ماذا تعني الاحتجاجات الإيرانية بالنسبة لنا – كامين محمدي

15 أكتوبر, 2022

 

إن الحجاب الذي تلوح به النساء الإيرانيات ، مثل الشؤم ، لم يعد ، بالنسبة للشعب الإيراني ، أي علاقة بالإسلام ولكنه رمز للقمع والانتهاكات التي مارسها النظام على شعبه باسم الدين.

 

كامين محمدي

 

منذ 16 سبتمبر ، كنت أسوأ من مراهق يعاني من إدمان سيئ على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وفاة مهسا جينا أميني، وهي كردية إيرانية تبلغ من العمر 22 عاما، على ما يبدو على يد "شرطة الآداب" الإيرانية، والاحتجاجات اللاحقة في إيران جعلتني أتصفح إنستغرام كما لو كانت وظيفة بدوام كامل. لا يمكن تتبع الاحتجاجات وما يحدث على الأرض إلا عبر الإنترنت، لأن خطوط الهاتف إلى البلاد ليست آمنة والاتصال عبر خدمات الرسائل صعب أيضا بسبب قطع السلطات الإيرانية أو إبطاء الإنترنت. الفضاء الإلكتروني هو الآن، كما كان خلال العقد الماضي، المكان الرئيسي الذي يمكن للشعب الإيراني أن يعبر فيه عن نفسه. إنها ليست دائما مساحة آمنة بالنظر إلى "الجيش السيبراني" للنظام الإسلامي ، لكنها أفضل من الشوارع التي تحرسها Gashte Ershad.

بعد أربعة أسابيع من مشاهدة أكثر المشاهد غير العادية التي يتم عرضها في شوارع إيران - تلك التي لم نكن نتوقعها حتى نحن المراقبين المقربين - اضطررت إلى الحد من مشاهدتي لمقاطع الفيديو القادمة من البلاد. وتكشف مقاطع الفيديو، التي تظهر الوحشية، التي أتجنب مثلها باجتهاد في الدراما التلفزيونية، عن استخدام لا مثيل له للقوة والعنف ضد المتظاهرين مما يجعلني أشعر بالغثيان في روحي.

ولكن بينما أقوم بالتمرير وأحاول عدم النقر على مقاطع الفيديو التي ستكسر قلبي مرة أخرى ، صادفت مقطعا لسيدة إيرانية مسنة وهي شخصية معروفة في إيران. وهي مغطاة بالكامل باللون الأسود مع حجاب لا يرقى إليه الشك وهي تبكي على فقدان حياة الشباب على أيدي قوات الأمن التابعة للنظام خلال الاحتجاجات. وهي تقول شيئا لم أسمع أي شخص آخر يقوله بصوت عال - بحلول الربيع المقبل سينتهي هذا النظام.

أنا شهقة. وتظهر أمامي رؤية ، رؤية لم أجرؤ على تصورها منذ عقود حتى الآن ، صورة تم وضعها بعيدا عن كثب وكادت تنسى في مكان ما في أعماق كياني. إنها صورة بسيطة، لي أقف تحت أشجار الطائرة في شارع ولي عصر وشعري يلمع في الشمس الإيرانية، أميل لتقبيل رجلي دون رعشة من الخوف والعار والرهبة تمر بي. صورة بسيطة بما فيه الكفاية ولكن حلم مستحيل.

ولكن هل يمكن أن يكون ذلك في الصيف المقبل ، بدلا من حزم حقائبي لأحد منتجعات أوروبا ، يمكن أن أعود إلى المنزل؟ دون الحاجة إلى حزم نوع من الحجاب؟ إلى إيران حرة، لا يعيق فيها الخوف ومئات التململ عندما أضبط حجابي وأنظر من فوق كتفي لأرى من يراقب؟

ما حدث في الشهر الماضي في إيران يجعل الكثيرين منا في الشتات الإيراني الضخم يحفرون آمالا وأحلاما مدفونة منذ فترة طويلة حول إيران. لأنه بغض النظر عن المدة التي قضيناها بعيدا ، ومدى فعالية إعادة تشكيل أنفسنا على صورة بلداننا الجديدة ، فإن كل إيراني يحمل في داخله نوعا من المثالية الأفلاطونية لإيران التي هي جنتنا الأرضية.

أنا إيراني تم التعرف علي من خلال الواصلة التي تربطني ببريطانيا، البلد الذي استقبلنا عندما هربنا من الثورة الإيرانية عام 1979. تلك الثورة، التي تسمى الآن خطأ إسلامية، كانت في طبيعتها ثورة اشتراكية طالبت بحقوق متساوية وتوزيع الثروة. كانت النساء في الطليعة وكانت إحدى صيحات الحشد هي أنه لا توجد حقوق إنسان بدون حقوق المرأة. ومع ذلك، شعر آية الله الخميني، الذي اندمجت تحت قيادته الإسلامية الشعبوية المختلفة النقابات العمالية والأحزاب الاشتراكية والشيوعية، أنه من الضروري عند توليه السلطة أن تقوم أول مهمة لحكومته - "حكومة الله" كما أسماها - بإلغاء قانون حماية الأسرة لعام 1975، وهو الأكثر تقدمية في المنطقة. وبالنظر إلى جميع المشاكل الملحة التي واجهتها إيران الثورية في عام 1979، فمن الواضح أن هذا كان محور أول مجلس تشريعي للخميني - لرفع سن الزواج للفتيات من 18 إلى 9 سنوات وسحب الكثير من حقوق المرأة. لم يكن حتى عام 1983 أن أصبح الحجاب الإلزامي أخيرا قانونا لجميع النساء في إيران - ويمكن القول إنه فقط بسبب الحرب المدمرة مع العراق التي بدأت في عام 1980 تمكن النظام من فرض ذلك. عندما عدت إلى إيران لأول مرة بعد 18 عاما من الغياب ، كان هذا الحجاب وكيف كنت أرتديه هو محور كل مخاوفي وعصبيتي وقلقي.

خلال السنوات ال 43 التي عشتها في بريطانيا، أملت تقلبات النظام علاقتي بوطني: هل كان لدينا رئيس متشدد أم إصلاحي؟ هل سأتعرض للمضايقة في الشوارع أم سيتم اعتقالي في المطار أم سأترك وحدي؟ هذه محادثة يجريها كل إيراني يعيش في الشتات ويرغب في زيارة إيران مع نفسه. كان جواز سفري هو القضية التي طاردت حياتي: عند وصولي إلى المملكة المتحدة من إيران في عام 1979 ، لن أنسى أبدا الرعب الذي شعرت به عندما وقفنا عند مراقبة الجوازات في مطار هيثرو وانتظرنا ضابط الهجرة ليقرر ما إذا كان بإمكاننا البقاء وإلى متى ، أو ما إذا كنا سنعود إلى إيران إلى السجن أو الموت. في العقود التي استغرقناها للحصول على جوازات سفرنا البريطانية، اعتدت على عدم القدرة على الانضمام إلى أصدقائي في المدرسة في رحلات إلى الخارج وتم التخلي عن أي آمال في العودة إلى الوطن في إيران. على الأقل حتى حصلنا على جوازات سفرنا البريطانية ، ويمكنني أخيرا التوقف عن التذلل في كل مرة أجد أمام مراقبة الجوازات عندما سافرنا. مع إصدار جواز سفري البريطاني ، يمكنني أيضا استعادة جواز سفري الإيراني ، وهكذا ، بعد ما يقرب من 20 عاما من مغادرة إيران ، بدأت في العودة إلى وطني كل عام كمواطن إيراني وليس بريطانيا.

امرأة توقف الشرطة في إيران، رسم توضيحي تكريما لميدان تيانانمين (courtesy Niraee).

على الرغم من توتري ، بدأت الكتابة عن إيران وسرعان ما أصبحت رحلاتي إلى الوراء حجا سنويا مهما. كنت أسافر بجواز سفري الإيراني ، والبريطاني مدسوسا في جيبي الخلفي في حالة حدوث مشاكل ، وكنت أتجول في إيران مع أفراد مختلفين من عائلتي الكبيرة الممتدة ، وأكتب مقالات تسعى إلى إضفاء الطابع الإنساني على شعب إيران وفضح التاريخ والثقافة الطويلة والمتطورة لأرضنا إلى الغرب. توقفت عن عناء أخذ جواز سفري البريطاني عندما أخبرني شخص رفيع المستوى في السفارة البريطانية أنه إذا أخذتني السلطات الإيرانية، احتسابي كمواطن إيراني، وبالتالي لا يمكن للمملكة المتحدة أن تفعل شيئا لمساعدتي.

وقد أثبت ذلك السجن اللاحق لمدة ست سنوات للبريطانية الإيرانية نازانين زاغاري راتكليف في إيران ، ومن المؤكد أن سنوات حياتها الضائعة بسبب هذا السجن العشوائي لم تساعدها وربما أضافت إليها الإجراءات غير الكفؤة لحكومة المملكة المتحدة في ذلك الوقت ، وخاصة إعلان بوريس جونسون الخاطئ ، كوزير للخارجية ، أنها كانت في إيران تدرب الصحفيين.

تم نشر شجرة السرو بقلم كامين محمدي من قبل بلومزبري.

منذ نشر كتابي "شجرة السرو " في عام 2011، لم أعد إلى إيران. ليس لأنني قد يتم اعتقالي بسبب ما كتبته. ولكن لأن القوانين في إيران تجعل أي انتهاك تقريبا يمكن أن يؤدي بك إلى السجن، بتهم فضفاضة وغامضة مثل "الإساءة إلى قوانين الله الأرضية". عشت في إيران لفترات طويلة للبحث في كتابي ، أدركت أن الحياة هناك تعيش في نوع من الضباب من النسيان المتعمد. أنت تعيش كما يحلو لك، بالطبع بتكتم قدر الإمكان، وتحاول ألا تفكر في حقيقة أنه إذا رغبوا في ذلك، يمكن للنظام في أي وقت أن يقرر جرك لأي عدد من التجاوزات الصغيرة التي تعرضك لها الحياة اليومية، سواء كان ذلك أسلوب حجابك أو مجرد حقيقة أنك كنت في تجمع من كلا الجنسين دون تغطية شعرك. اعتدت على الذهاب إلى الحفلات حيث وصلت النساء اللواتي يبدون مثل الغربان السوداء مع الشادور الضخم (الفارسية للحجاب) وإلقاء الضوء عليها لعرض أرقى الأزياء المصممة والوجوه المصنوعة بشكل رائع. بدأت أيضا أشعر بإثارة صغيرة لفكرة أن كل حفلة يمكن أن يتم تفكيكها من قبل شرطة الأخلاق وقد تتطلب هروبا دراماتيكيا فوق أسطح المنازل أو زيارة مركز الشرطة المحلي. شعرت وكأنك تعيش مع الوعي بأن هناك شبكة منتشرة تحت قدميك ، فضفاضة وغرامة لدرجة أنك تكاد تنساها ، ولكن يمكن إغلاقها بناء على نزوة أي مسؤول محلي وحبسك داخل غرزة متقاطعة من قوانين كافكايسك التي قد لا تسمح لك أبدا بالتحرر.

لم يكن نشر كتابي هو ما منعني من العودة إلى إيران. كانت التحولات والمنافسات الداخلية في النظام الذي بدأ في اعتقال مزدوجي الجنسية - الإيرانيين الواصلين مثلي - كوسيلة لابتزاز الأموال المستحقة منذ فترة طويلة من الغرب هي التي أعطتني وقفة. شعرت بأنني مكشوف من قبل تلك الواصلة وغير محمي من قبل حكومة بلدي الذي تبنته. مرة أخرى ، أثبت سجن نازانين الطويل حقيقة ذلك.

أقرأ الآن مذكراتي من الأيام التي كنت أعيش فيها في طهران أبحث في كتابي ، عندما كان لدي شقة وحياة اجتماعية مزدحمة وغالبا ما دخلت المباني الحكومية مرتدية ما يمكن اعتباره حجابا غير مناسب - ليس بقدر ما يظهر الشعر ولكن أكثر من صنادلي ذات الكعب العالي ذات الأصابع المفتوحة التي تكشف عن أصابع قدمي العارية وطلاء الأظافر الوردي الصادم. في تلك الأيام ، بينما كانت نظرة كل مسؤول تنتقل بصمت إلى أصابع قدمي ، لم يتم قول أو فعل أي شيء حيال ذلك. لقد كانت فترة تم فيها التسامح مع "الحجاب السيئ"، وهو تنازل للشعب الذي جلب الرئيس الإصلاحي خاتمي على موجة من الأمل. وحتى بعد انتخاب المتشدد أحمدي نجاد، ظلت هذه الحريات الاجتماعية الصغيرة دون تغيير. كان أسوأ ما خوفي آنذاك هو أن يتم قبولي واضطراري إلى شرح الأشياء لعائلتي ، أو إزعاجها بطريقة ما ، أو الاضطرار إلى مواجهة الاحتمال المهين بأن إطلاق سراحي سيكون مشروطا بقيام إحدى عماتي بإسقاط صكوك منزلها ، مقابل وعدي ب "حسن السلوك". لم أكن أخشى على حياتي ، من الضرب المبرح على رأسي لدرجة أنني سأنتهي في غيبوبة ، كما فعلت مهسا جينا أميني في 13سبتمبر ، بعد اعتقالها. لم أكن أعتقد حينها أن شرطة الآداب قد تغتصبني وتعذبني قبل إلقاء جثتي من مبنى لتغطية خطاياهم. يبدو الخوف الذي طاردني آنذاك خفيفا إلى مستويات العنف الذي لا يمكن تصوره والذي واجهته النساء في إيران بشكل متزايد منذ انتخاب الرئيس المتشدد إبراهيم رئيسي قبل 18 شهرا.

بعد فترة وجيزة من بدء ولاية أحمدي نجاد الأولى، بدأت مضايقة الإيرانيين الواصلين، وأصبحت شقتي في لندن نقطة توقف للأصدقاء الفارين من إيران. علقت في كتابة كتابي وقررت عدم زيارة إيران حتى تتضح الأمور. بعد سنوات قليلة من نشره، عندما تم أخذ نازانين وسجنها بتهم ملفقة بشكل واضح، تبددت الأمل الذي كنت أحمله في أن أتمكن من العودة، أو حتى العيش هناك يوما ما.

شاهدت بأمل صعود حركة الموجة الخضراء التي اجتاحت إيران في عام 2009، بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية المتنازع عليها التي أعيد فيها تنصيب أحمدي نجاد رئيسا فيما بدا أنه تزوير واضح في صناديق الاقتراع. تم سحق أكبر الاحتجاجات التي شوهدت منذ الثورة بوحشية ليس فقط على الفور ولكن في حملة إرهاب استغرقت سبعة أشهر ، تم اعتقال قادتها وسجنهم ، واعتقال المشاركين وضربهم وترهيبهم للخضوع.

وبالمثل ، تم قمع الاحتجاجات اللاحقة التي قادتها النساء - مع وقوف الرجال إلى جانبهن - ولم تؤد إلا إلى مزيد من الحزن. أدت آخر موجة من الاحتجاجات الغاضبة في عام 2019 إلى انقطاع الإنترنت الذي قتل خلاله النظام 1500 شخص. أيا كان الأمل الذي كان لدي في المساعدة على إصلاح إيران من الداخل، وتسميتها مرة أخرى وطنا لها، بدا أنه يموت نهائيا إلى جانب العديد من شبابنا الضائعين.

لكن هذه الحركة، التي نشأت من وطني الأبوي كردستان، والتي تستخدم هتاف الحرية الكردي "حرية حياة المرأة" كصرخة حشد مركزية، مختلفة. وبدون قيادة واضحة أو منظمة مركزية، فإن هذه الاحتجاجات هي حرائق من الغضب المطلق الذي يبدو أنه ينفجر بشكل عفوي في جميع أنحاء إيران: سجلت بي بي سي مونيتورينغ احتجاجات في 350 موقعا في إيران. وتقودها شابات ولكنهن يشملن جميع الأجناس والأعمار والفئات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. فهي لا تركز على النساء فحسب، بل الأقليات العرقية مثل الأكراد والبلوش، حيث تم قمع الاحتجاجات بوحشية بشكل خاص. بينما أكتب هذه السطور، تتعرض مدينة سنندج (عاصمة كردستان الإيرانية) لنوع من القصف الذي يذكر بأيام ما بعد الثورة للخميني، الذي هاجم المنطقة بوحشية لإسكات معارضتها لحكمه الثيوقراطي.

فن الاحتجاج والرسم التوضيحي للمراهقة القتيلة نيكا شاكرامي بواسطة ميسم أزرعزاد (بإذن من ميسم أزرزاد).

إن مجهولية هذه الاحتجاجات، ومطالبها البسيطة بحقوق الإنسان والمساواة والديمقراطية هي اللافتة للنظر. طول عمرها وانتشارها من خلال طلاب الجامعات إلى طلاب المدارس الثانوية. لقد رأينا أشياء في هذه الأسابيع الأربعة كانت أبعد من تخيلاتنا. تلميذات بشعرهن منسدلات ينزلن صورة آية الله الخميني وخامنئي، يطاردن ممثلي النظام من ساحات مدارسهن، والنساء يمارسن بهدوء أعمالهن اليومية في إيران دون معطف فضفاض أو غطاء للرأس في أعمال عصيان مدني قوية. لقد شهدنا استعادة الأماكن العامة من قبل النساء اللواتي يستخدمن أجسادهن المادية - وشعرهن - لاستعادة الشوارع والساحات وساحة المدرسة والحرم الجامعي. هؤلاء النساء شابات بأغلبية ساحقة، ولكن في صرخة الغضب، أسمع صوت جميع نساء إيران اللواتي تم إسكاتهن ليس فقط في السنوات ال 43 الماضية، ولكن لقرون ولجميع الأجيال التي عانت من الإهانة والإذلال والمحو على أيدي "حكومة الله الخاصة".

في حين أن المعاملة الوحشية لمهسا جينا أميني بسبب "الحجاب السيئ" - والآن العديد من الشابات الأخريات اللواتي قتلن في هذه الأسابيع ، بما في ذلك المتظاهرتان البالغتان من العمر 16 عاما نيكا شاكرامي وسارينا إسماعيل زاده - كانت الشرارة التي أشعلت شعلة الغضب هذه. تأتي الحرارة الحقيقية لهذه الحركة من عقود من القمع ، والاقتصاد المنهار ، والفساد الشامل ، وسوء التعامل مع استجابة كوفيد ونفاق النخبة الحاكمة التي ترفض السماح للمرأة الإيرانية بالحريات الأساسية ، حتى عندما يطارد أطفالهم شوارع لوس أنجلوس وهم يرتدون فساتين صغيرة وينشرون صورا للحفلات التي يقيمونها في القصور التي تم شراؤها بثروات بلدنا المسروقة.

لقد كان العيش في الشتات بهويات مزدوجة بمثابة عمل متوازن ، وقد أمضيت جزءا كبيرا من حياتي البالغة والعملية في محاولة تقديم بلدي لبعضنا البعض. منذ خطاب جورج دبليو بوش "محور الشر" ، كان السير على حبل مشدود صعبا بشكل خاص: عدم الجرأة على التحدث بحماس شديد عن الفظائع المروعة التي ارتكبها النظام ضد شعبنا خوفا من التداعيات على عائلتنا في إيران ، لفقدان قدرتنا على السفر إلى هناك بأمان ، وأيضا لتغذية السرد السام لإيران في الغرب وتمكين غزو الحلفاء مثل تلك التي على العراق و أفغانستان.

ومع ذلك، وللمرة الأولى منذ فرارنا في عام 1979، أشعر بالتوافق التام مع شعبي في إيران. إن تنوع المتظاهرين، وقبول مظالم الجميع على أنها متساوية في الجدارة، وفكرة أن جميع الإيرانيين متساوون في رغبتهم في تحقيق نفس الهدف - الحرية في عيش حياة سلمية دون إساءة - يجعلني أنا وأولئك في الشتات نشعر أيضا بأننا مشمولون.

حتى في امتيازي الشديد في الغرب، أنا أيضا عانيت على يد هذا النظام. لقد فقدت بلدي والاتصال اليومي والعلاقة مع الناس الذين أحبهم. لقد اضطررت إلى التوفيق بطريقة ما مع فقدان وطني ولغتي الأم واتصالي المباشر بثقافتي ، وكان علي أن أعتاد على أن أكون "بريطانيا ولكن ..." ، وألا أشعر تماما بأنني في المنزل في أي مكان أو جزء كامل من أي مجموعة عرقية. وأنا أيضا أعاني من الخوف منذ سن التاسعة منذ أن ظهر اسم والدي على قبر واضطررنا إلى الفرار للنجاة بحياتنا. حتى عملي الصحفي والكتاب الذي كتبته عن إيران كان ملونا بالخوف، وحتى في وجودي المتميز لحرية التعبير، مارست الرقابة الذاتية من أجل الوصول إلى وطني، إلى الأشخاص الذين أحبهم هناك.

لكن الآن، ولأول مرة منذ سنوات عديدة، أسمح لنفسي مرة أخرى أن أحلم بأنني أستطيع في يوم من الأيام دخول إيران دون خوف يسيطر على قلبي ويرافق كل خطوة أخطوها هناك. وهذا الأمل الصغير الرقيق والحساس أعطاني إياه شابات بلدنا ، أبطالنا. منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمان كتبت في " شجرة السرو": "قد لا يكون ذلك غدا أو العام المقبل، لكنني أعلم أن نساء إيران سيأخذن يوما ما ما هو حق لهن، مدعومات بقلوبهن الضخمة وعقورهن الشرسة وألسنتهن الحادة". لقد أعادت لنا لبؤات إيران هذه على الأقل قدرتنا على الحلم مرة أخرى، وهذا التخيل لواقع جديد - رؤيته في شوارع إيران بينما تتجول النساء دون حجاب - ربما يكون أكبر تهديد لاستمرار الوضع الراهن. حياة المرأة وحريتها إن شاء الله.

 

كامين محمدي كاتبة وصحفية ومذيعة ومعلمة وقيِّمة ثقافية بريطانية إيرانية. ولدت في إيران، وانتقلت إلى المملكة المتحدة خلال الثورة الإيرانية العام 1979. رُشحت أعمالها الصحفية لجائزة منظمة العفو الدولية لحقوق الإنسان في الصحافة في المملكة المتحدة، ولجائزة المجلة الوطنية من قبل الجمعية الأمريكية المرموقة لمحرري المجلات. قامت كامين بتأليف كتابين، بيلا فيغورا: كيف تعيش وتحب وتأكل على الطريقة الإيطالية (قيد التطوير حاليا للعرض التلفزيوني) ، وشجرة السرو: رسالة حب إلى إيران ، وكلاهما من إصدارات Bloomsbury. تعيش في توسكاني.

الحركة الخضراءإيران احتجاجاتمهسا أمينيشرطة الأخلاقنيكا شاكراميالمرأة حرية الحياة

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

اصبح عضوا

What the Iran Protests Mean for Us—Kamin Mohammadi

15 October, 2022

 

The head­scarf that is being waved, ban­shee-like, by Iran­ian women is, for the peo­ple of Iran, no longer any­thing to do with Islam but a sym­bol of the oppres­sion and the abus­es that the regime has vis­it­ed on its own peo­ple in the name of religion.

 

Kamin Mohammadi

 

Since Sep­tem­ber 16th, I have been worse than a teenag­er with a bad social media addic­tion. The death of Mah­sa Jhi­na Ami­ni, a 22-year-old Iran­ian Kurd, appar­ent­ly at the hands of Iran’s Gashte Ershad or “Moral­i­ty Police,” and the sub­se­quent protests in Iran have me scrolling through Insta­gram like it’s a full­time job. Track­ing the protests and what is hap­pen­ing on the ground can only real­ly be done online, since phone lines into the coun­try are not safe and con­tact via mes­sag­ing ser­vices is also dif­fi­cult due to the Iran­ian author­i­ties’ cut­ting off or slow­ing down the inter­net. Cyber­space is now, as it has been for the past decade, the main place where the Iran­ian peo­ple can express them­selves. It’s not always a safe space giv­en the Islam­ic regime’s “cyber army,” but it’s bet­ter than the streets which are patrolled by the Gashte Ershad.

After four weeks of watch­ing the most extra­or­di­nary scenes being played out on the streets of Iran — ones that even us close observers could not have antic­i­pat­ed — I have had to lim­it my intake of videos com­ing out of the coun­try. Show­ing bru­tal­i­ty, the likes of which I stu­dious­ly avoid on tele­vi­sion dra­mas, the videos reveal an unpar­al­leled use of force and vio­lence against the pro­tes­tors that makes me sick to my soul. 

But as I am scrolling and try­ing not to click on videos that will break my heart again, I come across a clip of an elder­ly Iran­ian lady who is a well-known per­son­al­i­ty in Iran. She is ful­ly cov­ered in black with unim­peach­able hijab and she is cry­ing about the loss of young life at the hands of the regime’s secu­ri­ty forces dur­ing the protests. And she says some­thing I have yet to hear any­one else say­ing out loud — by next spring this regime will be over.

I gasp. And a vision ris­es up before me, one I have not dared envis­age for decades now, an image that has been close­ly put away and almost for­got­ten some­where deep in my being. It is a sim­ple pic­ture, of me stand­ing under the plane trees of Vali Asr Boule­vard with my hair glim­mer­ing in the Iran­ian sun, lean­ing in to kiss my man with­out a shiv­er of fear, shame and dread run­ning through me. A sim­ple enough image but an impos­si­ble dream.

But could it be that next sum­mer, instead of pack­ing my bags for one of the resorts of Europe, I could be head­ing home? With­out the need to pack some sort of hijab? To a free Iran, one in which every step I take is not dogged by fear and a hun­dred fid­gets as I adjust my hijab and look over my shoul­der to see who is watching?

What has hap­pened in the past month in Iran is mak­ing many of us in the huge Iran­ian dias­po­ra exca­vate long-buried hopes and dreams around Iran. Because no mat­ter how long we have been away, and how effec­tive­ly we have remade our­selves in the image of our new coun­tries, nev­er­the­less every Iran­ian car­ries inside them a sort of Pla­ton­ic ide­al of an Iran which is our earth­ly paradise.

I am an Iran­ian iden­ti­fied by the hyphen that attach­es me to Britain, the coun­try that took us in when we fled the Iran­ian rev­o­lu­tion of 1979. That rev­o­lu­tion, now wrong­ly called Islam­ic, was in its nature a social­ist rev­o­lu­tion that demand­ed equal rights and dis­tri­b­u­tion of wealth. Women were at the fore­front and one of the ral­ly­ing cries was there are no human rights with­out women’s rights. Yet Aya­tol­lah Khome­i­ni, under whose charis­mat­ic pop­ulist Islam­ic lead­er­ship the dif­fer­ent labor unions and social­ist and com­mu­nist par­ties coa­lesced, felt it nec­es­sary on tak­ing pow­er to make the first job of his gov­ern­ment — “God’s own gov­ern­ment” as he called it — to repeal the Fam­i­ly Pro­tec­tion Law of 1975, the most pro­gres­sive in the region. Giv­en all the urgent prob­lems that rev­o­lu­tion­ary Iran faced in 1979, it is telling that this was the focus of Khomeini’s first leg­is­la­ture — to take mar­riage age for girls from 18 down to 9 and take away so many of the rights of women. It was not until 1983 that manda­to­ry hijab was final­ly made law for all women in Iran — and arguably it was only due to the dev­as­tat­ing war with Iraq that start­ed in 1980 that the regime was able to impose this. When I first went back to Iran after 18 years away, it was this hijab and how I was wear­ing it that became the focus of all my fear, ner­vous­ness and worry.

In the forty-three years that I have lived in Britain, my rela­tion­ship with my home­land has been dic­tat­ed by the vagaries of the regime: did we have a hard­line pres­i­dent or reformist? Would I be harassed on the streets or arrest­ed at the air­port or left alone? This is a con­ver­sa­tion that every Iran­ian liv­ing in dias­po­ra who wish­es to vis­it Iran has with them­selves. My pass­port has been the issue that has haunt­ed my life: on arriv­ing in the UK from Iran in 1979, I will nev­er for­get the ter­ror I felt as we stood at pass­port con­trol at Heathrow and wait­ed for the immi­gra­tion offi­cer to decide whether we could stay and how long for, or whether we would be sent back to Iran to impris­on­ment or death. In the decades it took for us to receive our British pass­ports, I became used to not being able to join my school friends on trips abroad and any hopes of going home to Iran were aban­doned. At least until we got our British pass­ports, and I could final­ly stop cring­ing every time I found myself in front of pass­port con­trol when we trav­elled. With the issu­ing of my British pass­port, I could also claim back my Iran­ian one and so, near­ly 20 years after leav­ing Iran, I start­ed to trav­el back to my home­land every year as an Iran­ian rather than a British citizen.

Woman stops police in Iran, illus­tra­tion in homage to Tianan­men Square (cour­tesy Niraee).

In spite of my ner­vous­ness, I start­ed to write about Iran and my trips back soon became an impor­tant annu­al pil­grim­age. Trav­el­ling on my Iran­ian pass­port, my British tucked in my back pock­et in case of prob­lems, I would roam Iran with dif­fer­ent mem­bers of my large extend­ed fam­i­ly, writ­ing arti­cles that sought to human­ize the peo­ple of Iran and expose the long and sophis­ti­cat­ed his­to­ry and cul­ture of our land to the west. I stopped both­er­ing with tak­ing my British pass­port when one year some­one high up at the British embassy told me that if the Iran­ian author­i­ties took me, I would be count­ed as an Iran­ian cit­i­zen and so the UK could do noth­ing to help me.

The sub­se­quent six-year impris­on­ment of British-Iran­ian Nazanin Zaghari Rat­cliffe in Iran has borne this out, the years of her life lost to this ran­dom incar­cer­a­tion cer­tain­ly not helped and prob­a­bly added to by the inept actions of the UK gov­ern­ment in that time, espe­cial­ly Boris Johnson’s wrong­ful dec­la­ra­tion, as For­eign Sec­re­tary, that she had been in Iran train­ing journalists.

The Cypress Tree by Kamin Moham­ma­di is pub­lished by Blooms­bury.

Since my book The Cypress Tree was pub­lished in 2011, I have not been back to Iran. Not because I may be arrest­ed for what I wrote. But because the laws in Iran are such that almost any trans­gres­sion could land you in jail, for charges that are as broad and vague as “offend­ing the laws of God’s earth.” Liv­ing in Iran for lengthy peri­ods to research my book, I real­ized that life there is lived in a kind of fog of delib­er­ate for­get­ful­ness. You live as you wish, of course as dis­creet­ly as pos­si­ble, and you try not to think about the fact that should they so wish, the regime could at any point decide to haul you in for any num­ber of small trans­gres­sions that dai­ly life expos­es you to, be it the style of your hijab or just the fact that you were in a gath­er­ing of both sex­es with­out your hair cov­ered. I became used to going to par­ties where women arrived look­ing like black crows with their volu­mi­nous chadors (Per­sian for hijab) and shed them to dis­play the finest of design­er fash­ions and exquis­ite­ly made-up faces. I also start­ed to feel a small thrill at the idea that each par­ty could be bro­ken up by the Moral­i­ty Police and might neces­si­tate a dra­mat­ic escape over rooftops or a vis­it to the local police sta­tion. It felt like liv­ing with the con­scious­ness that there is a net spread under your feet, so loose and fine that you almost for­get about it, but that can be pulled closed at the whim of any local offi­cial and trap you with­in a cross-stitch of Kafkaesque laws that might nev­er let you free.

It wasn’t so much the pub­li­ca­tion of my book that stopped me return­ing to Iran. It was more the inter­nal shifts and rival­ries in a regime that start­ed arrest­ing dual nation­als — hyphen­at­ed Ira­ni­ans like myself — as a way of extort­ing long-owed mon­ey from the west that gave me pause. I felt exposed by that hyphen and unpro­tect­ed by the gov­ern­ment of my adopt­ed coun­try; again, Nazanin’s long incar­cer­a­tion has proved the truth of this.

I now read back my diaries from the days when I lived in Tehran research­ing my book, when I had an apart­ment and busy social life and often stepped into gov­ern­ment build­ings wear­ing what could be con­sid­ered inap­pro­pri­ate hijab — not so much the amount of hair show­ing but more my open-toes high heeled san­dals which exposed bare toes and shock­ing pink nail var­nish. In those days, while every official’s gaze trav­elled silent­ly to my toes, noth­ing was said or done about it. It was a peri­od in which “bad hijab” was tol­er­at­ed, a con­ces­sion to the peo­ple who had brought reformist pres­i­dent Khata­mi in on a wave of hope. Even after the elec­tion of hard­lin­er Ahmadine­jad, these small social free­doms remained unchanged. My worst fear then was being tak­en in and hav­ing to explain things to my fam­i­ly, incon­ve­nienc­ing them in some way, or hav­ing to face the mor­ti­fy­ing prospect that my release would be con­di­tion­al on one of my aun­ties putting down the deeds of her house, in return for my promise of “good behav­ior.” I did not fear for my life, for beat­ings to the head so severe that I would end up in a coma, as Mah­sa Jhi­na Ami­ni did on Sep­tem­ber 13th, after she was arrest­ed. I did not think then that the Moral­i­ty Police might rape and tor­ture me before throw­ing my body from a build­ing to cov­er up their sins. The fear that stalked me then seems mild to the lev­els of unthink­able vio­lence that women in Iran have increas­ing­ly faced since the elec­tion of the hard­line pres­i­dent Ebrahim Raisi 18 months ago.

Soon after Ahmadinejad’s first term start­ed though, the harass­ment of hyphen­at­ed Ira­ni­ans start­ed, and my flat in Lon­don became a stop­ping point for friends flee­ing Iran. I got stuck into writ­ing my book and decid­ed not to vis­it Iran till things clar­i­fied. A few years after its pub­li­ca­tion, when Nazanin was tak­en and impris­oned on patent­ly made-up charges, I put away the hope I had been har­bor­ing of being able to return, or even one day even to live there.

I watched with hope the rise of the Green Wave move­ment which broke over Iran in 2009, after the dis­put­ed pres­i­den­tial elec­tion in which Ahmadine­jad was rein­stalled as pres­i­dent in what seemed clear bal­lot box fraud. The biggest protests seen since the rev­o­lu­tion were bru­tal­ly crushed not just instant­ly but, in a cam­paign of ter­ror that took sev­en months, its lead­ers were round­ed up and jailed, par­tic­i­pants arrest­ed and beat­en and intim­i­dat­ed into submission.

Sub­se­quent protests led by women — with men stand­ing along­side them — have been sim­i­lar­ly quashed and led to noth­ing but more heartache. The last burst of angry protests in 2019 led to an inter­net black­out dur­ing which the regime report­ed­ly killed 1,500 peo­ple. What­ev­er hope I had had of help­ing reform Iran from the inside, of once again call­ing it home, seemed then to defin­i­tive­ly die along­side so many of our wast­ed young people.

But this move­ment, which rose out of my pater­nal home­land of Kur­dis­tan, which uses the Kur­dish free­dom chant Woman Life Free­dom as its cen­tral ral­ly­ing cry, is dif­fer­ent. With­out an appar­ent lead­er­ship or cen­tral organ­i­sa­tion, these protests are con­fla­gra­tions of absolute fury which appear to be burst­ing out spon­ta­neous­ly all over Iran: BBC Mon­i­tor­ing has record­ed protests in 350 loca­tions in Iran. They are led by young women but cut across all gen­ders, age and socio-eco­nom­ic groups. They are cen­ter­ing not just women but eth­nic minori­ties such as Kurds and Baluchis, where protests have been par­tic­u­lar­ly bru­tal­ly sup­pressed. As I write, the city of Sanan­daj (the cap­i­tal of Iran­ian Kur­dis­tan) is under the sort of shelling that recalls the post-rev­o­lu­tion­ary days of Khome­i­ni, who attacked the region sav­age­ly to silent its oppo­si­tion to his theo­crat­ic rule.

Protest art and illus­tra­tion of slain teenag­er Nika Shakara­mi by Meysam Azarzad (cour­tesy Meysam Azarzad).

It is the face­less­ness of these protests, their sim­ple demands for human rights, equal­i­ty and democ­ra­cy that are remark­able. Their longevi­ty and spread­ing through uni­ver­si­ty stu­dents to high school stu­dents. We have seen things in these four weeks that were beyond our wildest imag­in­ings. School­girls with their hair loose tak­ing down the pic­ture of Aya­tol­lahs Khome­i­ni and Khamenei, chas­ing regime rep­re­sen­ta­tives from their school yards, women qui­et­ly going about their dai­ly busi­ness in Iran with­out a loose coat or head cov­er­ing in pow­er­ful acts of civ­il dis­obe­di­ence. We have seen the retak­ing of pub­lic spaces by women who are using their phys­i­cal bod­ies — and their hair — to take back the streets, the squares, the school yard, the uni­ver­si­ty cam­pus. These women are over­whelm­ing­ly young, but in their cry of fury, I hear the voice of all the women of Iran who have been silenced not just in the past 43 years, but for cen­turies and for all the gen­er­a­tions who have suf­fered indig­ni­ty, humil­i­a­tion and era­sure at the hands of “God’s own government.”

While the bru­tal treat­ment of Mah­sa Jhi­na Ami­ni over “bad hijab” — and now many oth­er young women killed in these weeks, includ­ing 16-year-old pro­tes­tors Nika Shakara­mi and Sari­na Esmailzadeh — was the spark that lit this blaze of rage. The real heat of this move­ment comes from decades of repres­sion, a free-falling econ­o­my, the mass cor­rup­tion, mis­han­dled Covid response and hypocrisy of the rul­ing elite which refus­es to allow Iran­ian women basic free­doms, even as their own chil­dren stalk the streets of LA clad in tiny dress­es and post pic­tures of the par­ties they hold in man­sions bought with the pil­fered rich­es of our country.

Liv­ing in the dias­po­ra with dual iden­ti­ties has been a bal­anc­ing act, and I have spent a large part of my adult and work­ing life try­ing to intro­duce my coun­tries to each oth­er. Since George W Bush’s “Axis of Evil” speech, it has been a par­tic­u­lar­ly tricky tightrope to walk: not dar­ing to speak out too pas­sion­ate­ly about the appalling atroc­i­ties of the regime against our peo­ple for fear of reper­cus­sions for our fam­i­ly in Iran, for los­ing our own abil­i­ty to trav­el there safe­ly, and also for feed­ing the tox­ic nar­ra­tive of Iran in the West and enabling an Allied inva­sion such as those on Iraq and Afghanistan.

And yet, for the first time since we fled in 1979, I feel ful­ly aligned with my peo­ple back in Iran. The diver­si­ty of the pro­tes­tors, the accep­tance of everyone’s griev­ances as being equal­ly wor­thy, the idea that for once, all Ira­ni­ans are equal in their desire for the same goal — free­dom to live a peace­ful life with no abuse — makes me and those in the dias­po­ra also feel included.

Even in my extreme priv­i­lege in the West, I too have suf­fered at the hands of this regime. I have lost my coun­try and dai­ly con­tact and rela­tion­ship with the peo­ple I love. I have had to some­how square myself with the loss of my home­land, moth­er tongue and direct con­nec­tion with my cul­ture, I have had to grow accus­tomed to being “British but…,” to not feel­ing entire­ly at home any­where nor entire­ly part of any eth­nic group. And I too have been dogged by fear since the age of nine since my father’s name appeared on a grave and we had to flee for our lives. Even my jour­nal­ism and the book I have writ­ten about Iran has been col­ored by fear, and even in my priv­i­leged exis­tence of free speech I have self-cen­sored in order to have access to my home­land, to the peo­ple I love there.

But now, for the first time in many years I am allow­ing myself once more to dream that one day I can enter Iran with­out fear grip­ping my heart and accom­pa­ny­ing every step that I take there. And this heady and del­i­cate lit­tle hope has been giv­en to me by the young women of our coun­try, our heroes. Over a decade ago I wrote in The Cypress Tree: “It may not be tomor­row or next year, but I know that the women of Iran will one day take what is right­ful­ly theirs, pow­ered by noth­ing oth­er than their huge hearts, fierce intel­lects and sharp tongues.” These lioness­es of Iran have at least giv­en us back our abil­i­ty to dream again, and it is this imag­in­ing of a new real­i­ty — of see­ing it on the streets of Iran as women walk around with­out hijab — that is per­haps the biggest threat to the con­tin­u­a­tion of the sta­tus quo. Woman Life and Free­dom, inshallah.

 

Kamin Mohammadi is a British-Iranian author, journalist, broadcaster, teacher and cultural curator. Born in Iran, she moved to the UK during the 1979 Iranian Revolution. Her journalism has been nominated for a UK Amnesty Human Rights in Journalism award, and for a National Magazine Award by the prestigious American Society of Magazine Editors. Kamin has authored two books, Bella Figura: How to Live, Love and Eat the Italian Way (currently in development for TV), and The Cypress Tree: A Love Letter to Iran, both published by Bloomsbury. She lives in Tuscany.

Green MovementIran protestsMahsa Aminimorality policeNika Shakaramiwomen life freedom

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments