هرطقات: عالم بحدود مراقبة

9 أكتوبر، 2023
وقت القراءة :7 دقائق
في عملهما المسرحي الجديد، دعا الفنانان اللبنانيان لينا مجدلاني وربيع مروة ثلاثة كتاب ليعبروا حدود الطبقة الاجتماعية والجنس والدين والفضاء الجغرافي. في مزيج من الأداء المسرحي والموسيقى والفنون البصرية، تشهد هذه الأصوات الثلاثة على شجاعة المنفيين، وتحتفل بتحولات لبنان اليوم في عالم معولم.

 

ندى غصن

 

"في يوم في أوائل عشرينياتي وأنا عالقة في السيارة بعجقة سير معهودة، وجدتني أبول على نفسي. أفرغتُ كل محتويات مبولتي على الكرسي الذي أصبح بحاجة إلى تنظيفِ مختص. خنقة العجقة استفزّت مبولتي ذلك اليوم، ولكن هذا الحدث السري شكّل أيضاً بداية لهوس جديد تملّكني لأكثر من عشر سنوات. منذ ذلك اليوم بدأ خوفي من أن الحادثة قد تتكرر. وتكررت"، يقول الممثل رائد ياسين، مقتبسًا من نص رنا عيسى "سلس البول". 

بعد قراءة هذا النص الأول، قرر ربيع مروة ولينا مجدلاني، وهما زوجان يعملان معًا لأكثر من 20 عامًا، تكييفه للمسرح كجزء من عرض "هرطقات"، التي يتم عرضها في مسرح دو روند-بوينت في شارع الشانزليزيه بباريس في شهر سبتمبر، ويقوم الآن بجولة في جميع أنحاء أوروبا.

ينقسم العرض، الذي يطمس الحدود بين المسرح والموسيقى والفنون البصرية، من إنتاج مسرح فيدي-لوزان، إلى ثلاثة فصول وثلاثة نصوص، بقلم رنا عيسى وبلال خبيز وصهيب أيوب، وهم كتاب لبنانيون من ثلاثة أجيال مختلفة. اضطروا، مثل المخرجين مروة ومجدلاني، إلى عبور الحدود عندما كانوا في منتصف أعمارهم، ليصلوا إلى المنفى بعيدًا عن بلدهم الأصلي.

"شعرنا بأهمية تقديم هذه النصوص اليوم، لارتباطها بمجتمعاتنا الشرق أوسطية، وكذلك بالعالم. فكما فعلنا، هربت رنا عيسى من لبنان بسبب الأزمة الاقتصادية، والكاتب بلال خبيز بسبب كتاباته التخريبية وتراجع حرية التعبير، والصحفي صهيب أيوب - اللاجئ السياسي الوحيد بيننا - بسبب هويته المثلية"، يقول مروة في حوار مع مجلة المركز.

يلعب الممثل والموسيقي رائد ياسين دور رنا عيسى بمساعدة الباص المزدوج. يلعب دور امرأة من دون أن يقلدها، ولهذا كان عليه أن يجد لغة بديلة للآلة. الجملة على الشاشة: "مشكلتي مع البول هي الرائحة".

قصص لتفكيك الخطاب

يدور نص "سلس البول" حول المتعة الحسية والتخريبية المتمثلة في التبول على العالم لتحديد حدود منطقة المرء بشكل أفضل، أو ربما لتخليص نفسه من معالم معينة. المقال عبارة عن تعليق على الحدود الوطنية المقيدة، ولكن أيضًا على القيود الاجتماعية المفروضة على المواطنين. يقول مروة: "اليوم، تغلق البلدان حدودها، ويكتسب الخطاب الشعبوي والقومي قوة في كل مكان... ولم تعد الدول تسيطر على الاقتصاد العالمي، وأصبحت تخضع لرقابة الشرطة بشكل متزايد".

من خلال قصة جدتها ازدهار، اللاجئة الفلسطينية في لبنان، تعيد الكاتبة رنا عيسى التفكير في مفاهيم الأمة، والأم، والأمية. يشرح مروة: "كان نصها بمثابة حافز لنا، لأنه يحلل العلاقة مع اللغة، المرتبطة بالأم، ولكن أيضًا بالأمة، من خلال قصة جدتها، تفكك رنا عيسى الخطاب الرجولي والديني، بينما يُظهر أن النساء يمكن أيضًا أن يكن شريكات [في دعم تلك الخطابات]".

