a pos­i­tive impres­sion of the sec­ond chap­ter, quotes the fol­low­ing pas­sage (he mis­tak­en­ly cites the rel­e­vant page as 175, where­as it is in fact 177): “In col­lab­o­ra­tion with sev­er­al experts in fields such as micro-econ­o­my, human lead­er­ship, and durable devel­op­ment, we planned in 2013 a small devel­op­men­tal project called Mihãd. The point of the project was the build­ing of indi­vid­u­als’ set of skills, pre­cise­ly the ones point­ed out by experts as well as on-ground activists in the lib­er­at­ed areas. Even though the aware­ness of the lack of train­ing comes from the very peo­ple that applied for fund­ing, we not­ed that inter­ac­tion was almost inex­is­tent … from over 200 peo­ple who reg­is­tered for the event, only 10 peo­ple attend­ed the first work­shop. The remain­ing work­shops did not wit­ness more than five attendees…”

Then, he mis­lead­ing­ly states that I have con­clud­ed that “lack of par­tic­i­pa­tion is cat­a­stroph­ic” and that “ordi­nary Syr­i­ans are beyond redemp­tion, giv­en their cur­rent ways of per­cep­tion and mak­ing sense of the world.” This out­ra­geous and out­landish con­clu­sion is Dr. Mami’s own, and not mine. It only takes one to read the fol­low­ing para­graph to see the point I was try­ing to make from the men­tion of my work on capac­i­ty-build­ing in Syr­ia, which is that there was weak insight among the par­tic­i­pants when it came to skills that they thought they pos­sessed — in this sce­nario, admin­is­tra­tive and man­age­r­i­al. To claim that, sim­ply because of this sim­ple inter­ac­tion with a small group of par­tic­i­pants, I wrote off an entire nation as irre­deemable speaks vol­umes of the qual­i­ty of the read­ing Dr. Mami has giv­en this book.

I had hoped that Dr. Mami’s review would be more detailed, with exam­ples and cri­tiques that are bet­ter for­mu­lat­ed. Instead, he dis­miss­es the book as “a hotch­potch of half-digest­ed and bor­rowed ideas from junk sci­ence, folk wis­dom, moti­va­tion­al psy­chol­o­gy, and self-help lit­er­a­ture.” This does not reflect well on the objec­tiv­i­ty or the pro­fes­sion­al­ism of the review­er, espe­cial­ly when he fails to bring for­ward a sin­gle exam­ple of what he alleges.

As a polit­i­cal asylee who had his first expe­ri­ence of ille­gal deten­tion and inter­ro­ga­tion at age 14, and who lost count­less friends and fam­i­ly mem­bers to the regime’s mas­sacres and to forced dis­ap­pear­ance, I con­demn his descrip­tion of me as “coun­ter­rev­o­lu­tion­ary by default” and a “depres­sive reformist.” This book got me banned from sev­en Arab coun­tries. It brought death threats to my inbox. It adds to the exist­ing risk of retal­i­a­tion on my remain­ing fam­i­ly mem­bers in Syr­ia. I want Dr. Mami to know that this is just the begin­ning of our strug­gle. We suc­ceed­ed in expos­ing the Syr­i­an regime as a vio­lent mafia, but we still have not achieved our aspi­ra­tions for free­dom, jus­tice, equal­i­ty, and plu­ral­ism in Syr­ia. Our path is long, but we are pre­pared to forge ahead. The blood and tears we col­lec­tive­ly shed for this cause must not be to no avail.

 

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments