عربي ويهودي يدخلان حانة...

15 ديسمبر, 2021
الزوجان الكوميديان جيس سالومون وإيمان الحسيني (الصورة مقدمة من بريدجيت بادور).

هاداني ديتمارس

 

هل سمعت عن اليهودي والعربي الذي دخل الحانة؟ لا؟ هناك احتمالات ، في هذه الأوقات البائسة ، ألا ينظر أحد من هواتفهم وأقنعةهم ليلاحظ ، وفي الواقع ، سيتم إغلاق البار. وبالطبع، يمكن للمرء أن يكون يهوديا وعربيا في آن واحد. بعد كل شيء نحن أبناء عمومة ولدينا الكثير من القواسم المشتركة ، بما في ذلك عظامنا المضحكة.

الأوقات المظلمة تستدعي الفكاهة السوداء ، يا أصدقائي. النظر في هاتين الجوهرتين:

ما هو تعريف اليهودي المتفائل والمتشائم؟

حسنا ، يقول المتشائم ، "يا إلهي ، نحن نعيش في مثل هذه الأوقات الرهيبة. لا يمكن أن تزداد الأمور سوءا مما هي عليه!  يقول أحد المتفائلين ، "أوه نعم يمكنهم ذلك!"

هذا هو المكافئ الغزوي. يقول أحد المتفائلين: "يا إلهي ، إذا ازداد هذا الوضع سوءا ، مع الحصار والتفجيرات وكوفيد والكارثة الاقتصادية ، فكل ما تبقى لنا قريبا هو الرمال". يشعر المتشائم بالقلق من أنه لن يكون هناك ما يكفي من الرمال المتبقية للجميع لتناول الطعام!

في الواقع الكثير من اليهود والعرب - هذه إشكالية ، فهل نقول أشكنازي ومشرقي؟ أو العرب المسلمين واليهود والمسيحيين.... ولكن ماذا عن الأكراد واليزيديين؟ حسنا ، دعنا نقول فقط الإمبراطوريات السامية والشرق أوسطية / الفارسية والعثمانية السابقة ... (تحصل على الانجراف بالفعل) - الفكاهة هي لعبة اكتشاف الفرق ، حيث استخدم الكثيرون هذا التشابه كفرصة للسلام والتفاهم.

في الواقع، استضاف محررنا اليهودي / العربي / المغربي / الفرنسي / الأمريكي المحترم ذات مرة جلسات ارتجالية منتظمة في لوس أنجلوس تسمى "سلاطين الهجاء"، وتتألف من عرب ويهود وفارس وأرمن وغيرهم من الأمريكيين المتنوعين الذين يشكلون ما أسماه "القبائل الجامحة في الشرق الأوسط".

بعد كل شيء ، لماذا لا تحمل روح الدعابة لدينا - أفضل آلية للدفاع / التأقلم ضد العنصرية أو قول نهاية العالم التي تلوح في الأفق - شبها؟ لقد واجهنا تمييزا مماثلا. النظر في التنميط العنصري لليهود في '30 على حد سواء البلاشفة الخطرين والمصرفيين الجشعين. بطريقة ما ، تمت إعادة النظر في أشباح هذا المجاز منأواخر القرن 20 حتى اليوم ، مع الصور النمطية للعرب والمسلمين على أنهم "إرهابيون" و "شيوخ نفط جشعون" (بدلا من القول ، ضحايا هؤلاء الأشرار أنفسهم).

ثم هناك الكوميديون إيمان الحسيني (التي اشتهرت مازحة بأن 9/11 كانت ذكرى زواج والديها) وجيس سالومون (محام تحول إلى كوميدي يتمتع بروح الدعابة الجافة) ، الذين التقوا في ناد ستاند أب في مونتريال ووجدوا الكثير من الأرضية المشتركة ، انتهى بهم الأمر بالزواج من بعضهم البعض. الثنائي الفلسطيني واليهودي الديناميكي معا هما سحر كوميدي ، يسلطان الضوء على أوجه التشابه والاختلاف بينهما وحتى إنشاء كتاب هزلي جديد يسمى El Salomons يأملون في تحويله إلى مسلسل رسوم متحركة.

في أحد الرسوم الكاريكاتورية، تلتقي الحسيني بالمبشرين المسيحيين وتخيفهم بمجرد وصف نفسها: "أنا مسلمة... ومثلي الجنس ... وزوجتي يهودية". "أتمنى لك يوما سعيدا" ، يجيب المبشرون.

في حالة أخرى ، يناقش الزوجان أسماء الأطفال. يقول الحسيني: "إذا كان صبيا ، فأنا أفكر في ياسر ومصطفى وحماد وأحمد ..." يجيب عليها نصفها الأفضل ، "هل هذه أسماء أطفال أم قائمة حظر طيران؟"

ليس سرا أن الفكاهة - خاصة في سياق أمريكا الشمالية - تدفع الظرف سياسيا ، حيث لا يجرؤ السياسيون على الدوس. لقد سمرت الممثلة الكوميدية الفلسطينية الأمريكية إميلي شحادة حقا جوهر الملحمة الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية عندما قالت ساخرة في برنامجها " العنب والتين في الموسم " (وأنا أعيد صياغتها): "ماذا تقصد أننا لا نعترف بإسرائيل. بالطبع نحن نفعل. انظر هناك ، أتعرف على مزرعة جدتي ، منزل عمي!

لكنني أعترف أن أذواقي هي مدرسة قديمة إلى حد ما. لقد تمحور جزء كبير من استراتيجيتي للتعامل مع الوباء حول مشاهدة حلقات كبح حماسك وقراءة قصص الملا نصر الدين (بين غناء ألحان فاني بريس) الآن ، في حين أن هاتين الشخصيتين - أحدهما ممثل كوميدي أمريكي يهودي والآخر الكاتب الساخر السلجوقي الأسطوريفي القرن 13 المعروف باسم هوجا - قد يبدوان عالمين منفصلين ، فإنهما يشتركان أيضا في الكثير من القواسم المشتركة. كل schtick ، كما هو الحال مع أفضل الفكاهة ، هو التأكيد على عبثية الوجود ، من خلال الحكايات المفيدة حول نقاط الضعف البشرية. يلعب كلا الرجلين دور الأحمق كأداة للإضاءة ، وغالبا ما تتعرج قصص هوجا - مثل ارتجال لاري ديفيد - في رحلات خيالية مجازية.

ليس من المستغرب أن نعلم أن هوجا ، مثل أفضل حكماء الصوفية ، اقترضوا بشكل كبير من مجموعة متنوعة من التقاليد بما في ذلك الفارسية والهندية والبوذية ونعم اليهودية. هناك العديد من الأمثلة ، خاصة في العصور الوسطى ، على الصوفيين اليهود والصوفيين المسلمين الذين يؤثرون على الممارسات الروحية لبعضهم البعض ، فمن المنطقي أن يؤثروا على روح الدعابة لدى بعضهم البعض أيضا.

نصر الدين وحماره.

إليكم إحدى نكات هوجا المفضلة لدي: اعتاد نصر الدين أن يأخذ حماره عبر الحدود كل يوم ، مع السلال المحملة بالقش. وبما أنه اعترف بأنه مهرب عندما كان يسير إلى المنزل كل ليلة، قام حرس الحدود بتفتيشه مرارا وتكرارا. فتشوا شخصه ، وغربلوا القش ، ونقعوه في الماء ، وحتى أحرقوه من وقت لآخر. في هذه الأثناء كان يصبح أكثر ازدهارا بشكل واضح. ثم تقاعد وذهب للعيش في بلد آخر. هنا التقى به أحد ضباط الجمارك ، بعد سنوات. قال: "يمكنك أن تخبرني الآن يا نصر الدين". "مهما كان الأمر الذي كنت تقوم بتهريبه ، عندما لم نتمكن من القبض عليك أبدا؟"

"الحمير"، قال نصر الدين (من إدريس شاه، الصوفيون، مرساة، 1971، صفحة 67).

ومن المثير للاهتمام أن نكتة تسمى "حرس الحدود" – متطابقة تقريبا ولكن لاستبدال الدراجات بالحمير – يمكن العثور عليها على الموقع الإلكتروني لإحدى Aish.com – المخصصة لتعزيز "حكمة التوراة". همم... هل يمكن أن تتلخص قضية إسرائيل/فلسطين برمتها في قضية تتعلق بسرقة أفضل المواد، ناهيك عن العقارات؟

من كتبها أولا ، قد تسأل؟ في عالم رواية القصص الواسع ، من يحتكر أفضل النكات؟ خذ الحكاية الصوفية الشهيرة ليوسف وزليكة (زوجة فوطيفار) ، على سبيل المثال ، قصة النبيلة المصرية التي تخلت عن شرفها وثرواتها من أجل حب الحالم العبري الجميل - نفس يوسف الذي ألقاه إخوته في حفرة. في النسخة الصوفية ، يتزوج يوسف وزبيدة أخيرا ولكن عندما يطلب يوسف من زوجته ترك صلاتها الطويلة وتأتي إلى الفراش ، تجيب. " آسف ، لكنني متزوج من الله الآن. لقد كان هو الذي أحببته طوال الوقت - كنت مجرد حجاب من اللانهائي ".

لذلك ليس هاها مضحكا ولكنه مضحك بطريقة زن كوان كيندا حصلت - لا يختلف تماما عن حبكة حلقة من كبح حماسك.  ومرة أخرى، ليس من المستغرب أن يكون هناك نوع من الجدل حول ما إذا كانت هذه النسخة من القصة صوفية أو مدراش في الأصل. لكنني أقول ، لماذا لا كلاهما؟

وهذا يضع في الاعتبار الصورة النمطية لأمريكا الشمالية بأن اليهود يحصلون على أفضل الخطوط وأن المسلمين والعرب عديمو الفكاهة إلى حد ما - كما تفعل نكات الهوجا التي تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في أفغانستان ، وهي دولة أقل شهرة بروح الدعابة من إرهابها.

ولكن قبل أن تصر على أن طالبان لديها نوع من الاحتكار الثقافي ، فكر في هذه الجوهرة من نكتة قبلية أفغانية (كما أخبرتني صديقة أفغانية): كان هناك بير (رجل قديس) ذهب إلى قرية في بيشاور لضمان بناء ضريح لبير آخر مات هناك. لقد صدم بالأحرى عندما وصل ورأى أنه لم يتم بناء أي شيء تكريما لزميله بير واستمر في توبيخ القرويين قائلا: "أنتم مخلوقات ملحدة. يجب أن تبني ضريحا أو تواجه الغضب الإلهي ". ذهب القرويون إلى أعمالهم ، متجاهلين إياه وقالوا نعم ، غدا ، غدا ، حتى سمح لهم البير أخيرا بالحصول عليها. لذلك ، في اليوم التالي ، قتلوه ، وبنوا ضريحا.

في حين أن هذا النوع من الفكاهة موجود هناك مع أحلك الفكاهة اليهودية الروسية ، فإنه يوضح أيضا كيف تتفوق الولاءات القبلية في أفغانستان على الإيمان. هل يمكن أن يكون هذا نوعا من نسخة بيشاور من متجر لاري ديفيد؟

ليس من المستغرب أن يستمتع العديد من أصدقائي من الشرق الأوسط الذين يعيشون في الشتات بالفكاهة الشائكة والكوميديا الظرفية لكبح حماسك. أتساءل عما إذا كانت مدبلجة باللغة العربية أو الأردية؟ إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فهناك بالتأكيد سوق متخصصة غير مستغلة. وبينما لا تزال السياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة وتنامي الإسلاموفوبيا من القضايا الضخمة، فإن برامج مثل "كويرب " تظهر كيف يمكن للكوميديا أن تكون قدوة يحتذى بها.

لاري ديفيد هو عبقري في فضح النفاق في المجتمع الأمريكي ، تماما كما فعل هوجا بطريقته الخاصةفي القرن 13. بدءا من افتتاحية الموسم 4 لعام 2004 ، "Blind Date" التي تلعب فيها Moon Unit Zappa دور Haboos ، عربي الخليج المحجبة الذي يتم إعداده مع صديق عازف البيانو الأعمى لاري ، فإن استكشافه للمحرمات الأمريكية رائع. تحتوي الحلقة أيضا على حبكة فرعية حول ميكانيكي السيارات المعاقين عقليا الذين يسرقون واقي الشمس الخاص بلاري. في أسلوب Curb النموذجي ، يتم تغليف جميع مخالب الحبكة معا عندما ينتهي لاري في عشاء مع صديقه الأعمى و Haboos ويقابل الميكانيكيين ، الذين يدعون الثلاثي للجلوس معهم. تماما كما يفعلون ، يدخل بعض أصدقاء لاري الكوميدي اليهود ويرونه جالسا بين رجل معاق عقليا وامرأة مسلمة محجبة. نظرة الازدراء على وجوههم تقول كل شيء. ثم في تطور آخر ، عندما يجعل لاري زوجته شيريل ترتدي حجابا لحماية حشمتها في زي I Dream of Jeannie Halloween الكاشف ، يتم تحريض سيارتهم من قبل الإسلاموفوبيا.

ومن يستطيع أن ينسى حلقة الدجاج الفلسطيني، في الموسم 8 في عام 2011، عندما تمزق لاري بين الولاء لأصدقائه المؤيدين لإسرائيل الذين يريدون مقاطعة مطعم فلسطيني جديد وحبه لكل من الدجاج اللذيذ الذي يقدمونه وشغفه بامرأة فلسطينية رائعة تتسكع هناك.

ثم هناك فتوى ، الموسيقية ، من الموسم 9 في عام 2017 - أخذ لاري المستوحى من قصة سلمان رشدي التي أكسبته فتواه الخاصة. يجب أن أعترف ، هذا جعلني أتساءل عما إذا كان لقاء صدفة مع ديفيد في عام 2012 في Grill on the Alley كان مصدر إلهامه.

هكذا....كندي عربي يخرج لتناول طعام الغداء في بيفرلي هيلز، طازجا من الذكرى المئوية لفندق بيفرلي هيلز، مرتديا زيا هوليووديا قديما مكتملا بقبعة مرنة. ضد الغرائز الكندية الأفضل وبتحريض من النادلة - هيا ، يأتي إلى هنا طوال الوقت ، صديقه متأخر في الذهاب والجلوس معه - تقترب من كشك لاري ديفيد وتقول شيئا مثل مرحبا ، سيد ديفيد ، أنا معجب. أنت عبقري كوميدي يرد عليه بإيماءة وماذا عن القبعة؟  ومن الآن فصاعدا دخلت بطريقة سحرية في حلقة من كبح حماسك كاملة مع المزاح ، ومناقشة عرض الدجاج الفلسطيني ، حتى أنه سمح لي أن أقول - بإذن صريح منه - نكتتي اليهودية الوحيدة. (ممثل عاطل عن العمل في بروكلين يشارك في مسرحية برودواي ويتصل بوالدته لمشاركة الأخبار. هذا رائع ، تقول ، ما هو الجزء. حسنا ، يقول ، أنا ألعب دور الزوج ... الصمت وبعد ذلك ، ماذا؟ إنه ليس دور متحدث؟) و... يضحك!

سرعان ما أخبره عن كتابي عن العراق ، الرقص في منطقة حظر الطيران ، الذي يحتوي على فصل كامل عن الكوميديا الموسيقية العراقية - كاملة ، كما خمنت ، الفكاهة السوداء. (لدي صديق صانع توابيت ولديه بيع هذا الأسبوع. نصف السعر للعروسين!) أخبر ديفيد كيف كانت الكوميديا الموسيقية تحظى بشعبية كبيرة في العراق خاصة خلال 12 عاما من الحصار عندما أغلقت دور السينما بسبب المواد الكيميائية لمعالجة الأفلام التي تم حظرها على الحدود بسبب عقوبات الأمم المتحدة الصارمة - إلى جانب خزانات الأكسجين وقطع الغيار للمولدات والكلور لتنقية المياه - وتم تحويلها إلى مسارح. وقت استمرت فيه المسرحيات لمدة عام كامل وكان الناس بحاجة إلى الضحك للهروب من واقعهم القاتم.

المسرحيات الموسيقية الشعبية التي انتقدت النظام بمعان مزدوجة وإشارات مبطنة إلى صدام حسين تحت ستار السلاطين العثمانيين الفاسدين في مسرحيات تاريخية، كانت في الواقع من بقايا مشهد ملهى كان مفعما بالحيوية ازدهر في الشرق الأوسط – وبالطبع وجدت ارتباطها الغربي في قاعة الموسيقى والمسرح / الملهى اليديشي.

أعطاني لاري ديفيد اسم وكالته وطلب نسخة من الكتاب. بعد بضعة أيام ، توجهت إلى الوكالة وأعطيت نسخة موقعة لمساعد مساعد وكيله. للأسف ، ربما كنت قد فزت بنزهة جزئية إذا لم أكن قد أحبطت من حقيقة أنني قمت بتقليص حجم حقيبة يدي من أجل الزي في ذلك اليوم ولم يكن لدي بطاقة عمل واحدة باسمي. حسنا ، لاري ، سيكون لدينا دائما الشواية في الزقاق.

ولكن بعد ذلك ، لماذا لا نستعير من مواد بعضنا البعض؟ لماذا لا يسمح لنا بإخبار نكات بعضنا البعض؟ ماذا سيقول سالومون الحسيني؟

ربما يجب أن نروي قصص بعضنا البعض. بعد كل شيء هم متشابهون جدا. 

تتميز أفضل حلقات لاري ديفيد بخطوط حبكة دائرية تعود مرة أخرى على نفسها ، مثل تلك التي تدور حول مدى صعوبة فتح الطرود التي تنتهي بشراء سكين exacto الذي - انتظره - مغلق بإحكام في عبوة بلاستيكية لا يمكن اختراقها. يفكر المرء في قصة الملا نصر الدين الشهيرة حول فقدان مفاتيحه (لاري يفقد مفاتيحه دائما).

رجل يسير إلى المنزل في وقت متأخر من إحدى الليالي عندما رأى الملا نصر الدين القلق يسقط على أربع، يزحف على يديه وركبتيه على الطريق، ويبحث بشكل محموم تحت ضوء الشارع عن شيء ما على الأرض.

"ملا ، ماذا فقدت؟" يسأل المارة.

"أنا أبحث عن مفتاح منزلي"، يقول نصر الدين بقلق.

"سأساعدك في البحث عن مفتاحك" ، يقول الرجل وينضم إلى الملا نصر الدين في البحث. سرعان ما ركع كلا الرجلين على ركبتيه تحت ضوء الشارع ، بحثا عن المفتاح المفقود. بعد مرور بعض الوقت يسأل الرجل نصر الدين:

"قل لي ملا ، هل تتذكر بالضبط أين أسقطت المفتاح؟" يلوح نصر الدين بذراعه نحو الظلام ويقول: "هناك، في منزلي. لقد فقدت المفتاح داخل منزلي ...

مصدوما وغاضبا ، يقفز المارة ويصرخ في ملا نصر الدين ،
"إذن لماذا تبحث عن المفتاح هنا في الشارع؟"

"لأن هناك ضوءا هنا أكثر من داخل منزلي" ، يجيب الملا نصر الدين بلا مبالاة.

أتمنى أن يستمر ضوء الفكاهة في إضاءة طريقنا في هذه الأيام المظلمة ، يا أصدقائي ، وقد نرفع جميعا كأسا معا لقوة الضحك المشترك.

 

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

اصبح عضوا

An Arab and a Jew Walk into a Bar…

15 December, 2021
Stand-up come­di­an cou­ple Jess Salomon and Eman El-Hus­sei­ni (pho­to cour­tesy Brid­get Badore).

Hadani Ditmars

 

Have you heard the one about the Jew and the Arab who walked into a bar? No? Chances are, in these dystopi­an times, that no one would look up from their phones and their masks to notice, and in fact, the bar would be closed. And of course, one can simul­ta­ne­ous­ly be both a Jew and an Arab. After all we are cousins and have much in com­mon, includ­ing our fun­ny bones.

Dark times call for dark humor, my friends. Con­sid­er these two gems:

What’s the def­i­n­i­tion of a Jew­ish opti­mist and pessimist?

Well, a pes­simist says, “My God, we live in such ter­ri­ble times. Things can’t get any worse than they are!”  An opti­mist says, “Oh yes they can!”

Here’s the Gazan equiv­a­lent. An opti­mist says, “My God, if this sit­u­a­tion gets any worse, with the siege, the bomb­ings, Covid and eco­nom­ic dis­as­ter, soon all we’ll have left to eat is sand.” A pes­simist wor­ries that there won’t be enough sand left for every­one to eat!

Indeed so much of Jew­ish and Arab — this is prob­lem­at­ic, so shall we say Ashke­nazi and Lev­an­tine? Or Mus­lim, Jew­ish and Chris­t­ian Arab…. but what about the Kurds and the Yezidis; okay, let’s just say Semit­ic and pan-Mid­dle Eastern/former Per­sian and Ottoman empires… (you get the drift already) — humor is a game of spot the dif­fer­ence, that many have used this sim­i­lar­i­ty as an oppor­tu­ni­ty for peace and understanding.

In fact, our own esteemed Jewish/Arab/Moroccan/French/American edi­tor once host­ed reg­u­lar stand-up ses­sions in LA called the Sul­tans of Satire, com­posed of Arab, Jew­ish, Per­sian, Armen­ian and oth­er assort­ed hyphen­at­ed Amer­i­cans com­pris­ing what he called the “unruly tribes of the Mid­dle East.”

After all, why shouldn’t our humor — the best defense/coping mech­a­nism against racism or say loom­ing apoc­a­lypse — bear a like­ness? We’ve faced  sim­i­lar dis­crim­i­na­tion. Con­sid­er the racist stereo­typ­ing of Jews in the ‘30’s as both dan­ger­ous Bol­she­viks and greedy bankers. Some­how the ghosts of this trope have been revis­it­ed from the late 20th cen­tu­ry until today, with the stereo­typ­ing of Arabs and Mus­lims as both wild eyed “ter­ror­ists” and “greedy oil sheikhs” (rather than say, the vic­tims of those same villains).

Then there are the comics Eman El-Hus­sei­ni  (who famous­ly joked that 9/11 was her par­ents’ wed­ding anniver­sary) and Jess Salomon ( a lawyer turned com­ic with a dry sense of humor), who met at a stand-up club in Mon­tre­al and found so much com­mon ground, they end­ed up mar­ry­ing each oth­er. Togeth­er the dynam­ic Pales­tin­ian and Jew­ish duo are com­e­dy mag­ic, high­light­ing both their sim­i­lar­i­ties and dif­fer­ences  and even cre­at­ing a new com­ic book called the El-Salomons that they hope to turn into an ani­mat­ed sitcom.

In one car­toon, El-Hus­sei­ni encoun­ters Chris­t­ian mis­sion­ar­ies and scares them away just by describ­ing her­self: “I’m Mus­lim … and gay … and my wife is Jew­ish,” she says. “Have a nice day,” the mis­sion­ar­ies respond.

In anoth­er, the cou­ple dis­cuss baby names. “If it’s a boy,” says El Hus­sei­ni, “I’m think­ing Yasir, Mustafa, Ham­mad, Ahmed…” to which her bet­ter half replies, “Are those baby names or a no-fly list?”

It’s no secret that humor — espe­cial­ly in the North Amer­i­can con­text — push­es the enve­lope polit­i­cal­ly, where politi­cians dare not tread. Pales­tin­ian-Amer­i­can come­di­an Emi­ly Shi­hadeh real­ly nailed the essence of the Israeli-Pales­tin­ian saga when, in her one woman show Grapes and Figs Are in Sea­son she quipped (and I para­phrase), “What do you mean we don’t rec­og­nize Israel. Of course we do. Look over there, I rec­og­nize my grandmother’s farm, my uncle’s house!”

But I admit my tastes are rather old school. Much of my pan­dem­ic cop­ing strat­e­gy has revolved around watch­ing episodes of Curb Your Enthu­si­asm and read­ing sto­ries by Mul­lah Nas­rudin (in between singing Fan­ny Brice tunes) Now, while these two char­ac­ters — one a Jew­ish Amer­i­can come­di­an and the oth­er the leg­endary 13th cen­tu­ry Seljuk satirist known as Hoja — might seem worlds apart, they too share much in com­mon. Their whole schtick, as with the best humor, is to empha­size the very absur­di­ty of exis­tence, through instruc­tive anec­dotes about human foibles. Both men play the fool as a device for illu­mi­na­tion, and Hoja’s sto­ries — like Lar­ry David’s improv — often mean­der into flights of alle­gor­i­cal fancy.

It comes as no sur­prise to learn that Hoja, like the best Sufi sages, bor­rowed heav­i­ly from a vari­ety of tra­di­tions includ­ing Per­sian, Indi­an, Bud­dhist and yes, Jew­ish. There are so many exam­ples, espe­cial­ly in medieval times, of Jew­ish mys­tics and Mus­lim Sufis influ­enc­ing each other’s spir­i­tu­al prac­tices, it make sense that they would influ­ence each other’s humor as well.

Nas­rudin and his donkey.

Here’s one of my favorite Hoja jokes: Nas­rudin used to take his don­key across a bor­der every day, with the bas­kets loaded with straw. Since he admit­ted to being a smug­gler when he trudged home every night, the bor­der guards searched him again and again. They searched his per­son, sift­ed the straw, steeped it in water, even burned it from time to time. Mean­while he was becom­ing vis­i­bly more and more pros­per­ous. Then he retired and went to live in anoth­er coun­try. Here one of the cus­toms offi­cers met him, years lat­er. “You can tell me now, Nas­rudin,” he said. “What­ev­er was it that you were smug­gling, when we could nev­er catch you out?”

“Don­keys,” said Nas­rudin (from Idries Shah, The Sufis, Anchor, 1971, page 67).

Intrigu­ing­ly, a joke called “Bor­der Patrol” — almost iden­ti­cal but for the sub­sti­tu­tion of bicy­cles for don­keys —  can be found on the web­site of one Aish.com — ded­i­cat­ed to pro­mot­ing “the wis­dom of the Torah.” Hmm…could the whole Israel/Palestine issue boil down to one about steal­ing the best mate­r­i­al,  let alone real estate?

Who wrote it first, you might ask? In the vast world of sto­ry­telling who has the monop­oly on the best jokes? Take the famous Sufi tale of Yusuf and Zulei­ka (the wife of Potiphar), for exam­ple, the sto­ry of the Egypt­ian noble­woman who for­sakes her hon­or and rich­es for the love of the beau­ti­ful Hebrew dream­er — the very same Joseph who was thrown into a pit by his broth­ers. In the Sufi ver­sion, Yusuf and Zubai­da final­ly mar­ry but when Yusuf asks his wife to leave her lengthy prayers and come to bed, she replies. “ Sor­ry, but I’m mar­ried to God now. It was Him I loved all along — you were just a veil of the Infinite.”

So not haha fun­ny but humor­ous in a Zen koan kin­da gotcha way — not entire­ly dis­sim­i­lar to the plot­line of an episode of Curb Your Enthu­si­asm.  And again, unsur­pris­ing­ly, there is some­what of a debate about whether this ver­sion of the sto­ry is Sufi or Midrash in ori­gin. But I say, why not both?

This puts paid to the rather North Amer­i­can stereo­type that Jews get all the best lines and Mus­lims and Arabs are some­how humor­less — as do the Hoja jokes that are very pop­u­lar in Afghanistan, a coun­try much less cel­e­brat­ed for its humor than for its terrorism.

But before you insist that the Tal­iban have some kind of cul­tur­al monop­oly, con­sid­er this gem of an Afghan trib­al joke (as told to me by an Afghan woman friend): There was a pir (saint­ly man) who went to a vil­lage in Peshawar to ensure the build­ing of a shrine to anoth­er pir who had died there. He was rather shocked to arrive and see that noth­ing had been con­struct­ed in hon­or of his fel­low pir and kept berat­ing the vil­lagers, say­ing, “You peo­ple are god­less crea­tures. You must build a shrine or face divine wrath.” The vil­lagers went about their busi­ness, ignor­ing him and say­ing yes, tomor­row, tomor­row, until final­ly the pir real­ly let them have it. So, the very next day, they killed him, and built a shrine.

While this kind of humor is right up there with the dark­est of say Russ­ian Jew­ish humor, it also demon­strates how trib­al loy­al­ties in Afghanistan trump faith. Could this be a kind of Peshawar ver­sion of Lar­ry David’s spite store?

It’s no sur­prise that many of my friends from the Mid­dle East liv­ing in dias­po­ra enjoy the barbed humor and sit­u­a­tion­al com­e­dy of Curb Your Enthu­si­asm. I won­der if it’s dubbed in Ara­bic or Urdu? If not, there’s cer­tain­ly an untapped niche mar­ket. And while US for­eign pol­i­cy in the region and grow­ing Islam­o­pho­bia remain huge issues, shows like Curb demon­strate how com­e­dy can lead by example.

Lar­ry David is a genius at expos­ing the hypocrisies in Amer­i­can soci­ety, just as Hoja did in  his own way in the 13th cen­tu­ry. Begin­ning with 2004’s Sea­son 4 open­er, the “Blind Date” in which Moon Unit Zap­pa plays Haboos, the veiled Gulf Arab who gets set up with Larry’s blind pianist friend, his explo­ration of Amer­i­can taboos is bril­liant. The episode also fea­tures a sub­plot about men­tal­ly dis­abled car mechan­ics who steal Larry’s sun­screen. In typ­i­cal Curb style, all the plot ten­ta­cles get wrapped up togeth­er when Lar­ry ends up at a din­er with his blind friend and Haboos and encoun­ters the mechan­ics, who invite the trio to sit with them. Just as they do, some of Larry’s Jew­ish come­di­an friends walk in and see him sit­ting between a men­tal­ly dis­abled man and a veiled Mus­lim woman. The look of dis­dain on their faces says it all. And then in a fur­ther twist, when Lar­ry makes his wife Cheryl don a veil to pro­tect her mod­esty in a reveal­ing I Dream of Jean­nie Hal­loween cos­tume, their car gets egged by Islamophobes.

And who can for­get the Pales­tin­ian chick­en episode, in Sea­son 8 in 2011, when Lar­ry is torn between loy­al­ty to his pro-Israel friends who want to boy­cott a new Pales­tin­ian eatery and his love for both the deli­cious chick­en they serve and his pas­sion for a gor­geous Pales­tin­ian woman who hangs out there.

Then there’s Fat­wa, the Musi­cal, from Sea­son 9  in 2017 — Larry’s inspired take on the Salman Rushdie sto­ry that earns him his own fat­wa. I have to con­fess, this one had me won­der­ing whether a chance encounter with David in 2012 at the Grill on the Alley was his inspiration.

So….an Arab Cana­di­an goes out for lunch in Bev­er­ly Hills, fresh from the cen­te­nary of the Bev­er­ly Hills Hotel, dressed in a retro Hol­ly­wood out­fit com­plete with flop­py hat. Against bet­ter Cana­di­an instincts and egged on by wait­ress — go on, he comes here all the time, his friend is late go and sit with him — she edges up to Lar­ry David’s booth and says some­thing like Hel­lo, Mr David, I’m a fan. You’re a com­ic genius to which he replies with a nod and a So What’s with the hat?  And hence­forth I have mag­i­cal­ly entered into an episode of Curb Your Enthu­si­asm com­plete with ban­ter, dis­cus­sion of the Pales­tin­ian chick­en show, and he even lets me tell — with his express per­mis­sion — my one Jew­ish joke. (An out of work actor in Brook­lyn lands a part in a Broad­way play and phones his moth­er to share the news. That’s won­der­ful, she says, What’s the part. Well, he says, I play the part of the hus­band….silence and then, What? It’s not a speak­ing role?) And… he laughs!

Soon I’m telling him about my book on Iraq, Danc­ing in the No-Fly Zone, that has a whole chap­ter on Iraqi musi­cal com­e­dy — com­plete with, you guessed it, dark humor. (I have a friend who’s a cof­fin mak­er and he has a sale on this week. Half price for new­ly­weds!) I tell David how musi­cal com­e­dy was huge­ly pop­u­lar in Iraq espe­cial­ly dur­ing the 12 years of the embar­go when cin­e­mas closed down due to film pro­cess­ing chem­i­cals being blocked at the bor­der  by dra­con­ian UN sanc­tions– along with oxy­gen tanks and spare parts for gen­er­a­tors  and chlo­rine for water purifi­ca­tion — and were con­vert­ed into the­atres; a time when plays ran for a whole year and peo­ple need­ed to laugh to escape their grim reality.

The pop­u­lar musi­cals that crit­i­cized the regime with dou­ble mean­ings and veiled ref­er­ences to Sad­dam Hus­sein in the guise of cor­rupt Ottoman sul­tans  in his­tor­i­cal romps, were in fact rem­nants of a once live­ly cabaret scene that flour­ished in the Mid­dle East — and of course found its West­ern con­nec­tion in music hall and Yid­dish theatre/cabaret.

Lar­ry David gave me the name of his agency and asked for a copy of the book. A few days lat­er, I drove out to the agency and gave a signed copy to the assis­tant of the assis­tant of his agent. Alas, I might have won a walk on part if only I hadn’t been foiled by the fact that I’d down­sized my hand­bag for the sake of the out­fit that day and had not a sin­gle busi­ness card to my name. Oh well, Lar­ry, we’ll always have the Grill on the Alley.

But then, why shouldn’t we bor­row from each other’s mate­r­i­al? Why aren’t  we allowed to tell each other’s jokes ? What would the Salomon-El Hus­sei­nis say?

Maybe we should tell each other’s sto­ries. After all they’re so alike. 

Lar­ry David’s best episodes fea­ture cir­cu­lar plot­lines that return back on them­selves,  like the one about how hard it is to open pack­ages that ends with him buy­ing an exac­to knife  that — wait for it — is her­met­i­cal­ly sealed in an impen­e­tra­ble plas­tic pack­age. One thinks of the famous Mul­lah Nas­rudin sto­ry about los­ing his keys (Lar­ry is always los­ing his).

A man is walk­ing home late one night when he sees an anx­ious Mul­la Nas­rudin down on all fours, crawl­ing on his hands and knees on the road, search­ing fran­ti­cal­ly under a street­light for some­thing on the ground.

“Mul­la, what have you lost?” the pass­er-by asks.

“I am search­ing for the key to my house,” Nas­rudin says worriedly.

“I’ll help you search for your key,” the man says and joins Mul­la Nas­rudin in the search. Soon both men are down on their knees under the street­light, look­ing for the lost key. After some time the man asks Nasrudin:

“Tell me Mul­la, do you remem­ber where exact­ly you dropped the key?” Nas­rudin waves his arm back toward the dark­ness and says, “Over there, in my house. I lost the key inside my house…”

Shocked and exas­per­at­ed, the pass­er-by jumps up and shouts at Mul­la Nasrudin, 
“Then why are you search­ing for the key out here in the street?”

“Because there is more light here than inside my house,” Mul­la Nas­rudin answers nonchalantly.

May the light of humor con­tin­ue to illu­mi­nate our way in these dark days, my friends, and may we all raise a glass togeth­er to the pow­er of shared laughter.

 

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments