الكاتب (الأفغاني) الذي باع مجموعة كتبه لدفع الإيجار

13 ديسمبر, 2021
الشاعر والكاتب المولود في كابول جاويد فرهاد يستعد لبيع مجموعة كتبه الثمينة (الصورة مقدمة من جاويد فرهاد).

أنجيليس إسبينوزا

1 من كل 3 أفغان يعانون من الجوع ويعاني مليونا طفل من سوء التغذية.

مع وجود البلاد على وشك المجاعة ، قد يبدو فقدان بعض الكتب أمرا صغيرا. ومع ذلك، فإن صورة الشاعر والكاتب الأفغاني جاويد فرهاد البالغ من العمر 52 عاما وهو يتخلص من مكتبته من أجل إطعام أسرته ودفع الإيجار، تلخص مثل قلة أخرى التجريد من الإنسانية الذي تعاني منه أفغانستان. محرومون من الحد الأدنى من الدخل ، كل جهودهم تذهب إلى البقاء. لا يوجد وقت للثقافة ، ناهيك عن الترفيه. «أشعر بالغرابة، يبدو الأمر كما لو أنني بعت أطفالي»، كتب في النص الذي رافق الصورة على ملفه الشخصي على Facebook ويكرر في محادثة مع مراسل أجنبي في منزله في كابول.

لم يكن قرارا سهلا ، لكنه كان ضروريا. "أنا مدين بإيجار ثلاثة أشهر، ومنذ أن تولت طالبان السلطة، فقدت وظيفتي كمحاضر جامعي وكمحرر في محطة خورشيد التلفزيونية"، يقول فرهاد، الذي جمع بين وظيفتين لإعالة أسرته، مثل معظم الأفغان، والأسر الأفغانية ليست صغيرة. وبالإضافة إلى زوجته، التي فقدت أيضا وظيفتها في مكتب حقوق الإنسان، لدى الكاتب أربعة أطفال، اثنان منهم متزوجان ويعيشان مع زوجتيهما في المنزل لأنهما لا يزالان في الجامعة، وحفيد من أحد الزوجين.

وقد أدى الاقتصاد المتردي إلى إغلاق 95٪ من المكتبات ومحلات بيع الكتب ودور النشر في كابول.

من بين 2000 مجلد جمعها فرهاد في مكتبته ، كان هناك العديد من عناصر هواة الجمع ، بما في ذلك كتابان مخطوطان من بداية القرن الماضي. كان هناك أيضا ثلاثة أعمال لفيديريكو غارسيا لوركا ، بما في ذلك الدم ، مترجم إلى الفارسية. لكن أكثر ما وجد صعوبة في التخلي عنه هو المجموعة الشعرية لمولانا جلال الدين محمد بلخي ، المعروف باسم الرومي ، الشاعر الصوفي الفارسي المؤثر. عيون الكاتب تدمع في الذاكرة. لم يتبق سوى اثني عشر كتابا ، بما في ذلك كتابان كتبتهما زوجته.

ومع ذلك، فإن الانفصال المؤلم لم يخفف من معاناتهم إلا مؤقتا. الأموال التي تم جمعها ، أي ما يعادل 700 يورو ، أي اثني عشر ما كلفته ، تغطي فقط إيجار الأشهر الثلاثة المستحقة. يقول: "لا يزال أمامي شهرين آخرين للدفع".

بالإضافة إلى المشقة ، هناك خوف. وتعرضت فرهاد لهجوم مرتين من قبل طالبان، كانت المرة الأخيرة قبل شهر واحد فقط. لم يكن في المنزل وتعرض ابنه الأكبر الذي كان معه للضرب. يعترف بأنه خائف وأنه ينام أحيانا في منزل أخته أو صديقه.

ويقول: "طالبان معادية للثقافة والموسيقى والشعر والحرية"، قبل أن يشير إلى أنها أجلت جميع الأنشطة الثقافية إلى أجل غير مسمى. واختبأ العديد من الفنانين الأفغان. كما أدى الوضع الاقتصادي إلى إغلاق 95٪ من المكتبات ومحلات بيع الكتب ودور النشر في العاصمة، وفقا لمصادر في القطاع نقلتها ToloNews. يقول فرهاد: "للفنانين والكتاب مستقبل مظلم للغاية". ويتوقع أنه "إذا بقيت طالبان في السلطة، فإن أولئك مثلي الذين لم يغادروا البلاد سيفعلون ذلك في المستقبل".

لهذا السبب يدعو الفنانين والمثقفين الأجانب إلى إظهار التضامن من خلال تقديم المساعدة أو أماكن الإقامة للأفغان حتى يتمكنوا من مغادرة البلاد بكرامة ، وخاصة الكاتبات. يقول بقلق: "كان هناك الكثير منهم في اجتماعاتنا ، لكننا الآن لا نعرف ما إذا كانوا في المنزل أو تمكنوا من المغادرة".

وهو شخصيا يفضل البقاء إذا كانت سلامته وسلامة أسرته مضمونة وسمح له بالكتابة. "تحت التهديد، لا يمكن العيش هكذا"، يقول فرهاد. كما أنه يخشى أن تزداد الأمور سوءا لأنه لا يعتقد أن طالبان قد تغيرت كما تتظاهر. "إنهم يتصرفون فقط بحكمة أكبر للحصول على اعتراف خارجي" ، كما يعتقد. يؤلمه أن المجتمع الدولي ليس لديه سياسة واضحة في هذا الصدد وأنه على استعداد لقبول الاعتراف بطالبان "إذا احترموا على الأقل نصف ما هو مطلوب منهم" من حيث حقوق الإنسان وحرية التعبير.

 

ظهر هذا العمود لأول مرة في El País وترجمه هنا جوردان الغرابلي.

أنجيليس إسبينوزا هي مراسلة صحيفة El País للخليج الفارسي ، ومقرها في دبي وسابقا في طهران. وهي متخصصة في العالم العربي والإسلامي. وقد كتبت El tiempo de las mujeres و El Reino del Desierto و Días de Guerra. وهي حاصلة على شهادة في الصحافة من جامعة كومبلوتنسي (مدريد) وماجستير في العلاقات الدولية من SAIS (واشنطن العاصمة).

كتب أفغانستانكابولالروميطالبان

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

اصبح عضوا

The (Afghan) Writer Who Sold His Book Collection to Pay the Rent

13 December, 2021
Kab­ul-born poet and writer Javed Farhad pre­pares to sell his trea­sured book col­lec­tion (pho­to cour­tesy Javed Farhad).

Àngeles Espinosa

1 in 3 Afghans are going hungry and two million children are malnourished.

With the coun­try on the verge of star­va­tion, the loss of a few books may seem like a small mat­ter. How­ev­er, the image of the 52-year-old Afghan poet and writer Javed Farhad get­ting rid of his library in order to feed his fam­i­ly and pay the rent, sums up like few oth­ers the dehu­man­iza­tion that Afghanistan is suf­fer­ing. Deprived of a min­i­mum income, all their effort goes into sur­vival. There is no time for cul­ture, let alone recre­ation. “I feel strange, it’s as if I had sold my chil­dren,” he wrote in the text that accom­pa­nied the pho­to on his Face­book pro­file and repeats in con­ver­sa­tion with a for­eign reporter at his home in Kabul.

It was not an easy deci­sion, but it was nec­es­sary. “I owed three months’ rent and since the Tal­iban took over, I lost my job as a uni­ver­si­ty lec­tur­er and as an edi­tor at Khur­shid tele­vi­sion sta­tion,” says Farhad who, like most Afghans, com­bined two jobs to sup­port his fam­i­ly — and Afghan fam­i­lies are not small. In addi­tion to his wife, who also lost her job at the Human Rights Office, the writer has four chil­dren, two of whom are mar­ried and live with their wives at home because they are still at uni­ver­si­ty, and a grand­child by one of the couple.

The dire economy has led to the closure of 95% of libraries, bookshops and publishing houses in Kabul.

Among the 2,000 vol­umes Farhad had amassed in his library, there were sev­er­al collector’s items, includ­ing two man­u­script books from the begin­ning of the last cen­tu­ry. There were also three works by Fed­eri­co Gar­cía Lor­ca, includ­ing Blood Wed­ding, trans­lat­ed into Per­sian. But what he found most dif­fi­cult to part with was the col­lec­tion of poet­ry by Maulana Jalalud­din Moham­mad Balkhi, bet­ter known as Rumi, the influ­en­tial Per­sian mys­tic poet. The writer’s eyes water at the mem­o­ry. Only a dozen books have remained, includ­ing two writ­ten by his wife.

Even so, the painful sep­a­ra­tion has only tem­porar­i­ly alle­vi­at­ed their hard­ship. The mon­ey raised, equiv­a­lent to 700 euros, a twelfth of what they cost him, only cov­ers the rent for the three months due. “I still have anoth­er two months to pay,” he says.

In addi­tion to hard­ship, there is fear. Farhad has been attacked twice by the Tal­iban, the last time only a month ago. He was not at home and his eldest son who was with him was beat­en up. He con­fess­es that he is afraid and that some­times he sleeps at his sister’s or a friend’s house.

“The Tal­iban are anti-cul­ture, anti-music, anti-poet­ry and anti-free­dom,” he says, before point­ing out that they have post­poned indef­i­nite­ly all cul­tur­al activ­i­ties. Many Afghan artists have gone into hid­ing. The eco­nom­ic sit­u­a­tion has also led to the clo­sure of 95% of libraries, book­shops and pub­lish­ing hous­es in the cap­i­tal, accord­ing to sources in the sec­tor quot­ed by ToloNews. “Artists and writ­ers have a very dark future,” says Farhad. “If the Tal­iban stay in pow­er, those like me who have not left the coun­try will do so in the future,” he predicts.

That’s why he calls on for­eign artists and intel­lec­tu­als to show sol­i­dar­i­ty by offer­ing aid or places to stay to Afghans so that they can leave the coun­try with dig­ni­ty, espe­cial­ly women writ­ers. “There used to be many of them at our meet­ings, but now we don’t know whether they are at home or have man­aged to leave,” he says with concern.

Per­son­al­ly, he would pre­fer to stay if his safe­ty and that of his fam­i­ly were guar­an­teed and he is allowed to write. “Under threat, it is not pos­si­ble to live like this,” Farhad says. He also fears that things will get worse because he doesn’t think the Tal­iban have changed as they pre­tend to have done. “They are only act­ing more pru­dent­ly to get out­side recog­ni­tion,” he believes. It hurts him that the inter­na­tion­al com­mu­ni­ty does not have a clear pol­i­cy in this regard and he is will­ing to accept that the Tal­iban be rec­og­nized “if they at least respect half of what is asked of them” in terms of human rights and free­dom of expression.

 

This col­umn first appeared in El País and is trans­lat­ed here by Jor­dan Elgrably.

AfghanistanBooksKabulRumiTaliban

Ángeles Espinosa is El País correspondent for the Persian Gulf, based in Dubai and previously in Tehran. She specializes in the Arab and Islamic world. She has written El tiempo de las mujeres, El Reino del Desierto and Días de Guerra. She has a journalism degree from Complutense University (Madrid) and a Masters in International Relations from SAIS (Washington DC).

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments