أدافينا تعيد الحياة إلى ذكريات الطفولة من طنجة

15 أبريل, 2022
طنجة، المغرب (حقوق الصورة لعلمي).

 

يايل أزاغوري

 

هناك قول مغربي مأثور: "السبت بدون أدافينا مثل السلطان بدون مملكته" (سبت بلا سخينة فهال سلطان بلا مدينة).

تلوح Adafina بشكل كبير في الطبخ السفاردي والخيال الثقافي. يعود تاريخ هذا الطبق اللذيذ إلى إسبانيا في العصور الوسطى ، وهو عبارة عن وجبة من وعاء واحد يستمتع بها اليهود السفارديم تقليديا في يوم السبت. في توليدو في العصور الوسطى ، كان يصنع من الحمص والبيض واللحوم. تضمنت أدفينة طفولتي في طنجة بالمغرب أيضا البطاطا والبطاطا الحلوة ، وكلاهما ، بعد وصولهما إلى أوروبا بعد اكتشاف العالم الجديد ، كانا إضافات لاحقة للوصفة الأصلية.

يحظر على اليهود الطهي يوم السبت ، لذلك يتم تحضير adafina في اليوم السابق وينضج ببطء طوال الليل ، مما يسمح للمكونات بإطلاق عصائرهم.   يستخدم الطهاة السفارديم المعاصرون صفيحة تسخين كهربائية ، ولكن في فترة العصور الوسطى ، تم طهي الطبق لساعات في الفحم في أفران الحفرة الترابية.  ومن هنا جاء اسمها ، adafina ، والتي ، مثل الكلمات الإسبانية الأخرى ، تأتي من العربية.  إنه متجذر في الفعل "d'fen" ، والذي يعني "دفن". تشمل الاختلافات في الاسم دافينا ، دفينا ، سكينا ، وفي الإمبراطورية العثمانية ، تعرف باسم هامين.

جزء جوهري من الثقافة الأيبيرية في العصور الوسطى ، تم ذكر adafina في أعمال أدبية مثل El Libro de Buen Amor (1330) لخوان رويز ، ولا لوزانا أندلزا (1528) لفرانسيسكو ديليكادو. يعتبر علماء الأنثروبولوجيا الغذائية أن adafina هو التكرار الأول ل olla podrida ، وهو نفسه سلف cocido. ومع ذلك ، يحتوي Cocido على لحم الخنزير والنقانق ، وكلاهما من المكونات غير الكوشر. من المفترض أن هذا الأخير تمت إضافته إلى الطبق الأصلي خلال محاكم التفتيش من قبل كونفيرسوس يسعى لإثبات أنهم كاثوليك حقيقيون.

أدفينا المغربية (الصورة مقدمة من ماروك ماما).

Adafina هو طعام جيد السفر ، ومثل الحرباء ، استضاف العديد من التأثيرات. وكما أنها جزء لا يتجزأ من التراث الأيبيري، فهي أيضا متأصلة بعمق في الثقافة المغربية. يجسد القول المغربي بروح الدعابة سمعة الطبق. ومن خلال تشبيه الأدافينا بمملكة جديرة بالاهتمام، فإنه يسلط الضوء على العلاقة الوثيقة بين اليهود والمسلمين في المغرب. كما يسلط الضوء على التجربة اليهودية المغربية باعتبارها تجربة راحة نسبية ، ويكشف أن دس القليل من المرح في الآخر كان مقبولا. ويؤكد أن الأدفينا كان طبقا مرغوبا يعرفه المسلمون ويقدرونه أيضا. وفي طنجة، كثيرا ما يجري تبادل الطعام بين الطائفتين - لا سيما في أيام العطلات. إن التقاسم المتبادل للأطعمة الشهية ، الشائع في المغرب ، يزيد آلية اليهود والمسلمين الذين يعيشون جنبا إلى جنب ، في وئام ، وإن كان بشكل منفصل.

ذكرياتي عن أدفينة عائلتنا في طنجة غنية بالنسيج. يتم نقلي على الفور إلى وقت دخلت فيه ، بعد ظهر يوم جمعة بعد المدرسة ، المطبخ الأصفر الفسيح والساحر في فيلا عام 1950. لم يكن هذا مجالا للطفل ، لأنني كنت أعرف أنه كان موضع تلفيقات معقدة وغامضة ، مختبر من نوع ما. أمي وطباخنا ، الذين لم يهتموا بي كثيرا ، انشغلوا بالاستعداد قبل غروب الشمس لوجبات السبت - واحدة لتلك الليلة وأخرى لليوم التالي.  شاهدت بيض الأدفينا يغلي مع قشور البصل الأحمر - وهي عملية غامضة أظلمت البيض ، وكان الغرض الآخر منها هو تمييزها عن بيض الحداد المسلوق العادي. كان لا بد من التحقق من هذا اللون أو colorcito من قبل الطهاة الصارمين في عائلتي. حدقت أيضا في تحضير الكراميل ، ذلك الذهب السائل الذي سيتم سكبه على طبق السبت لزيادة تعزيز الظل المطلوب. مفتونة ، لاحظت الكيمياء الدقيقة التي ينتج بها الماء الفقاعي والسكر سائلا أغمق ، ذو مظهر كهرماني ورائحة حلوة. أصبح المرق رحيقا سماويا.

العطور الأخرى ، أيضا ، ملأت الهواء ببطء: الفلفل والزنجبيل والكركم وجوزة الطيب والصولجان - وهي توابل نادرا ما واجهتها - ورائحة البرسيم الرائعة والقوية.  علمت أن بعض العائلات تستخدم توابل مختلفة ، القرفة على سبيل المثال. لكن بالنسبة لأمي ، كانت القرفة على الجانب الآخر من الخط الفاصل بين الحضارة والهمجية. في الواقع ، هناك اختلافات لا حصر لها من adafina من منزل إلى آخر. كانت المنافسة بين الطهاة شرسة ، والمتذوقون والنقاد يطالبون. كان من دواعي سرورنا أن أدافينا تضمنت تويتانو (عظم النخاع) ، الذي قدمه لي والدي على قطعة خبز ، و rulo de carne molida ، وهو تقاطع بين الحشوة ولفائف اللحم مع جوزة الطيب والمردقوش.

أخيرا ، في الساعة الرابعة أو الخامسة بعد الظهر ، قبل غروب الشمس ، انتهى حفل الطهي ، وتم وضع الحساء على طبق كهربائي قديم يقع على سطح من الجرانيت بجوار موقد آرثر مارتن. كان يجلس بشكل ملكي على مذبحه طوال الليل ، يغلي ، والرائحة تطفو في منزلنا خلال اليوم التالي. من حين لآخر ، أطلقت رائحة مثيرة للغثيان قليلا ، وهي رائحة طهي طبق مبالغ فيه على طبق ساخن. بحلول الليل ، بدأ السبت ، وانتظرت أنا وأمي عودة والدي من الكنيس. كان المنزل قد صمت بعد مغادرة الخادمات ، وكان الجو باهتا بعض الشيء ، باستثناء الإثارة العرضية في المطبخ لاحقا ، عندما تعطل الطبق الساخن - وهو حادث متكرر. أتذكر كيف أن والدتي ، التي نبهتها رائحة الاحتراق ، غالبا ما هرعت إلى مطبخنا ، واكتشفت أن السائل من adafina قد تبخر. "بور ديوس! Casi se quema la casa!" (لقد احترق المنزل تقريبا!) ، كانت تهتف في ترديد اليهود الناطقين بالإسبانية في شمال المغرب. لكن دائما ، بإضافة القليل من الماء إلى الحساء ، أو تشغيل بعض التحولات الأخرى التي لم أفهمها ، جعلتها بأعجوبة أكثر نكهة ، وبالتالي عكس المصائر. في رأيي ، إذن ، تمشيا مع أصلها من شيء "لتغطيته" أو "دفن" ، لشيء ربما غير مشروع ، تستدعي أدافينا فكرة نشاط خطير قليلا. ولكنه أيضا مرادف لإمكانية التكيف والتعديل والخلاص.

ليس من السهل العثور على طبق في المغرب هذه الأيام ، مطعم رمسيس المملوك لعائلة في الصويرة ، في الصورة هنا ، يحتوي على d'fina في القائمة ، مصنوع من البرغل والحمص والبطاطس وقطع اللحم البقري والبيض المسلوق. يقدمون الطبق تكريما لعمة مديرة المطعم فاطمزارا العثمانية اليهودية ، من زواج مختلط نادر منذ سنوات عديدة. يحظى d'fina في رمسيس بشعبية بين العملاء المسلمين. (انظر وصفة ماروك ماما هنا.)

من الواضح أن ذكرياتي عن الأدافينا تحملني إلى لحظة الاستهلاك - نقطة الذروة في غداء السبت ، والتي كانت في كثير من الأحيان معادية للمناخ. في معظم الأوقات ، كان والدي وأمي وأنا فقط - كنت طفلا وحيدا - ولم يكن والداي ثرثارين ، وكانت فرص التأملات والتفكير وفيرة. أنسب الفضل إلى أدافينا في مساعدتي في فك شفرة قوام علاقتهما ، وفهم أسرارهما ومخاوفهما ، وبالتالي تفسير درجة الحرارة العاطفية للغرفة في أماكن أخرى ، لقراءة تيارات الفرح أو إخفاء الحزن أو السخط. كان السبت يوما هادئا لم يسمح لي فيه بفعل الكثير ، بخلاف الأكل والمراقبة.  بدا طويلا ومظلما - لون الأدافينا.

في الحقيقة ، أثناء نشأتي ، كرهت أدافينا - أو بالأحرى ، أقنعت بأنني فعلت ذلك. لقد وجدتها ثقيلة وغير قابلة للهضم. في بدايتي من طفل إلى بالغ ، أصبح وتدا ، أداة تعليمية ، طقوس عبور. نظرت إلى أدافينا كرمز لما يجب أن أتخلى عنه ، طعام عتيق ، كئيب ومتقلب. اعتقدت أن كل جهودنا كيهود حاصلين على تعليم غربي يجب أن تكون موجهة لتصبح "حديثة" ، وهي عملية تملي حتما تغييرات في الطهي.

اليوم ، من منزلي في ولاية كونيتيكت ، تنكشف حماقة مراهقتي. الذاكرة ، مثل الوقوع في الحب ، هي عملية تبلور Stendhalian. تماما كما تلمع أغصان الشجرة من التراكمات الجليدية بعد تساقط الثلوج ، كذلك ، مع مرور الوقت ، نزين الشيء الذي نندم عليه ، ونزينه بصفات سحرية.  وبعد... أدافينا ، مع مشكال النكهات ، دربت ذوقي ، وعلمتني التذوق والتحليل والتمييز. علمتني أيضا أنه حتى الطبق البسيط المصنوع بشكل أساسي من البيض والبطاطس يمكن أن يتألق في الملابس المناسبة.

هناك مثل تلمودي جميل يتردد صداه اليوم بقوة مع مشاعري:

"قال قيصر [الإمبراطور اليوناني هادريان] للحاخام يشوع بن حنانيا: كيف تكون رائحة وجبة السبت جذابة للغاية؟ قال ، لدينا توابل معينة تسمى السبت نضعها فيها. وطلب أن أحصل على بعضها. [أجاب يشوع،] بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يحتفلون بيوم السبت ، فإنه يعمل ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يفعلون ذلك ، لا يعمل ". (السبت ، 119 أ)

Adafina ليست مجرد وجبة. إنها عقيدة ، نظام من المعتقدات. إنه رمز عالم مصغر ، مكان ، للأشخاص الذين طهوه ، لأمي ووالدي ، لأصدقائنا ، للشخص الذي كنت عليه آنذاك ، لعودة أسبوعية مطمئنة ، للوقت المنظم ، للشرنقة التي نفقدها عندما نصبح بالغين ونتحمل المسؤوليات ، لعالمي المتوسطي. أدافينا ، الذي أصنعه الآن لأطفالي ، تفوح منه رائحة عالم اختفى - عالم طفولتي ، الذي لن يعود أبدا.

 

1 تعليق

  1. كنت أحب أن يضيف المؤلف وصفة الأدافينا. بعد قراءة المقال ، فإن القدرة على جعل adafina نفسها قد جعلته كاملا. من الجيد أن تقرأ عن الذكريات والوصف ، ولكن من الأفضل أن يتم تقديم وصفة للاستمتاع بها.

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Adafina Brings Alive Childhood Memories from Tangier

15 April, 2022
Tang­i­er, Moroc­co (pho­to cour­tesy Alamy).

 

Yaëlle Azagury

 

There is a Moroc­can say­ing: “A Sab­bath with­out ada­fi­na is like a Sul­tan with­out his king­dom” (Sebt bla skhi­na fhal sul­tan bla m’dina).

Ada­fi­na looms large in Sephardic cook­ing and cul­tur­al imag­i­na­tion. Dat­ing back to medieval Spain, this fla­vor­ful dish is a one-pot meal which Sephardic Jews tra­di­tion­al­ly enjoy on the Sab­bath. In medieval Tole­do, it was made with chick­peas, eggs, and meat. The ada­fi­na of my child­hood in Tang­i­er, Moroc­co also includ­ed pota­toes and sweet pota­toes, both of which, hav­ing arrived to Europe after the dis­cov­ery of the New World, were lat­er addi­tions to the orig­i­nal recipe.

Jews are pro­hib­it­ed to cook on the Sab­bath, so ada­fi­na is pre­pared the day before and slow­ly sim­mers overnight, allow­ing the ingre­di­ents to release their juices.   Con­tem­po­rary Sephardic cooks use an elec­tric hot plate, but in the medieval peri­od, the dish cooked for hours in the coals in earth­en pit ovens.  Hence its name, ada­fi­na, which, like oth­er Span­ish words, comes from the Ara­bic.  It is root­ed on the verb “d’fen,” mean­ing “to bury.” Vari­a­tions on the name include dafi­na, d’fina, skhi­na, and in the Ottoman Empire, it is known as hamin.

An intrin­sic part of medieval Iber­ian cul­ture, ada­fi­na is men­tioned in such lit­er­ary works as El Libro de Buen Amor (1330) by Juan Ruiz, and La Lozana Andaluza (1528) by Fran­cis­co Del­i­ca­do. Food anthro­plo­gists con­sid­er ada­fi­na the first iter­a­tion of the olla podri­da, itself the pre­de­ces­sor of coci­do. Coci­do, how­ev­er, con­tains pork and sausages, both of which are non-kosher ingre­di­ents. The lat­ter were pre­sum­ably added to the orig­i­nal dish dur­ing the Inqui­si­tion by con­ver­sos seek­ing to prove they were true Catholics.

Moroc­can ada­fi­na (pho­to cour­tesy Maroc Mama).

Ada­fi­na is a well-trav­eled food and, chameleon-like, has host­ed many influ­ences. Just as it is an inte­gral part of the Iber­ian her­itage, so, too, it is deeply enmeshed in Maghribi cul­ture. The Moroc­can dic­tum cap­tures with char­ac­ter­is­tic humor the dish’s repute. In liken­ing ada­fi­na to a wor­thy king­dom, it brings to light the close­ly-knit rela­tion­ship of Jews and Mus­lims in Moroc­co. It also high­lights the Moroc­can Jew­ish expe­ri­ence as one of rel­a­tive com­fort, reveal­ing that pok­ing a lit­tle fun at the Oth­er was accept­able. And it stress­es that ada­fi­na was a desir­able dish known and prized by Mus­lims as well. In Tang­i­er, food was fre­quent­ly — espe­cial­ly on hol­i­days — exchanged between the two com­mu­ni­ties. The mutu­al shar­ing of del­i­ca­cies, com­mon in Moroc­co, oiled the machin­ery of Jews and Mus­lims liv­ing side-by-side, in har­mo­ny, albeit separately.

My mem­o­ries of our family’s ada­fi­na in Tang­i­er are rich­ly tex­tured. I am instant­ly trans­port­ed to a time when, on a Fri­day after­noon after school, I tim­o­rous­ly entered the spa­cious and charm­ing yel­low kitchen in our 1950’s vil­la. This was not a child’s domain, for I knew it was the locus of elab­o­rate and arcane con­coc­tions, a lab­o­ra­to­ry of sorts. My moth­er and our cook, pay­ing lit­tle heed to me, bus­ied them­selves to ready before sun­down the meals of the Sab­bath — one for that night and anoth­er for the next day.  I watched the eggs for the ada­fi­na boil with the peels of red onions — a mys­te­ri­ous process that dark­ened the eggs, and whose oth­er pur­pose was to dis­tin­guish them from the plain hard-boiled eggs of mourn­ing. That col­or or col­orci­to had to be ver­i­fied by the exact­ing cooks in my fam­i­ly. I also gazed at the prepa­ra­tion of caramel, that liq­uid gold to be poured on the Sab­bath dish to fur­ther enhance the desired shade. Mes­mer­ized, I observed the pre­cise alche­my by which the bub­bling water and the sug­ar pro­duced a dark­er liq­uid, amber-look­ing and sweet-smelling. The broth became a heav­en­ly nectar.

Oth­er fra­grances, too, slow­ly filled the air: pep­per, gin­ger, turmer­ic, nut­meg, mace — a spice I have oth­er­wise sel­dom encoun­tered — and the mar­velous, heady scent of clover.  I learned that some fam­i­lies used dif­fer­ent sea­son­ings, cin­na­mon for instance. For my moth­er, how­ev­er, cin­na­mon was on the oth­er side of the line between civ­i­liza­tion and bar­barism. In fact, there are infi­nite vari­a­tions of ada­fi­na from house to house. Com­pe­ti­tion among cooks was fierce, tasters and crit­ics demand­ing. Our ada­fi­na delight­ed in that it includ­ed tue­tano (mar­row bone), which my father served me on a piece of bread, and rulo de carne mol­i­da, a cross between stuff­ing and a meat roll with nut­meg and marjoram.

Final­ly, at four or five in the after­noon, pri­or to sun­set, the cook­ing cer­e­mo­ni­al end­ed, and the stew was placed on an old elec­tric plate that lay on a gran­ite coun­ter­top adja­cent to our Arthur Mar­tin stove. It was to regal­ly sit on its altar all night, sim­mer­ing, the scent float­ing in our house through the next day. Occa­sion­al­ly, it released a slight­ly nau­se­at­ing odor, that of an over­done dish cook­ing on a hot plate. By night­fall, the Sab­bath begun, and my moth­er and I wait­ed for my father’s return from syn­a­gogue. The house had grown silent after the maids left, the atmos­phere slight­ly dull, except for the occa­sion­al excite­ment in the kitchen lat­er, when the hot plate mal­func­tioned — a fre­quent mishap. I recall how my moth­er, alert­ed by a burn­ing smell, often rushed into our kitchen, dis­cov­er­ing that the liq­uid from the ada­fi­na had evap­o­rat­ed. “Por Dios! Casi se que­ma la casa!” (The house has near­ly burned down!), she would exclaim in the chant­i­ng into­na­tion of the Span­ish-speak­ing Jews of north­ern Moroc­co. But invari­ably, adding a lit­tle water to the stew, or oper­at­ing some oth­er trans­for­ma­tion I did not com­pre­hend, she mirac­u­lous­ly ren­dered it more fla­vor­ful, thus revers­ing the fates. In my mind, then, in keep­ing with its ety­mol­o­gy of some­thing to “cov­er” or “bury,” of some­thing per­haps illic­it, ada­fi­na sum­mons the thought of a slight­ly dan­ger­ous activ­i­ty. But it is also syn­ony­mous with the pos­si­bil­i­ty of adapt­abil­i­ty, amend­ment, and redemption.

Not an easy dish to find in Moroc­co these days, the fam­i­ly-owned Ram­sess restau­rant in Essaouira, pic­tured here, has d’fina on the menu, made with bul­gur wheat, chick­peas, pota­toes, chunks of beef and hard boiled eggs. They serve the dish in hon­or of restau­rant man­ag­er Fatimzara Ottmani’s Jew­ish great aunt, from a rare mixed mar­riage many years ago. The d’fina at Ram­sess is pop­u­lar among Mus­lim cus­tomers. (See Maroc Mama’s recipe here.)

My rec­ol­lec­tions of ada­fi­na, car­ry me evi­dent­ly to the moment of con­sump­tion — the cul­mi­nat­ing point of the Sab­bath lunch, one which was often anti-cli­mac­tic. Most of the time, it was just my father, my moth­er, and myself — I was an only child— and my par­ents not being chat­ty, oppor­tu­ni­ties for mus­ings and reflec­tion were plen­ti­ful. I cred­it ada­fi­na with help­ing me to decode the tex­tures of their rela­tion­ship, to grasp their secrets and wor­ries, and thus to inter­pret in oth­er set­tings the emo­tion­al tem­per­a­ture of a room, to read under­cur­rents of joy, sad­ness con­ceal­ment, or dis­con­tent. The Sab­bath was a qui­et day in which I wasn’t allowed to do much, oth­er than eat and observe.  It seemed long and dark — the col­or of adafina.

In truth, while grow­ing up I dis­liked ada­fi­na — or rather, I con­vinced myself that I did. I found it heavy and indi­gestible. In my ini­ti­a­tion from child to adult, it became a stake, a learn­ing tool, a rite of pas­sage. I viewed ada­fi­na as an icon of what I ought to relin­quish, an anti­quat­ed food, somber and stodgy. I believed all our efforts as Jews with a West­ern edu­ca­tion were to be geared at becom­ing “mod­ern,” a process which inevitably dic­tat­ed culi­nary changes.

Today, from my home in Con­necti­cut my ado­les­cent fool­ish­ness is exposed. Mem­o­ry, like falling in love, is a process of Stend­halian crys­tal­liza­tion. Just as the boughs of a tree glit­ter from icy accre­tions after a snow­fall, so, too, with time we embell­ish the object we regret, adorn­ing it with mag­i­cal qual­i­ties.  And yet…Adafina, with its kalei­do­scope of fla­vors, trained my palate, taught me to taste, parse, and dis­cern. It also taught me that even a sim­ple dish made pri­mar­i­ly with eggs and pota­toes could, in the right cloth­ing, sparkle.

There is a beau­ti­ful Tal­mu­dic para­ble that today res­onates pow­er­ful­ly with my feelings:

“Cae­sar [the Greek Emper­or Hadri­an] said to Rab­bi Joshua ben Hana­nia:  How is it that the Sab­bath meal smells so appeal­ing? He said, we have a cer­tain spice called Shab­bat that we put in it. Let me have some, he request­ed. [Joshua replied,] For those who observe Shab­bat, it works, for those who don’t, it doesn’t.” (Sab­bath, 119a)

Ada­fi­na is not only a meal. It is a cre­do, a sys­tem of beliefs. It is the emblem of a micro­cosm, of a place, of the peo­ple who cooked it, of my moth­er and of my father, of our friends, of the per­son I was then, of a reas­sur­ing week­ly return, of reg­u­lat­ed time, of the cocoon we lose when we become adults and take on respon­si­bil­i­ties, of my Mediter­ranean world. Ada­fi­na, the one I now make for my chil­dren, is redo­lent of a van­ished uni­verse — that of my own child­hood, which will nev­er return.

 

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments