محادثة مع أرونداتي روي وكولسون وايتهيد

15 أكتوبر, 2020
يهتم كلا الروائيين وكتاب المقالات بصعود الفاشية الجديدة في بلديهما.
يهتم كلا الروائيين وكتاب المقالات بصعود الفاشية الجديدة في بلديهما.

 

كجزء من مهرجان بروكلين للكتاب ، تمت دعوة المؤلفين الهنود والأمريكيين أرونداتي روي وكولسون وايتهيد للقراءة من أعمالهم ومناقشة "ما ينتظرنا". كلاهما لديه كتب جديدة. وأظهرت القراءة، التي أعقبتها محادثة، مدى القواسم المشتركة بين أكبر ديمقراطيتين في العالم، اللتين تواجهان حاليا تحديات عميقة.

 

ميليسا تشيمام

 

كانت أرونداتي روي تطلق نداء صفارات الإنذار للعالم ضد الحكومة الفاشية في الهند لعدة سنوات ، في حين واجه كولسون وايتهيد ، بصفته كاتبا في نيويورك في مجتمع السود ، عقودا من وحشية الشرطة ، فضلا عن مجيء الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، الذي يحتضن علنا القوميين البيض. 

فاز The Nickel Boys بجائزة بوليتزر في الخيال لعام 2020
فاز The Nickel Boys بجائزة بوليتزر في الخيال لعام 2020

في محادثة افتراضية جرت في 4 أكتوبر ، لخصت ما هي القواسم المشتركة بين عملها وعمل وايتهيد ، مؤلفة الروايات الحائزة على جائزة بوليتزر Underground Railroad و The Nickel Boys ، أرونداتي روي - مؤلفة كتاب إله الأشياء الصغيرة ووزارة السعادة القصوى - تأملت ، "إنه ، للأسف ، مصير الكاتب أن ينظر إلى الأشياء بعيون مؤلمة ، وعدم وميض ... إنه مصير الكاتب أن ينظر إلى مصير العالم".

لا يمكن أن يكون الكاتبان الموهوبان للغاية بعيدين عن بعضهما البعض ، حيث يقع حوالي 11000 كيلومتر بين نيو دهلي بالهند ولونغ آيلاند بنيويورك حيث يقيم كل منهما ومن حيث يتحدث كل منهما عن بعد. ومع ذلك ، حتى عندما تضع في اعتبارك تجاربهم المختلفة في الحياة ، ونصوصهم المتنوعة ، عندما تستمع إليهم بشكل متزامن ، يبدأ العالم كله في المنطق.

بالنسبة لروي ، فإن الوضع الحالي هو نتيجة لنظام الطبقات الهندي البالغ من العمر 2000 عام ، بقدر ما هو نتيجة 200 عام من الحكم الاستعماري البريطاني الوحشي - وهي حقيقة قارنتها بالولايات المتحدة. "هذان البلدان مبنيان على إنكار أهوال ما يعتبرانه حضارة. هذا ما يربط الكتاب مثل كولسون وأنا. 

قالت بعد أن قرأ وايتهيد من عمله: "لقد طاردتني سكة حديد [ وايتهيد] تحت الأرض لسنوات" ، "أولا لأنها مكتوبة بشكل جميل وقوي للغاية". واستشهدت بكتاب مناهضين للطبقات الاجتماعية قبلها أشاروا إلى الروابط بين العبودية في الولايات المتحدة والنظام الطبقي في الهند والفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا. "ومع ذلك ، لا يوجد هروب تحت الأرض لأي ضحية من ضحايا النظام الطبقي هنا في الهند. لا توجد طريقة للهروب منه. هنا ، عقول الناس عمودية للغاية ، هرمية للغاية ، لدرجة أن الهنود لا يعرفون كيف يجعلونها أفقية ويخلقون التضامن ". 

على هذه الأفكار ، أجاب وايتهيد أن رواياته تصور دائما هياكل السلطة وعنفها ، من العبودية إلى أيامنا هذه ، لأنه يجب الكشف عنها. وأضاف: «يجب أن أكون في كل شيء»، لمواجهة حقيقة ما تبقى من البلاد. 

واجه كلا الكاتبين تحديا بسبب أحداث عام 2020 ، سواء كان الوباء الحالي أو احتجاجات Black Lives Matter. 

"بالنسبة لي ، لسوء الحظ ، فإن المستوى الحالي للعنصرية في أمريكا ينطلق فقط من نفس العمل القديم ضد السود" ، أعرب وايتهيد عن أسفه. "لقد نشأت في نيويورك في 80s ، عندما كان لدينا حالة مشهورة كل ثلاث سنوات ... لم تتغير وحشية الشرطة ، حتى لو تم تصويرها الآن على الهواتف المحمولة وشاهد ملايين الأشخاص مقاطع الفيديو هذه ... عندما صدرت كتبي في إسبانيا وفرنسا ، كتب لي القراء أنهم وجدوها بصيرة للغاية. ولكن كيف يمكن أن يكونوا بالنسبة لي؟ لقد حدث هذا مرات عديدة. أمريكا بقيت على حالها".   

ولم يؤد جائحة كوفيد-19 إلا إلى تضخيم أوجه عدم المساواة في الولايات المتحدة.

واتفقت أرونداتي روي مع ذلك عندما قارنت الوضع في الهند. "كان الوباء أشبه بتشريح جثة مكان في ورطة عميقة: أجبر الإغلاق عشرة ملايين شخص على المشي آلاف الكيلومترات في واحدة من أكبر حالات النزوح في تاريخنا الحديث. في الهند ، لا يضمن الإغلاق التباعد الاجتماعي ، بل يضمن فقط بعض الضغط الجسدي. لقد زاد الأمور سوءا ... وفي الوقت نفسه، تحدث انتهاكات كثيرة لحقوقنا يوميا. على بعد خمس دقائق فقط من منزلي [في نيودلهي]، يوجد مركز شرطة سيئ السمعة، حيث يتم استجواب الأصدقاء الذين أعرفهم منذ سنوات. هناك حملة واسعة من الاعتقالات لجميع النشطاء الذين انتفضوا ضد قانون الجنسية المعادي للمسلمين. كما تعلمون، كان هناك مئات المسلمين الذين أعدموا من قبل الغوغاء الذين تم تصويرهم ووضعهم على موقع يوتيوب". 

سأل مدير مهرجان بروكلين للكتاب أندرسون تيبر المؤلفين كيف أثر الوباء على كتاباتهما، وهو سؤال بدا أنه وضع روي في حالة من الفوضى. وألقت باللوم على الإغلاق لعدم القدرة على التعبير بسهولة عن الأزمات العديدة التي تواجهها الهند. قالت: "يبدو الأمر كما لو أن هناك فرق إعدام في كل مكان".

تساءلت تيبر أيضا عن رد فعل روي بعد أن حلقت مقالتها في صحيفة فاينانشال تايمز ، "الوباء هو بوابة" حول العالم عبر الشبكة في أبريل ، تقريبا مثل تعويذة مهدئة. في تلك المقالة ، كتب روي عن خصخصة الرعاية الصحية في الهند وكيف أن السوق الحرة تعيث فسادا بين الأقل حظا. لكنها كتبت أيضا:

من يستطيع التفكير في تقبيل شخص غريب أو القفز إلى حافلة أو إرسال طفله إلى المدرسة دون الشعور بالخوف الحقيقي؟ من يستطيع التفكير في المتعة العادية وعدم تقييم مخاطرها؟ من منا ليس عالم وبائيات دجال وعالم فيروسات وإحصائي ونبي؟ أي عالم أو طبيب لا يصلي سرا من أجل معجزة؟ أي كاهن لا يخضع - سرا على الأقل - للعلم؟ 

"ومع ذلك" ، اعتقدت ، مرعوبة ، "معظم الناس اقتبسوا فقط الفقرة الأخيرة من تلك المقالة الطويلة".

كتبت في نهاية العمود: "تاريخيا ، أجبرت الأوبئة البشر على الانفصال عن الماضي وتخيل عالمهم من جديد. هذا واحد لا يختلف. إنها بوابة، بوابة بين عالم وآخر".

مجموعة أرونداتي روي الجديدة من كتب هايماركت.

ومع ذلك، لاحظت في الوقت الحالي أن الوباء في بلدها لم يكن سوى "بوابة للقرارات التي لا ينبغي اتخاذها. لقد غيرت الحكومة الهندية فجأة قوانين الزراعة والزراعة المؤسسية والتعدين المخصخص. النقطة الرئيسية في كتاباتي هي حول العنف ، وخصخصة الرعاية الصحية ، ونقص المستشفيات في الهند ... لقد حدث هذا لكثير من كتاباتي: يأخذ الناس اقتباسا منها وينسون النقاط الرئيسية ".

لا يمكنها أن تقول إنها لا تزال متفائلة ، على الرغم من أن ردود وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي على مقالتها تشير إلى أنها متفائلة. لهذا السبب بدأت في كتابة المقالات السياسية في المقام الأول ، بعد إصدار إله الأشياء الصغيرة ، حيث واجهت الثناء على الرواية ولكن رد فعل عنيف على آرائها. كتاباتها هي الآن سلاح لمحاربة المشروع الهندوسي القومي الجديد. "من الصعب جدا أن يكون لديك خطط أخرى طويلة الأجل" ، اعترفت خلال هذا الحدث عبر الإنترنت.

مجموعتها الجديدة من المقالات، آزادي: الحرية. فاشية. يساعدنا الخيال ، الذي نشرته Haymarket Books هذا الخريف ، في العثور على أوجه تشابه في العديد من حالات الفاشية اليمينية المتطرفة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، من الولايات المتحدة إلى تركيا والبرازيل. ويشمل النصوص والمحاضرات التي كتبت على مدى العامين الماضيين.

يذكرنا الكتاب بأن الجذور الأولى للقومية في جنوب آسيا كانت عواقب حقبة ما بعد الاستعمار - حصلت الهند على استقلالها عن الإمبراطورية البريطانية في عام 1947 على حساب التقسيم مع باكستان وبنغلاديش ، إلى جانب الحروب المميتة والتحولات الضخمة للسكان ، المسؤولة الآن عن كراهية المسلمين والهندوس. أدت سياسة القومية أيضا إلى زيادة التمايز في اللغات نفسها ، في "هندوستان" السابقة إلى لغتين منفصلتين ، مع نصوص منفصلة - تسمى الآن الهندية والأردية - مما مكن من المزيد من التمييز.

وظهر السبب الجذري الآخر لتصاعد العنف ببطء بعد انهيار الاتحاد السوفييتي، عندما فتح تحالف الهند مع الولايات المتحدة أبوابا أوسع لشكل أقوى وأكثر تدميرا من الرأسمالية. 

مثل العديد من المراقبين الآخرين، أعرب روي عن أمله في ألا يعاد انتخاب مودي في عام 2019. لكنه كان. كتب روي في مجلة باريس ريفيو في سبتمبر من هذا العام: "بعد عام واحد فقط من ولايته الثانية ، من خلال سلسلة من التحركات المرعبة ، غير مودي الهند إلى حد لا يمكن التعرف عليه. البنية التحتية للفاشية تحدق بنا في وجهنا ، والوباء يسرع هذه العملية بطرق لا يمكن تصورها ، ومع ذلك نتردد في تسميتها باسمها ". ويمكنها فقط رؤية أوجه التشابه مع الوضع في الولايات المتحدة.

يرى روي الكتابة كشكل من أشكال الاستجابة. "عقلي في حالة من الفوضى الآن! لم أجد طريقة لكتابة المزيد عن كل هذا في الوقت الحالي. هناك الكثير من الأزمات على العديد من المستويات". ولكن عندما سئل ، "ما الذي ينتظرنا؟" فكر روي ... وأخيرا أجاب: "إعادة تصور العالم. هذا فقط". ومن يستطيع أن يختلف؟

أما بالنسبة لكولسون وايتهيد ، فهو يحاول أن يظل متفائلا. "إذا اعتقدت أن دونالد ترامب سيعاد انتخابه مرة أخرى في نوفمبر ، فمن المحتمل أن أصاب بالجنون" ، قال لصحيفة الأوبزرفر مؤخرا. "لذا ، يجب أن أعتقد أن ذلك لن يحدث من أجل سلامة عقلي ومستقبل أطفالي. يريد المرء أن يكون متفائلا بحذر بأن هذه الاحتجاجات ستحدث شيئا ما، لكنها قد لا تحدث أيضا".

سيتم نشر روايته الجديدة ، Harlem Shuffle ، في عام 2021 ، وقد بدأ بالفعل العمل على رواية أخرى. واعترف قائلا: "هناك دائما خوف من الإفساد ، لكنني ما زلت أقوم بالعمل. لقد أصبح قلقي بعض مراقبة الجودة الجيدة ".

في هذه الأيام - مثل الشخصية الرئيسية في روايتها " وزارة السعادة القصوى" ، لا تزال أرونداتي روي قلقة بشأن مستقبل المجتمعات الهندية ، خاصة بالنسبة للجيل الجديد ، المنقسم بشكل متزايد بسبب خطاب مودي الفاشي والمعادي للمسلمين. أما بالنسبة لكولسون وايتهيد ، فسوف نعيد النظر معه في مسائل العنصرية ضد السود ووحشية الشرطة والفاشية الجديدة لدونالد ترامب ، بعد 3 نوفمبر.

 

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

A Conversation with Arundhati Roy & Colson Whitehead

15 October, 2020

Both novelists-essayists are concerned with the rise of neo-fascism in their countries.

Both nov­el­ists-essay­ists are con­cerned with the rise of neo-fas­cism in their countries.

As part of the Brook­lyn Book Fes­ti­val, Indi­an and Amer­i­can authors Arund­hati Roy and Col­son White­head were invit­ed to read from their work and to dis­cuss “What Lies Ahead.” Both have new books out. The read­ing, fol­lowed by a con­ver­sa­tion, showed how much the two largest democ­ra­cies in the world, cur­rent­ly deeply chal­lenged, have in common.

 

Melissa Chemam

 

Arund­hati Roy has been issu­ing a siren call to the world against Indi­a’s fas­cist gov­ern­ment for sev­er­al years, while Col­son White­head, as a New York writer in the Black com­mu­ni­ty, has been con­front­ed with decades of police bru­tal­i­ty, as well as the advent of Pres­i­dent Don­ald Trump, who open­ly embraces white nationalists. 

The Nickel Boys   won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction

The Nick­el Boys won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction

In a vir­tu­al con­ver­sa­tion that took place on Octo­ber 4th, sum­ma­riz­ing what for her are the com­mon­al­i­ties between her work and that of White­head, author of the Pulitzer-Prize win­ning nov­els Under­ground Rail­road and The Nick­el Boys, Arund­hati Roy—author of The God of Small Things and The Min­istry of Utmost Hap­pi­ness—mused, “It is, sad­ly, the writer’s fate to look at things with aching eyes, and not to blink…It’s the writer’s fate to look at the world’s fate.”

The two immense­ly tal­ent­ed writ­ers could­n’t be fur­ther apart, as some 11,000 kilo­me­ters lie between New Dehli, India and Long Island, New York where each resides and from where each spoke remote­ly. Yet even as you fac­tor in their dif­fer­ent expe­ri­ences in life, and their var­ied texts, when you lis­ten to them con­comi­tant­ly, the whole world starts to make sense.

For Roy, the cur­rent sit­u­a­tion is the result of the 2,000-year-old Indi­an caste sys­tem, as much as an effect of 200 years of bru­tal British colo­nial rule—a real­i­ty she com­pared with the Unit­ed States. “These two coun­tries are built on deny­ing the hor­rors of what they con­sid­er to be civ­i­liza­tion. That’s what con­nects writ­ers like Col­son and myself. 

“[White­head­’s] Under­ground Rail­road haunt­ed me for years,” she said after White­head read from his work, “first because it’s so beau­ti­ful­ly writ­ten and so pow­er­ful.” She cit­ed anti-caste writ­ers before her who have point­ed out the con­nec­tions between slav­ery in the US, the caste sys­tem in India and apartheid in South Africa. “How­ev­er, there is no under­ground escape for any vic­tim of the caste sys­tem here in India. There is no way to run away from it. Here, peo­ples’ minds are so ver­ti­cal, so hier­ar­chi­cal, that Indi­ans don’t know how to make it hor­i­zon­tal and cre­ate solidarity.” 

To these thoughts, White­head respond­ed that his nov­els always depict pow­er struc­tures and their vio­lence, from slav­ery to our days, because these have to be uncov­ered. “I have to be all in,” he added, to con­front the truth of what is coun­try has remained. 

Both writ­ers have been chal­lenged by the events of 2020, whether the cur­rent pan­dem­ic or the Black Lives Mat­ter protests. 

“For me, unfor­tu­nate­ly, the cur­rent lev­el of racism in Amer­i­ca just pro­ceeds from the same old busi­ness against Black peo­ple,” lament­ed White­head. “I grew up in New York in the ‘80s, when we’d have a famous case every three years…Police bru­tal­i­ty has­n’t changed, even if now it is get­ting filmed on cell phones and these videos are seen by mil­lions of peo­ple… When my books came out in Spain and in France, read­ers wrote me that they found them so pre­scient. But how could they be to me? This has hap­pened so many times. Amer­i­ca has remained the same.” 

And the Covid-19 pan­dem­ic only ampli­fied inequal­i­ties in the Unit­ed States.

Arund­hati Roy con­curred as she com­pared the sit­u­a­tion in India. “The pan­dem­ic was like an autop­sy of a place in deep trou­ble: the lock­down forced ten mil­lion peo­ple to walk thou­sands of kilo­me­ters in one of the largest dis­place­ments in our recent his­to­ry. In India a lock­down does­n’t insure social dis­tanc­ing, only some phys­i­cal com­press­ing. It only made things worse… Mean­while, many vio­la­tions of our rights are occur­ring dai­ly. Just five min­utes from my house [in New Del­hi], there is a noto­ri­ous police sta­tion, where friends I’ve known for years are being held, are being inter­ro­gat­ed; there’s a mas­sive sweep of arrests of all activists who rose up against the anti-Mus­lim cit­i­zen­ship law. As you know, there have been hun­dreds of Mus­lims lynched by mobs which are filmed and put up on YouTube.” 

Brook­lyn Book Fes­ti­val mod­er­a­tor Ander­son Tep­per asked the two authors how the pan­dem­ic had affect­ed their writ­ing, a ques­tion that seemed to put Roy in dis­ar­ray. She blamed the lock­down for an inabil­i­ty to eas­i­ly artic­u­late the many crises India is fac­ing. “It’s like there are fir­ing squads every­where,” she said.

Tep­per also won­dered how Roy react­ed after her essay in the Finan­cial Times, “The Pan­dem­ic Is A Por­tal” cir­cled the world across the net in April, almost like a calm­ing mantra. In that piece, Roy wrote about the pri­va­ti­za­tion of health­care in India and how the free mar­ket is wreak­ing hav­oc among the less for­tu­nate. But she also wrote:

Who can think of kiss­ing a stranger, jump­ing on to a bus or send­ing their child to school with­out feel­ing real fear? Who can think of ordi­nary plea­sure and not assess its risk? Who among us is not a quack epi­demi­ol­o­gist, virol­o­gist, sta­tis­ti­cian and prophet? Which sci­en­tist or doc­tor is not secret­ly pray­ing for a mir­a­cle? Which priest is not — secret­ly, at least — sub­mit­ting to science? 

“Yet,” she reck­oned, appalled, “most peo­ple only quot­ed the last para­graph from that long essay.”

“His­tor­i­cal­ly,” she wrote at the end of the col­umn, “pan­demics have forced humans to break with the past and imag­ine their world anew. This one is no dif­fer­ent. It is a por­tal, a gate­way between one world and the next.”

Yet for now she’s observed that in her coun­try, the pan­dem­ic has only been “a por­tal for deci­sions that should­n’t be made. The Indi­an gov­ern­ment has sud­den­ly changed the laws for agri­cul­ture, cor­po­ra­tized farm­ing and pri­va­tized min­ing. The main point of my writ­ing is about the vio­lence, the pri­va­ti­za­tion of health­care, the lack of hos­pi­tals in India…That has hap­pened to a lot of my writ­ing: peo­ple take a quote from it and for­get the main points.”

She can­not say she remains opti­mistic, though social media respons­es to her essay sug­gest that she is. That’s why she start­ed writ­ing polit­i­cal essays in the first place, after the release of The God of Small Things, fac­ing praise for the nov­el but harsh back­lash for her opin­ions. Her writ­ing is now a weapon to fight the new nation­al­is­tic Hin­du project. “It’s too hard to have oth­er long-term plans,” she admit­ted dur­ing this online event.


Arundhati Roy's new collection from  Haymarket Books .

Arund­hati Roy’s new col­lec­tion from Hay­mar­ket Books.

Her new col­lec­tion of essays, Aza­di: Free­dom. Fas­cism. Fic­tion, pub­lished by Hay­mar­ket Books this fall, helps us find par­al­lels in the numer­ous cas­es of extreme rightwing fas­cism all over the world, from the US to Turkey and Brazil. It includes texts and lec­tures writ­ten over the past two years.

The first roots of nation­al­ism in South Asia, the book reminds us, were con­se­quences of the post-colo­nial era—India obtained its inde­pen­dence from the British Empire in 1947 at the cost of a par­ti­tion with Pak­istan and Bangladesh, along with dead­ly wars and huge shifts of pop­u­la­tions, now respon­si­ble for Mus­lim-Hin­du hatred. The pol­i­tics of nation­al­ism also result­ed in an increas­ing dif­fer­en­ti­a­tion in the lan­guages them­selves, in the for­mer “Hin­dus­tan” into two sep­a­rate ones, with dis­crete scripts—now called Hin­di and Urdu—which enabled more discrimination.

The oth­er root cause of the rise of vio­lence emerged slow­ly after the col­lapse of the Sovi­et Union, when Indi­a’s alliance with the US opened wider doors to a stronger, more destruc­tive form of capitalism. 

Like many oth­er observers, Roy hoped that Modi would­n’t be reelect­ed in 2019. But he was. “Only a year into his sec­ond term,” Roy wrote in the Paris Review in Sep­tem­ber this year, “through a series of hor­ri­fy­ing moves, Modi has changed India beyond recog­ni­tion. The infra­struc­ture of fas­cism is star­ing us in the face, the pan­dem­ic is speed­ing up that process in unimag­in­able ways, and yet we hes­i­tate to call it by its name.” And she can only see par­al­lels with the sit­u­a­tion in the Unit­ed States.

Roy sees writ­ing as a form of response. “My mind is in a mess right now! I haven’t found a way to write fur­ther about all this at the moment; there are so many crises on so many lev­els.” But when asked, “What lies ahead?” Roy pondered…and final­ly replied: “Reimag­in­ing the world. Only that.” And who could disagree?

As for Col­son White­head, he tries to remain opti­mistic. “If I thought Don­ald Trump were to be re-elect­ed again in Novem­ber, I’d prob­a­bly go insane,” he told The Observ­er recent­ly. “So, I have to think it won’t hap­pen for my own san­i­ty’s sake and for my chil­dren’s futures. One wants to be cau­tious­ly opti­mistic that these protests will make some­thing hap­pen, but also they might not.”

His new nov­el, Harlem Shuf­fle, will be pub­lished in 2021, and he’s already start­ed work­ing on anoth­er one. “There is always a fear of screw­ing up,” he con­fessed, “but I’m still doing the work. My anx­i­ety has become some good qual­i­ty control.”

These days—like the main char­ac­ter in her nov­el The Min­istry of Utmost Hap­pi­ness, Arund­hati Roy remains anx­ious about the future of Indi­a’s com­mu­ni­ties, espe­cial­ly for the new gen­er­a­tion, increas­ing­ly divid­ed by Mod­i’s fas­cist and anti-Mus­lim rhetoric. As for Col­son White­head, we will revis­it with him on mat­ters of anti-Black racism, police bru­tal­i­ty and the neo-fas­cism of Don­ald Trump, after Novem­ber 3rd.

Melis­sa Chemam is a Bris­tol-based jour­nal­ist and author, and a con­tribut­ing edi­tor at The Markaz Review.