ثلاث روايات سعودية محظورة يجب على الجميع قراءتها

22 نوفمبر, 2021
وقت القراءة :10 دقائق
"شجرة الكون" #2 (بإذن من الفنانة شادية عالم).

رنا عصفور

 

رمي الشرر ، رواية عبده خال، ترجمة مايا تابت ومايكل ك. سكوت
بلومزبري، دار مؤسسة قطر للنشر (2014)

 

وصفت منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود الحكومة السعودية بأنها "لا هوادة فيها في رقابتها على وسائل الإعلام السعودية والإنترنت"، وفي عام 2021، صنفت البلاد في المرتبة 170 من أصل 180 دولة من حيث حرية الصحافة.

ومع ذلك، فإن ما كان واضحا في معرض الرياض الدولي للكتاب، الذي عقد في أكتوبر من هذا العام، هو أن الكتب التي تعتبر منذ فترة طويلة من المحرمات أو المثيرة للجدل في المملكة كانت تعرض لأول مرة على الرفوف. أعرب الزوار، الذين تحدثوا إلى وسائل الإعلام، عن دهشتهم من العثور على كتب عن الصوفية والإلحاد بالإضافة إلى كتب محظورة منذ فترة طويلة لمؤلفين كلاسيكيين مثل دوستويفسكي وأورويل (1984) تؤكد رؤية الحكومة 2030 بأن "الكتب تكمن في قلب حملة الإصلاحات". كان هذا في تناقض كبير مع معرض 2014 ، حيث صادر المنظمون أكثر من 10000 نسخة من 420 كتابا.

في مقابلة مع صحيفة "ذا ناشيونال " الإماراتية في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول، تحدث محمد حسن علوان، الرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة الأدب والنشر والترجمة في وزارة الثقافة السعودية، عن "التحول الثقافي" الذي يقوده شباب المملكة الذين يأملون بمباركة الحكومة في "رفع مكانة المملكة كمركز أدبي وثقافي في المنطقة وعلى الصعيد الدولي".

على الرغم من بصيص الأمل الناشئ في تخفيف العديد من الحظر على أعمال المؤلفين ، للأسف لا تزال هناك قائمة طويلة من الكتب والمؤلفين المحظورين ، لأسباب تبدو محيرة في بعض الأحيان. بالنسبة للمؤلفين الثلاثة الذين نستعرض رواياتهم أدناه، تواصل الحكومة التمسك بقرارها بحظر كتبهم في المملكة، على الرغم من توفرها على الإنترنت.  البطانة الفضية؟ إن حظر منشور في كثير من الأحيان يعزز شهرته.

عبده خال رمي الشرر (ترمي بي شرار) بالجائزة العالمية للرواية العربية لعام 2010 (IPAF) وأطلق على خال لقب "عمود الأدب العربي". هذه الرواية الساخرة تحريضية من كلمة go، بدءا من اختيار خال للعنوان: آية قرآنية جزئية من سورة المرسلات، آية 32، تصف نيران جهنم بحجم القلاع. تدور الرواية حول اللواط والفساد والعار والظلم ، وكلها تحدث داخل قلعة تقع على الواجهة البحرية لبلد يعتبر مهد مهد الإسلام. بالطبع لم يكن مثل هذا الخيال ليمر مرور الكرام، وبالتالي لم يكن مفاجئا عندما تم حظره في المملكة العربية السعودية ودول عربية أخرى، كما كان الحال مع جميع أعمال عبده خال السابقة، باستثناء روايته لعام 2005. سوق (الفجور).

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، لا يزال الكاتب والصحفي يعيش ويعمل في جدة. وهو مؤلف لعشرات الكتب ، بما في ذلك حوار على أبواب الأرضلا يوجد شيء يدعو للسعادة. والمدن تأكل العشب. ترجمت بعض رواياته إلى الإنجليزية والفرنسية والألمانية. بالإضافة إلى كتاباته، فإن خال عضو في مجلس إدارة نادي جدة الأدبي، ورئيس التحرير السابق لصحيفة عكاظ، التي يكتب لها عمودا يوميا.

الفصل الأول من الرواية يوقع القارئ في الفخ، والأسطر القليلة الأولى من النسخة العربية هي بمثابة حبل يلف نفسه بقوة حول رقبة القارئ، ويضيق ويقيد ممر الهواء مع كل منعطف للصفحة. كتاب ليس لضعاف القلوب ، وصف النقاد مشاهد التعذيب المصورة بأنها "مقززة". لا يظهر خال أي رحمة بلا هوادة لأن شخصياته تظلم بلا مبالاة ، وبضع صفحات فقط في الرواية ، يتعلم القارئ بسرعة أن يتوقع أنه لن تكون هناك رحمة في الواقع.

تتبع الرواية طارق البالغ من العمر 51 عاما الذي نلتقي به وهو يتذكر حياته ويتحسر على 31 عاما ضاعها في خدمة "السيد" - المالك القاسي وغير الأخلاقي للقلعة الرائعة على الرغم من صور الصحف والمجلات التي تشير إلى "رجل ودود وطيب القلب كان فاضلا وصالحا على خطأ". تم تكليف طارق بمهمة ممارسة اللواط مع منافسي السيد ، و "عدم ترجل الضحايا إلا بعد أن قصفهم حتى اللب وكل ما تبقى هو كومة من الأنين واللهاث العظام" ، كل ذلك بينما كان الأخير وجماعته يراقبون ، في تسلية ، من خارج غرفة التعذيب.

بين "مهامه" وقع طارق في حب عشيقة المعلم مرام ، التي يشبهها ب "لمس سلك حي" حيث كان البؤس الذي لا يوصف ينتظر أي شخص يتم القبض عليه وهو يلقي نظرة خاطفة على طريقها عندما كانت بصحبة السيد أو عندما خرجت إلى حلبة الرقص. مع كل "مهمة" جديدة وكل عام يمر، يزداد طارق ثراء وقوة، وفي النهاية ينتقم من أولئك الذين يلومهم على الإضرار الأخلاقي ووجوده الملوث.

ولد عبده خال في قرية المجانة في جنوب المملكة العربية السعودية عام 1962. بينما كان خال لا يزال صبيا صغيرا ، انتقلت عائلته إلى مدينة جدة الساحلية ، حيث لا يزال يعيش وحيث استلهم العديد من أعماله. درس العلوم السياسية في جامعة الملك عبد العزيز في جدة وكتب أكثر من اثنتي عشرة رواية ومجموعات قصصية. وكثيرا ما حظرت كتب خال، التي تنتقد المجتمع السعودي بشدة في بعض الأحيان، واتهمه النقاد العرب بتقويض القيم الأخلاقية. يقول خال إن نصوصه مثيرة للجدل لأنها تلمح إلى "مثلث المحرمات المقدس في العالم العربي: الجنس والسياسة والدين".

عندما التقيت عبده خال في مهرجان طيران الإمارات للآداب في دبي عام 2014، كان الشيء الذي بقي معي بعد محادثة قصيرة جدا سبقت حديثه هو إصراره على أنه كلما كتب ومهما كان ما يكتب عنه مؤلما، فإنه يأتي دائما إلى العمل من مكان الحب. وأضاف أنه على الرغم من امتلاكه ومهووسه بقصة الرواية، إلا أنه اضطر إلى التوقف عدة مرات أثناء كتابة هذه الرواية على وجه الخصوص، حيث شعر بالمرض من الكلمات والأفكار التي تتدفق على الصفحة، لكنه شعر بالعجز وعدم القدرة على منعها من التدفق رغم ذلك. تم نقله في النهاية إلى المستشفى وكان تشجيع زوجته هو الذي دفعه لإكمال عمله لأنه تعثر كثيرا ، غير قادر على الاستمرار.

واستمر في ذلك. تتناول الرواية قضايا حساسة وغالبا ما تكون متقلبة فيما يتعلق بالإسلام والجنس والأخلاق والذكورة والشرف. في مشهد يقترب فيه طارق من عمته البغيضة ويتساءل عما إذا كان هناك "لإعطاء الكذب على كل تحذيراتها الرهيبة أو لتأكيدها" ، لا يسع المرء إلا أن يتوقف ويتأمل ويتساءل عما إذا كان مثل هذا الكتاب ، بمثل هذه الرسالة المروعة المظلمة ، يفضي بالفعل إلى تبديد الأسطورة التي تحيط بالفعل ببلد يكتنفه القيل والقال والغموض ، أو ما إذا كان قد تمت إضافة الوقود إلى نار مستعرة بالفعل.

من وجهة نظر مختلفة تماما، من المفيد أن نتذكر أنه بناء على السيرة الذاتية للمؤلف المطبوعة على الغطاء الداخلي للنسخة الورقية باللغة الإنجليزية، بدأ عبده خال كواعظ، قبل أن يتحول إلى الكتابة بدوام كامل. يتساءل المرء عما إذا كان هذا يجعل هذه الرواية الساخرة المؤلمة والمظلمة تلقي الضوء على تجاوزات الأغنياء والأثرياء - الذين يسميهم طارق "المنحرفين والمنحرفين ... بدافع من الملل: تعبوا مما هو مقبول اجتماعيا ، يبحثون عن كل ما هو جديد أو غير مألوف لكسر رتابة الملذات الروتينية "- قرار محسوب من جانب المؤلف ، ليس بعيدا جدا عن أيام الوعظ. وفي ضوء ذلك، يمكن للمرء أن يجادل بأن قلعة الجحيم التي يستحضرها عبده خال في روايته ليست أكثر من شكل متقن من الخطبة التحذيرية لتحذير الناس من عواقب الخطيئة والرذيلة وآثارها الضارة على الأفراد والمجتمعات. جحيم على الأرض ولعنة في الحياة الآخرة حيث يغامر القراء بنهاية الرواية ، الله هو في النهاية الرحمن الرحيم.  النهاية المثالية لموعظة مثالية إذا كانت هناك واحدة.

 


 

مدن الملح رواية ل عبد الرحمن منيف
عتيق (1989)

لا يزال محظورا في المملكة العربية السعودية بعد كل هذه السنوات ، مدن السلط كتبه عبد الرحمن منيف في المنفى في باريس، ونشر لاحقا في بيروت عام 1984. إنها نظرة لاذعة على النفاق العربي والأمريكي بعد اكتشاف النفط في مجتمع واحة فقير. تدور أحداث الرواية في ما يمكن أن يكون بسهولة شرق شبه الجزيرة العربية حيث تم اكتشاف النفط السعودي لأول مرة ، وتمتد الرواية من 1930s إلى 1950s ولا تقدم فقط لمحة عن "جزارة" المناظر الطبيعية التي "صرخت فيها الأشجار طلبا للمساعدة ، وبكت ، ومذعورة ، ونادت في ألم عاجز ثم سقطت على الأرض ، كما لو كان يحاول التحاضن في الأرض لينمو وينبثق حيا مرة أخرى"، لكنه يلقي الضوء أيضا على تدمير القيم الأساسية للمجتمعات البدوية السعودية داخل شبه الجزيرة، فضلا عن الصعود المستعر للإسلام السياسي في المنطقة في ذلك الوقت.

وصفه البعض بأنه أعظم رواية "بتروخيالية" كتبت بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية، مدن السلط هي الأولى في خماسية تتكون معا من 2500 صفحة، مما يجعلها أطول رواية في الأدب العربي الحديث - رواية ملتزمة برؤية المؤلف لرؤية عالم عربي متحرر مما وصفه ذات مرة بأنه "ثلاثية النفط". الإسلام السياسي والدكتاتورية". وقد وصفه إدوارد سعيد بأنه "العمل الروائي الجاد الوحيد الذي يحاول إظهار تأثير النفط والأمريكيين والأوليغارشية المحلية على دولة خليجية".

تبدأ هذه الرواية التاريخية الحاسمة بالسكان الفقراء في واحة حيث تربط روابط الأسرة والدين الجميع في وئام تام. عندما يتم اكتشاف النفط من قبل الأمريكيين المدعوين للبحث عنه من قبل النخبة الحاكمة في البلاد ، فإنهم يحطمون الهدوء الذي كان سائدا في المنطقة ذات يوم. يندفع تأثير التحديث إلى الواجهة ويحصل القراء على إحساس وفهم عميقين للاستياء الذي يشعر به السكان المحليون تجاه غير المسلمين القساة والظالمين الذين يلومونهم على زيادة المادية وفقدان القيم الروحية والمجتمعية ، وحكومة محلية أبوية متخلفة تتجاهل المشاكل الاجتماعية الملحة.

عبد الرحمن منيف.

تتجول الرواية مع الحنين إلى الماضي "البسيط" الذي عرف فيه "أهل الوادي بمزيجهم الغريب من الوداعة والهوس". توصف مدن السلط بأنها "مسالمة وسعيدة" ، مع أساطير القبائل القديمة والخرافات السحرية رثاء للحقائق المعاصرة اليوم ، وتتفوق في توثيق الاشتباكات السخيفة (مجموعات قفز الرافعات التي يؤديها غير المسلمين عند الفجر ينظر إليها على أنها ممارسات شيطانية من قبل عمال الواحات الذين يستيقظون للصلاة) والأكثر جدية وتقلبا ، مثل إضراب العمال في عام 1953 وغيرها من الأحداث التي تستند بشكل فضفاض إلى أحداث سياسية حقيقية.

عندما سأل الكاتب والناشط اليساري البريطاني طارق علي منيف عما تعنيه "مدن الملح"، أوضح: "مدن الملح تعني المدن التي لا تقدم وجودا مستداما. عندما تأتي المياه ، ستذيب الموجات الأولى الملح وتحول هذه المدن الزجاجية العظيمة إلى غبار ".

ولد عبد الرحمن منيف في الأردن عام 1933 لعائلة تجارية من أصل سعودي، على الرغم من أن والدته كانت عراقية. تم تجريده من جنسيته السعودية لأسباب سياسية في عام 1963. درس القانون في جامعتي بغداد والقاهرة وحصل على درجة الدكتوراه في اقتصاديات النفط من جامعة بلغراد. خلال مسيرته المهنية في صناعة النفط ، شغل منصب مدير تسويق النفط الخام. وفي بغداد، قام بتحرير مجلة شهرية بعنوان "النفط والتنمية ". أصبح فيما بعد كاتبا متفرغا وقضى بقية حياته في سوريا. "النفط هو فرصتنا الوحيدة لبناء المستقبل"، قال منيف ذات مرة لبيتر ثيرو، المترجم الذي سيجلب " مدن السلط " إلى اللغة الإنجليزية "والأنظمة تدمرها".

 


 

أداما رواية تركي الحمد ترجمة روبن براي
كتب الساقي (2003)

طبقًا لـ أداماز وأصبحت رواية الحمد المتفجرة من أكثر الكتب مبيعا في الشرق الأوسط، حيث بيعت أكثر من 20 ألف نسخة على الرغم من حظرها رسميا في العديد من البلدان، بما في ذلك المملكة العربية السعودية، مسقط رأس المؤلف، عندما نشرت في عام 1998. تدور أحداثها بين أواخر الستينيات وأوائل السبعينيات، اداما هي قصة مقنعة عن بلوغ سن الرشد تستكشف قضايا الجنس والحركات السياسية السرية والحقيقة العلمية والعقلانية والحرية الدينية. اداما هي الأولى في ثلاثية تركي التي تترجم إلى الإنجليزية. ومن المتوقع أن تكون ترجمة الدفعة الثانية، الشميسي (أيضا من قبل كتب الساقي) والدفعة الأخيرة الكراديب سوف يتبع.

في حيه الهادئ من الطبقة المتوسطة في محافظة الدمام النفطية السعودية، لا ينسجم هشام البالغ من العمر ثمانية عشر عاما تماما. إنه يؤمن بحقيقتين حتميتين: التعليم وجعل عائلته فخورة.

وبينما يستقل قطارا لنقله إلى الجامعة، تظهره ذكريات حياته كفيلسوف ناشئ يقضي أيامه في قراءة الكتب المحظورة (التي عليه أن يكذب بشأنها) وتطوير مثله السياسية، وخاصة الكتب عن حزب البعث المحظور الذي أصبح متحدثا باسمه. إن المملكة العربية السعودية هي أمة متورطة في صراع داخلي، ممزقة بين التقاليد القديمة والازدهار الجديد. يجد هشام نفسه عالقا في النضال من أجل التغيير، ويكرس المزيد والمزيد من وقته لمجموعة غامضة من المعارضين حتى وهو يشكك في دوافعهم وأساليبهم، ويوبخ نفسه باستمرار لكونه "ابنا غير مطيع".

تركي الحمد.

والنتيجة هي مواجهة حادة بين حب هشام لعائلته، وفلسفاته الراسخة، وتوقه إلى العدالة الاجتماعية. يستيقظ على المشاعر الخاصة والسياسية على حد سواء ، ويتعامل مع مفارقات أرض محافظة حيث تتعايش الملذات غير المشروعة مع جهاز دولة لا ترحم. ينتهي أداما بنزول بطل الرواية من القطار لبدء حياته في الجامعة.

ونقلت عن تركي الحمد على غلاف إحدى رواياته: "حيث أعيش هناك ثلاثة محرمات: الدين والسياسة والجنس. يحظر التحدث عن هذه. لقد كتبت هذه الثلاثية لتحريك الأمور".

تركي الحمد كاتب ناجح للغاية في العالم العربي. رواياته مثيرة للجدل في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. وهو هدف لأربع فتاوى تودي بحياته. وهو مؤلف كتاب الشميسي الذي نشرته أيضا دار الساقي للكتب في لندن. لا يزال يعيش في الرياض ويدرس في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت. اعتقل الحمد في 24 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012 بعد سلسلة من التغريدات حول الدين ومواضيع أخرى. تم إطلاق سراحه في عام 2013.

 

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Three Banned Saudi Novels Everyone Should Read

22 November, 2021
“Uni­verse Tree” #2 (cour­tesy artist Sha­dia Alem).

Rana Asfour

 

Throw­ing Sparks, a nov­el by Abdo Khal, trans­lat­ed by Maia Tabet & Michael K. Scott
Blooms­bury, Qatar Foun­da­tion Pub­lish­ing (2014)

 

Reporters With­out Bor­ders has described the Sau­di gov­ern­ment as “relent­less in its cen­sor­ship of the Sau­di media and the Inter­net,” and in 2021, it ranks the coun­try 170th out of 180 coun­tries for free­dom of the press.

That said, how­ev­er, what was obvi­ous at the Riyadh Inter­na­tion­al Book Fair, held in Octo­ber of this year, is that books long since con­sid­ered taboo or con­tro­ver­sial in the King­dom were for the first time, being dis­played on shelves. Vis­i­tors, speak­ing to media out­lets, expressed aston­ish­ment at find­ing books on Sufism and athe­ism as well as long-banned books by clas­sic authors such as Dos­toyevsky and Orwell (1984) cor­rob­o­rat­ing the government’s Vision 2030 that “books lay at the heart of its reforms cam­paign.” This was in vast con­trast to the 2014 fair, in which orga­niz­ers had con­fis­cat­ed more than 10,000 copies of 420 books.

In an inter­view with the UAE’s The Nation­al news­pa­per in Octo­ber, Mohammed Hasan Alwan, Chief Exec­u­tive at Lit­er­a­ture, Pub­lish­ing, and Trans­la­tion Com­mis­sion at the Sau­di Min­istry of Cul­ture spoke of the “cul­tur­al trans­for­ma­tion” led by the Kingdom’s youth who with the government’s bless­ing are hop­ing to “ele­vate the king­dom’s sta­tus as a lit­er­ary and cul­tur­al hub both in the region and internationally.”

Despite the emerg­ing glim­mer of hope that many bans would be eased on authors’ works, unfor­tu­nate­ly there still remains a long list of banned books and authors, for rea­sons that at times seem baf­fling. For the three authors whose nov­els we review below, the gov­ern­ment con­tin­ues to uphold its deci­sion to pro­hib­it their books in the King­dom, despite their avail­abil­i­ty on the Inter­net. The sil­ver lin­ing? Ban­ning a pub­li­ca­tion more often than not cements its fame.

Abdo Khal’s Throw­ing Sparks (Tar­mi bi Sharar) won the 2010 Inter­na­tion­al Prize for Ara­bic Fic­tion (IPAF) and Khal has been called a “pil­lar of Ara­bic lit­er­a­ture.” This satir­i­cal nov­el is incen­di­ary from the word go, begin­ning with Khal’s choice of title: a par­tial Qur’anic verse from Surah Al-Mur­salat, Aya 32, that describes the fires of Hell as large as cas­tles. The nov­el swirls around sodomy, cor­rup­tion, shame and injus­tice, all tak­ing place with­in a cas­tle sit­u­at­ed on the water­front of a coun­try con­sid­ered to be the cra­dle of Islam’s birth­place. Of course such a fic­tion was nev­er going to go unno­ticed, hence it came as no sur­prise when it was banned in Sau­di Ara­bia and oth­er Arab coun­tries, as was the case with all Abdo Khal’s pre­vi­ous works, the excep­tion being his 2005 nov­el Fusooq (Immoral­i­ty).

Despite this, the author and  jour­nal­ist still lives and works in Jed­dah. He is the author of a dozen books, includ­ing A Dia­logue at the Gates of the EarthThere’s Noth­ing to be Hap­py About; and Cities Eat­ing the Grass. Some of his nov­els have been trans­lat­ed into Eng­lish, French and Ger­man. In addi­tion to his writ­ing, Khal is a mem­ber of the board of direc­tors of the Jed­dah Lit­er­ary Club, and the for­mer edi­tor-in-chief of the Ukaz news­pa­per, for which he writes a dai­ly column.

The novel’s jaw-drop­ping first chap­ter ensnares the read­er, and the first few lines of the Ara­bic ver­sion are as a noose that wraps itself firm­ly around the reader’s neck, tight­en­ing and restrict­ing the pas­sage­way of air with every turn of the page. A book not for the faint-heart­ed, crit­ics have described the graph­ic tor­ture scenes as “revolt­ing.” Khal relent­less­ly shows no mer­cy as his char­ac­ters non­cha­lant­ly mete out injus­tice, and only a few pages into the nov­el, the read­er quick­ly learns to expect that no mer­cy will in fact be forthcoming.

The nov­el fol­lows 51-year-old Tariq whom we meet rem­i­nisc­ing about his life and lament­ing his 31 years lost in the ser­vice of the “Mas­ter” — the cru­el, immoral own­er of the mag­nif­i­cent cas­tle despite the news­pa­per and mag­a­zine pho­tographs that sug­gest­ed “an ami­able and gen­tle-heart­ed man who was vir­tu­ous and right­eous to a fault.” Tariq is tasked with the job of sodom­iz­ing the Master’s rivals, and “not dis­mount­ing the vic­tims until after he had pound­ed them to a pulp and all that remained was a heap of moan­ing and gasp­ing bones,” all while the lat­ter and his cohort watched on, in amuse­ment, from out­side the tor­ture chamber.

In between his “tasks” Tariq has fall­en in love with the Master’s mis­tress Maram, whom he likens to “touch­ing a live wire” as untold mis­ery await­ed any­one caught glanc­ing her way when she was in the Master’s com­pa­ny or when she stepped out onto the dance floor. With each new “task” and every pass­ing year, Tariq grows increas­ing­ly rich­er and more pow­er­ful, even­tu­al­ly exact­ing his own vengeance on those he blames for his moral detri­ment and sul­lied existence.

Abdo Khal was born in the vil­lage of Al-Majanah in south­ern Sau­di Ara­bia in 1962. While Khal was still a young boy his fam­i­ly moved to the har­bor city of Jed­dah, where he still lives and where he has drawn inspi­ra­tion for many of his works. He stud­ied polit­i­cal sci­ence at the King Abdul Al Aziz Uni­ver­si­ty in Jed­dah and has writ­ten more than a dozen nov­els and short sto­ry col­lec­tions. Khal’s books, some­times high­ly crit­i­cal of Sau­di soci­ety, have often been banned and Arab crit­ics have accused him of under­min­ing moral val­ues. Khal says his texts are con­tro­ver­sial because they allude to the “sacro­sanct taboo tri­an­gle of the Arab world: sex, pol­i­tics and religion.”

When I met Abdo Khal at the Emi­rates Air­line Fes­ti­val of Lit­er­a­ture in Dubai in 2014, the thing that stayed with me after a very brief con­ver­sa­tion pre­ced­ing his talk was his insis­tence that when­ev­er he writes and how­ev­er painful what he writes about is, he always comes to the work from a place of love. He added that despite being pos­sessed and obsessed with the novel’s sto­ry­line, he nonethe­less had to stop sev­er­al times dur­ing the writ­ing of this nov­el in par­tic­u­lar, feel­ing ill at the words and ideas spew­ing out onto the page, yet feel­ing help­less and unable to stop them from flow­ing nonethe­less. He was even­tu­al­ly hos­pi­tal­ized and it was the encour­age­ment of his wife who spurred him to com­plete his work as he’d fal­tered many a time, unable to go on.

And go on he did. The nov­el con­tem­plates sen­si­tive, often volatile issues with respect to Islam, sex­u­al­i­ty, moral­i­ty, mas­culin­i­ty and hon­or. In a scene where Tariq approach­es his loath­some aunt and won­ders if he was there “to give the lie to all her dire warn­ings or to con­firm them,” one can­not but pause, reflect and won­der whether such a book, with such a dark hor­rif­ic mes­sage, is actu­al­ly con­ducive of dis­pelling the myth that already sur­rounds a coun­try shroud­ed in gos­sip and mys­tique, or whether fuel has been added to an already rag­ing fire.

From a dif­fer­ent stand­point alto­geth­er, it serves well to remem­ber that, based on the author’s biog­ra­phy print­ed on the inner flap of the Eng­lish-lan­guage hard­back copy, Abdo Khal start­ed out as a preach­er, before turn­ing to full-time writ­ing. One won­ders whether that makes this painful, dark satir­i­cal nov­el that throws light on the excess­es of the rich and wealthy — whom Tariq calls “deviants and perverts…motivated by bore­dom: tired of what is social­ly accept­able, they seek what­ev­er is nov­el or uncom­mon to break the monot­o­ny of rou­tine plea­sures” — a cal­cu­lat­ed deci­sion on the author’s part, not too far afield from his preach­ing days. In that light, one could argue that the cas­tle of Hell that Abdo Khal con­jures up in his nov­el is no more than an elab­o­rate form of cau­tion­ary ser­mon to warn peo­ple of the con­se­quences of sin and vice and their detri­men­tal effects on indi­vid­u­als and soci­eties; a Hell on Earth and damna­tion in the after­life in which as read­ers ven­ture towards the end of the nov­el, God is ulti­mate­ly The Gra­cious and Most Mer­ci­ful.  The per­fect end­ing to a per­fect ser­mon if ever there was one.

 


 

Cities of Salt, a nov­el by Abdel­rah­man Munif
Vin­tage (1989)

Still banned in Sau­di Ara­bia after all these years, Cities of Salt was writ­ten by Abdel­rah­man Munif in exile in Paris, and lat­er pub­lished in Beirut in 1984. It is a blis­ter­ing look at Arab and Amer­i­can hypocrisy fol­low­ing the dis­cov­ery of oil in a poor oasis com­mu­ni­ty. Set in what could eas­i­ly be the east­ern Ara­bi­an Penin­su­la where Sau­di oil was first dis­cov­ered, the nov­el stretch­es from the 1930s to the 1950s and offers not only a glimpse into the “butch­ery” of the land­scape in which “the trees cried for help, wailed, pan­icked, called out in help­less pain and then fell entreat­ing­ly to the ground, as if try­ing to snug­gle into the earth to grow and spring forth alive again,” but it also sheds light on the dec­i­ma­tion of the core val­ues of Saudi’s Bedouin soci­eties with­in the Penin­su­la as well as the rag­ing rise of polit­i­cal Islam in the region at the time.

Described by some as the great­est “petrofic­tion” nov­el writ­ten after WWII, Cities of Salt is the first in a quin­tet that togeth­er con­sist of 2,500 pages, mak­ing it the longest nov­el in mod­ern Ara­bic lit­er­a­ture — one com­mit­ted to the author’s vision to see an Arab world freed from what he once described as the “tril­o­gy of oil, polit­i­cal Islam and dic­ta­tor­ship.” It has been described by Edward Said as “the only seri­ous work of fic­tion that tries to show the effect of oil, Amer­i­cans and the local oli­garchy on a Gulf country.”

This inci­sive his­tor­i­cal nov­el begins with the poor inhab­i­tants of an oasis in which the bonds of fam­i­ly and reli­gion hold every­one in per­fect har­mo­ny. When oil is dis­cov­ered by Amer­i­cans invit­ed to search for it by the country’s rul­ing elite, they shat­ter the tran­quil­i­ty that once per­vad­ed the area. The impact of mod­ern­iza­tion rush­es to the fore­front and read­ers get a keen sense and under­stand­ing of the resent­ment the locals feel toward the cal­lous and unjust non-Mus­lims whom they blame for the increase in mate­ri­al­ism and loss of spir­i­tu­al and com­mu­nal val­ues, and a back­ward, pater­nal­is­tic local gov­ern­ment that ignores the press­ing social problems.

Abdel­rah­man Munif.

The nov­el roams along with nos­tal­gia for the “sim­ple” past in which the “wadi’s peo­ple were known for their strange mix­ture of gen­tle­ness and obses­sion.” Described as “peace­able and hap­py,” with the tribes’ ancient myths and mag­i­cal super­sti­tions a lamen­ta­tion of today’s con­tem­po­rary truths, Cities of Salt excels at doc­u­ment­ing clash­es both absurd (the sets of jump­ing jacks per­formed by the non-Mus­lims at dawn are seen as demon­ic prac­tices by the oasis work­ers awak­en­ing for prayer) and the much more seri­ous and volatile, such as the work­ers’ strike in 1953 and oth­er events loose­ly based on real polit­i­cal events.

When British author and left­wing activist Tariq Ali asked Munif what “cities of salt” meant, he explained, “Cities of salt means cities that offer no sus­tain­able exis­tence. When the waters come in, the first waves will dis­solve the salt and reduce these great glass cities to dust.”

Abdel­rah­man Munif was born in Jor­dan in 1933 into a trad­ing fam­i­ly of Sau­di Ara­bi­an ori­gin, though his moth­er was Iraqi. He was stripped of his Sau­di cit­i­zen­ship for polit­i­cal rea­sons in 1963. He stud­ied law at Bagh­dad and Cairo uni­ver­si­ties and took a PhD in oil eco­nom­ics at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Bel­grade. Dur­ing his oil indus­try career he served as direc­tor of crude oil mar­ket­ing. In Bagh­dad he edit­ed a month­ly peri­od­i­cal, al-Naft wa al-Tan­miyya (Oil and Devel­op­ment). He lat­er became a full-time writer and spent the rest of his life in Syr­ia. “Oil is our one and only chance to build a future,” Munif once told Peter Ther­oux, the trans­la­tor who would bring Cities of Salt into Eng­lish “and the regimes are ruin­ing it.”

 


 

Adama, a nov­el by Tur­ki al-Hamad trans­lat­ed by Robin Bray 
Saqi Books (2003)

Accord­ing to Adama’s pub­lish­ers, Saqi Books, al-Hamad’s explo­sive nov­el became an unlike­ly best­seller in the Mid­dle East, sell­ing more than 20,000 copies despite being offi­cial­ly banned in sev­er­al coun­tries, includ­ing the author’s native Sau­di Ara­bia when it was pub­lished in 1998. Set between the late six­ties and ear­ly sev­en­ties, Adama is a com­pelling com­ing-of-age sto­ry that explores issues of sex­u­al­i­ty, under­ground polit­i­cal move­ments, sci­en­tif­ic truth, ratio­nal­ism, and reli­gious free­dom. Adama is the first in Turki’s tril­o­gy to be trans­lat­ed into Eng­lish; it is expect­ed that a trans­la­tion of the sec­ond instal­ment, Shu­maisi (also by Saqi Books) and the final instal­ment al-Karadib will follow.

In his tran­quil mid­dle-class neigh­bor­hood in Saudi’s oil province, Dammam, eigh­teen-year-old Hisham doesn’t quite fit in. He believes in two imper­a­tive truths: edu­ca­tion and mak­ing his fam­i­ly proud.

As he boards a train to take him to the uni­ver­si­ty, flash­backs of his life show him as a bud­ding philoso­pher who spends his days read­ing banned books (which he has to lie about) and devel­op­ing his polit­i­cal ideals, par­tic­u­lar­ly books on the banned Ba’athist par­ty for which he becomes a spokesper­son. His Sau­di Ara­bia is a nation embroiled in inter­nal con­flict, torn between ancient tra­di­tion and new­found pros­per­i­ty. Hisham finds him­self caught up in the strug­gle for change, devot­ing more and more of his time to a shad­owy group of dis­senters even as he ques­tions both their motives and meth­ods, and con­tin­u­al­ly berates him­self for “being such a dis­obe­di­ent son.”

Tur­ki al-Hamad.

The result is an intense show­down between Hisham’s love for his fam­i­ly, his firm­ly-held philoso­phies, and his yearn­ing for social jus­tice. He awak­ens to pas­sions both pri­vate and polit­i­cal, com­ing to grips with the para­dox­es of a con­ser­v­a­tive land where illic­it plea­sures co-exist with the appa­ra­tus of a mer­ci­less state. Adama ends with the pro­tag­o­nist get­ting off the train to start his life at university.

Tur­ki al-Hamad is quot­ed on the cov­er of one of his nov­els: “Where I live there are three taboos: reli­gion, pol­i­tics and sex. It is for­bid­den to speak about these. I wrote this tril­o­gy to get things moving.”

Tur­ki al-Hamad is a high­ly suc­cess­ful author in the Arab world. His nov­els are con­tro­ver­sial through­out the Mid­dle East; he is the tar­get of four fat­was (reli­gious edicts) claim­ing his life. He is the author of Shu­maisi, also pub­lished by Saqi Books in Lon­don. He con­tin­ues to live in Riyadh and teach­es at the Amer­i­can Uni­ver­si­ty in Beirut. Al-Hamad was arrest­ed Decem­ber 24, 2012 after a series of tweets on reli­gion and oth­er top­ics. He was freed in 2013.