أي أعراف هذه التي يمكن الوثوق بصوابها بعد انتهاء الحرب الأهلية في لبنان؟ أي عرف من أعراف المجتمع اللبناني يمكن أن يُتكل عليه؟ عندما انتهت الحرب اللبنانية كنت في منتصف سن المراهقة. كالكثير من أبناء جيلي لم أجد أي مبرر لإطاعة أي قانون أو قاعدة متعارف عليها في مجتمعنا العنيف. كانت المخدرات رمزنا الأول لرفض السلطة، وأحد أسس الصداقة والدلالة الصامتة على أننا رافضون لأطر الاجتماع المفروضة من السلطات، عائلية كانت أم عامة. كنا نتبادل الحديث عن شذوذنا النفسي كأن الكآبة والهوس كانت إحدى شيم البطولة التي نطمح إليها. لم أشارك أصدقائي مشكلة مثانتي، وهم كذلك لم يشاركوني مشاكلهم الشخصية مع سلطة العار. و لم أعمل بما أملى علي الدكتور، ولكني بدأت رحلة التفتيش عن السبب وليس عن الحل لمبولتي المنفلتة.  

- من "سلس البول" لرنا عيسى.

ترسم القصص الشخصية صراعات متشابكة، لتصبح مادة للتأمل السياسي والاجتماعي واللغوي والكويري. كيف يمكن للمرء أن يستمر في حياته عندما يصبح كل ما تعلمه وبناه من خلال تجاربه عائقًا؟ ماذا تفعل عندما تُولد للمرة الثانية، وتجد نفسك طفلاً في مرحلة البلوغ؟ تروي رنا عيسى، التي أصبحت لاجئة في السويد، كيف وجدت نفسها أمية كمهاجرة. لفترة طويلة، لم تكن تتقن اللغة السويدية، ووجدت أن ابنتها أصبحت والدتها.

لينا مجدلاني في "حرتقاطات"، عملها الأدائي الجديد من إخراج ربيع مروة. ائتمانات نورا روب.
لينا مجدلاني في "هرطقات"، عملها الأدائي الجديد من إخراج ربيع مروة.

المنفى، ولادة ثانية؟

يتابع مروة: "كنا نبحث عن نصوص أخرى، تذكرنا هذه المقالة لبلال خبيز الذي اضطر لمغادرة لبنان قبل سنوات عندما عرضته كتاباته للخطر". كان على الصحفي أن يبدأ حياة جديدة في منتصف العمر. ويقيم الآن في الولايات المتحدة، ويحاول نصه أن يعكس ما حدث له.

رأيت أصدقائي وأعدائي يرثوني. وكان بعضهم يمدحني. لقد كنت ممتنًا لتأبينهم المحب، لكنني لم أتمكن من مقابلة المودة بمودة مثلها.  

هكذا نموت. بعض أنواع الموت ليست اختيارية ولكن كل أنواع الولادات إجبارية. أنت لا تختار أن تُولد ولكن يمكنك أن تختار أن تموت. وحتى الآن، وبعد سنوات طويلة، لا أستطيع أن أثبت أنني مت بإرادتي، ولكني وُلدت مرتين.

عندما تصبح غير قادر على مشاركة الحب، فهذا هو الوقت الذي تُولد فيه مرة أخرى. 

- مقتطف من "ذكريات غير وظيفية" لبلال خبيز، ترجمة ريا بدران.

يروي خبيز هزيمته وخيباته ليس كشكل من أشكال الانتقام، بل لتذوق الهزيمة مع مواصلة تفكيره السياسي في العالم المعاصر.

الصورة: صهيب أيوب يكسر الصور النمطية، ويظهر وجها آخر لمدينته، طرابلس، التي اضطر إلى الفرار منها بسبب هويته المثلية. صور نورا روب.
يكسر صهيب أيوب الصور النمطية، ويظهر وجهًا آخر لمدينته، طرابلس، التي اضطر إلى الفرار منها بسبب هويته المثلية. على الشاشة: "وهكذا أصبح ارتداء الحجاب الأسود إلزاميًا إلى حد ما بالنسبة لمعظم النساء في طرابلس..."

الجذور الاجتماعية - السياسية لكراهية الأجانب

بعد ذلك، كلف المخرجان الصحافي صهيب أيوب بكتابة مقالة، هو الذي اضطر إلى الفرار من موطنه طرابلس، لبنان، حيث جعلت النزعة المحافظة المتزايدة الحياة صعبة بالنسبة له كرجل مثلي الجنس. يكسر نصه الصور النمطية، ويظهر وجهًا آخر للمدينة، التي كانت ذات يوم عاصمة ثقافية منفتحة وحديثة قبل أن تترسخ الأيديولوجية السلفية وتزدهر هناك خلال الحرب الأهلية. في الآونة الأخيرة، كانت طرابلس في طليعة الحركة الثورية، وأصبحت العاصمة الفعلية للانتفاضة اللبنانية التي اندلعت في 17 أكتوبر 2019.

بالنسبة إلى أيوب، تتشابك الهويات مع الأشكال الحضرية والاجتماعية والسياسية التي تنتجها المدينة. يرى المؤلف نفسه إحدى الصور العديدة لتحولات طرابلس، حيث تظهر الحياة الكويرية ليلاً. إن سرد قصة حياته والاكتشاف المبكر لمثليته الجنسية هو بمثابة سرد لقصة مدينته. إن إدانة التمييز والتهديدات التي تحملها، والتي تشهد على نضاله من أجل الحرية حتى منفاه، تقول الكثير عن الحياة في أحياء الطبقة العاملة مثل تلك التي نشأ فيها: الصراعات السياسية بين العائلات والعصابات والمجتمعات الدينية، وتأثيرها الاقتصادي. ومن خلال قصته، يحلل أيوب الجذور الاجتماعية والسياسية لهذه التوترات، منذ الانتداب الفرنسي مرورًا بالحرب الأهلية وحتى يومنا هذا.

اسمي جلوريا. أصدقائي في المدرسة أعطوني هذا الاسم: جلوريا. كان عمري 13 سنة. 

جلوريا هو لقب لامرأة متحولة من الميناء. لم أكن أعرف ماذا تعني كلمة "ترانس". كانت جلوريا سوداء اللون وتعيش في حي يسميه العنصريون بلا خجل "حي الزنوج". كان يتألف في الأصل من أكواخ من القش مبنية للأفارقة الذين جلبهم الجيش الفرنسي "كخدم" لجنوده. لقد ورثت لقب جلوريا من امرأة أفريقية متحولة جنسيًا تخلى المستعمرون عن أجدادها هنا، في مجتمع لم يكن مجتمعهم وأصبحوا طرابلسيين بالصدفة، ولكن من الدرجة الثانية أو الثالثة أو الرابعة. تمامًا مثل والدي. (...) عاشوا حياتهم كلها في طرابلس ولكنهم ظلوا فيها أجانب. أما نحن الأطفال فبقينا أبناء المزارع والأم السورية. 

- مقتطف من "نزة الحياة غير المحسوسة" لصهيب أيوب ، ترجمة ريا بدران.

"هرطقات"، الذي تم عرضه لأول مرة في مسرح فيدي-لوزان، سيعود هناك بعد سلسلة العروض في مسرح روند-بوينت دي شانزليزيه. "من المهم سماع هذه النصوص. إن دكتاتوريات العالم الذي نأتي منه تعني أن الناس يفرون من الكوارث. ومع ذلك، كما رأينا في الحرب السورية، فإن أوروبا لا تريد الترحيب بهؤلاء اللاجئين. هناك أزمة في الخطاب السياسي. إن عجز اليسار عن انتقاد نفسه يؤدي إلى تقوية اليمين. إن الخطاب الديني آخذ في الارتفاع لأنه لم يعد لدى الناس ما يتمسكون به. وهذا الفيروس موجود في كل مكان، حتى لو أغلقت الحدود".

 

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Hartaqât: Heresies of a World with Policed Borders

9 October, 2023
Reading Time :7 minutes
For their new theatre piece, Lebanese artists Lina Majdalanie and Rabih Mroueh invited contributions from three writers who cross borders of social class, gender, religion and geographical space. In a mix of theatrical performance, music and visual arts, these three voices bear witness to the courage of exiles, celebrating the metamorphoses of today’s Lebanon in a globalized world.

 

Nada Ghosn

 

“One day in my early twenties, while stuck in one of Beirut’s usual traffic jams, I peed my pants. I found myself emptying the entire contents of my bladder on the seat. Since that day I have been afraid that the accident would repeat itself. And it did,” says actor Raed Yassin, declaiming Rana Issa’s text, “Incontinence.” 

After receiving this first text, Rabih Mroueh and Lina Majdalanie, a couple who have been working together for over 20 years, decided to adapt it for the stage as part of Hartaqât (Heresies, in Arabic), performed at the Théâtre du Rond-Point des Champs-Elysées in Paris in September and now on tour across Europe. 

Produced by the Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne, the performance, which blurs the boundaries between theatre, music and the visual arts, is divided into three chapters and three texts, by Rana Issa, Bilal Khbeiz and Souhaib Ayoub — Lebanese writers from three different generations who, like co-directors Mroueh and Majdalanie, were forced to cross borders in the middle of their lives, to go into exile far from their country of origin.

We felt it was important to present these texts today, as they are linked to our Middle Eastern societies, as well as to the world. Just as we did, Rana Issa fled Lebanon because of the economic crisis, essayist Bilal Khbeiz because of his subversive writings and the decline in freedom of expression, and journalist Souhaib Ayoub — the only political refugee among us — because of his gay identity,” confides Mroueh in conversation with TMR. 

Actor and musician Raed Yassin plays the role of Rana Issa, with the help of his double bass. He plays the part of a woman without mimicry, and for this he had to find an alternative language for the instrument. The meme reads “My problem with urine is the odor.”

Stories to deconstruct discourse

“Incontinence” is about the sensual, subversive pleasure of pissing on the world to better mark one’s territory — or perhaps to rid oneself of particular landmarks. The piece is a commentary on restrictive national borders, but also social restrictions on citizens. “Today, countries are closing their borders, and populist and nationalist rhetoric is gaining strength everywhere…States no longer have control over the global economy, and are becoming increasingly policed,” says Mroueh.

Through the story of her grandmother Izdihar, a Palestinian refugee in Lebanon, author Rana Issa rethinks the notions of Ummah (community, nation), Umm (mother) and Ummiyya (illiteracy). “Her text served as a catalyst for us, as it analyzes the relationship to language, linked to the mother, but also to the nation,” explains Mroueh. “Through the story of her grandmother, Rana Issa deconstructs macho and religious discourse, while showing that women can also be accomplices [to upholding those discourses].”

Should I of all people train myself to accept the authority of social conventions? What conventions could I trust in the wake of the end of the Lebanese civil war? How old was I when the war ended? Hardly a teenager. Like many of my generation, I didn’t find any reason to submit to any law or accepted rule of our violent society. Drugs were our emblem for rejecting authority, both familial and public. We used to chat about our psychological deviance as if depression and obsession were heroic qualities we aspired to. But of course, I didn’t share my bladder issues with my friends, nor did they share with me their own issues with the authority of shame. I didn’t follow the doctor’s orders. I was more interested in understanding the cause of my out-of-control bladder than finding a solution. 

—from “Incontinence” by Rana Issa.

Personal stories trace interwoven struggles, becoming material for political, social, linguistic and queer reflection. How does one go on with one’s life when everything one has learned and built up through one’s experiences becomes a hindrance? What do you do when you’re born a second time, and find yourself a child in adulthood? Rana Issa, who wound up a refugee in Sweden, recounts how she found herself illiterate as an immigrant. For a long time, she had no command of the Swedish language, and came to find that her daughter had become her mother. 

Lina Majdalanie in Hartaqât, her new performance piece directed by Rabih Mroueh. Credits Nora Rupp.
Lina Majdalanie in Hartaqât, her new performance piece directed by Rabih Mroueh.

Exile, a second birth?

“We were looking for other texts and remembered this essay by Bilal Khbeiz, who was forced to leave Lebanon a few years ago when his writings put him in danger,” Mroueh continues. The journalist had to start a new life in middle age. Now based in the United States, his text attempts to reflect on what happened to him. 

I watched my friends and enemies inherit from me. Some of them were eulogizing me. I was thankful for their loving eulogy but I could not return the affection. 

That is how we die. Some types of death are not a choice but all types of birth are obligatory. You do not choose to be born but you may choose to die. Until now, after long years, I am unable to prove that I died of my own will but I was born twice.

When you become incapable in sharing love, that is when you are born again. 

Excerpt from “Non-functional Memories” by Bilal Khbeiz, translated by Rayya Badran.

Khbeiz recounts his defeat and disappointments not as a form of revenge-seeking, but rather of savoring defeat while continuing his political reflection on the contemporary world.

Photo: Souhaib Ayoub breaks down stereotypes, showing another face of his city, Tripoli, which he had to flee because of his gay identity. photo Nora Rupp.
Souhaib Ayoub breaks down stereotypes, showing another face of his city, Tripoli, which he had to flee because of his gay identity. The meme reads “and so it was the wearing of black veils that became more or less mandatory for most of the women in Tripoli…”

The socio-political roots of xenophobia

The director duo then commissioned a piece of writing from journalist Souhaib Ayoub, who had to flee his native Tripoli, Lebanon, as its increasing conservatism made life difficult for him as a gay man. His text breaks down stereotypes, showing another face to the city, which was once an open and modern cultural capital before a Salafist ideology took hold and flourished there during the civil war. More recently, Tripoli has been at the forefront of a revolutionary movement, becoming the de-facto capital of the Lebanese uprising that broke out on October 17, 2019.

For Ayoub, identities are intertwined with the urban, social and political forms that a city produces. The author calls himself one of the many images of Tripoli’s metamorphoses, where queer life emerges at night. To tell the story of his life and the early discovery of his homosexuality is to tell the story of his city. Denouncing the discrimination and threats he endured, testifying to his struggle for freedom right up to his exile, says a lot about life in the working-class neighborhoods like the one in which he grew up: the political conflicts between families, gangs and religious communities, and their economic impact. Through his story, Ayoub analyzes the social and political roots of these tensions, from the French mandate through the civil war to the present day.

My name is Gloria. My friends at school gave me this name: Gloria. I was 13 years old. 

Gloria is a nickname for a trans woman from Al-Mina. I didn’t know what trans meant. Gloria was black and lived in a neighborhood that racists unashamedly call: negro neighborhood. It originally consisted of thatched huts built for African people whom the French army brought as “servants” for their soldiers. I inherited the nickname Gloria from an African trans woman whose grandparents were abandoned here by the colonizers, in a society which was not theirs and who became Tripolitans by chance, but of second or third or fourth rate. Exactly like my parents. (…) They lived their whole lives in Tripoli but remained foreigners in it. As for us kids, we remained the children of the farmer and the Syrian mother. 

—Excerpt from “The Imperceptible Ooze of Life” by Souhaib Ayoub, translated by Rayya Badran.

Hartaqât, which already had its premiere at the Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne will return there after the series of performances at the Théâtre du Rond-Point des Champs-Elysées. “It’s vital to get these texts heard. The dictatorships of the world we come from mean that people flee disasters. Yet, as we’ve seen with the Syrian war, Europe doesn’t want to welcome these refugees,” remarks Rabih Mroueh. “There’s a crisis in political discourse. The left’s inability to be self-critical is strengthening the right. Religious discourse is on the rise because people have nothing left to hold on to. And this virus is present everywhere, even if you close the borders.”

 

Nada Ghosn is a Paris-based writer who has lived in the Emirates, Yemen, Syria, Lebanon and Morocco, where she has worked for the press and diverse cultural institutions. These days she works as a freelance translator and journalist, having translated several essays, art books, novels, film scripts, plays, and collections of short stories and poetry from Arabic into French. She regularly covers culture and society for such publications as an-Nahar, Grazia and Diptyk, and participates in art projects, conferences and performances.

dictatorshipexileLebanese civil warLebanonLGBTQ+life and deathstoriesSyrian civil warTripolixenophobia

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *