قراءة مصر من الخارج إلى الداخل، يوسف رخا "براء وزمان"

24 أغسطس, 2021
وقت القراءة :6 دقائق
المخرج شادي عبد السلام (يمين) يوجه الممثل الرئيسي أحمد مرعي في فيلم "المومياء"

براء وزمان: قراءة في الحداثة المصرية في رواية "المومياء" لشادي عبد السلام ليوسف رخا
بالغريف 2020
ردمك 9783030613532

شريفة زهور

براء وزمان: قراءة الحداثة المصرية في كتاب "المومياء" لشادي عبد السلام ليوسف رخا هو كتاب مدهش، تم بناؤه كسلسلة من الفقرات المنفصلة، مثل الهايكو النثري.  يلفت المؤلف انتباهنا إلى فيلم 1969 ، والذي مثل الإنتاجات الأخرى للعصر الذهبي للسينما في مصر ، 1940s-1960s ، interroga

بارا وزمان: قراءة في الحداثة المصرية في رواية "المومياء" لشاد عبد السلام
مجلد ثاقب في سلسلة السينما العربية لبالغريف.

هوية البلاد.  وهكذا، فإن مغامرة في التاريخ السينمائي توفر منهجية لتفسير مصر وعلاقاتها الداخلية والخارجية، وتلقي الضوء على مسار مصر.

رخا هو مؤلف كتاب ختم السلطان: حوادث غريبة من التاريخ في مدينة المريخ (كتاب الطوغرا: غريب التاريخ في مدينة المريخ، القاهرة: دار الشروق، 2011) الذي ترجم إلى الإنجليزية والفرنسية، وروايات ومقالات وقصائد أخرى. خبرته الطويلة كصحفي ومحرر ومصور / كاتب ذو توجه ثقافي ، بالإضافة إلى تعريفاته بشعراء وكتاب وشخصيات ثقافية شابة مهمة أخرى على موقعه على الإنترنت ، sultansseal.com ، تضعه في المشهد المصري الحالي. وهو جزء من جيل من الكتاب المصريين الذين غالبا ما يستكشفون الموضوعات من خلال عدسة شخصية وتاريخية. في هذا العمل الجديد ، هو ، مثل المومياء ، يستحضر الماضي ، زمان (عصر) كمبدأ أساسي ، معتمدا على الإرث والأصالة.  على النقيض من ذلك ، نتعلم عن حالة متناقضة ، براء ، (حرفيا ، خارج ، بارا في ترجمتي الصوتية) - الخارجية ، الاستعمار ، الاستعمار الجديد ، وربما حتى الغرب.

قاعدة بارا أولا في مصر هي أنه يجب على المرء أن يحصل على الاعتراف أو الشهرة أو النجاح في العالم الخارجي ، أو أن يكون له تأثير أو أن يكون له تأثير.  يحتاج المرء إلى تعليم لغة أجنبية. يجب على المرء أن ينشر باللغات الأجنبية والاتصالات الأجنبية مفيدة. يجب أن يكتسب مغنيو وممثلو الأوبرا شهرة في الخارج. ويوضح رخا أيضا أن أفكار الربيع العربي كانت مستمدة من بارا على حساب المحلية. (69) الشخصيات ذات التوجه البراري المهمة لثورة 25 يناير المشؤومة هما الأب الروحي للثورة ، محمد البرادعي والممثل الكوميدي باسم يوسف ، وكلاهما اضطر ، للمفارقة ، إلى الهروب من بارا (من مصر).

تعود حداثة مصر إلى الصراعات بين حكام مصر والقوى الأجنبية. إن مآثر وإنجازات الخديوي إسماعيل باشا (1830 – 1895) ، حفيد محمد علي باشا الذي قام بتحديث القاهرة ، ومكن من بناء قناة السويس ، و 8000 ميل من قنوات الري ، بالإضافة إلى آلاف الأميال من السكك الحديدية وخطوط التلغراف و 400 جسر و 4500 مدرسة ، مثال على توجه بارا الذي برر استخدام مصر للنماذج الأوروبية ، والتصاميم.  في هذه الجهود ، تراكم على الخديوي إسماعيل ديون هائلة أدت إلى سقوطه ، واستيلاء الجيش البريطاني على مصر ونفي إسماعيل. كل هذا مهم حيث تم تعيين المومياء في عام 1881.

في هذه الفترة ، تم تسليم المجموعة الأثرية في Azbakiyya إلى الأرشيدوق ماكسيميليان من النمسا ، وانتهى بها المطاف في فيينا. هكذا أيضا، في بداية فيلم "المومياء"، وضع عالم المصريات الفرنسي جاستون كميل ماسبيرو الذي يمكنه ترجمة الهيروغليفية المصرية جنبا إلى جنب مع أحمد أفندي، عالم المصريات المصري الشاب. كل من هذين الرجلين - الغربيين والمصريين - لديهم الفراعنة (حب الفراعنة) في قلب سعيهم وراء زمان ، هنا يمثلون العصور القديمة والأصالة والتقاليد. يكتب رخا (73): "لقد حول علم المصريات المصرية إلى موضوع للتدقيق الأوروبي ، والجشع أيضا ، والتهميش (في الواقع تجريم بعض المصريين) ولكن أيضا موضوع غير موجود حتى الآن للشعور الجماعي بالذات".

ساعد اكتشاف المخرج الإيطالي روبرتو روسليني لسيناريو شادي في دفع عجلة إنشاء الفيلم. "كما أن مصر القديمة لا يمكن أن توجد دون تدخل أوروبي ، كذلك لا يمكن أن تبدأ مسيرة شادي حتى يقترب إيطالي من الدولة المصرية" (68) بسبب مبدأ بارا أولا. وبهذه الطريقة، اكتسب ما يسمى ب "الإسلام المعتدل" لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين زخما من خلال مراكز الفكر الأمريكية (بارا) واكتسب محمد البرادعي شهرة من خلال خلافة هانز بليكس في الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، أو باسم يوسف من خلال تسميته "المصري جون ستيوارت"، أو الناشطة النسوية الراحلة نوال السعداوي التي وصفت ب "المصرية سيمون دي بوفوار". هذه التقييمات الثقافية غير المتكافئة ، التي تعتبر بارا كمجاملات ، صر محليا.

هل يمكن للمرء قراءة الكتاب دون مشاهدة المومياء؟ يستحق براء وزمان القراءة دون مشاهدة الفيلم، على الرغم من أنه سيتحدث بشكل أكثر وضوحا مع أولئك الذين لديهم بعض المعرفة، أو قدر كبير من المعرفة الأساسية بمصر.  رخا ليست مجرد تكريم للمومياء. إنه يدرك أنه رائع دون أن يكون فيلما جيدا جدا ، ويسأل لماذا؟ كقصة اكتشاف عصابة عبد الرسول لمخبأ للمومياوات ، يتناول الفيلم الجشع ، وموضوع الفساد في الماضي والحاضر. يشير رخا إلى عدم المنطق في النص - أن جيل الشباب سيثور بشدة بسبب تدنيس المقابر لدرجة أنهم سيخاطرون بحياتهم ويتخلون عن إرثهم العائلي (44).  هذا ليس مجرد نقص في المنطق ، إنه يركز الأخلاق في الحداثة ، كما لو أن جيل الشباب ، من خلال الإرادة المطلقة ، سيقطع مع الماضي ، وبالتالي يلعنه الأم ، سيدة المنزل.

يستكشف رخا النزعة القومية والتأليه الوشيك لجمال عبد الناصر المتورط في صنع هذا الفيلم، موضحا "العلاقة المرضية مع عبد الناصر" لصلاح جاهين (شاعر ورسام كاريكاتير غنائي ومحرر) "العلاقة المرضية مع ناصر"، وهي وطنية متطرفة تحققت في أغاني تلك الحقبة، بما في ذلك أغاني الملحن كمال الطويل مع جاهين وغناها عبد الحليم حافظ.  شمل العصر الذهبي للسينما في مصر المغنية / الممثلة سعاد حسني (1942-2001) ، والنجم الكوميدي عادل إمام (مواليد 1940) وشادي عبد السلام ، الذي صنع في النهاية المومياء - خريج كلية فيكتوريا ، وهو مهندس معماري ومخرج طموح تدرب على المخرج صلاح أبو سيف.  كان عبد السلام من نواح كثيرة مثل المخرج يوسف شاهين، لكن جذوره كانت في صعيد مصر.  قال عبد السلام في مقابلة أجريت معه في عام 1975 إنه استلهم في ملاوي، مسقط رأس والدته في المنيا، للتحقيق في "معنى وحياة أن تكون مصريا..." (40). يشرح رخا أيضا كيف أثرت النكسة، هزيمة مصر أمام إسرائيل في عام 1967، بقوة على عبد السلام الذي اعترف بأن الفيلم قد يكون طريقته لتأكيد استمرارية مصر وألم تراجعها.  تربط رخا الحزن في بداية ونهاية الفيلم، على وفاة البطريرك، الذي يحتفل به في ريف مصر بإطلاق النار، بالحزن على مصر الأب أو والد مصر (ناصر) في النكسة. (47)

تصف رخا الجمال البصري للفيلم، ورمزيته الغريبة وغير المبررة، بأنها العين - عين حورس، وعين المشاهد التي تحدق في مشهد الفيلم، "رؤية جماليات الماضي في التاريخ". (51) يذكرنا رخا بشعبية الموضوعات المصرية القديمة في الأدب ، كما هو الحال في روايات نجيب محفوظ الثلاث الأولى ، وفي بحث توفيق الحكيم عن الإحياء و "المعبود" في روايته عام 1933 ، عودة الروح ، يبدأ كل مجلد منها باقتباسات من كتاب الموتى.

من بين العديد من الأفكار الأخرى ذات المغزى في هذا الكتاب ، من بينها صور المومياء التي تؤدي وظيفتها في توفير الحياة الأبدية ، استمتعت بمناقشة رخا للمواويل ، والارتجالات الصوتية التي غالبا ما تندب على النصوص الشعبية.  يربط العاطفة العميقة للموال بالتقاليد الجنائزية في صعيد مصر.  في إحدى الموال من المنيا ، يناشد مغني قبطان القارب أن يحمله إلى الضفة الغربية لنهر النيل، حيث يمكنه مقابلة أحبائه المتوفين.  هذا المثال على تقليد قديم يعيش في الموسيقى الشعبية هو رؤية رخا ، وليس المومياء ، لكنه رمز لأهداف الفيلم.  بينما كان اكتشاف المومياوات غاضبا ضد منتهكي المحرمات ، كان "تعويذة قيامة" ، وأيضا شعار تحرير وطني "(94) الذي يدعيه رخا لمصر الحديثة.

كانت ديناميكية الأصالة مقابل الحداثة التي واجهتها في العشرينات من عمري في القاهرة، نسخة أكثر بدائية من قطبية براء الزمان .  كان دائما مؤطرا من بارا - على الصروح التي أنشأها العلماء الغربيون.  تكتب رخا: "ليس الأمر كما لو كان بإمكانك اختيار التخلي عن الحداثة مهما كنت مرتبطا بالتقاليد. لكن الأمر ليس كما لو أنه يمكنك أن تنسى أنه بدلا من الخروج منه أو التطعيم العضوي به ، فرضت الحداثة فجأة على تاريخك ، متجاوزة إحساسك بالذات بطرق مهينة ". (89)

ربما لا تكون قصة المومياء هي ما قصد المخرج شادي عبد السلام أن يرويه، ولكن مع فحص رخا، تظهر حقيقتها الأساسية.  يبدو أن مصريا، مثل رخا، قد يتناول بشكل غير مباشر المساواة والعدالة والحرية (أهداف ثورة 25 يناير) ويركز على جدلية بارا زمان (103) في الوقت الحاضر، من أجل إدراك المستقبل المحتمل.

شريفة زهور باحثة متخصصة في دراسة مصر ودول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا الأخرى، وقد شغلت مناصب في هيئة التدريس في الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة، وجامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، ومباحث أمن الدولة في الكلية الحربية للجيش الأمريكي. عاشت وأجرت أبحاثا ودرست في مصر ولبنان وسوريا والضفة الغربية والنقب والمملكة العربية السعودية والمغرب والولايات المتحدة وأوروبا. نشرت زهور 19 كتابا ومئات الفصول والمقالات، وهي رئيسة سابقة لجمعية دراسات المرأة في الشرق الأوسط، وكانت باحثة إقليمية أولى في برنامج فولبرايت.

القاهرةالعصر الذهبي لمصرالسينما المصريةمخرجون مصريونمراجعةيوسف شاهين

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Reading Egypt from the Outside In, Youssef Rakha’s “Baraa and Zaman”

24 August, 2021
Direc­tor Sha­di Abdel Salam ® instruct­ing lead actor Ahmed Marei in The Mum­my

Baraa and Zaman:  Read­ing Egypt­ian Moder­ni­ty in Sha­di Abdel Salam’s The Mum­my , by Youssef Rakha
Pal­grave 2020
ISBN 9783030613532

Sherifa Zuhur

Baraa and Zaman:  Read­ing Egypt­ian Moder­ni­ty in Sha­di Abdel Salam’s The Mum­my by Youssef Rakha is a sur­pris­ing book, con­struct­ed as a series of sep­a­rate para­graphs, like prose haiku.  The author calls our atten­tion to the 1969 film, which like oth­er pro­duc­tions of Egypt’s gold­en age of cin­e­ma, 1940s-1960s, interroga

barra and zaman: reading egyptian modernity in shad abdel salam's the mummy
An insight­ful vol­ume in Palgrave’s Arab cin­e­ma series.

tes the country’s iden­ti­ty.  Thus, an adven­ture into cin­e­mat­ic his­to­ry pro­vides a method­ol­o­gy for inter­pret­ing Egypt and its inter­nal and exter­nal rela­tion­ships, and sheds light on Egypt’s trajectory.

Rakha is the author of The Book of the Sultan’s Seal: Strange Inci­dents from His­to­ry in the City of Mars  (Kitab at-Tugra: Gharaib at-Tarikh fi Mad­i­nat al-Mar­rikh, Cairo: Dar Al-Shorouk, 2011) which has been trans­lat­ed to Eng­lish and French, and oth­er nov­els, essays, and poems. His lengthy expe­ri­ence as a cul­tur­al­ly-ori­ent­ed jour­nal­ist, edi­tor, and photographer/writer, as well as his intro­duc­tions of oth­er impor­tant younger poets, writ­ers and cul­tur­al fig­ures on his web­site, sultansseal.com, posi­tion him in the cur­rent Egypt­ian scene. He is part of a gen­er­a­tion of Egypt­ian writ­ers who often explore top­ics through a per­son­al and his­tor­i­cal lens. In this new work, he, like The Mum­my, invokes the past, zaman (an age) as a key prin­ci­ple, rely­ing on lega­cy and authen­tic­i­ty.  Con­trast­ing this, we learn of a con­trast­ing con­di­tion, baraa, (lit­er­al­ly, out­side, bar­ra in my translit­er­a­tion) — exter­nal­i­ty, colo­nial­ism, neo­colo­nial­ism, and per­haps even Occidentalism.

The bar­ra-first rule in Egypt is that one must attain recog­ni­tion, fame or suc­cess in the out­side world, to mat­ter, or to have influ­ence.  One needs a for­eign lan­guage edu­ca­tion. One must pub­lish in for­eign lan­guages and for­eign con­tacts are use­ful. Opera singers and actors should gain renown abroad. Rakha also explains that the ideas of the Arab Spring were bar­ra-derived at the expense of the local. (69) Bar­ra-ori­ent­ed per­son­ages impor­tant to the ill-fat­ed Jan­u­ary 25th Rev­o­lu­tion were the God­fa­ther of the Rev­o­lu­tion, Mohamed El Baradei and come­di­an Bassem Yousef, both of whom had, iron­i­cal­ly, to escape bar­ra (from Egypt).

Egypt’s moder­ni­ty goes back to strug­gles between Egypt’s rulers and for­eign pow­ers. The exploits and achieve­ments of Khe­dive Isma’il Pasha (1830 – 1895), the grand­son of Muham­mad ‘Ali Pasha who mod­ern­ized Cairo, and enabled the con­struc­tion of the Suez canal, and 8,000 miles of irri­ga­tion canals, as well as thou­sands of miles of rail­roads, tele­graph lines, 400 bridges, and 4,500 schools, exem­pli­fied a bar­ra-ori­en­ta­tion which jus­ti­fied Egypt’s use of Euro­pean mod­els, and designs.  In these efforts, Khe­dive Isma’il accrued enor­mous debts lead­ing to his down­fall, British mil­i­tary seizure of Egypt and to Isma’il’s exile. All this is sig­nif­i­cant as The Mum­my is set in the year 1881.

In this peri­od, the archae­o­log­i­cal col­lec­tion at Azbakiyya was hand­ed over to the Arch­duke Max­imil­lian of Aus­tria, and end­ed up in Vien­na. So too, at the out­set of the film The Mum­my, French Egyp­tol­o­gist, Gas­ton Camille Maspero who can trans­late Egypt­ian hiero­glyph­ics is jux­ta­posed to Ahmed Effen­di, the young Egypt­ian Egyp­tol­o­gist. Both of these men — West­ern­er and Egypt­ian — have pharaoh­phil­ia (love of the pharaohs) at the heart of their pur­suit of zaman, here rep­re­sent­ing antiq­ui­ty, authen­tic­i­ty and tra­di­tion. “Egyp­tol­ogy turned Egyp­tian­ness into an object of Euro­pean scruti­ny, also avarice, mar­gin­al­iz­ing (indeed crim­i­nal­iz­ing some Egyp­tians)  but also a hith­er­to nonex­is­tent sub­ject for a col­lec­tive sense of self” writes Rakha (73).

Ital­ian film­mak­er Rober­to Rosselini’s dis­cov­ery of Shadi’s script helped to pro­pel the film’s cre­ation. “Just as ancient Egypt can­not exist with­out Euro­pean inter­ven­tion, so Shadi’s career can­not kick off until an Ital­ian approach­es the Egypt­ian state,” (68) because of the bar­ra-first prin­ci­ple. In this way, the Mus­lim Brotherhood’s so-called ‘mod­er­ate Islam’ gained trac­tion through Amer­i­can think tanks (bar­ra) and Mohammed ElBa­radei gain­ing fame by suc­ceed­ing Hans Blix in the IAEA, Bassem Youssef by being called the “Egypt­ian Jon Stew­art,” or the late fem­i­nist Naw­al El Saadawi being labeled the “Egypt­ian Simone de Beau­voir.” These unequal cul­tur­al val­u­a­tions, con­sid­ered bar­ra as com­pli­ments, grate domestically.

Can one read the book with­out hav­ing viewed The Mum­my? Baraa and Zaman is worth read­ing with­out hav­ing seen the film, though it will speak more dis­tinct­ly to those with some, or a good deal of back­ground knowl­edge of Egypt.  Rakha is not mere­ly ren­der­ing an homage to The Mum­my; he rec­og­nizes that it is fas­ci­nat­ing with­out being a very good film, and irrev­er­ent­ly asks why? As the sto­ry of the dis­cov­ery of a cache of mum­mies by the Abd al-Rasul gang, the film address­es greed, and the past and present theme of cor­rup­tion. Rakha points out the illog­ic in the script — that the younger gen­er­a­tion would be so revolt­ed by the des­e­cra­tion of tombs that they would risk their lives and give up their fam­i­ly lega­cy (44).  This isn’t mere­ly a lack of log­ic, it cen­ters moral­i­ty in moder­ni­ty, as if the younger gen­er­a­tion would, through sheer will, break with the past, and, there­fore be cursed by the Moth­er, the Lady of the House.

Rakha explores the nation­al­ism and near deifi­ca­tion of Gamal abd al-Nass­er involved in the mak­ing of this film, explain­ing Salah Jahine’s  (poet, lyri­cist car­toon­ist, edi­tor) “patho­log­i­cal rela­tion­ship to Nass­er,” an extreme patri­o­tism  actu­al­ized in songs of that era, includ­ing those by com­pos­er Kamal al-Taw­il with Jahine and sung by Abd al-Hal­im Hafez.  Egypt’s gold­en age of cin­e­ma includ­ed singer/actor Soad Hos­ny (1942–2001), super­star come­di­an Adel Imam (b. 1940) and Sha­di Abdel Salam, who even­tu­al­ly made The Mum­my — a grad­u­ate of Vic­to­ria Col­lege, an archi­tect and aspir­ing film­mak­er who appren­ticed him­self to film­mak­er, Salah Abu Seif.  In many ways Abdel Salam was like film­mak­er Youssef Chahine, but his roots were in Upper Egypt.  Abdel Salam told an inter­view­er in 1975 that he was inspired in Mallawi, his mother’s town in Minya, to inves­ti­gate “the mean­ing and the life of being Egypt­ian…” (40).  Rakha also explains how the Naksa, Egypt’s defeat by Israel in 1967, pow­er­ful­ly impact­ed Abdel Salam who admit­ted that the film might be his way of assert­ing both Egypt’s con­ti­nu­ity and the pain of its decline.  Rakha asso­ciates the griev­ing at the open­ing and end­ing of the film, at the death of the patri­arch, cel­e­brat­ed in rur­al Egypt with the fir­ing of weapons, with the grief for Egypt-the-father or Egypt’s father (Nass­er) in the Naksa. (47)

Rakha describes the visu­al beau­ty of the film, and its odd and unex­plained sym­bol­ism, as that of the eye — the Eye of Horus, and the viewer’s eye gaz­ing at the film’s spec­ta­cle, “see­ing past aes­thet­ics into his­to­ry.” (51) Rakha reminds us of the pop­u­lar­i­ty of ancient Egypt­ian themes in lit­er­a­ture, as in Naguib Mah­fouz’ first three nov­els, and in Taw­fiq al-Hakim’s quest for revival and an ‘idol’ in his 1933 nov­el, Return of the Spir­it, each vol­ume of which begins with cita­tions from the Book of the Dead.

Of the many oth­er mean­ing­ful insights in this book, among them the mum­my por­traits ful­fill­ing their func­tion of pro­vid­ing eter­nal life, I enjoyed Rakha’s dis­cus­sion of the mawaw­il, the often lament­ing, vocal impro­vi­sa­tions on folk texts.  He con­nects the deep emo­tion­al­ism of the maww­al to the mor­tu­ary tra­di­tion in upper Egypt.  In one maww­al from Minya, a singer implores the boat’s cap­tain to car­ry him to the West Bank of the Nile, where he can meet his deceased loved ones.  This exam­ple of an ancient tra­di­tion liv­ing on in folk music is Rakha’s insight, not The Mum­my’s, but it’s emblem­at­ic of the film’s goals.  Whilst ril­ing against taboo break­ers, the dis­cov­ery of the mum­mies was a “res­ur­rec­tion spell,” and also a nation­al lib­er­a­tion slo­gan” (94) that Rakha claims for mod­ern Egypt.

The authen­tic­i­ty vs. moder­ni­ty dynam­ic that I myself encoun­tered in my twen­ties in Cairo, was a more prim­i­tive ver­sion of the baraa-zaman polar­i­ty.  It was always framed from bar­ra — on the edi­fices cre­at­ed by West­ern schol­ars.  Rakha writes, “It is not as if you can choose to relin­quish moder­ni­ty how­ev­er attached to tra­di­tion you might be. But it is not as if you can for­get that, rather than grow­ing out of it or being organ­i­cal­ly graft­ed onto it, moder­ni­ty was sud­den­ly imposed on your his­to­ry, over­tak­ing your sense of self in demean­ing ways.” (89)

The sto­ry of The Mum­my, then, is per­haps not what direc­tor Sha­di Abdel Salam intend­ed to tell, but with Rakha’s exam­i­na­tion, its under­ly­ing truth emerges.  It seems that an Egypt­ian, like Rakha, may indi­rect­ly address equal­i­ty, jus­tice and free­dom (the goals of the Jan­u­ary 25th rev­o­lu­tion) and focus on the bar­ra-zaman dialec­tic (103) at present, in order to per­ceive the like­ly future.

CairoEgypt's golden ageEgyptian cinemaEgyptian directorsReviewYoussef Chahine

Sherifa Zuhur is a scholar specializing in the study of Egypt and other MENA countries, who has held faculty positions at The American University of Cairo, UC Berkeley, and SSI at the US Army War College. She has lived, researched and taught in Egypt, Lebanon, Syria, the West Bank, the Negev, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, the US and Europe. Zuhur has published 19 books, hundreds of chapters and articles, is a past-president of the Association of Middle East Women’s Studies and was a Senior Regional Fulbright Scholar.