"أصوات تكاد تُنسى"، و"قريب من قبر"، من كتاب الغولاك السوري

وقت القراءة :7 دقائق
استنادًا إلى حوارات مع كل من الضحايا والجناة وملاحظات الناجين وكتبهم ومذكراتهم، إلى جانب أرشيفات النظام المسربة والصور وملفات المخابرات، استغرق كتاب الغولاك السوري: داخل نظام سجون الأسد من تأليف جابر بكر وأوميت أونغور (I.B. Tauris/Bloomsbury، 2023) خمس سنوات من الكتابة والبحث. لم يكن من الممكن إجراء مقابلات مستفيضة في الكتاب مع 150 معتقلاً سوريًا إلا لأن العديد من المعتقلين فروا من بلدهم مع مئات الآلاف من المعتقلين الآخرين بعد الحرب والثورة السورية. هذه مقتطفات حصرية.

 

جابر بكر و أوغور أوميت أونغور

 

قصيدة بشفرة مورس

في أبريل 1987، كُتبت قصيدة على جدار زنزانة في سجن قسم فلسطين. الشاعر السوري فرج بيرقدار نقلها إلى زميله أكرم البني في الزنزانة المجاورة، مستخدمًا لغة مورس التي طورها السجناء فيما بينهم. لغة كاملة لها أصولها وتعقيداتها وأساليبها الخاصة، وكان البُني وبيرقدار على دراية جيدة بها. نقر بيرقدار على جدار الزنزانة الذي يفصله عن زميله البني، إحدى عشرة علامة مرتبطة بحرف القاف. ثم واصل نقره قائلاً: "ذات مرة ... قال لي "زمان بن زمان" النار برهان". ومضى بيرقدار في سرد القصيدة التي كتبها في رأسه بعد سنوات من الانقطاع عن الشعر. وأنهى بيرقدار إلقاء قصيدته الطويلة بالنقر على الحائط. سرعان ما أعرب البني عن إعجابه بها، لكن الشاعر رد عليه ببرودة: "لا تجاملني وأعطني رأيك الحقيقي". فأعاد عليه البُني نفس القصيدة بالنقر على الحائط ليؤكد له إعجابه بها. غير أنه أخطأ في حرف واحد فصحح له بيرقدار الخطأ بالنقر على الحائط. ضحكا طويلاً وهما يمسحان دم العذاب عن وجهيهما، بينما كان البيرقدار يختم قصيدته التي كان عنوانها "قصة":

سيد اليأس
أبلغ سيدك السلطان
الزنزانة ليست أضيق من قبره
الزنزانة ليست أقصر من عمره.

[من حوار مع فرج بيرقدار]

 

داخل معسكرات الاعتقال في سوريا
الغولاك السوري " من إصدارات Bloomsbury.

شهادات أول شخص من داخل تدمر

كانت مجزرة تدمر أو مجزرة سجن تدمر العام 1980 واحدة من أكبر المجازر التي وقعت في يوم واحد في تاريخ سوريا والشرق الأوسط الحديث.

26 ناجٍ - فتحوا باب عنبرنا صباح يوم الجمعة 27 حزيران/يونيو 1980 لمناداة الأسماء. كنا 26 معتقلاً في المهجع، وكنا جميعاً متهمين بالانتماء إلى البعث العراقي، "اليمين المشبوه" كما كان يُشار إليه في أوساط المخابرات... سألنا ضابط لواء الدفاع "هل أنتم جميعًا من اليمين المشبوه"؟ فأكدنا له ذلك. فخرجوا وأغلقوا الباب دون أن يقولوا كلمة... كنا خائفين ولم يكن أحد قادرًا على السؤال أو الاستفسار. في الساعة التاسعة تمامًا، ألقوا قنابل يدوية في المهجعين الخامس والسادس اللذين كانا مكتظين بالمعتقلين. ألقيت القنابل من النافذة المفتوحة على السطح؛ فتحة التهوية. بدأ المعتقلون بالصراخ "الله أكبر". أغلق الجنود أبواب المهاجع، باستثناء مهجعنا، وأطلقوا النار بكثافة على الجميع. خفتت أصوات المعتقلين ببطء تحت أزيز الرصاص وصرخات الموت. اصطففنا على جدران مهجعنا وظهورنا إلى باب المهجع. اقترح أحد زملائنا الانتقال إلى منطقة أقرب إلى الباب، لأن الموت هناك سيكون أسرع وأقل إيلامًا. تشاجرنا لنقف هناك، كل منا يريد أن يكون أول من يموت. طلبنا العفو من بعضنا البعض في انتظار أن يحصدنا الرصاص. على الجانب الآخر من باب مهجعنا وقف رقيب ظل يفتح... النافذة وينظر إلينا ثم يغلقها. استمر إطلاق النار ثلاث ساعات، حتى منتصف النهار. بعد ذلك، جلسنا... في سكون تام في انتظار ما قد يحدث بعد ذلك... تسربت الدماء من تحت أبواب بقية المهاجع. لم يكن لدينا ماء أو طعام أو إضاءة بسبب انقطاع الكهرباء، حتى المساء. مدت إدارة السجن كابلًا كهربائيًا في نهايته مصباح لإضاءة الفناء الثالث الذي يطل عليه مهجعنا. أطللنا على الفناء حيث كان أحد السجانين... وضعوا كل جثة على غطاء أمام [الحارس] أبو جهل. ثم غرس أبو جهل سيخًا حديديًا رفيعًا في كل جثة للتأكد من موت صاحبها. اكتشفوا بعض الذين كانوا لا يزالون على قيد الحياة بين الجثث. قتلوا رميًا بالرصاص. استمرت عمليات النقل هذه طوال الليل.

[من حوار مع خالد العقلة]

 

الطعام القذر

كان الطعام يصلنا ثلاث مرات في اليوم. أتى معه الجلادون الذين كانوا يتنافسون في الإبداع لإذلالنا. كان أحدهم يضع حذاءه العسكري المليء بالأوساخ وفضلات الحيوانات في أوعية طعامنا، قبل أن يفتح الباب لإدخال الطعام، خاصة عندما يكون الطعام سائلاً... كنا ندخل الطعام تحت ركلاتهم وسياطهم وهم يضحكون بشكل هستيري. وإذا كان حذاءه نظيفًا وكان على عجلة من أمره، كان يقبض من رمل الفناء الذي اختلط مع مرور الأيام بدمائنا ويرميه فوق الأرز أو البرغل. حدث أكثر من مرة أن تبول أحدهم فوق الطعام وسط ضحكات هستيرية من زملائه. وصلت هذه التصرفات إلى مدير السجن الذي سجلها كنقاط إيجابية...

[حوار مع محمد برو، و ناجٍ من المقصلة. ثمانية أعوام في سجن تدمر (بيروت، جسور، 2020)].

 

"إنه ماء يا سيدي!"

نعم، في هذا الجحيم المصغر، كانت لدينا لمحات من الأمل وحب الحياة، لكنها كانت مريرة وقصيرة. سرعان ما كانت تلك اللحظات تتلاشى مع جولات التعذيب. كانت أكثرها فتكًا وشراسة تلك التي كان يشرف عليها مراقب الانضباط شخصيًا. فقد كان يدخل إلى ساحتنا في أوقات التريض وهو يتهادى كالأمير، وسيجارة تتدلى من طرف شفته، وفي يده قضيب معدني برأس مدبب. كان إذا أراد التحدث إلى أحد السجناء، كان يغرز القضيب في جسده ويطلب من السجين الذي بجانبه أن يخرجه. كان الدم يتدفق ويسحب السجين المطعون إلى العنبر. ثم يسأل السجّان: "ما هذا!" مشيرًا إلى الدم. فيجيب السجين "إنه ماء يا سيدي!" فيجيب الضابط "أحسنت. اشربه إذن". وما أن يجثو المسكين على ركبتيه امتثالاً للأمر، حتى يلقى نفس المصير ويلحق بسابقه. في نهاية جلسة "التريض"، كان يأتي شخص آخر ويسأل رئيس المهجع: "كم عدد الإصابات التي لديك؟" فيجيب رئيس المهجع: "عشرون يا رقيب!" فيجيب الأخير: "عشرون فقط...؟!"

[مقابلة مع عباس الذي قضى 15 عامًا في سجني تدمر وصيدنايا].

 

"أكاديمية تدمر" في تدمر

لقد مررنا بالعديد من الأحداث التي تطورت خلالها احتياجاتنا وأولوياتنا. كان كل منا يصنع ما يجعله يشعر بوجوده الفردي والجماعي. تبادلنا خبراتنا ومعارفنا. تحدثنا كثيرًا. استعرضنا تجاربنا السياسية في كل محطة من محطات حياتنا. طرحنا آراءنا النقدية حول تلك التجارب. أجرينا دورات شفهية في العروض والشعر واللغات والاقتصاد والهندسة. تعلمنا كيفية تحسين الطعام والسلوك. ابتكرنا وسائل للتسلية: المسرح، والتمثيل الإيمائي وفوازير الأمثال الشعبية، وألعاب الشطرنج... والبرجيس (لعبة لوحية تقليدية). كنا نلقب بعضنا البعض "حامل السلم بالعرض، رأس الخيط، راوي القصص، الحالم". كنا نتقاسم الاختصاصات: التطريز والخياطة وخيوط النايلون والحبر البدائي الذي كان خليطًا كيميائيًا غريبًا مصنوعًا من قشور البصل والرمان، وبقايا الشاي وكبسولات حبوب منع الحمل المضادة للالتهابات التي كنا نذيبها تحت المصباح الكهربائي الذي كان يتدلى من السقف... عشنا في أواخر القرن العشرين العصور البدائية للإنسان. في عصر النايلون، الذي جاء مع وصول الخبز إلى المهاجع في أكياس النايلون، اكتشفنا طريقة غزل الخيوط بفضل من سبقونا إلى المكان و ... تركوا هذه المعلومات على الحائط. استخدمناها، كما فعلوا هم، في صنع أرفف المطبخ وأحبال الغسيل والصنادل والسجاد الصغير وأكياس الشبك التي ستستخدمها زوجاتنا في التسوق بعد سنوات... في عهد الكرتون صنعنا مفارش الطاولات والطاولات من عجين الكرتون وأغطية الدفاتر المصنوعة من ورق النفايات وأغطية علب السجائر التي احتفظنا بها، وأوراق اللعب ولوحات للرسم... أحياناً تتكرر نفس التجربة الإنسانية. الفرق هو تراكم التجارب والكفاءة والمصادفات. كان أجدادنا في سجن تدمر يجرون عمليات جراحية بسيطة ومتوسطة بأدوات مصنوعة من العظام والخشب والرقائق المعدنية من أنابيب المراهم وشرائح الحديد التي كانوا يقتطعونها من أسفل الباب الحديدي المتآكل. كانوا يصقلونها بالفرك... كانوا يستخدمون الخل والملح للتعقيم. أكلوا مسحوق العظام وقشر البيض لتعويض نقص الكالسيوم. صنعوا خزانات المياه من أكياس النايلون والمواد اللاصقة للنجاة من شبه انعدام المياه الجارية. كانوا يستحمون باستخدام خمسة لترات من الماء. واستخدموا ألواحًا سحرية للكتابة. كان الكثير منهم يحفظون القرآن بالتلاوة من الآخرين... كانوا يتواصلون بإشارات مورس عبر الجدران.

[عباس، توقًا إلى الحياة (بيروت: دار الخيال، 2015)]

 

جابر بكر روائي سوري، ومخرج أفلام وثائقية، وناشط في مجال حقوق الإنسان، وباحث أول مسؤول عن الملف السوري في مركز سمير كيز (سكايز) للإعلام والحرية الثقافية. شارك مع أوغور أوميت أونغور في تأليف الغولاك السوريوكتب العديد من الروايات السياسية باللغة العربية، منها المحكمات الإلهية (2017) و باب الفراديس - رسائل غيلان الدمشقي المفقودة (2020). كتب بكر وعمل على إنتاج عدد من الأفلام الوثائقية والمسلسلات الصوتية، من بينها "عامل إغاثة آخر" عن اختطاف عمر خاني وكايلا مولر في سوريا، و"الكاتب" عن محاكمة ضابطي مخابرات سوريين في ألمانيا.

 

أوغور أوميت أونغور أكاديمي ومؤرخ وعالم اجتماع هولندي وأستاذ دراسات الإبادة الجماعية في معهد NIOD لدراسات الحرب والهولوكوست والإبادة الجماعية في أمستردام، متخصص في العنف الجماعي في الشرق الأوسط. فاز بالعديد من الجوائز الأكاديمية وشغل مناصب كاتب زائر في كل من دبلن وفانكوفر وبودابست وتورنتو ولوس أنجلوس. شارك في تأليف كتاب " الغولاك السوري " مع جابر بكر، وكتب " شبه العسكرية: العنف الجماعي في ظل الدولة (Oxford University Press, 2020)، وميليشيات الأسد والعنف الجماعي في سوريا الذي سيصدر قريبًا من (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming).

أسعدفرج بيرقدارمذكرات سجن ميناشهادة شفهيةسجن تدمرالسجون السوريةتدمرالتعذيب

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Voices Close to Oblivion and Near the Grave from Syrian Gulag

3 May, 2024
Based on interviews with both the victims and perpetrators, survivors’ memoirs, books, and notes, alongside leaked regime archives, photos, and intelligence files, Syrian Gulag: Inside Assad’s Prison System by Jaber Baker and Uğur Ümit Üngör (I.B. Tauris/Bloomsbury, 2023) took five years to write and research. The book’s extensive interviews with 150 Syrian detainees were only made possible because many detainees had fled their country, with hundreds of thousands of others, after the Syrian war and revolution. This is an exclusive excerpt.

 

Jaber Baker and Uğur Ümit Üngör

 

Poem in Morse Code

In April 1987, a poem was written on the wall of a cell in the Palestine Division prison. Syrian poet Faraj Bayrakdar passed it on to his colleague Akram al-Bunni in the adjoining cell, using the Morse language the prisoners had developed amongst themselves. A whole language with its own origins, complexities and methods, and al-Bunni and Bayrakdar were well versed in it. Bayraqdar tapped on the cell wall that separated him from his colleague al-Bunni, eleven ticks associated with the letter “qaaf” ( ق ) in Arabic. Then he continued tapping, “Once upon a time  … ‘Zaman bin Zaman’ told me. The fire is proof.” Bayrakdar went on to recount the poem that he had written in his head after years of hiatus in poetry. Bayrakdar ended the recitation of his long poem by tapping on the wall. Al-Bunni quickly expressed his admiration, but the poet replied with coldness, “Don’t compliment me and give me your real opinion.” Al-Bunni recited the same poem to him by tapping on the wall to assure him of his admiration. However, he made a mistake with one letter and Bayrakdar corrected the mistake by tapping. And they laughed for a long time, wiping the blood of torment from their faces, while Bayrakdar concluded his poem, the title of which was “A Story”:

Master Despair
Inform your master the Sultan
The cell is not narrower than his grave
The cell is not shorter than his age.

— [From an interview with Faraj Bayrakdar]

 

Inside Syria's Gulag
Syrian Gulag is published by Bloomsbury.

First Person Accounts from Inside Tadmur

The 1980 Palmyra or Tadmur prison massacre was one of the biggest single-day massacres in Syrian and modern Middle Eastern history.

26 Survivors — They opened the door of our dormitory on the morning of Friday 27 June 1980 for the roll call. We were 26 detainees in the dormitory and all of us were accused of belonging to the Iraqi Baath, the ‘suspicious right’, as it was referred to in the intelligence circles … The Defense Brigade officer asked us: “Are you all from the suspicious right?” We confirmed. They went out and locked the door without saying a word … we were consumed by fear, but no one was able to ask or inquire. At 9:00 sharp they threw grenades into the fifth and sixth dormitories, which were packed with detainees. Bombs were thrown from the open window by the roof, the vent. Detainees started shouting “Allahu Akbar.” The soldiers slammed open the doors of the dormitories, except for ours, and opened heavy fire on everyone. The voices of the detainees slowly faded under the wheezing of bullets and cries of death. We lined the walls of our dormitory with our backs to the dormitory door. One of our colleagues suggested moving to an area closer to the door, for death there would be faster and less painful. We fought to stand there, each wanting to be the first to die. We asked each other for forgiveness awaiting the bullets to harvest us. On the other side of the door of our dormitory, stood a sergeant who kept opening the … window, looked at us, and then closed it. The shooting lasted three hours, until midday. After that, we sat down … in complete stillness, waiting for what might happen next … Blood leaked out from under the doors of the rest of the dormitories. We had no water, food, or light due to the power outage, until the evening. The prison administration extended an electricity cable with a lamp at its end to illuminate the third courtyard over which our dormitory overlooked. We peeked onto the yard where one of the wardens … they placed each body onto a cover in front of [the warder] Abu Jahl. Abu Jahl then inserted a thin iron skewer into the corpse to make sure it was dead. They discovered some who were still alive among the bodies. They were shot dead. Those transfers continued all night.

[Interview with Khaled al-Aqleh]

 

Dirty Food

The food came three times a day. With it came the torturers who competed in their creativity to humiliate us. One would put his military boots, full of dirt and animal waste, in our food bowls, before opening the door to bring them in, especially when the food is liquid … We brought the food in under their kicks and whips as they laughed hysterically. If his boots were clean and he was in a hurry, he would grab a hand full of sand from the courtyard which over the days mixed with our blood and threw it over rice or bulgur. It happened more than once that one of them urinated over the food amid hysterical laughs from his colleagues. These actions reached the Prison Director who recorded them as positive points …

[Mohammed Berro, Interview and Naj min al-Maqsala. Thamaniya Awa’im fi Sijn Tadmor (Beirut, Jusoor, 2020)]

 

“It’s Water, Sir!”

Yes, in this mini hell, we had glimpses of hope and love for life, but they were bitter and short lived. Those moments soon faded away by the torture rounds. The most deadly and ferocious of which were those supervised by the Discipline Adjutant personally. He would enter our yard at breathing times waddling like a prince, with a cigarette dangling from the tip of his lip, and a metal rod with a pointed head in his hand. If he wanted to talk to a prisoner, he would just stick the rod into his body, and ask the prisoner next to him to take it out. Blood poured out and the stabbed inmate was dragged back to the dormitory. Then the Adjutant would ask: “What is this?!” pointing to the blood. The prisoner should answer: “It’s water, Sir!” The Adjutant would reply: “Well done. Drink it then.” As soon as the poor man kneeled down to obey the order, he received the same fate and followed his predecessor. At the end of the “breathing” session, someone else would come and ask the head of the dormitory: “How many injuries do you have?” The head of the dormitory would answer: “Twenty, Sergeant!” The latter would reply: “Only 20 …?!”

[Interview with Abbas who spent 15 years in Palmyra and Sednaya prisons.]

 

Palmyra’s “Academy”

We went through many events during which our needs and priorities were evolving. It was about each of us making what made him feel his individual and collective presence. We exchanged our experiences and knowledge. We conversed a lot. We reviewed our political experiences at every stop. We put forward our critical opinions about those experiences. We ran oral courses in presentation, poetry, languages, economics, and engineering. We learned how to improve food and behavior. We created means of entertainment: theater, pantomime, charades of folk proverbs, chess games … barjis (a traditional board game). We nicknamed each other: “the one who carries the ladder crosswise, the thread head, the storyteller, the dreamer.” We shared the specialties: embroideries, darning and sewing, nylon threads, primitive ink which was a strange chemical mixture made of onion and pomegranate husks, tea residues and anti-inflammatory pill capsules which we melted under the light bulb that hung from the ceiling . . . Towards the end of the late twentieth century, we lived the primitive ages of the human being. In the era of nylon, which came with the arrival of bread into the dormitories in nylon bags, we discovered the way to spin threads thanks to those who preceded us to the place and … left this information on the wall. We used them, as they did, in making kitchen shelves, laundry cords, sandals, mini rugs and mesh bags which our wives will use for shopping years later … During the cartoon era, we made tablecloths, tables from cardboard dough, notebook covers made from wastepaper and cigarette box covers that we kept, playing cards and paintings for drawing … Sometimes the same human experience is repeated. The difference is the accumulation of experiences, efficiency, and coincidences. Our ancestors in the Palmyra prison performed simple and medium surgical operations with tools made out of bone and wood as well as metal chips from ointment tubes and steel strips they cut out from the bottom of the corroded iron door. They polished them with rubbing … they used vinegar and salt for sterilization. They ate bone powder and eggshells to compensate for the lack of calcium. They made water tanks from nylon bags and adhesive to survive the near absence of running water. They bathed using five liters of water. They used magic boards to write. Many of them memorized the Qur’an by recitation from others … they communicated with Morse signals through the walls. 

[Abbas, Tawaqqan ila-alHaya (Beirut: Dar al-Khayal, 2015)]

 

Jaber Baker is a Syrian novelist, documentary filmmaker, human rights activist, and senior researcher responsible for the Syrian file at the Samir Keyes (Skeyes) Center for Media and Cultural Freedom. With Uğur Ümit Üngör, he co-authored Syrian Gulag, and has written several political novels in Arabic, including al-Mahakima al-Ilahiya [601: Divine Trials] (2017) and Bab al-Faradis — The Lost Messages of Ghaylan al-Dimashqi (2020). Baker has written and worked on a number of documentaries and audio series, among them the podcasts “Another Aid Worker” on the abduction of Omar Khani and Kayla Mueller in Syria and “The Clerk” on trial of two Syrian intelligence officers in Germany.

 

Uğur Ümit Üngör is a Dutch academic, historian, sociologist, and professor of genocide studies at the NIOD Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies in Amsterdam, specializing in mass violence in the Middle East. He has won several academic awards and held visiting positions in Dublin, Vancouver, Budapest, Toronto, and Los Angeles. Co-author of Syrian Gulag with Jaber Baker, he wrote Paramilitarism: Mass Violence in the Shadow of the State (Oxford University Press, 2020), and Assad’s Militias and Mass Violence in Syria (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming).

AssadFaraj BayrakdarMENA Prison memoirOral TestimonyPalmyra PrisonSyrian prisonsTadmurtorture

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *