اقتراحات للقراءة: أرمينيا عبر التفكك والشتات

17 أبريل، 2023

نُشرت هذه القائمة بمصاحبة ثلاث نصوص، لكل من سيتا كابرانيان ميلكونيان وآرا أوشاغان وميراي ريبيز، بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية للإبادة الجماعية للأرمن في 24 أبريل.

 

ميشا جيراكوليس

 

مع اقتراب يوم 24 أبريل، وهو يوم مسجل بشكل لا يُمحى في تقويمات الأرمن في جميع أنحاء العالم، تعترف مجلة المركز، إلى جانب المؤرخين والعلماء والحكومات الدولية، بأن عام 2023 هو العام 108 منذ حادثة الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن. شهد يوم 24 أبريل 1915، "الأحد الأحمر"، بداية التدمير المنسق الذي قامت به الحكومة التركية العثمانية للسكان الأرمن في الإمبراطورية. في ذلك اليوم، اعتقلت السلطات التركية مئات المثقفين والمهنيين الأرمن الذين يعيشون في القسطنطينية (اسطنبول الحديثة)، عاصمة الإمبراطورية العثمانية. أدت المذابح اللاحقة وعمليات الترحيل الجماعي للأرمن من الأناضول إلى وفاة ما يقرب من مليون ونصف المليون أرمني، ما مهد الطريق لجمهورية تركيا القومية المتطرفة.

ليست كل عمليات الإبادة الجماعية متشابهة، خاصة في الطريقة التي يصفها بها المجتمع الدولي. يبرز الإنصاف القانوني والأخلاقي من بين الاختلافات. فقد تم الاعتراف بمحرقة اليهود، على سبيل المثال، بوصفها مسألة أخلاقية - وهي حقًا كذلك - وبوصفها جرائم ضد الإنسانية. وقد مهدت محاكمة مرتكبيها الطريق لمجموعة من القوانين الدولية، وبداية اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للإبادة الجماعية، وصياغة الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان. على عكس الهولوكوست، تم تسييس الإبادة المنهجية للأرمن التي وقعت في أول القرن العشرين من قبل العثمانيين، وإدخالها إلى "مطهر" ممتد، ثم تم ترك القضية كلها بلا تعويض.

من السمات المميزة الأخرى للحالة الأرمنية عمق واتساع حملة إنكار الإبادة الجماعية المرهقة التي شنتها جمهورية تركيا خلال قرن من الزمن. بغض النظر عن كمية الأدلة الرسمية الضخمة المسجلة، والمصادر الأولية التي توثق جرائم الأتراك العثمانيين ضد الأرمن، على الرغم من حقيقة أن إحدى وثلاثين دولة (إثنان وثلاثون إن حُسب الفاتيكان) قد اعترفت رسميًا بهذه الجرائم على أنها إبادة جماعية، فإن تركيا وأقرب حليف لها، أذربيجان، لا يتوقفان عن إنكار ما حدث عن طريق حيل عديدة.

على الصعيد المحلي، إذا شكك المواطنون في السياسة الرسمية لإنكار الإبادة الجماعية، فإنهم يخاطرون بانتهاك المادة رقم 301 من قانون العقوبات بتهمة "إهانة الهوية التركية". [i] يتم الحفاظ على خنق الحقيقة من خلال كتب التاريخ المدرسية المغرضة، ومن خلال الدعاية الحكومية والإعلامية. في المسائل ذات العواقب الدولية، تتمتع تركيا بنفوذ من خلال علاقتها مع الحكومات والمنظمات الأخرى، وبالتالي تعقيد الاستراتيجيات الجيوستراتيجية متعددة الجنسيات، ومن خلال تمويل كراسي الدراسات التركية في الجامعات خارج تركيا، فضلًا عن جماعات الضغط في الكونغرس الأمريكي. وهكذا، فإن قضايا الأخلاق والعدالة والتعويض للأرمن لم تكتسب نفس الجاذبية التي اكتسبتها الهولوكوست.

وفقًا لذلك، فإن أسباب تسليط الضوء على ذكرى 24 أبريل متعددة الجوانب. إن تذكر اليوم يعني التأكيد على أن الجرائم ضد الإنسانية هي قضايا أخلاقية وقانونية وليست سياسية. يؤكد فعل التذكر العام على أهمية حقوق الإنسان العالمية، ويدافع عن أي مجموعة في أي مكان واجهت أو تواجه حاليًا أو قد تواجه في المستقبل خطر المحو على أيدي (أو بفعل طائرات بلا طيار أو الذكاء الاصطناعي) مجموعة أخرى. إنه تذكير بأهمية الحقائق. إن إحياء ذكرى الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن يضفي الأهمية على وعد "لن يتكرر ذلك أبدًا"، خشية أن يتضاءل هذا الوعد إلى مجرد شعارات رمزية.

بالنسبة إلى العديد من الأرمن، يُعد هذا اليوم بمثابة تذكير بالعزيمة الفطرية والتصميم والمرونة. في العام 2023، على خلفية الأزمات الإنسانية المستمرة التي تسببها أذربيجان في المنطقة الأرمنية المتمتعة بالحكم الذاتي داخل أذربيجان والمعروفة باسم ناغورنو كاراباخ ("آرتساخ" باللغة الأرمنية)، يمكن دائمًا استدعاء كلمات ويليام سارويان الحماسية: "هناك حرب في العالم. تدمير أرمينيا. انظر إن أمكنك القيام بذلك". [ii]

في الواقع، هناك حرب في العالم، وأرمن آرتساخ يقاتلون من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة. ليس في ظل الحرب العالمية الأولى كما حدث من قبل، ولكن تحت سحابة الحصار الأذربيجاني غير الملاحظ من قبل معظم العالم.

الأرمن شعب ثابت، إذا استعرنا من عنوان المجلد الموسوعي بقلم لوسين كاسباريان للعام 1997. [iii] أدت الإبادة الجماعية إلى ظهور شتات أرمني نابض بالحياة منتشر في 100 دولة على الأقل، "ليصبحوا أرمن بطرق جديدة، في أماكن جديدة". [iv] تتجاوز مساعي الأرمن الأدبية والفنية والإبداعية الحدود، ولا تعكس فقط الوطن المفقود أو الأسطوري، ولكن في كثير من الأحيان الكوزموبوليتانية والتسهيلات اللغوية المكتسبة من خلال التنقل متعرجين حول العالم.

في أي مجتمع، تتمثل إحدى وظائف الفنانين والكتاب والساخرين وفناني الأداء في إبراز الموضوع الذي قد يفضل الناس تجاهله. وتماشيًا مع هذا الغرض، فإن القائمة التالية المختصرة للغاية والانتقائية قليلًا، مرتبة حسب تاريخ النشر الأحدث، وليس حسب الأهمية، ومحدودة فقط بمساحة النشر، تغوص في الكنز الهائل من أعمال الشتات الأرمني المتعلقة بمواضيع الوطن والتفكك، والهويات والنقل الثقافي، وبعض تدابير التحرر والخلاص.

 

في هذه الزهرة الداعية إلى عدم نسيانها، ترمز النقطة السوداء إلى الماضي ومعاناة الأرمن، بتلات أرجوانية تمثل وَحدة جميع الأرمن، خمس أوراق أرجوانية ترمز إلى المستقبل والقارات الخمس التي فر إليها الأرمن. إثني عشر قسمًا أصفر تمثل الأمل والمقاطعات الإثني عشر التي خسرها الأرمن لصالح تركيا.

 

إنكار الإبادة الجماعية من إصدار U of Nebraska.

إنكار الإبادة الجماعية في القرن 21 بقلم بيدروس دير ماتوسيان (University of Nebraska Press, 2023)

هذا الكتاب بمثابة تحقيق عن تكتيكات إنكار الإبادة الجماعية، سواء النسخ التي تم اختبارها عبر الزمن أو الأخرى الأكثر حداثة، كما يقدم الكتاب الأخير لأستاذ تاريخ الشرق الأوسط الحديث، دير ماتوسيان، مجموعة من دراسات الحالة، بما في ذلك الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن، والهولوكوست، وكمبوديا، والبوسنة، ورواندا، وسوريا، وغواتيمالا. عند تحليل المخططات الشعبية المستخدمة اليوم، يهتم دير ماتوسيان والمساهمون الآخرون بالدعاية والمعلومات المضللة والمعلومات الخاطئة وحملات الأخبار المزيفة، فضلًا عن تسليح حرية التعبير ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي "للاستخفاف" بالعقول، وإخفاء الحقيقة والعدالة.

 

 

 

تم نشر حديقة سوداء مشتعلة بواسطة East View Press.

حديقة سوداء مشتعلة: صراع ناغورنو كاراباخ في الصحافة السوفيتية والروسية بقلم أرتيوم تونويان (East View Press, 2021)

في هذا الكتاب الواقعي، يتم التركيز بشكل أكثر حدة على الصراع في "الحديقة السوداء" المعروفة باسم ناغورنو كاراباخ. يشرح تونويان، أستاذ علم الاجتماع والدراسات العالمية، الكثير مما لا تعرفه وسائل الإعلام الغربية، أو لا تظهره. يفصل الكتاب تاريخ المنطقة بداية من أواخر ثمانينيات القرن العشرين حتى العام 2020، وهو مكتوب ومنسق بطريقة سهلة بالنسبة إلى كل من العلماء والقراء العاديين. نشر حديقة سوداء مشتعلة قبل غزو روسيا لأوكرانيا، بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يقدم الكتاب وجهات نظر غير متوقعة عن الطموحات المعاصرة والتاريخية لروسيا.

 

 

 

تم نشر أرض الأحلام بواسطة Penguin.

أرض الأحلام: مطاردة الماء والغبار عبر كاليفورنيا بقلم مارك أراكس (Penguin Random House, 2020)

من خلال مسح الوادي الأوسط في كاليفورنيا، وفحص تضاريسه التي لا تختلف كثيرًا عن تضاريس أرمينيا القديمة التي استقر فيها واستزرعها الناجون من الإبادة الجماعية الأرمنية، يقوم أراكس بتقييم المنطقة التي تنتج المحاصيل المرغوبة في جميع أنحاء أمريكا، والتي تُصدَّر بكميات هائلة أيضًا. سرد أراكس ليس بعيدًا أبدًا عن جذوره الأرمنية، لكن تاريخ الإبادة الجماعية هذا له طبيعة مختلفة. نظرًا لأن كارثة المناخ التي يسببها الإنسان وممارسات الاستخراج تهدد الولاية الذهبية، يُعد أرض الأحلام دعوة للانتباه لحقائق الجشع والإفراط في تسليع الموارد الطبيعية.

 

 

 

يمكنهم العيش في الصحراء من إصدارات Princeton.

يمكنهم العيش في الصحراء ولكن ليس في أي مكان آخر: تاريخ الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن بقلم رونالد غريغور سوني (Princeton University Press, 2020)

بمساعدة ابنتيه ومجموعة من الباحثين المتفانين، يستكشف سوني بعمق الجدلَ والارتباكَ بخصوص الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن في العام 1915. يلقي نظرة فاحصة على تعقيدات الإبادة الجماعية، بداية من الأحداث السابقة وحتى تأطيرها آنذاك والآن، مع اهتمام خاص للاستخدام غير الخجول وغير المعقول اليوم للدعاية والأكاذيب لبناء صور بديلة للواقع. كأستاذ للتاريخ والعلوم السياسية، يجادل سوني بأن الأرمن والأتراك يجب أن يتعاملوا مع الصدمات الجماعية والأجيال. وإلا فإن هوياتهم ومصيرهم، في السراء والضراء، سيبقيان متشابكين.

 

 

 

يوميات رجل ميت من إصدارات Wet Paint.

يوميات رجل ميت بقلم فاهي بربريان (Wet Paint Publishing, 2018)

سواء أكان يستخدم الفن المرئي أو الأدائي أو الخيال الروائي أو السرد الشخصي، فإن بربريان هو حكَّاء بالفطرة. كتب ملحمة عابرة للقارات، من أمريكا الشمالية إلى الشرق الأوسط، تغطي مدى زمنيًا واسعًا؛ من سبعينيات القرن التاسع عشر وحتى يومنا هذا، ينقل هذا العمل من الخيال التاريخي أحداثًا ضخمة وثقيلة، مثل الحرب، إلى المستوى الفردي والشخصي. في مواجهة التهديدات الوجودية للجسد والعقل والروح، يظهر لشخصيات الرواية شيء أقرب إلى التنوير، وربما يظهر للقارئ أيضًا.

 

 

 

 

الفيلق الأرمني من إصدارات Bloomsbury.

الفيلق الأرمني: التضحية والخيانة في الحرب العالمية الأولى بقلم سوزان بول باتي (Bloomsbury, 2018)

عالمة الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية والمؤسسة المشاركة للمعهد الأرمني في لندن، تتعمق باتي في تاريخ عشر سنوات من حياة الشباب الأرمن الذكور الذين نجوا من الإبادة الجماعية فقط ليعودوا طواعية لمحاربة العثمانيين بين عامي 1916 و 1921. كانت جوقة الشرق، التي أعيدت تسميتها لاحقًا باسم Légion Arménienne ، قوة عسكرية دربتها وقادتها فرنسا ولعبت أدوارًا مهمة، وإن كانت أقل شهرة، كجزء من دول الحلفاء التي وضع أعضاؤها آمالهم وثقتهم فيها. تسلط باتي الضوء على كيف أن الوعود التي نكث بها الفرنسيون والبريطانيون كان لها علاقة كبيرة بالتقسيم الإمبريالي لبلاد الشام، وهي مفتاح لفهم الاختلالات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية والمظالم المستمرة حتى الآن.

 

 

 

وجهات نظر من المنفى -
لولو.

وجهات نظر من المنفى بقلم لوسين كاسباريان (Thompson Gallery & Cambridge School, 2015)

يتم التركيز بقوة مثيرة للتفكير على المبالغة والتناقضات المحيطة بقضايا مثل الدعاية وحرية التعبير وسياسات الهوية. الأكثر وضوحًا هو أن المؤلف والصحفي ورسام الكاريكاتير التحريري كاسباريان يواجه حملة إنكار الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن في جمهورية تركيا بذكاء حاد ورسوم توضيحية ساخرة. تمارس رسوم كاسباريان الكاريكاتورية الرخصة الفنية والذوق الدرامي، وتناقش وترد على رسائل كل من تركيا الحديثة وتركيا العثمانية.

 

البداية في الستينيات من إصدار Talisman.

 

البداية في الستينيات: مقالات مختارة بقلم آرام سارويان (Talisman House, 2011)

يقدم الشاعر والكاتب والفنان غزير الإنتاج، والذي لا يحتاج إلى تقديم، سارويان الأصغر، مجموعة من المقالات التي تصور ستينيات القرن العشرين على أنها عقد من الاضطرابات الاجتماعية والسياسية الناجمة عن الإثارة والفن. يقدم كتابه تعليقًا على ذلك العصر، بشكل عام وشخصي. متأثرًا بالأماكن والأشخاص والأفكار التي كان منغمسًا فيها، يتأمل سارويان المثل العليا والمزالق التي وقع فيها جيل ثوار الستينيات، وفرض الإعلان على النشر الأدبي، وعملية الكتابة.

 

 

تم نشر Glaring Through Oblivion بواسطة HarperCollins.

التحديق عبر النسيان بقلم سيرج تانكيان (HarperCollins Publishers, 2011) شعر

كتب هذا الكتاب في أعقاب أحداث 11 سبتمبر، من تأليف الكاتب المتميز تانكيان، المعروف باسم العضو الرئيسي لفرقة الميتال System of a Down ، في هذا الكتاب يرى أنه يحول مهاراته الغنائية إلى شعر مزين بالرسوم التوضيحية للفنان روجر كوبليان. بأسلوبه العقلي الذي يُعد خليطًا بين الأنواع، يعترض تانكيان على النفاق وتزكية النفس و"الموافقة المصطنعة" (في إشارة إلى تشومسكي) للإمبريالية والحرب، ويسجل رأيه شعريًا وسياسيًا نيابة عن الديمقراطية والتعديل الأول للدستور الأمريكي.

 

تشوش الرؤية من إصدارات Beacon.

تشوش الرؤية: تأملات في تراثي وحياتي ومهنتي بقلم بن باجديكيان (Beacon Press, 1997)

وُلد باجديكيان، وهو ابن أصيل للأناضول، في العام 1920 في مرعش، زمن ومكان خطيرين بالنسبة إلى الأرمن. بعد اللجوء في الولايات المتحدة، نشأ باجديكيان في عائلة متناغمة تمامًا مع مسائل الحقيقة والعدالة. اشتهر باجديكيان بعمله طوال حياته كصحفي استقصائي وأستاذ ومحلل إعلامي، وتضمنت حياته المهنية اللامعة دورًا مركزيًا، إلى جانب دانيال إلسبرغ، في تسريب "أوراق البنتاغون". مذكراته ملهمة بقدر ما هي منذرة.

 

 

 

 

ملاحظات

[i] أورهان كمال جنكيز، "تركيا تعيد إحياء المادة 301 القاتلة ضد المعارضة"، المونيتور، 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019.
[ii] ويليام سارويان ، الشهيق والزفير (راندوم هاوس ، 1936).
[iii] لوسين كاسباريان ، أرمينيا: أرض وعرة ، شعب دائم (مطبعة ديلون ، 1997)
[iv] سوزان بول باتي ، الفيلق الأرمني: التضحية والخيانة في الحرب العالمية الأولى (I.B. Taurus ، 2018).

ميشا جيراكوليس صحفية ومحررة تعمل كمحررة مساهمة في مجلة المركز، وفي هيئة تحرير "الصحافة الخاضعة للرقابة". يهتم عملها بمحو الأمية الإعلامية، والمعلوماتية النقدية، وتعليم حقوق الإنسان، والديمقراطية والأخلاق. تشمل موضوعات بحثها الإبادة الجماعية الأرمنية والشتات، والحقيقة في التقارير الصحفية، والحريات الصحفية والأكاديمية، والهوية والثقافة، والحالة الإنسانية متعددة الأوجه. نُشرت أعمال ميشا في Middle East Eye, openDemocracy, Truthout, The Guardian, LA Review of Books, Colorlines, Gomidas Institute, and National Catholic Reporter, وغيرها. تغرد من خلال @MGeracoulis

آرام سارويانالشتات الأرمني الإبادة الجماعية للأرمن 1915الأدب الأرمنيبن باجكيديانرونالد غريغور سونيسيرج تانكينفاهي بربريان

3 تعليقات

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Recommended Reading: Armenia Across Dislocation and Diaspora

17 April, 2023
Reading Time :9 minutes

This recommended reading list is accompanied by three essays, from Seta Kabranian-Melkonian, Ara Oshagan and Mireille Rebeiz, leading up to the annual remembrance of the Armenian Genocide, on April 24th.

 

Mischa Geracoulis

 

With April 24th on the horizon, a date indelibly inscribed into the calendars of Armenians worldwide, The Markaz Review, along with international historians, scholars, and governments, recognizes 2023 as the 108th year since the launch of the Armenian Genocide. April 24th, 1915, “Red Sunday,” marked the launch of the Ottoman Turkish government’s coordinated destruction of the empire’s ethnic Armenian population. On that day, hundreds of Armenian intellectuals and professionals living in Constantinople (modern day Istanbul), capital of the Ottoman Empire, were rounded up and arrested by Turkish authorities. Subsequent massacres and mass deportations of Armenians from Anatolian Turkey led to the death of an approximated 1.5 million Armenians, paving the way for an ultranationalist Republic of Turkey.

Not all genocides are the same, especially in the way they are framed by the international community. Legal and moral redress stands out among the differences. The Jewish Holocaust, for example, has been recognized as a moral issue — rightly so — and as crimes against humanity. The prosecution of its perpetrators set the stage for a host of international laws, the inception of the United Nations Genocide Convention, and the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Unlike the Holocaust, the early 20th century’s systematic extermination of Armenians by the Ottomans has been politicized, dragged through a protracted purgatory, and left unrecompensed.

Another differentiating feature of the Armenian case is the depth and breadth of the Republic of Turkey’s tiresome, century-long genocide denial campaign. Irrespective of reams of official recorded evidence and primary sources documenting the Ottoman Turks’ crimes against Armenians, despite the fact that 31 nations (32 if you include the Vatican) have formally recognized those crimes as genocide, Turkey and its closest ally, Azerbaijan, are unremitting in their denialist ploys.

Domestically, if citizens question official genocide denialist policy, they risk violating Article 301 of the penal code for “insulting Turkishness.”[i] The internal stranglehold on truth is otherwise maintained by tendentious history textbooks, and through government and media propaganda. In matters of international consequence, Turkey holds sway by leveraging its relationship with other governments and organizations, thereby complicating multinational geostrategies, and by funding Turkish studies chairs in universities outside of Turkey, as well as lobbyists to the U.S. Congress. Thus, issues of morality, justice, and restitution for Armenians have not gained the same traction as has the Holocaust.

Accordingly, reasons for spotlighting April 24th are multifold. To remember the day is to assert that crimes against humanity are moral and legal issues, not political. The act of public remembrance affirms universal human rights, and stands up for any group anywhere that has faced, currently faces, or may in the future face the threat of erasure at the hands (or drones or AI) of another group. It’s an admonishment that facts matter. Commemorating the Armenian Genocide imparts power to the promise “Never again,” lest it dwindle to token sloganeering.

For many Armenians, the day is a reminder of innate grit, determination, and resilience. In 2023, against the backdrop of ongoing Azerbaijani-induced humanitarian crises in the autonomous Armenian region within Azerbaijan known as Nagorno-Karabagh (“Artsakh” in the Armenian language), William Saroyan’s spirited words may invariably be invoked: “There is war in the world. Destroy Armenia. See if you can do it.”[ii]

Indeed, there is war in the world, and the Armenians of Artsakh fight to stay alive. Not in the shadow of World War I, as before, but under the cloud of an Azerbaijani blockade unnoticed by much of the world.

Armenians are an enduring people, to borrow from the title of Lucine Kasbarian’s 1997 encyclopedic volume.[iii] Genocide has given rise to a vibrant Armenian diaspora scattered across at least 100 countries, “becoming Armenians in new ways, in new places.”[iv] Transcending borders, the Armenians’ literary, artistic, and creative endeavors are reflective not only of a missed or mythical homeland, but often of the cosmopolitanism and linguistic facility acquired by zigzagging about the world.

In any society, one function of artists, writers, satirists, and performers is to bring to the fore subject matter that people might prefer to ignore. In keeping with that purpose, the following highly abridged and slightly eclectic list, ordered by latest publication date, not by importance, and limited only by space, dips into the vast trove of Armenian diasporic works relating to themes of homeland and dislocation, identities and cultural transmission, and some measure of liberation and redemption.

 

In this forget-me-not flower, the black dot symbolizes the past and the suffering of the Armenians; purple petals the present and unity of all Armenians; five purple leaves symbolize the future and the five continents to which Armenians fled; 12 yellow sections represent hope and the 12 provinces lost to Turkey.

 

Denial of Genocides is published U of Nebraska.

Denial of Genocides in the 21st Century by Bedross Der Matossian (University of Nebraska Press, 2023)

An investigation into genocide denialist tactics, both the time-tested and the more novel versions, this latest book by professor of modern Middle East history, Der Matossian, presents a collection of case studies, including the Armenian Genocide, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia, Rwanda, Syria, and Guatemala. When analyzing the popular schemes used today, Der Matossian and the other contributors focus on propaganda, misinformation, disinformation, and fake news campaigns, as well as the weaponization of free speech and social media to “gaslight” minds, and obscure truth and justice.

 

 

 

Black Garden Aflame is published by Eastview Press.

Black Garden Aflame: The Nagorno Karabakh Conflict in the Soviet and Russian Press by Artyom Tonoyan (East View Press, 2021)

In this veritable volume, the conflict in the “black garden” that is otherwise known as Nagorno Karabakh is brought into sharper focus. Tonoyan, professor of sociology and global studies, explains much of what the Western media either does not know, or does not show. Detailing the region’s history from the late 1980s through 2020, the book is written and organized in a manner accessible to both scholars and general readers. Published before Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Black Garden also offers unexpected insights into the contemporary, as well as historical, ambitions of Russia.

 

 

 

The Dreamt Land is published by Penguin.

The Dreamt Land: Chasing Water and Dust Across California by Mark Arax (Penguin Random House, 2020)

Surveying California’s Central Valley, a terrain not entirely unlike that of ancient Armenia and heavily settled and farmed by Armenian Genocide survivors, Arax takes stock of, and pays homage to, the region that produces crops for dinner tables across America, and for massive export too. Arax’s storytelling is never far removed from his Armenian roots, but this genocidal chronicle is of a different nature. As human-induced climate catastrophe and extractive practices threaten  the Golden State, The Dreamt Land is a wakeup call to the realities of greed and over-commodification of natural resources.

 

 

 

They Can Live in the Desert is published by Princeton.

They Can Live in the Desert but Nowhere Else: A History of the Armenian Genocide by Ronald Grigor Suny (Princeton University Press, 2020)

Aided by his two daughters and a cast of equally dedicated researchers, Suny cuts through argument and confusion around the Armenian Genocide of 1915. He takes a hard look at the complexities of the genocide — from preceding events to its framing then and now, with special attention paid to today’s unabashed, unconscionable use of propaganda and lies to construct alternative depictions of reality. As a professor of history and political science, Suny argues that Armenians and Turks must deal with the collective and generational traumas; or else their identities and destinies, for good or ill, will remain entwined.

 

 

 

Diary of a Dead Man is available from Wet Paint.

Diary of a Dead Man by Vahé Berberian (Wet Paint Publishing, 2018)

Whether employing visual or performance art, fiction, or personal narrative, Berberian is a natural-born storyteller. Spinning a saga that crosses continents from North America to the Middle East, and epochs from the 1870s to the present day, this work of historical fiction brings huge and unwieldy events, like war, to a pedestrian, personal level. Facing down existential threats to body, mind, and spirit, something akin to enlightenment emerges for the novel’s protagonists, and perhaps for the reader too.

 

 

 

 

The Armenian Legionnaires is published by Bloomsbury.

The Armenian Legionnaires: Sacrifice and Betrayal in World War I by Susan Paul Pattie (Bloomsbury, 2018)

Cultural anthropologist and co-founder of London’s Armenian Institute, Pattie delves into a 10-year history of the young Armenian men who survived the Genocide only to willingly return to fight the Ottomans between 1916 and 1921. The Légion d’Orient, later renamed the Légion Arménienne, was a French-trained and led military force that played significant, albeit lesser-known, roles as part of the Allied Powers in which its members had placed their hopes and trust. Pattie illuminates how promises broken by the French and British had much to do with the imperialistic partitioning of the Levant, and are key to understanding the ongoing socioeconomic and political imbalances and injustices now.

 

 

 

Perspectives from Exile is available from Lulu.

Perspectives From Exile by Lucine Kasbarian (Thompson Gallery & Cambridge School, 2015)

A high powered, thought-provoking lens is turned on the hyperbole and contradictions surrounding issues such as propaganda, free speech, and identity politics. Most pointedly, author, journalist, and editorial cartoonist Kasbarian confronts the Armenian Genocide denialist campaign of the Republic of Turkey with incisive wit and satirical illustrations. Exercising artistic license and dramatic flair, Kasbarian’s cartoons interrogate and respond to the messaging of both modern and Ottoman Turkey.

 

Starting Out in the Sixties is published by Talisman.

 

Starting Out in the Sixties: Selected Essays by Aram Saroyan (Talisman House, 2011)

Prolific poet, writer, and artist whose surname needs no introduction, Saroyan the Younger, offers a collection of essays that portray the 1960s as a decade of social and political upheavals wrought by agitation and art. His book provides commentary on the era, both generally and personally. Influenced by the locations, people, and ideas amongst which he was immersed, Saroyan reflects on the ideals and pitfalls of the flower power generation, the imposition of advertising on literary publishing, and the process of writing.

 

 

Glaring Through Oblivion is published by HarperCollins.

Glaring Through Oblivion by Serj Tankian (HarperCollins Publishers, 2011) Poetry

Written on the heels of 9/11, this book by wordsmith Tankian, best known as front man for the metal band System of a Down, sees him convert his lyrical skills into poetry adorned by the illustrations of Roger Kupelian. In his cerebral, genre-mixing fashion, Tankian protests the hypocrisies, self-righteousness, and “manufactured consent” (in a nod to Chomsky) of imperialism and war, and waxes poetically and politically on behalf of democracy and the U.S. Constitution’s First Amendment.

 

Double Vision is published by Beacon.

Double Vision: Reflections on My Heritage, Life, and Profession by Ben Bagdikian (Beacon Press, 1997)

A native son of Anatolia, Bagdikian was born in 1920 Marash, a dangerous time and place for Armenians. Finding asylum in the U.S., Bagdikian grew up in a family keenly attuned to matters of truth and justice. Famous for his lifelong work as an investigative journalist, professor, and media analyst, Bagdikian’s illustrious career included a central role, along with Daniel Ellsberg, in leaking the “Pentagon Papers.” His memoir is as inspirational as it is cautionary.

 

 

 

 

Notes

[i]  Orhan Kemal Cengiz, “Turkey Resurrects Deadly Article 301 Against Dissent,” Al-Monitor, October 24, 2019.
[ii] William Saroyan, Inhale and Exhale (Random House, 1936).
[iii] Lucine Kasbarian, Armenia: A Rugged Land, An Enduring People (Dillon Press, 1997)
[iv] Susan Paul Pattie, The Armenian Legionnaires: Sacrifice and Betrayal in World War I  (I.B. Taurus, 2018).

Mischa Geracoulis is a journalist and editor who serves as contributing editor at The Markaz Review, and on the editorial board of the Censored Press. Her work is positioned at the intersection of critical media and information literacy, human rights education, and democracy and ethics. The subject matter of her research topics include the Armenian Genocide and diaspora, truth in reporting, press and academic freedoms, identity and culture, and the multifaceted human condition. Mischa’s work has appeared in Middle East Eye, openDemocracy, Truthout, The Guardian, LA Review of Books, Colorlines, Gomidas Institute, and National Catholic Reporter, among others. She Tweets @MGeracoulis.

Aram SaroyanArmenian diasporaArmenian Genocide 1915Armenian literatureBen BagkidianRonald Grigor SunySerj TankainVahé Berberian

3 comments

  1. You really put a lot of thought and energy into this. Hope you receive $$$ for your hard work!!

  2. Expertly curated reading list! Saved it and can’t wait to get started on your recommended reads.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *