مراجعة فيلم: ميسون الباجه جي "نهرنا. سمائنا" في العراق

30 مايو, 2022
وقت القراءة :4 دقائق

 

عروض نهرنا ... سيقام معرض "سماؤنا" يومي 1 و 6 يونيو في مصر كجزء من أيام القاهرة السينمائية التي تنظمها زاوية ، وفي 29 يونيو في ألمانيا تحت عنوان "تغيير المنظور - الأطفال يصورون عراقهم" - معرض في برلين للجمعية الألمانية للتعاون الدولي ( GIZ) بالتعاون مع مهرجان ALFILM للسينما العربية في برلين.

 

ناجي العلي

 

إن مشاهدة مشاهد الرعب واليأس البشري تتكشف في الوقت الفعلي لعام 2022 مع الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا هو التعرف على الصراعات اليومية الصعبة التي يواجهها الجنود والمدنيون الأوكرانيون. تضفي وسائل الإعلام العالمية طابعا إنسانيا على الأوكرانيين الذين يوصفون بأنهم جهات فاعلة معقدة تقاوم الفظائع الروسية بطرق إبداعية وبطولية. يمكن تمييز التغطية الحالية للحرب في أوكرانيا بسهولة عن الطريقة التي تم بها الإبلاغ عن احتلال العراق والحرب الطائفية اللاحقة من قبل وسائل الإعلام الغربية وصناعة السينما في أعقاب الغزو الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة في عام 2003.

إذا تم انتقاده على الإطلاق ، فإن أحد أشهر تصوير هوليوود للحرب في العراق ، كاثرين بيغلو الحائز على جائزة الأوسكار The Hurt Locker (2008) ، تم تحديه فقط من قبل بعض قدامى المحاربين في حرب العراق بسبب عدم احترامهم المفترض للجيش الأمريكي. دار الجدل العام الخفيف في الولايات المتحدة حول تصوير الفيلم المزعوم غير الدقيق للجنود العصاة الذين يتحولون إلى مارقين. لكن خارج حدود الولايات المتحدة، كره الكثيرون الفيلم بسبب تمثيله الإشكالي للعراقيين الذين تم تصويرهم إما على أنهم كتلة غير متمايزة من المتفرجين أو الأشرار الأشرار. وعلى الرغم من أن النساء العراقيات لا يظهرن على أنهن إرهابيات أو مجرمات، فإنهن يمثلن كضحايا سلبيات. في وقت سابق، أشرك برومفيلد في معركة من أجل حديثة (2007) المدنيين العراقيين بصريا وموضوعيا بقدر أكبر بكثير من التعاطف والإنسانية، ولكن حتى هنا تم إنزالهم إلى حد كبير إلى محيط خط الحبكة والعمل والرؤية.

 

أحدث أفلام المخرجة البريطانية العراقية ميسون الباجه جي المقيمة في لندن ... يقدم "سماؤنا" (2021) تمثيلا مختلفا تماما لحرب العراق: فتدخلها الإبداعي القوي والمؤثر، الذي شاركت في كتابته مع إرادة الجبوري، الروائية والشاعرة المقيمة في بغداد، يضع التجارب اليومية للحرب في مركزها. من نواح كثيرة، يعد الفيلم امتدادا لالتزام الباجه جي الطويل الأمد بتسليط الضوء على تجارب العراقيين العاديين، وخاصة النساء. في سياق النشاط المناهض للعقوبات والحرب التقينا في 1990s ، وشاركنا في تأسيس منظمة تسمى العمل معا: العمل النسائي من أجل العراق كوسيلة لتسليط الضوء على كل من المحنة المحددة للمرأة العراقية في ضوء الديكتاتورية والعقوبات والحرب ، ولكن أيضا لدعم وكالتهم وأشكال مختلفة من المقاومة.

نهرنا ... سماؤنا  تدور أحداثه في حي بغدادي مختلط - مختلط من حيث الطوائف الدينية والخلفيات العرقية. هنا يظهر العراقيون العاديون وهم يحاولون متابعة حياتهم اليومية وصداقاتهم ، فضلا عن العلاقات الرومانسية والعائلية في خضم العنف والفوضى والمخاطر المتعددة المرتبطة بالحرب الطائفية التي أعقبت غزو العراق.

تتقاطع القصص الفردية للشخصيات الرئيسية في الفيلم خلال فترة من العنف الطائفي الشديد وحظر التجول الليلي والانفجارات وعمليات الاختطاف. سياق الفيلم هو الأسبوع الأخير من عام 2006 ، الأسبوع بين عيد الميلاد والعيد الإسلامي. يتم نسج القصص الفردية معا لتقديم سرد جماعي للبقاء والحب والأمل والمقاومة الإبداعية في مواجهة المعاناة والمشقة. وكما يؤكد الباجه جي، فإن النساء والرجال، وحتى الأطفال، الذين تم تصويرهم في الفيلم، ليسوا مجرد ضحايا، بل هم أشخاص لديهم القدرة والطموحات والأحلام. في مواجهة العنف والصدمات اليومية ، يحتفظون بإحساسهم بالذات والإنسانية وأملهم وحتى جرعة هائلة من الفكاهة.

إحدى الشخصيات الرئيسية ، روائية تدعى سارة (لعبت دورها دارينا الجندي الرائعة) ، لم تعد قادرة على الكتابة بعد الآن لأن كل ما تكتبه سيكون كذبة: تجد سارة أنه من المستحيل العثور على الكلمات لوصف أهوال الحرب وصدمتها بدقة. وبدلا من ذلك، تبحث بشكل قهري في الإنترنت عن أعداد القتلى العراقيين. ومع ذلك ، حتى أثناء هوسها بالموتى ، فإن سارة هي في قلب مجتمعها. لا يتخلل دفئها علاقتها العاطفية مع ابنتها الصغيرة ريما (التي تلعب دورها زينب جودة) فحسب ، بل يتخلل أيضا جميع صداقاتها وتفاعلاتها مع الجيران وبائعي المواد الغذائية وحتى الغرباء.

ما إذا كان يجب البقاء في العراق الذي مزقته الحرب أو تركه وراءه هو سؤال طرحه العديد من الشخصيات التي تواجه الفساد المتزايد والتهديدات المختلفة والصدمات والانفجارات اليومية وعدد القتلى. لا توجد إجابة سهلة أو حل واحد لهذه المعضلة ، ولكن يصبح من الواضح أن كل شخص تم تصويره مرتبط ارتباطا وثيقا بمجتمعه وحيه والأشخاص الذين يعيشون معهم ويرتبطون بهم. ريما البالغة من العمر تسع سنوات، الطفلة الجذابة التي ربما تمثل أمل الفيلم في المستقبل، تجد فكرة مغادرة العراق لا يمكن تصورها. كان يعرف سابقا باسم يوم آخر في بغداد، وعنوانه الجديد " نهرنا... تعبر سماؤنا عن تعلق الناس بنهر دجلة، قلب المدينة وروحها، ورفضا أوسع للتجريد من ممتلكاتهم بسبب الحرب والعنف.

 

نادية العلي هي مديرة مركز دراسات الشرق الأوسط في جامعة براون، حيث تشغل منصب أستاذة الدراسات الدولية في معهد روبرت فاميلي للدراسات الدولية وأستاذة الأنثروبولوجيا ودراسات الشرق الأوسط. تتمحور اهتماماتها البحثية الرئيسية حول النشاط النسوي والتعبئة الجندرية، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالعراق ومصر ولبنان وتركيا والحركة السياسية الكردية. تشمل منشوراتها أي نوع من التحرير؟ المرأة واحتلال العراق (2009، مطبعة جامعة كاليفورنيا، شارك في تأليفه مع نيكولا برات)؛ المرأة العراقية: قصص غير مروية من عام 1948 حتى الوقت الحاضر (2007، كتب زيد)، والعلمانية والنوع الاجتماعي والدولة في الشرق الأوسط (مطبعة جامعة كامبريدج 2000). وهي عضو في المجلس الاستشاري ل Kohl: مجلة لأبحاث الجسد والنوع الاجتماعي وشاركت في العديد من المنظمات والحملات النسوية عبر الحدود الوطنية.

بغدادالحرب العراقية الإيرانية حرب العراقميسون الباجه جيأفلامحرب أوكرانيا

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Film Review: Maysoon Pachachi’s “Our River…Our Sky” in Iraq

30 May, 2022
Maysoon Pachachi’s Our River…Our Sky fea­tures (l to r) Dari­na Al Joun­di as Sara, Ali El Kareem as Boat­man and Zainab Joda as Reema (cour­tesy pro­duc­er Talal Al-Muhanna).

 

Screen­ings of Our River…Our Sky will be hap­pen­ing on June 1 & 6 in Egypt as part of Cairo Cin­e­ma Dayspro­grammed by Zawya, and on June 29 in Ger­many with­in the rubric of “Change of per­spec­tive — Chil­dren pho­to­graph their Iraq” — an exhi­bi­tion in Berlin of GIZ (Ger­man Soci­ety for Inter­na­tion­al Coop­er­a­tion) in coop­er­a­tion with ALFILM Arab Film Fes­ti­val Berlin.

 

Nadje Al-Ali

 

To watch scenes of hor­ror and human despair unfold in real-time 2022 with the Russ­ian inva­sion of Ukraine is to get a sense of the dif­fi­cult every­day strug­gles Ukrain­ian sol­diers and civil­ians face. The glob­al media human­izes Ukraini­ans who are described as com­plex actors resist­ing the Russ­ian atroc­i­ties in cre­ative and hero­ic ways. Cur­rent cov­er­age of the war in Ukraine is eas­i­ly dis­tin­guish­able from the way the occu­pa­tion of Iraq and the sub­se­quent sec­tar­i­an war were report­ed by west­ern media and the movie indus­try in the after­math of the US-led inva­sion in 2003.

If it was crit­i­cized at all, one of the most famous Hol­ly­wood depic­tions of the war in Iraq, Kathryn Bigelow’s Oscar-win­ning The Hurt Lock­er (2008), was only chal­lenged by some Iraq War vet­er­ans for sup­pos­ed­ly dis­re­spect­ing the U.S. mil­i­tary. The light­weight pub­lic con­tro­ver­sy in the US revolved around the film’s alleged­ly inac­cu­rate por­tray­al of dis­obe­di­ent sol­diers going rogue. Yet beyond the US bor­ders, many dis­liked the movie for its prob­lem­at­ic rep­re­sen­ta­tion of Iraqis who were either depict­ed as an undif­fer­en­ti­at­ed mass of spec­ta­tors or evil vil­lains. Iraqi women, while not shown to be ter­ror­ist or crim­i­nals, are rep­re­sent­ed as pas­sive wail­ing vic­tims. Ear­li­er, Nick Broomfield’s Bat­tle for Haditha (2007) visu­al­ly and the­mat­i­cal­ly engaged Iraqi civil­ians with far more empa­thy and human­i­ty, but even here they were large­ly rel­e­gat­ed to the perime­ters of plot line, action and vision. 

 

 

Lon­don-based British Iraqi film­mak­er Maysoon Pachachi’s most recent film Our River…Our Sky (2021) offers a dras­ti­cal­ly dif­fer­ent rep­re­sen­ta­tion of the Iraq war: her pow­er­ful and mov­ing cre­ative inter­ven­tion, co-writ­ten with Ira­da Al-Jubori, a Bagh­dad-based nov­el­ist and poet, puts every­day expe­ri­ences of the war at its cen­ter. In many ways, the film is an exten­sion of Pachachi’s long-stand­ing com­mit­ment to high­light expe­ri­ences of ordi­nary Iraqis, espe­cial­ly women. It is in the con­text of anti-sanc­tions and anti-war activism that we met in the 1990s, and co-found­ed an orga­ni­za­tion called Act Togeth­er: Women’s Action for Iraq as a way to high­light both the spe­cif­ic plight of Iraqi women in light of dic­ta­tor­ship, sanc­tions and war, but also to sup­port their agency and var­i­ous forms of resistance. 

Our River…Our Sky  is set in a mixed Bagh­da­di neigh­bor­hood — mixed both in terms of reli­gious denom­i­na­tions and eth­nic back­grounds. Here ordi­nary Iraqis are shown try­ing to pur­sue their every­day lives, their friend­ships, as well as roman­tic and fam­i­ly rela­tion­ships in the midst of vio­lence, chaos and the mul­ti­tudes of dan­ger linked to the sec­tar­i­an war fol­low­ing the inva­sion of Iraq. 

Indi­vid­ual sto­ries of the main char­ac­ters in the movie inter­sect dur­ing a peri­od of extreme sec­tar­i­an vio­lence, night­ly cur­fews, explo­sions and kid­nap­pings. The con­text of the film is the last week of 2006, the week between Christ­mas and Islam­ic Eid. The indi­vid­ual sto­ries are woven togeth­er to make a col­lec­tive nar­ra­tive of sur­vival, of love, hope and cre­ative resis­tance in the face of suf­fer­ing and hard­ship. As Pachachi stress­es, the women and men, and even chil­dren, por­trayed in the film, are not just vic­tims but peo­ple with agency, with ambi­tions and dreams. Con­front­ed with every­day vio­lence and trau­ma, they retain their sense of self, human­i­ty, their hope, and even an enor­mous dose of humor. 

One of the main char­ac­ters, a nov­el­ist named Sara (played by the won­der­ful Dari­na Al Joun­di), is unable to write any­more because every­thing she would write would be a lie: Sara finds it impos­si­ble to find the words to accu­rate­ly describe the hor­rors and trau­ma of the war. Instead, she com­pul­sive­ly search­es the Inter­net for the num­bers of dead Iraqis. Yet, even while obsess­ing about the dead, Sara is at the heart of her com­mu­ni­ty. Her warmth per­me­ates not only her lov­ing rela­tion­ship with her young daugh­ter Rima (played by Zainab Joda) but also all her friend­ships and inter­ac­tions with neigh­bors, food ven­dors, and even strangers. 

Whether to stay in war-torn Iraq or to leave it behind is a ques­tion asked by sev­er­al of the char­ac­ters con­front­ed with grow­ing cor­rup­tion, dif­fer­ent threats, trau­mas, dai­ly explo­sions and death tolls. There is not an easy answer or sin­gle solu­tion to this dilem­ma, but it becomes clear that every­one por­trayed is close­ly attached to their com­mu­ni­ty, their neigh­bor­hood and the peo­ple they live with and relate to. Nine-year-old Rima, the engag­ing child who per­haps rep­re­sents the film’s hope for the future, finds the idea of leav­ing Iraq unimag­in­able. Pre­vi­ous­ly known as Anoth­er Day in Bagh­dad, the film’s new title, Our River…Our Sky, express­es people’s attach­ment to the riv­er Tigris, the heart and soul of the city and a wider refusal to be dis­pos­sessed by war and violence. 

 

BaghdadIraq warMaysoon PachachiUkrainewar movies

Nadje Al-Ali is Director of the Center for Middle East Studies at Brown where she is Robert Family Professor of International Studies and Professor of Anthropology and Middle East Studies. Her main research interests revolve around feminist activism and gendered mobilization, mainly with reference to Iraq, Egypt, Lebanon, Turkey and the Kurdish political movement. Her publications include What kind of Liberation? Women and the Occupation of Iraq (2009, University of California Press, co-authored with Nicola Pratt); Iraqi Women: Untold Stories from 1948 to the Present (2007, Zed Books), and Secularism, Gender and the State in the Middle East (Cambridge University Press 2000). She is on the advisory board of kohl: a journal of body and gender research and has been involved in several feminist organizations and campaigns transnationally.