بعد تسع سنوات من الاحتجاز، منح عراقي حق اللجوء أخيرا

22 أغسطس, 2022
روضان الجاليدي (بإذن من موقع الكاتب).

 

المقود والكرة، رواية ل رودان الجليدي
الإصدارات العالمية 2022
ردمك 9781912987320

 

رنا عصفور

 

أحدث رواية للعراقي الهولندي رودان الجاليدي، المقود والكرة، التي صدرت في المملكة المتحدة هذا الشهر، تبدأ من حيث توقفت روايته لعام 2019 " بطانيتان وثلاث أوراقوهي رواية خيالية لتجربته في الهجرة. سمير طالب اللجوء العراقي، الذي يعتمد بشكل فضفاض جدا على غاليدي، حصل أخيرا على تصريح إقامة، مما أطلق سراحه ليبدأ حياته كمواطن أوروبي بعد تسع سنوات وتسعة أشهر وأسبوع واحد وثلاثة أيام قضاها في مركز اللجوء الهولندي (ASC).

المقود والكرة هي الرواية الثالثة لرودان الجاليدي.

على الرغم من أن السنوات التي قضاها في مركز احتجاز المهاجرين في أي مكان يمكن أن تبدو وكأنها عقوبة بالسجن * ، فإن The Leash and The Ball هي رواية فكاهية ومؤثرة للغاية تنجح بشكل أفضل في إثبات أنه حتى لو تمكنت من إخراج الرجل من ASC ، فإن تحقيق العكس يكاد يكون مستحيلا. سواء قرأ المرء المقدمة أم لا، يشعر المرء أن مشاكل سمير لم تنته بعد. في الواقع، إن اختيار المؤلف أن يبدأ روايته ب "باب زجاجي" كجملة أولى هو مؤشر واضح على هشاشة وعدم استقرار وضع سمير الحالي، الذي يبدو أن "لقاءاته الحاسمة في حياته" "تحدث دائما في المكان الخطأ والزمان الخطأ".

مسلحا بالتأمين الصحي، وورقة تحدد أنه يمكنه البقاء رسميا في هولندا، وكيس قمامة مليء بألبومات الصور القديمة التي جمعها من متاجر التوفير على مر السنين، يروي سمير قصة حياته بعد ASC، وهو يتنقل بين سكن وآخر "مثل الماء الذي يحتاج إلى تنقية نفسه". قصته لا تترك القراء تحت أي وهم فيما يتعلق بالعبثية الملتوية لوضعه. يتعلم سمير كيفية التعامل مع الاختلافات الثقافية بين العراقيين والهولنديين وما يواجهه الاندماج حقا في بلد مليء بالقواعد والعادات غير المفهومة، فضلا عن العمليات التشريعية القاسية والسخيفة المفروضة على المهاجرين الذين، من أجل العيش في أمان، لا يتركون أي ملاذ سوى التحمل. ومما يتردد بشكل خاص على سمير، الذي يخطط للسفر إلى طريفة، في جنوب إسبانيا - حيث يعيش صاحب البلاغ أيضا هذه الأيام - أنه لا يتعين عليه فقط الحفاظ على الإقامة المطلوبة لمدة خمس سنوات في هولندا قبل أن يتم إصدار جواز سفر له لمواصلة السفر، ولكن عليه أن ينتظر بطاقة الهجرة والتجنيس الرسمية بدلا من ورقة الإقامة المؤقتة المطبوعة على ورقة تم تسليمه في ASC. كل هذا يعمل على إطالة صدمة الانتظار التي هيمنت على حياته في ASC ، والتي يقارنها بسخرية ب "الأسماك التي لا تزال تسبح في المحيط ولا ترقد في مقلاة" - وهو نوع من النسيان المطهر.

ما يجعل The Leash and The Ball مختلفين إلى حد كبير عن سابقته هو مقدار البصيرة التي يقدمها في حياة سمير التي نشأ في قرية شيعية في جنوب العراق. يبدو أنه مع ما يشبه "الحياة" في الأفق ، فهو مستعد لإعادة النظر في مخبأه من ذكريات الوطن التي سيمثل الشتاء الأخير من الحرب الإيرانية العراقية آخر مرة يكون فيها جزءا من عائلة كاملة.

"كان منزلنا في العراق عنوانا لسوء الحظ. موقف للحافلات لجروح الشظايا. محطة للدموع والحزن ، حيث كان قطار حياة المرء يقف أحيانا بلا حراك لسنوات متتالية ".

ويحكي عن شقيقه، أول من فر من العراق لتجنب التجنيد في جيش صدام بعد تخرجه من الجامعة، قبل أن يحذو سمير وشقيقه الأصغر حذوهما عندما يأتي دورهما. يموت والده قبل أن يتمكن أي منهم من رؤيته مرة أخرى. يروي كيف قتل شقيق آخر بنيران الهاون ، تاركا أخته تموت من الحزن بعد بضعة أشهر. يتزوج شقيق آخر من حبيبته الجامعية، وهي سنية من شمال الموصل – وهو زواج يقارنه الكاتب بزواج "صبي ألماني وفتاة يهودية خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية". هم أيضا يفرون أخيرا إلى تركيا. واحدة من أكثر الذكريات حزنا هي عندما يتذكر سمير وفاة صديق شاب غرق في نهر الفرات بعد رهانه على الغوص في الماء ، على الرغم من حقيقة أنه لا يستطيع السباحة. في نظر سمير البالغ، ينزل الصبي إلى وضع البطل لحقيقة بسيطة مفادها أن الأبطال يموتون مرة واحدة فقط، على عكس طالبي اللجوء الذين قدر لهم أن يموتوا آلاف المرات في حياة واحدة.

تسلط ملاحظات سمير عن الخصوصيات والسلوكيات الهولندية الضوء على التصور الغربي للهجرة وكذلك على الأسرة والصداقة والإيمان والحب. يبدأ اندماجه في المجتمع الهولندي في سقيفة عائلة Van der Weerdes ، التي يشاركها مع صديق من ASC. هناك يلتقي ليدا وكلبها داريوس ، الذي أصبح مقوده وكرته معجزة سمير السرية لنزع سلاح المجتمع الهولندي وإنفاذ القانون.

يوضح سمير: "بمجرد أن يظنوا أن لديك كلبا ، قد تكون مسلما ، لكنك شخص جيد ، وليس متشددا أو مخيفا. بمجرد أن يروا أن الكلب يمكن أن يعيش مع مسلم ، فإنهم يدركون أنهم يستطيعون ذلك أيضا ".

بينما يغير سمير مسكنه من سقيفة إلى دير، إلى سكن يتقاسم الطلاب، وأخيرا مبنى سكني يضم أشخاصا غير موثقين وطالبي لجوء، يطلق عليهم اسم إلفيس بريسلي، فإننا نتعامل مع كفاحه الداخلي للتوفيق بين من هو حقا والمكان الذي يأتي منه مع الشخص الذي من المفترض أن يصبح مواطنا هولنديا. طوال الوقت نحن ندرك التوازن غير المستقر بين ألمه لتجاهله كأجنبي بالغ من قبل الهولنديين ، والامتنان للشوارع الهولندية المملة والهادئة (أنهار الزمن) ، والأحياء (بحيرات الصمت) ، والمدينة (محيط العجلة) التي تظل "خالية من قذائف الهاون من السماء ، خالية من المجاهدين والجنود ... جنة السلام والهدوء". ويذهب سمير إلى حد اختيار عدم استخدام لسانه في نهاية المطاف "كمكبر صوت للحرب في العراق، حتى لا يفسد الهدوء اللطيف" في قريته التي تبناها.

روضة الجليدي شاعر وكاتب. ولد في العراق وتدرب كمهندس مدني ، ويعيش في هولندا منذ عام 1998. كطالب لجوء غير موثق ، لم يكن لديه الحق في حضور دروس اللغة ، لذلك علم نفسه القراءة والكتابة باللغة الهولندية. فازت روايته De autist en de postduif (التوحد والحمامة الناقلة) بجائزة الاتحاد الأوروبي للأدب في عام 2011 - وهو نفس العام الذي رسب فيه في دورة الجنسية الهولندية. المقود والكرة هي أحدث رواية للجاليدي. روايته السابقة ، بطانيتين ، ثلاث أوراق ، تم نشرها أيضا من قبل World Editions. كلاهما من أكثر الكتب مبيعا في هولندا.

تماما كما هو الحال في بطانيتين ، ثلاث أوراق ، تمتلئ الرواية بمجموعة ملونة من الشخصيات من خلفيات ومناحي الحياة المختلفة. ومع ذلك، فإن سمير دائما، وهو بطل مرح وصادق وبعيد عن إصدار الأحكام، هو الذي يدعمه القراء وهم يشهدون على شخصيته المتطورة وإحساسه بالذات، لأنه يحمل هويته كعراقي من ثقافة عربية تشبه "قفصا يستمر في الانغلاق على روحك حتى لا يكون هناك مجال للتحرك". " ضد ثقافة هولندي يمتلك ثقافة يمكن للمرء أن يذهب فيها إلى أماكن ويختفي في الأعمال الخشبية إذا اختار المرء ذلك.

ومما أثار ذعر سمير، أن كلتا الثقافتين تفتقران إلى الثقافتين. في مرحلة ما كتب: "لقد فقدت إيماني بالله أثناء الحرب ، وإيماني بالعالم بعد عبور الحدود العراقية ، وإيماني في ASC". ومع ذلك، فإنه يفطر القلب بشكل مضاعف عندما يكتشف أنه على الرغم من كل نوايا سمير الأفضل للاندماج، فإن النظام، وليس الشعب الهولندي هو الذي يعتزم أفلام الحرب والحرب الأبدية مع الفوضى أكثر من أي شخص آخر، هو الذي يثبت أنه أكثر خصومه حماسة، ويعارضه ويقوضه. إنه مجبر على اتخاذ قرارات شاقة كلفته جذوره وأرضه ومياهه وهواءه. ويعترف بأن هذا "هو الثمن الذي يدفعه شخص ما للفرار، وترك بلده وراءه، عندما تحتاج إليه للبقاء".

على الرغم من أنها تبدو متكررة وبطيئة في بعض الأجزاء ، إلا أن The Leash and The Ball هي رواية جذابة للغاية تظهر على أنها مزدهرة ، على الرغم من موضوعاتها من الصدمة والحزن والعلاقة المحكوم عليها بالفشل والهجرة غير المستقرة. الجاليدي كاتب يرفض بوضوح الاستسلام للضحية، وبدلا من ذلك يختار فك نقاط الضعف البشرية من خلال قناة الفكاهة، حيث "تأتي الضحكة الأعلى من أعمق الأذى". تتيح رواية سمير اليومية من منظور الشخص الأول للرواية إمكانية الوصول الساحرة ونزع السلاح على حد سواء - مما يعزز قناعة سمير بأن ما يجمع الناس ليس الدين أو الخلفية العرقية، بل الطعام والموسيقى والأدب.

المقود والكرة، مثل سابقتها، كتبها الجاليدي باللغة الهولندية - وهي لغة علمها بنفسه القراءة والكتابة أثناء وجوده في ASC. تم نشر كلتا الروايتين من قبل World Editions وترجمها جوناثان ريدر المولود في الولايات المتحدة والمقيم في أمستردام. 

من المقرر نشر The Leash and The Ball في الولايات المتحدة في 20 سبتمبر.

 

* حالة طالب اللجوء الإيراني إلى أستراليا، بهروز بوشاني، المفصلة في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز، هي مثال متطرف على إهدار الحياة في معسكر اعتقال معزول.

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

After Nine Years in Detention, an Iraqi is Finally Granted Asylum

22 August, 2022
Reading Time :7 minutes
Rodaan Al Galidi (courtesy of the author’s website).

 

The Leash and The Ball, a novel by Rodaan Al Galidi
World Editions 2022
ISBN 9781912987320

 

Rana Asfour

 

Dutch Iraqi Rodaan Al Galidi’s latest novel, The Leash and The Ball, released in the UK this month, picks up where his 2019 novel Two Blankets, Three Sheets, a fictionalized account of his immigration experience, left off. Samir the Iraqi asylum seeker, based very loosely on Galidi, has finally been granted a residency permit, freeing him to begin his life as a European citizen after nine years, nine months, one week, and three days spent languishing in a Dutch Asylum Center (ASC).

The Leash and the Ball is Rodaan Al Galidi’s third novel.

Although years in an immigration detention center anywhere can seem like a prison sentence*, The Leash and The Ball is a humorous and deeply moving novel that succeeds best at proving that even if you manage to get the man out of the ASC, achieving the reverse is near impossible. Whether one has read the prequel or not, one gets the feeling that Samir’s problems are far from over. In fact, the author’s choice to kick off his novel with “a glass door” as a first sentence is a clear indication of the fragility and precariousness of Samir’s present situation, whose “crucial to his life encounters” seem to “always happen at the wrong place and the wrong time.”

Armed with health insurance, a sheet of paper that determines he can officially stay in the Netherlands, and a garbage bag full of old photo albums he’d collected from thrift stores over the years, Samir narrates his life story after the ASC, as he flits between one accommodation and the next “like water needing to purify itself.” His story leaves readers under no illusion as to the tortuous absurdity of his situation. Samir learns to navigate the cultural differences between the Iraqis and the Dutch and what integration really comes up against in a country full of incomprehensible rules and habits, as well as cruel and absurd legislative processes enforced on immigrants who, in order to live in safety, are left with no recourse but to endure. Especially consternating to Samir, whose plan is to travel to Tarifa, in the south of Spain — where the author also happens to live these days — is not only that he has to maintain the required five year-residency in the Netherlands before he can be issued a passport for onward travel, but that he has to wait for the official IND card in lieu of the temporary residency paper printed on a sheet of paper that he was handed at the ASC. All of this serves to extend the trauma of waiting that dominated his life at the ASC, which he sardonically compares to “fish neither still swimming in the ocean nor lying in a pan” — a purgatorial limbo of sorts.

What makes The Leash and The Ball vastly different from its prequel is the amount of insight it offers into Samir’s life growing up in a Shia village in the south of Iraq. It seems that with a semblance of “a life” on the horizon, he is ready to revisit his cache of homeland memories from which the final winter of the Iran-Iraq war would mark the last time he would ever be part of a complete family.

“Our house in Iraq was an address for misfortune. A bus stop for shrapnel wounds. A station for tears and grief, where the train of one’s life sometimes stood motionless for years on end.”

He tells of a brother, the first to flee Iraq to avoid conscription into Saddam’s army after graduating from university, before Samir and his younger brother follow suit when their turn comes up. His father dies before any of them can see him again. He recounts how another brother is killed by mortar fire, leaving his sister to die of grief a few months later. Yet another brother marries his college sweetheart, a Sunni from northern Mosul — a marriage the writer compares to that “of a German boy and Jewish girl during WWII.” They too finally flee to Turkey. One of the saddest reminiscences is when Samir recalls the death of a young friend who drowns in the Euphrates following a bet to dive into the water, despite the fact that he couldn’t swim. In Samir’s adult eyes the boy is relegated to hero status for the simple fact that heroes only die once, as opposed to asylum seekers who are fated to die a thousands times in one lifetime.

Samir’s observations of the Dutch idiosyncracies and mannerisms shine a light on the western perception of immigration as well as on family, friendship, faith, and love. His integration into Dutch society begins in the shed of the Van der Weerdes family, which he shares with a friend from the ASC. There he meets Leda and her dog Darius, whose leash and ball become Samir’s secret miracle to disarming Dutch society and law enforcement.

“As soon as they think you have a dog,” explains Samir “you might be a Muslim, but you’re a good one, not hardcore or scary. Once they see that a dog can live with a Muslim, then they realize that they can, too.”

As Samir changes residences from a shed to a monastery, to a student-sharing accommodation, and finally an apartment building that houses undocumented people and asylum seekers, dubbed Elvis Presley, we are treated to his internal struggle to reconcile who he really is and the place he comes from with the person he is meant to become as a Dutch citizen. All the while we are conscious of the precarious balance between his pain at being ignored as an adult foreigner by the Dutch, and gratitude for the boring and tranquil Dutch streets (rivers of time), neighborhoods (lakes of silence), and a city (an ocean of hurry) that remain “free of mortars out of the sky, free of mujahideen and soldiers…a paradise of peace and quiet.” Samir goes so far as to eventually opt out of using his tongue “as the loudspeaker for the war in Iraq, so as not to mar the gentle tranquility” of his adopted village.

Rodaan Al Galidi is a poet and writer. Born in Iraq and trained as a civil engineer, he has lived in the Netherlands since 1998. As an undocumented asylum seeker he did not have the right to attend language classes, so he taught himself to read and write Dutch. His novel De autist en de postduif (The Autist and the Carrier Pigeon) won the European Union Prize for Literature in 2011—the same year he failed his Dutch citizenship course. The Leash and the Ball is Al Galidi’s latest novel. His previous novel, Two Blankets, Three Sheets, is also published by World Editions. Both are bestsellers in the Netherlands.

Just as in Two blankets, Three Sheets, the novel brims with a colorful array of characters from different backgrounds and walks of life. However, it is always Samir, a lighthearted, honest, far from judgemental protagonist, whom readers root for as they bear witness to his evolving character and sense of self, for he holds up his identity as an Iraqi from an Arab culture that is like “a cage that keeps closing in on your soul until there is no room to move,” against that of a Netherlander in possession of a culture in which one can go places and disappear into the woodwork if one so chooses.

To Samir’s consternation, both cultures come up lacking. At one point he writes, “I lost my faith in God during the war, my faith in the world after crossing the Iraqi border, and my faith in myself in the ASC.” That said, it is doubly heartbreaking when despite all of Samir’s best intentions to integrate, he discovers that it is in fact the system, not the Dutch people who are more intent on war movies and an eternal war with clutter than with anyone else, that proves to be his most ardent opponent, opposing and undermining him. He is forced to make arduous decisions that cost him his roots, his ground, his water, and his air. That, he concedes, “is the price someone pays for fleeing, for leaving his country behind, when it needs him to stay.”

Despite seeming repetitive and slow in some parts, The Leash and The Ball is a highly engaging novel that comes across as buoyant, not withstanding its themes of trauma, grief, a doomed relationship, and immigration ennui. Al Galidi is a writer who obviously refuses to succumb to victimhood, and instead opts to unsheathe human foibles through the conduit of humor, in which “the loudest laugh comes from the deepest hurt.” Samir’s first-person conversational, everyday narrative allows the novel an accessibility that is both enchanting and disarming — reinforcing Samir’s conviction that what brings people together is not religion nor ethnic background, but food, music and literature.

The Leash and The Ball, like its predecessor, was written by Al-Galidi in Dutch — a language he taught himself to read and write while in the ASC. Both novels are published by World Editions and translated by US-born, Amsterdam resident Jonathan Reeder. 

The US publication of The Leash and The Ball is set for September 20.

 

* The case of Iranian asylum seeker to Australia, Behrouz Boochani, detailed in the New York Times, is an extreme example of a life wasting away in an isolated detention camp.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *