تذكر 18:07 وأشعل شعلة لبيروت

4 أغسطس, 2021
وقت القراءة :3 دقائق
صورة انفجار مرفأ بيروت مقدمة من عبد العزيز الدويسان.
صورة انفجار مرفأ بيروت مقدمة من عبد العزيز الدويسان.

جوردان الغرابلي

توقفت الساعات في الساعة 18:07 قبل عام من اليوم عندما ضربت باهاموت بيروت.

بعد مرور عام على انفجار مرفأ بيروت الذي قتل فيه أكثر من 200 شخص، وأصيب حوالي 7000 شخص بجروح، وفقد 10000 من سكان بيروت منازلهم – ناهيك عن التأثير الاقتصادي للانفجار – لم يتم فعل الكثير لمعالجة الكارثة. من المسؤول؟ متى سيكون هناك تعويض؟ ما هي الدروس التي يجب أن يستخلصها لبنان من هذه الكارثة التي لا يمكن تصورها؟ كانت البلاد بالفعل في أزمة اقتصادية ، تميزت بثورة أكتوبر 2019. كانت الحياة صعبة للغاية قبل الانفجار: السؤال هو، كيف يمضي لبنان قدما؟

إنها لفتة تضامن صغيرة، لكن نقابة المحامين في مونبلييه بالتنسيق مع نقابتها الوطنية، CNB (Conférence nationale des barreaux) واتحاد المحامين الأوروبيين، قد أرسلت محامين لإظهار الدعم مع المحامين اللبنانيين من خلال الانضمام إليهم في بيروت.

بعد اجتماع عقد مؤخرا مع المحامين الشباب في لبنان حول التزام المحامين تجاه الشعب وسيادة القانون – حيث قال رئيس CNB جيروم جافودان إن المحامين هم "رقيب على سيادة القانون والديمقراطية" ، ذهب الوفد الفرنسي ، إلى جانب المحامين اللبنانيين ، بأردية من قاعة دير أفوكات إلى قصر العدل في بيروت. ربما كانت هذه مسيرة رمزية بحتة، لكن بحضور نقيب المحامين في العاصمة اللبنانية، ملحم خلف، ندد المحامون الفرنسيون بالفساد اللبناني ودعوا إلى تحقيق العدالة لضحايا الانفجار.

تواصل عائلات ضحايا الانفجار النضال من أجل العدالة، ولكن كما ذكرت فرانس 24 في 31 يوليو، "بعد مرور عام على الانفجار، الذي قتل فيه 218 شخصا وأصيب 7000 آخرون، لم يطلب من أي من عائلات الضحايا في لبنان الإدلاء بإفادات شهود. كما أنهم لم يتلقوا أي شكل من أشكال الاعتذار الرسمي أو حتى تم الاتصال بهم من قبل السلطات اللبنانية".

وفي الوقت نفسه، كما ذكرت هيومن رايتس ووتش مؤخرا، دعا 25 عضوا في الكونغرس إدارة بايدن إلى دعم تحقيق تقوده الأمم المتحدة في أسباب الانفجار الكارثي.

— • —

سار سرب المحامين إلى مقر إدارة الإطفاء ومرفأ بيروت، حيث لا يزال الدمار الذي لحق ب 4 أغسطس/آب 2020 مرئيا بوضوح. حضر المسيرة دومينيك أتياس ، رئيس اتحاد المحامين الأوروبيين. جيروم جافودان ، رئيس CNB ؛ هيلين فونتين، رئيسة مؤتمر النقابات العمالية؛ ماري إيمي بيرون ، نائبة رئيس CNB ؛ نيكولاس بيدل دي بوزارينج، رئيس نقابة المحامين في مونبلييه؛ سيرج ديغاس، رئيس نقابة المحامين في ليون؛ فنسنت موريل، ممثل رئيس نقابة المحامين في أوت دو سين؛ مارتن براديل، رئيس اللجنة المعنية بممارسة القانون التابعة للمجلس الوطني للبارو؛ وأمين فرج، عضو نقابة المحامين في مونبلييه.

إن محامي لبنان، التزاما منهم بضحايا الكارثة، يناشدون جميع رؤساء النقابات في العالم لإضاءة قاعات المحاكم بألوان لبنان في هذه الذكرى المشؤومة الأولى للحدث، وأعلن أمين فرج من مونبلييه أنه في الواقع، اليوم، "ستضيء جميع نقابات المحامين في فرنسا شعلة أمام علم لبنان في تمام الساعة 18:07، التوقيت المحلي للانفجار، إلى جانب لافتة كتب عليها "العدالة والسلام للبنان".


خصص العدد الأول من مجلة TMR ، الذي نشر في 15 سبتمبر 2020 ، لبيروت.

جوردان الجرابلي كاتب ومترجم أمريكي وفرنسي ومغربي ظهرت قصصه وقصصه الإبداعية في العديد من المختارات والمراجعات ، بما في ذلك Apulée و Salmagundi و Paris Review. رئيس تحرير ومؤسس مجلة "المركز" (The Markaz Review)، وهو المؤسس المشارك والمدير السابق للمركز الثقافي المشرقي في لوس أنجلوس (2001-2020). وهو محرر قصص من مركز العالم: رواية الشرق الأوسط الجديدة (أضواء المدينة، 2024). يقيم في مونبلييه بفرنسا وكاليفورنيا، ويغرد من خلال @JordanElgrably.

4 أغسطسانفجار مرفأ بيروتسيادة القانون في لبنانالأمم المتحدة

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Remember 18:07 and Light a Flame for Beirut

4 August, 2021

Jordan Elgrably

The clocks stopped at 18:07 a year ago today when Bahamut struck Beirut.

One year after the Beirut port explo­sion in which over 200 were killed, some 7,000 sus­tained injuries and 10,000 Beirutis lost their homes — to say noth­ing of the blast’s eco­nom­ic impact — very lit­tle has been done to address the calami­ty. Who was respon­si­ble? When will there be resti­tu­tion? What lessons must Lebanon draw from this unimag­in­able dis­as­ter? The coun­try was already in an eco­nom­ic cri­sis, marked by the Octo­ber 2019 Rev­o­lu­tion. Life was impos­si­bly dif­fi­cult before the blast: the ques­tion is, how is Lebanon mov­ing forward?

It’s a small ges­ture of sol­i­dar­i­ty, but the Mont­pel­li­er Bar Asso­ci­a­tion in con­cert with its nation­al affil­i­ate, the CNB (Con­férence nationale des bar­reaux) and the Euro­pean Bars Fed­er­a­tion, has flown in attor­neys to show sup­port with the lawyers of Lebanon by join­ing them in Beirut.

After a recent meet­ing with the young lawyers of Lebanon on the com­mit­ment of lawyers to the peo­ple and the rule of law — dur­ing which CNB pres­i­dent Jérôme Gavau­dan said that lawyers are a “watch­dog of the rule of law and democ­ra­cy,” the French del­e­ga­tion, along­side the Lebanese lawyers, went in robes from the Audi­to­ri­um of the Mai­son de l’Avocat to the Beirut Palace of Jus­tice. This may have been pure­ly a sym­bol­ic march, but in the pres­ence of the Pres­i­dent of the Bar Asso­ci­a­tion of the Lebanese cap­i­tal, Mel­hem Kha­laf, French attor­neys denounced Lebanese cor­rup­tion and called for jus­tice for vic­tims of the explosion.

Fam­i­lies of the blast’s vic­tims con­tin­ue to fight for jus­tice, but as France 24 report­ed on July 31st, “A year after the explo­sion, in which 218 peo­ple were killed and a fur­ther 7,000 injured, none of the vic­tims’ fam­i­lies in Lebanon have been asked to give wit­ness state­ments. Nor have they received any form of offi­cial apol­o­gy or even been con­tact­ed by Lebanese authorities.”

Mean­while, as Human Rights Watch report­ed recent­ly, 25 mem­bers of Con­gress called on the Biden Admin­is­tra­tion to sup­port a Unit­ed Nations-led inves­ti­ga­tion into the caus­es for the cat­a­stroph­ic blast.

— • —

The bevy of lawyers walked to the head­quar­ters of the fire depart­ment and the port of Beirut, where the dev­as­ta­tion of August 4, 2020 is still plain­ly vis­i­ble. Present on the march were Dominique Attias, Pres­i­dent of the Euro­pean Bars Fed­er­a­tion; Jérôme Gavau­dan, Pres­i­dent of the CNB; Hélène Fontaine, Pres­i­dent of the Con­férence des Bâton­niers; Marie-Aimée Pey­ron, vice-pres­i­dent of the CNB; Nico­las Bedel de Buzareingues, Pres­i­dent of the Mont­pel­li­er Bar Asso­ci­a­tion; Serge Dey­gas, Pres­i­dent of the Lyon Bar Asso­ci­a­tion; Vin­cent Mau­rel, rep­re­sen­ta­tive of the Pres­i­dent of the Hauts-de-Seine Bar Asso­ci­a­tion; Mar­tin Pradel, Pres­i­dent of the Com­mis­sion on the Prac­tice of Law of the Con­seil Nation­al des Bar­reaux; and Amine Faraj, mem­ber of the Mont­pel­li­er Bar.

Com­mit­ted to the vic­tims of the dis­as­ter, the lawyers of Lebanon are appeal­ing to all the bar lead­ers of the world to illu­mi­nate the cour­t­hous­es with the col­ors of Lebanon for this first fate­ful anniver­sary of the event, and Montpellier’s Amine Faraj declared that indeed, today, “All the bar asso­ci­a­tions of France will light a flame before the flag of Lebanon at pre­cise­ly 18:07, the local time of the explo­sion, along with a ban­ner that reads ‘Jus­tice and peace for Lebanon.’”


TMR’s debut issue, pub­lished on Sep­tem­ber 15, 2020, was devot­ed to Beirut.

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments