على علي ياس يموت الفلوت (الطوفان)

15 سبتمبر, 2022
افتتاح معرض علي ياس KHE Residence ، كونستهاوس إيسن ، إيسن ، ألمانيا (الصورة مقدمة من ستيفان فون كنوبلوخ).

 

علاء يونس

 

"دخان الحرب أزرق
الأبيض هو عظام الناس"
- دو فو

قال سركون بولس ذات مرة:
"هذان السطران في الأصل باللغة الصينية ، مصنوعان من ستة أحرف. أراد دو فو أن يضع تاريخ البشرية كله فيها".[1]

"أغنية المطر
تموج صمت الطيور في الأشجار. . .
إسقاط ، إسقاط ،
المطر بالتنقيط
إسقاط المطر"[2]

 

خلال النصف الأخير من عام 2021 ، أمضى الفنان المقيم في برلين علي ياس بضعة أسابيع في إقامة في كونستهاوس إيسن ، ألمانيا. [3] هناك عمل على سلسلة من اللوحات على القماش ، العديد منها مستوحى من المناظر الطبيعية التي أحاطت به في منطقة الرور. طوال فترة إقامته ، كان علي يركض يوميا على طرق معينة حتى يوم واحد ، اعترض الناس طريقه ، وأخبروه أن الماء قد ارتفع إلى الركبتين في الاتجاه الذي يتجه إليه. في 14 و 15 يوليو 2021 ، أمطرت بغزارة لدرجة أن المياه غمرت المياه راينلاند-بفالز ونودراين-ويستفالين ، وسرعان ما تضررت بشدة.

عند سماع تعبير الماء يرتفع إلى الركبتين ، تذكر علي قصة حرب من الحروب الصليبية: عند سماع أن إراقة الدماء قد وصلت إلى الركبتين ، وفي محاولة لقياس بشاعة إراقة الدماء ، طرحت أسئلة عما إذا كان الدم يرتفع إلى ركبتي الفرسان أو خيولهم ، لأن الأخير كان سيكون أعلى. إن مسألة التقدير والحساب هذه، وسبر ذكريات الحرب عند التفكير في العنف (الطبيعة أو أي منها)، وجسم الإنسان وكيف يجد تشابهه في إعدادات وتمثيلات أكثر تعقيدا بكثير هي أسس عمل علي ياس. وبسبب هذه الخطوط، استطاع علي رؤية الفيضانات من خلال عيون تجربته الشخصية مع النزوح.

يدرب علي جسده على الجري ، ويفكر في العضلات التي تتراكم في هذه العملية. تعتبر عضلة الفخذ هي الأكبر في جسم الإنسان، وحجمها وبنائها من خلال وظيفتها تهم علي وتلهم عمله. غالبا ما تكون هناك ساق ممتدة من تلقاء نفسها ، على الأرض ، في أعمال علي ، للإشارة إلى التعب. 

في عمله "Die Flut" (الطوفان) ، اختار علي ورقة واشي يابانية تسمح فقط بما يسميه تذكرة ذهاب فقط. ورقة تسمح بوقت رسم قصير وسريع وربما حذر ، يتعارض مع الوقت المسموح به من خلال الرسم على القماش ، والذي يمكن أن يكون طويلا وقابلا للتغيير ومتعدد الطبقات. في "Die Flut" ، يطبق علي ضربة سوداء على ورقة Misumi Kozo اليابانية ، باستخدام فرشاة يابانية كبيرة مغموسة بالحبر الصيني.

يقول علي إنه ليس رساما تجريديا ، وبالتالي فإن ضربة على قطعة من الورق تدعوه إلى إشراكها بمزيد من التفكير في إمكانيات الرسم. تبدأ ضربة أخرى أو أشكال أخرى في الزحف إلى مساحة اللوحة بناء على الانطباعات التي أحدثتها السكتة الدماغية ، ليس من تلقاء نفسها ، ولكن أيضا فيما يتعلق بالسلسلة المقصودة. لا يمكن تغيير أو مناورة ضربة حبر أسود أو لوحة متطورة على مثل هذا الورق ، بل يجب قبولها والتعامل معها والبناء عليها.

تستغرق بعض الأعمال اثنتي عشرة ثانية ، والبعض الآخر يستغرق عدة أيام.

في هذه السلسلة ، يقرر علي ترك عمل واحد في الحالة الأولية للسكتة الدماغية وربما شكل أو اثنين. إنه يريد أن يتركها هناك ، حتى في حالة عنصر غير مكتمل - يتم تركه عمدا هناك ، للتحقيق والتنشيط والمشاركة والتناقض والاستحضار والتحدث مع الخطوط الأخرى والأشكال الملونة التي ستظهر في القطع الأخرى في هذه السلسلة. يمكن أن يكتمل هذا العمل التجريدي الذي يبدو غير مكتمل في وقت لاحق.

تدرب علي كرسام في كلية الفنون والتصميم في الجامعة الأردنية، حيث كان أيضا عداءا في فريق الجامعة. خلال دراسته ، تعلم تقدير خطوات الرسم المتعددة كما كانت تمارس وتتضح في أعمال أساتذة عراقيين مثل فائق حسن (1914-1992) ، أو أساتذة الجامعة الأردنية الذين تدربوا على إمرته ، مثل الفلسطيني الأردني عزيز أمورة (1944-2018) ، الذي قام أيضا بالتدريس على إتقان فائق. اتبع علي بعض الخطوات حتى التقى خلال ثلاث سنوات ونصف من العمل في دار الأندى في عمان، الفنان الياباني نوريو تاكاوكا.

نهر الرور الذي غمرته المياه، إيسن 2021 (الصورة مقدمة من علي ياس).

علي شخص من آسيا ، ولكن من غرب آسيا ، من العالم الإسلامي. إنه من مكان بين مكانين ، زمنين ، وجودين ، على الأقل. في عمل نوريو وثقافته، رأى علي طريقة أبسط للتعامل مع صناعة النحت، طريقة تستند إلى التكرار الهادف ومعاني الإيماءات، والتي لها جذور في ذكرياته من المباني القديمة والحرف اليدوية في أحيائه في بغداد. يقول علي ، باللغة العربية أو اليابانية ، يمكنه أن يقول وردة الورد لكي يتخيل الشخص وردة تلو الأخرى ، ومع ذلك من الصعب تخيلها بهذه الطريقة إذا قيلت باللغة الألمانية. درس علي اللغة الألمانية في عمان للتحدث بها في برلين، حيث يقيم منذ عام 2017. يتعلم علي الآن اللغة اليابانية.

تنشط ممارسته للرسم الأحبار والفرش الآسيوية ، في وضع عقل أو فرشاة زن ، فن الأسود والأبيض ، الفن المصنوع بفرشاة واحدة فقط ، والفن الذي يغمره تدفق الأشكال ، كلها صاخبة أو ترقص أو تتقاتل حول ضربة سوداء واحدة. تنتقل معرفته وعالمه وقراراته بسرعة الفكر ، من الشرق الأقصى إلى حيث هو وأين كان ، حتى تبدأ هذه الأشكال في الكلام. في عملية الرسم ، يحدد بعض الأشكال التي يمكن أن تبدو مثل العيون ، ويعمل بها حتى قبل أن تصبح عينا مطلية ، ثم يتذكر البساطة التي تعلمها من الشرق ، ويتوقف ، "ماذا أريد من العين ، ما هو الأكثر أهمية في رسم العين؟ الوهج! لقد عملت على تفاصيل الوهج في هذه العين. في Die Flut ، ركزت على حركة الماء ، وفي بعض الأعمال ظهر الطين. إلى جانب الأسود ، كان اللون الأزرق سمة رئيسية في العديد من القطع ، لكن كل قطعة كان لها منطقها وانطباعاتها الخاصة علي ". [4] تماما مثل قصيدة دو فو ، فإن شخصيات أو عناصر سرد القصص هنا موجزة ولكنها مؤثرة. يشير اللون الأزرق إلى الحرب ولكنه لا يوضحها ، والجسم هو نفسه أينما وضع.

في برلين، يعمل علي في جلسات لكنه لم ينقل فرشاته بين الاستوديو والمنزل. يبدأ برسم خرائط التدفق في الأعمال باستخدام الحبر الصيني ، ويدرس مظهرها ، ويبدأ بالأبسط ويترك المجمع إلى وقت لاحق. إنه مثل الجري غير الرسمي يوم الأحد ، كما يقول ، يبدأ المرء بالإحماء ، ثم الركض ، ثم الجري في مكانه. تتحدث الأعمال الفنية طوال العملية ، وتبدأ المخلوقات (البشرية أو الحيوانية أو غيرها) في الظهور فيها. إنه لا يعمل من الرسومات أو الرسومات المعدة ، وبالتالي تظهر المخلوقات بشكل غير متوقع من الانطباعات في الأشكال التي عمل عليها للتو. يستخدم علي مساحة هذه اللوحات للتفكير مع نفسه في نفسه، والطفولة التي عاشها في بغداد، وسقوطها ونهبها الذي رآه حيا خلال الغزو والاحتلال الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة للمدينة في عام 2003، والرحلات التي كان عليه القيام بها إلى المنفى من عام 2008 فصاعدا، بدءا من سن 15 عاما. وتنتهي في برلين.

تشير هذه الشخصيات أو الزخارف وتستجيب وتتكرر حول هذه الصدمات والرغبات والأفكار و / أو العواطف في حياة علي. الزخارف لها مكانة ، وليس حياة ، لأنها من عقل نفس الشخص. معا يجعلون منطقيين ، يشيرون إلى حالة أو موقف. الجلوس أو الساق الممتدة متعب ، ويشير انطباع الجري إلى العمل الجاد ، وبعض السود عيون ، والبعض الآخر لحى أو شوارب ، وما إلى ذلك. في جلسات الرسم الحية في الجامعة الأردنية، رسم علي نماذج من ركبتيها إلى أسفل. يظهر الفخذ كهاجس في عمله ، وتظهر الطيور أيضا ، وبعض الوحوش ، والأشخاص ذوي الشوارب ، وأصدقائه ، بما في ذلك الفنان العراقي المقيم في باريس همت. هذه الشخصيات تتقدم في العمر ، وأحيانا تتقاعد ، أو تترك الأعمال وتأتي شخصيات جديدة في مكانها. الشخصيات ليست ثابتة ، يبدو أنها تحكي قصة ، غالبا ما تكون عالقة في عالم اللوحة ، وتسافر مع علي ، إلى أي مكان يأخذ فيه اللوحة ، المنزل ، الجامعة ، المترو.

علي يركض نصف ماراثون (حقوق الصورة لجود التميمي).

يقول: "أشعر أنني عالق ولكن ليس حقا ، في مراحل معينة ، مع هذه الشخصيات". "لهذا السبب أيضا ، قمت بتوسيع تجاربي لتشمل الأفلام ، لأنها ستسمح بكرة لرسوماتي. أرى أيضا تشابها شخصيا ، سواء في مظهر الساقين أو الشارب ، أو الطفل الذي يخرج لسانه إلى العالم. في الواقع، إخراج اللسان هو شيء حملته معي منذ طفولتي في بغداد، وهذا ما أعلمه أولا للأطفال الذين لا يتكلمون بعد".

في بغداد، قاد علي ياس سيارته مع والده ليرى كيف يتم نهب المتاحف، من قبل الاحتلال أو المقاولين، أو حيث لا يتم حمايتها أو السماح بفتحها، بعد سقوط النظام في عام 2003. 

"أشعر أنني عالق في تلك اللحظة التي أدت إلى عام 2003 ، لحظة الحرب. على غرار الفيضان ، ليس لدى الناس الوقت لإنقاذ الأشياء وحملها خارج منازلهم التي غمرتها الفيضانات. عندما وقعت الحرب، كان عمري 11 عاما، أي ما يقرب من سن المراهقة ولكن أيضا ما زلت طفلا. كل ما أرسمه مرتبط بهذه اللحظة التي أشعر أنني أتحدث معها". "لو لم أكن قد عشت هذه اللحظة ، لكان عملي وفهمي للحياة والأشياء مختلفا. كان هذا الزخم هو فهمي للوقت ووتيرته ، لقد كان زخما خالصا للفوضى أو فراغ السلطة ".

لمزيد من الشرح حول الأشكال التي نراها في أعماله ، يعيد علي صياغة أستاذه في جامعة برلين للفنون (UdK) ، الفيلسوف ألكسندر غارسيا دوتمان: "هذه المخلوقات هي كائنات ما بعد الكارثة ، أو ربما تكون مخلوقات على وشك مواجهة كارثة. تبدو ودية أو مضحكة. لست مهتما بإعادة سرد لحظة ولكن بفهمها وإعادة بنائها فيما يتعلق بلحظتي الحالية وما هي الصور والمشاعر التي يمكنني تذكرها من تلك اللحظة. احتلال بغداد، لم أولد من جديد في ذلك اليوم، لكنه عام الصفر بالنسبة لي".

تختلف هذه الأعمال عن السلسلة التي تم عرضها في عام 2019 في عرض PS1 في MoMA ، مسرح العمليات: حروب الخليج 1991-2011. "كانت تلك بداية المشروع، أعدت رسم الأعمال التي صنعتها عندما كنت طفلا، لذلك كانت هذه الأعمال نسخا طبق الأصل"، يوضح علي، الذي لم يتمكن من حضور العرض ولا عرض اعتراضه في الحدث الختامي. وقد تضررت هذه النسخ المقلدة في العرض عندما رفض المتحف معالجة مخاوف المشاركين التي أعرب عنها بشأن وجود رئيس لمجلس إدارة المتحف لديه خلفية من كسب العمل المرتزقة في العراق بعد عام 2003. لكي يرتفع صوت علي ، كان عليه إنتاج نسخ طبق الأصل من النسخ المتماثلة ، وتحويلها إلى نسخ أصلية. لقد مرت أشكاله بأوقات ممتعة. تذكر أنه عاش الحرب عندما كان طفلا وليس بالغا.

يشكل عمله ، وكذلك برلين ، مكانا يعرف الآن كيفية تحديده وكيفية العودة إليه أو دخوله. كيف تقابل شخصياته. من خلال الجمع بين الوجود الحيوي والنشاط في المدينة ، من خلال المشاركة في المظاهرات ، والعثور على وظائف ، وكذلك الدراسة في جامعة برلين للفنون (UdK) للحصول على دبلوم ، فقد خلق الديناميكية أو القنوات للشخصيات القادمة ، و "لذلك أنا على دراية بهم ، أنا أعرفهم. في متحف الفن الحديث ، رأيت هذه الشخصيات لأول مرة فقط في السياق ، لكنها الآن معروفة أكثر بالنسبة لي ، وأعرف مكان الاجتماع الذي يمكنني رؤيتهم فيه ".

في عام 2019، كلفت "كيف تا" (مها مأمون وآلاء يونس) علي ياس بإنتاج سلسلتين، "الأيام الممطرة" و"الأيام الملبدة بالغيوم"، لعرضين حول النشر تم تنظيمهما في معرض421 في أبوظبي وفي مؤسسة MMAG في عمان. وفيما يلي النص المصاحب:

تم إسقاط ستة مليارات منشور في أوروبا الغربية و 40 مليون منشور أسقطتها القوات الجوية للجيش الأمريكي فوق اليابان في عام 1945 خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. تم استخدام مليار خلال الحرب الكورية بينما تم استخدام 31 مليون في الحرب ضد العراق.

"خلال الأيام الأولى للغزو الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003، كانت هناك عاصفة رملية ضخمة استمرت لأيام، مما أوقف جيش الاحتلال عن التحرك نحو بغداد. عندما كنت طفلا ، كنت آمل أن ينظف المطر الهواء من الغبار ، لكن في نفس الوقت كنت سعيدا لأن الجيش لم يتمكن من رؤية أي شيء في مثل هذا الطقس. في وقت لاحق ، أمطرت. لقد أمطرت الكثير من المنشورات ". [5]

لا يزال علي يتذكر ليس فقط العاصفة الرملية الضخمة التي أخرت تقدم القوات الأمريكية ، ولكن أيضا كيف كان يأمل في هطول الأمطار لإزالة الغبار من الهواء ، فقط لرؤيته يمطر الكثير من المنشورات. ويطلق على مشروعه اسم "الأيام الممطرة"، المستوحى من قصيدة للشاعر العراقي بدر شاكر السياب (1926-1964)، الذي "غير" في 1960s هياكل الشعر الكلاسيكي وأحدث ثورة في الكتابة الشعرية والسياسية في ذلك الوقت. ولكن أيضا ، لأن ميزات المياه في هذا العمل عند الحديث عن المطر.

فرش علي، كونستهاوس إيسن 2021 (الصورة مقدمة من علي ياس).

لكن نوع الورق المستخدم في سلسلة The Rainy Days مختلف ، فهو يتحمل عمليات الرسم المعقدة متعددة الخطوات التي تدرب عليها علي. في هذا النوع من اللوحات، يمكن لعلي حذف أجزاء من العمل من خلال الطبقات، لكن هذا محدود للغاية في الأعمال التي أنتجها ل Die Flut، والتي ستعرض لأول مرة في بينالي سنغافورة في أكتوبر 2022. [6] في الرسم ، يمكنه الذهاب والعودة ، والمناورة ، ولكن في سلسلة Die Flut ، إنه فصل واحد فقط. لهذا السبب ، اليوم ، على الرغم من رسمه في برلين ، يرتبط هذا العمل بلحظة طفولته ربما ، حيث تترك الذكريات الأولى علامة واضحة وتوجيهية على علي وفهمه للحياة. في هذه السلسلة ، هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يعمل فيها علي على نطاق واسع على نفس المفهوم من خلال الرسم والرسومات.

لا يشير علي إلى الاندماج في برلين بل إلى اختيار كيفية التحدث، وهو وضع متميز في معظم الأوقات، عند فهم السياق ولغته ولهجاته. يسأل دائما عمن له الحق في الفضاء ، ويعكس جسد أجنبي أو مهاجر رأى العنف يمارسه المشهد على جسده. بارد جدا ، أو حار جدا ، داكن جدا بحيث لا يمكن استيعابه ، أبيض جدا بحيث لا يمكن تحمله ، إلخ. يرى كل هذه الجوانب في محاولته ، وليس للتكيف مع المكان ، وعدم اعتباره أمرا مفروغا منه. هناك مساحة محتملة بينهما ، وهناك لحظة الاصطدام التي تنتج طاقة مكان لا يمكن تقديمه في ضوء واحد. على الأقل ستحتاج دائما إلى مصباحين لطلاء مكان.

في الاستوديو الجماعي في UdK Berlin ، مع Hito Steyerl ، أحصى علي 33 فرشاة ، سبعة منها يابانية ، بما في ذلك أكبر فرشاة ، في حين أن بعضها صيني ، وكذلك الحبر.

لم يرسم علي نخلة منذ مغادرته العراق. تظهر فقط الأشجار التي يصادفها في مساحته الحالية (الألمانية). ما هو متأكد منه ، هو أن لوحة الألوان الخاصة به قد تغيرت من اللون الأحادي تقريبا الذي رسمه قبل مجيئه إلى برلين. "جاءت الألوان هنا أكثر وضوحا وحيوية. سمح لي ركوب حافلة في الأردن برؤية أفق مفتوح كما لو كنت أطفو. في برلين ، لا أرى سوى الأشجار قريبة جدا من نوافذ القطار الذي آخذه إلى مكاني. خلال الأشهر الأولى من وصولي إلى برلين ، كنت أتساءل دائما لماذا رسم طلاب الفنون في ألمانيا مثل غيرهارد ريختر ، حتى لاحظت أن أجزاء من قوامه بدأت تظهر في عملي! ستكون دائما في حالة جسم متحرك ، مثل القطارات ، سترى دائما مشاهد غير واضحة. من عمان، يظهر الكثير من الناس (والمخلوقات) في عملي الحالي، ولكن ليس المكان الذي لا يمكنني إعادة إنتاجه، ولكن في ما هو متاح لي للتصوير أو الالتقاط. في الأفلام أو الصور المتحركة ، أدعو دائما المساحة الحالية للتحدث عن ذلك المكان الآخر. كان بإمكاني التحدث عن لحظة المقاومة تلك في بغداد، لكن كان علي أن أنتج في مترو في برلين. يجب أن أجد طريقة لتغييره لوصف مكان لم أعد فيه ولكن لدي قصة للرجوع إليها. في بعض الأحيان ، قد يكون من المفيد عدم الوصول إلى مكان معين ، لذلك عليك إصلاح وجهة نظرك وإعادة تكييفها تجاه القصة ، ومحاولة تكوين ارتباطات جديدة وفقا لإمكانياتك الحالية. وهذا سيخلق زخما جديدا يربط بين هذين المكانين، ويربط هذه الأوقات معا".

دغدغت أغنية المطر صمت العصافير على الأشجار
مطر
مطر
مطر
تثاءب المساء وكانت الغيوم لا تزال
صب دموعهم الغزيرة
كما لو أن طفلا ، قبل النوم ، كان يهذي بأمه
قبل عام ، استيقظ ولم يجدها
وعندما ظل يسأل عنها
قيل له
بعد الغد ستعود
يجب أن تعود
ومع ذلك يهمس رفاقه بأنها هناك[7]

في هذا المقال، أدرجت ترجمتين مختلفتين لنفس الأبيات من قصيدة شهيرة لبدر شاكر السياب، نشرت عام 1962 تحت عنوان أغنية المطر. كونه مثالا بارزا وناضجا لأسلوب الشعر الحر الذي جربه السياب وأقرانه من منتصف القرن 20th في بغداد. لهذا الغرض وأيضا لدمجها في الأساطير، تم تدريس القصيدة عبر مناهج عربية مختلفة على مدى العقود الأربعة الماضية. هناك فرق بين تفسير الترجمتين لتكرار كلمة المطر وتكرارها عبر القصيدة ، المطر ، يعطي شعورا بالبيئة المحيطة حيث يختبر الكثيرون المطر الغزير ، في حين أن قطرة قطرة التنقيط هي صوت أو صورة معينة كما لو لاحظها شخص واحد. هذا المزيج من موقفين ، إلى جانب مثال وردة الورد التي قدمها علي ، يمكن أن يوضح لنا كيف يمكن أن يكون اختيار الورق أو الخطوط أو المخلوقات أو الأغاني تحت المطر سيرة ذاتية مثل محاولة اتخاذ هذه الخيارات في برلين ، حيث يستعد الآن لأول ماراثون له هناك.  

 

الهوامش

[1] من تسجيل للشاعر العراقي سركون بولس (1944-2007) يقدم ثم يقرأ قصيدته "دو فو في المنفى". تم الوصول إليه في 6 سبتمبر 2022 في https://youtu.be/V7UGRPH06EM
[2] ترجمة أغنية المطر ، قصيدة للشاعر العراقي بدر شاكر السياب، ترجمتها عن العربية لينا جيوسي وكريستوفر ميدلتون. تم الوصول إليه في 8 سبتمبر 2022 في https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/rain-song-7/
[3] DAS KHE RESIDENCE-PROGRAMM 2021 ، Kunsthaus Essen ، مقابلة مع الفنان أثناء الإقامة منشورة على هذا الرابط https://youtu.be/pFwcikJDCUA
[4] مقابلة مع علي ياس بتاريخ 28 آب/أغسطس 2022.
[5] علي ياس، الأيام الممطرة"، كيفية المناورة: تغيير شكل النصوص وتكتيكات النشر الأخرى، تحرير مها مأمون وآلاء يونس، نشر كيف تا ومعرض421، أبو ظبي/ بيروت، 2020، 235.
[6] شارك في تقييمه آلاء يونس، وبينا شوي، وجون ياب، ونيدا غوس.
[7] أغنية المطر لبدر شاكر السياب مترجمة عن العربية خلود المطلبي. نشرت في مجلة عقدة في بدر شاكر السياب، عدد الخريف: 2012. تم الوصول إليه في 8 سبتمبر 2022 على هذا الرابط: https://middleeasternliteraturejournal.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/the-rain-song-by-badr-shakir-al-sayyab-translated-from-arabic-by-khaloud-al-muttalib/

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

On Ali Yass’s Die Flut (The Flood)

15 September, 2022
Open­ing of Ali Yass’ KHE Res­i­dence exhi­bi­tion, Kun­sthaus Essen, Essen, Ger­many (pho­to cour­tesy Stephan von Knobloch).

 

Ala Younis

 

The smoke of war is blue
White are the bones of people”
–Du Fu

Sar­gon Boulous once said,
These two lines are orig­i­nal­ly in Chi­nese, made of six char­ac­ters. Du Fu want­ed to put the whole his­to­ry of humankind in them.[1]

“The song of the rain 
Rip­pled the silence of birds in the trees … 
Drop, drop,
the rain Drip 
Drop the rain”[2]

 

Dur­ing the ear­ly lat­ter half of 2021, Berlin-based artist Ali Yass spent a few weeks in a res­i­den­cy in Kun­sthaus Essen, Ger­many.[3] There he worked on a series of paint­ings on can­vas, many of which were inspired by the land­scape that sur­round­ed him in the Ruhr area. Through­out his res­i­den­cy, Ali jogged dai­ly on cer­tain routes until one day, peo­ple obstruct­ed his way, telling him that the water had risen to the knees in the direc­tion he was head­ed. On July 14 and 15, 2021, it rained so much that the Rhein­land-Pfalz and Nor­drhein-West­falen were flood­ed, and soon severe­ly damaged.

Upon hear­ing the expres­sion of water ris­ing to the knees, Ali remem­bered a war sto­ry from the Cru­sades: upon hear­ing that blood­shed had reached the knees, and in an attempt to gauge the grue­some­ness of the blood­shed, ques­tions were asked whether blood rose to the knights’ or their hors­es’ knees, as the lat­ter would have been high­er. This ques­tion of esti­ma­tion and cal­cu­la­tion, of prob­ing mem­o­ries of war upon think­ing of (nature or any) vio­lence, and of a human body and how it finds its resem­blance in far more com­pli­cat­ed setups and rep­re­sen­ta­tions are the foun­da­tions of Ali Yass work. Trig­gered by these lines, Ali could see the floods through the eyes of his per­son­al expe­ri­ence of displacement.

Ali trains his body to run, and thinks of the mus­cles that build up in this process. The thigh mus­cle is the largest in the human body, and its size and its build up through its func­tion inter­est Ali and inspire his work. There is often a leg extend­ed on its own, on the ground, in Ali’s works, to ref­er­ence fatigue. 

For his work “Die Flut” (The Flood), Ali chose a Japan­ese Washi paper that allows only what he calls a one-way tick­et. A paper that allows a paint­ing time that is short, swift, and pos­si­bly cau­tious, counter to the time allowed by paint­ing on can­vas, which can be long, change­able and mul­ti-lay­ered. In “Die Flut,” Ali applies a black stroke on the Japan­ese Mis­u­mi Kozo paper, using a big Japan­ese brush dipped in Chi­nese ink.

Ali says that he is not an abstract painter, and so a stroke on a piece of paper calls upon him to engage it with more think­ing on the pos­si­bil­i­ties of draw­ing. Anoth­er stroke or oth­er shapes start to crawl into the space of the paint­ing based on what impres­sions the stroke made, not on its own, but also in rela­tion to the intend­ed series. Nei­ther a stroke of black ink nor a devel­op­ing paint­ing on such paper can be altered or maneu­vered, it has to be accept­ed, dealt with and built upon.

Some works take twelve sec­onds, oth­ers take many days.

In this series, Ali decides to leave one sin­gle work at the ini­tial state of the stroke and per­haps an accom­pa­ny­ing shape or two. He wants to leave it there, even in the sta­tus of an unfin­ished ele­ment — it is inten­tion­al­ly left there, to probe, acti­vate, engage, con­tra­dict, evoke and con­verse with oth­er lines and col­or­ful shapes that will appear in the oth­er pieces in this series. This seem­ing­ly unfin­ished abstract work can come to a com­ple­tion later.

Ali was trained as a painter at the Fac­ul­ty of Art and Design at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Jor­dan, where he was also a run­ner on the uni­ver­si­ty team. Through­out his stud­ies, he was taught to appre­ci­ate mul­ti­ple steps of paint­ing as they were prac­ticed and evi­dent in works by Iraqi mas­ters such as Faeq Has­san (1914–1992), or the Uni­ver­si­ty of Jordan’s teach­ers who were trained under him, such the Pales­tin­ian Jor­dan­ian Aziz Amoura (1944–2018), who also taught on Faeq’s mas­ter­dom. Ali fol­lowed some of the steps until he met dur­ing his three and a half years of work at Dar al Anda Gallery, in Amman, the Japan­ese artist Norio Takaoka.

The flood­ed Ruhr riv­er, Essen 2021 (pho­to cour­tesy Ali Yass).

Ali is a per­son from Asia, but West Asia, from the Mus­lim world; he is from a place between two places, two times, two exis­tences, at least. In Norio’s work and cul­ture, Ali saw a sim­pler way to approach sculp­ture mak­ing, one that is based on mean­ing­ful rep­e­ti­tions and mean­ings of ges­tures, and that has roots in his mem­o­ries from the old build­ings and hand­crafts in his Bagh­dad neigh­bor­hoods. Ali says, in Ara­bic or Japan­ese, he can say rose rose rose for a per­son to imag­ine one rose fol­low­ing anoth­er, yet it is dif­fi­cult to imag­ine it this way if said in Ger­man. Ali stud­ied Ger­man in Amman to speak it in Berlin, where he’s been based since 2017. Ali is now learn­ing Japanese.

His paint­ing prac­tice acti­vates Asian inks and brush­es, in the mode of the Zen mind or brush, the art of black and white, of art made only with one brush, and art that is engulfed by a flow of forms, all bustling or danc­ing or fight­ing around one black stroke. His knowl­edge, world, and deci­sions trav­el with the speed of a thought, from the far east to where he is and was, until these forms start to speak. In the process of draw­ing, he iden­ti­fies some shapes that could look like eyes, works them out until just before they become a paint­ed eye, then he remem­bers the sim­plic­i­ty he learnt from the east, and paus­es, “what do I want from the eye, what is the most essen­tial in the paint­ing of an eye? The glare! I worked on the glare detail in this eye. In Die Flut, I focused on move­ment of water, and in some works mud popped up. Besides black, blue was a main fea­ture in many of the pieces, but each piece had its own log­ic and impres­sions on me.”[4] Just like Du Fu’s poem, char­ac­ters or ele­ments of sto­ry­telling here are brief but poignant; blue indi­cates a war but does not illus­trate it, and body is the same wher­ev­er it is placed.

In Berlin, Ali works in ses­sions but has nev­er moved his brush­es between his stu­dio and home. He starts by map­ping the flow in the works using Chi­nese ink, stud­ies their look, starts with the sim­plest and leaves the com­plex to lat­er. It is like a casu­al Sun­day run, he says, one starts with warm­ing up, then jog­ging, then run­ning in place. The art­works con­verse through­out the process, and crea­tures (human, ani­mal, or oth­er) start to appear in them. He does not work from sketch­es or pre­pared draw­ings and so the crea­tures pop up unex­pect­ed­ly from impres­sions in forms he had just worked on. Ali uses the space of these paint­ings to reflect with him­self on him­self, the child­hood he had in Bagh­dad, its fall and loot­ing that he saw live dur­ing the US-led inva­sion and occu­pa­tion of the city in 2003, and the jour­neys he had to take into the exile from 2008 onwards, start­ing at the age of 15 years old, and end­ing in Berlin.

These char­ac­ters, or motifs, ref­er­ence, respond and repeat around these trau­mas, desires, thoughts, and/or emo­tions in Ali’s life. The motifs have a sta­tus, not a life, because they are from the mind of the same per­son. Togeth­er they make sense, they ref­er­ence a sta­tus or sit­u­a­tion; a sit­ting or extend­ed leg is a tired one, a run­ning impres­sion sig­nals hard work­ing, some blacks are eyes, oth­ers are beards or mous­tach­es, and so on. In live draw­ing ses­sions at Uni­ver­si­ty of Jor­dan, Ali paint­ed mod­els from their knees down­wards. The thigh appears as an obses­sion in his work, birds also appear, and some beasts, peo­ple with mous­tach­es, his friends, includ­ing the Paris-based Iraqi artist Himat. These char­ac­ters age, some­times they retire, or leave the works and new char­ac­ters come in their place. The char­ac­ters are not fixed, they appear to tell a sto­ry, often stuck with­in the realm of the can­vas, and they trav­el with Ali, to wher­ev­er he takes the can­vas, home, uni­ver­si­ty, metro.

Ali run­ning a half marathon (pho­to cour­tesy Joud Al-Tamimi).

“I feel I am stuck but not real­ly, in cer­tain phas­es, with these char­ac­ters,” he says. “Also, that’s why I expand­ed my exper­i­ments to film, because they would allow a sphere for my draw­ings. I also see my per­son­al resem­blance, whether in the appear­ance of the legs or mous­tache, or the kid that sticks his tongue out to the world. In fact, stick­ing the tongue out is some­thing I car­ried with me from my child­hood in Bagh­dad, and that’s what I teach first to the chil­dren that don’t speak yet.”

In Bagh­dad, Ali Yass drove with his father to see how muse­ums were being loot­ed, by the occu­pa­tion or con­trac­tors, or where not pro­tect­ed or let open, fol­low­ing the fall of the regime in 2003. 

“I feel I am stuck at that moment that led to 2003, the war moment. Sim­i­lar to a flood, peo­ple do not have time to res­cue stuff and car­ry it out­side of their flood­ing homes. When the war hap­pened, I was 11 years old, near­ly a teenag­er but also still a child. Every­thing I paint is linked to this moment that I feel I am loop­ing with,” Ali says. “If I had not lived this moment, my work and my under­stand­ing of life and things would have been dif­fer­ent. That momen­tum was my under­stand­ing of time and its pace, it was a pure momen­tum of anar­chy or pow­er vacuum.”

To fur­ther explain about the forms that we see in his works, Ali para­phras­es his pro­fes­sor at Berlin Uni­ver­si­ty of the Arts (UdK), philoso­pher Alexan­der Gar­cía Düttmann: “These crea­tures are post-dis­as­ter beings, or per­haps they are crea­tures that are about to encounter a dis­as­ter. They seem friend­ly or fun­ny. I am not inter­est­ed in retelling a moment but in under­stand­ing it and recon­struct­ing it in rela­tion to my cur­rent moment and what images and feel­ings I can recall from that moment. The occu­pa­tion of Bagh­dad, I was not reborn on that day, but it is the year zero for me.”

These works are dif­fer­ent from the series that was shown in 2019 at MoMA’s PS1 show, The­ater of Oper­a­tions: The Gulf Wars 1991–2011. “Those were the begin­ning of the project, I redrew the works that I made when I was a child, so these works were repli­cas,” explains Ali, who could not attend the show nor his objec­tion pre­sen­ta­tion at the clos­ing event. These repli­cas were hurt in the show when the muse­um refused to address the par­tic­i­pants’ expressed con­cerns over hav­ing a head of the muse­um board with a back­ground of earn­ing from mer­ce­nary work in Iraq post 2003. For Ali’s voice to rise, he had to pro­duce repli­cas of the repli­cas, turn­ing them into orig­i­nals. His forms had gone through fun times; remem­ber, he expe­ri­enced the war as a kid not an adult.

His work, as well as Berlin, con­sti­tute a place he now knows how to iden­ti­fy and how to come back to or enter; how to meet his char­ac­ters. Com­bin­ing a vital pres­ence and activism in the city, by engag­ing in demon­stra­tions, find­ing jobs and also study­ing at Berlin Uni­ver­si­ty of the Arts (UdK) for a Diplo­ma, he has cre­at­ed the dynamism or the chan­nels for the char­ac­ters to come, and “so I am famil­iar with them, I know them. In MoMA, I had seen these char­ac­ters only for the first time in con­text, but these are now more known to me, I know which meet­ing place I can see them in.”

In 2019, Kay­fa ta (Maha Maamoun and Ala You­nis) com­mis­sioned Ali Yass to pro­duce two series, The Rainy Days and The Cloudy Days, for two shows on pub­lish­ing orga­nized at Warehouse421 in Abu Dhabi and at the MMAG Foun­da­tion in Amman. The accom­pa­ny­ing text read,

“Six bil­lion leaflets were dropped in West­ern Europe and 40 mil­lion leaflets dropped by the Unit­ed States Army Air Forces over Japan in 1945 dur­ing World War II. One bil­lion were used dur­ing the Kore­an War while 31 mil­lion have been used in the war against Iraq.”

“Dur­ing the first days of the Amer­i­can inva­sion of Iraq in 2003, there was a huge sand­storm going on for days, which stopped the occu­pa­tion army from mov­ing towards Bagh­dad. As a kid, I was hop­ing for the rain to clear the air from dust but at the same time I was hap­py that the army could see noth­ing in such weath­er. Lat­er, it rained; it rained so many leaflets.”[5]

Ali still remem­bers not only the huge sand­storm that delayed the advance­ment of the US troops, but also how he hoped for rain­fall to clear the dust from the air, only to see it rain­ing so many leaflets. He calls his project The Rainy Days, inspired by a poem by Iraqi poet Badr Shakir Al-Sayyab (1926–1964), who in the 1960s “shapeshift­ed” clas­si­cal poet­ry struc­tures and rev­o­lu­tion­ized the poet­ic and polit­i­cal writ­ing of the time. But also, because, water fea­tures in this work when speak­ing about rain.

Ali’s brush­es, Kun­sthaus Essen 2021 (pho­to cour­tesy Ali Yass).

But the type of paper used in The Rainy Days series is dif­fer­ent, it tol­er­ates the mul­ti-step elab­o­rate paint­ing process­es in which Ali was trained. In this type of paint­ing, Ali can delete parts of the work through lay­er­ing, but this is much lim­it­ed in the works he pro­duced for Die Flut, which will pre­miere in the Sin­ga­pore Bien­nale in Octo­ber 2022.[6] In paint­ing, he can go and come back, maneu­ver, but in the Die Flut series, it is only one act. That’s why, today, despite being paint­ed in Berlin, this work relates to the moment of his child­hood per­haps, where the first mem­o­ries leave a clear and guid­ing mark on Ali and his under­stand­ing of life. In this series, this is Ali’s first time to work exten­sive­ly on the same con­cept through both paint­ing and drawings.

Ali does not refer to inte­gra­tion in Berlin but to mak­ing a choice of how to speak, which is a priv­i­leged posi­tion most of the time, upon under­stand­ing a con­text, its lan­guage and accents. He always asks on who has the right to the space, and reflects the body of a for­eign­er or an immi­grant who has seen vio­lence prac­ticed by the land­scape on his body; too cold, or too hot, too dark to accom­mo­date, too white to tol­er­ate, etc. He sees all of these aspects in his attempt, not to adapt to the place, and not to take it for grant­ed. There is a pos­si­ble space in between, there is the moment of col­li­sion that pro­duces the ener­gy of a place that can nev­er be ren­dered in one light. At least it will always need two lights to paint a place.

In his class col­lec­tive stu­dio at UdK Berlin, with Hito Stey­erl, Ali count­ed 33 brush­es, sev­en of them Japan­ese, includ­ing the biggest brush, while some are Chi­nese, as is the ink.

Ali had not paint­ed a palm tree since he left from Iraq. Only trees that he encoun­ters in his present (Ger­man) space appear. What he is sure of, is that his col­or palette has changed from the almost mono­chrome he paint­ed before com­ing to Berlin. “The col­ors here came out clear­er and more vibrant. Rid­ing on a bus in Jor­dan allowed me to see an open hori­zon as if I were float­ing. In Berlin, I only see trees very close to the win­dows of the train I take to my place. Dur­ing my first months of arriv­ing in Berlin, I always won­dered why art stu­dents in Ger­many paint­ed like Ger­hard Richter, until I noticed frag­ments of his tex­tures start­ed to appear in my work! You will always be in the state of a mov­ing object, like trains, you will always see blurred scenes. From Amman, many peo­ple (and crea­tures) sur­face in my cur­rent work, but not the place which I can­not repro­duce but in what is avail­able for me to shoot or cap­ture. In film or mov­ing images, I am always call­ing the cur­rent space to speak about that oth­er place. I could talk about that moment of resis­tance in Bagh­dad, but I had to pro­duce in a metro in Berlin. I have to find a way to change it to describe a place that I am not in any­more but have a sto­ry to ref­er­ence. Some­times, it can be an advan­tage to not have access to a par­tic­u­lar place, so you have to reform and readapt your point of view towards the sto­ry, and try to make new asso­ci­a­tions accord­ing to your cur­rent pos­si­bil­i­ties. This will cre­ate a new momen­tum which bridg­ing these two places, and con­nect these times together.”

The rain song tick­led the silence of the spar­rows on trees
Rain
Rain
Rain
The evening yawned and the clouds were still
Pour­ing their heavy tears
As if a child, before sleep­ing, was rav­ing about his mother
A year ago, he woke up and did not find her
And when he kept ask­ing about her
He was told
After tomor­row she will be back
She must come back
Yet his com­pan­ions whis­per that she is there[7]

In this arti­cle, I includ­ed two dif­fer­ent trans­la­tions of the same vers­es from a famous poem by Badr Shakir Al-Sayyab, pub­lished in 1962 under the title Rain Song. Being an out­stand­ing and mature exam­ple of free verse style which Al-Sayyab and his peers exper­i­ment­ed with from the mid 20th cen­tu­ry in Bagh­dad. For this and also for its incor­po­ra­tion of myths, the poem was taught across dif­fer­ent Ara­bic cur­ric­u­la for the past four decades. There is a dif­fer­ence between the two trans­la­tions’ inter­pre­ta­tion of the rep­e­ti­tion of the word rain and its rep­e­ti­tion across the poem, Rain Rain Rain, gives a feel­ing of a sur­round­ing envi­ron­ment where many expe­ri­ence the pour­ing rain, while Drop Drop Drip is a par­tic­u­lar sound or image as if observed by one per­son. This com­bi­na­tion of two posi­tions, besides the exam­ple of rose rose rose giv­en by Ali, can illus­trate to us the way how a choice of paper, lines, crea­tures, or songs on rain can also be as auto­bi­o­graph­i­cal as attempt­ing to make these choic­es in Berlin, where he is now prepar­ing for his first marathon there. 

 

End­notes

[1] From a record­ing by Iraqi poet Sar­goun Boulous (1944–2007) intro­duc­ing then recit­ing his poem, Du Fu in Exile. Accessed on 6 Sep­tem­ber 2022  at https://youtu.be/V7UGRPH06EM
[2] Trans­la­tion of Rain Song, poem by Iraqi poet Badr Shakir Al-Sayyab, trans­lat­ed from Ara­bic by Lena Jayyusi and Christo­pher Mid­dle­ton. Accessed on 8 Sep­tem­ber 2022 at https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/rain-song‑7/
[3] DAS KHE RESIDENCE-PROGRAMM 2021, Kun­sthaus Essen, an inter­view with the artist dur­ing the res­i­den­cy is pub­lished at this link https://youtu.be/pFwcikJDCUA
[4] Inter­view with Ali Yass on 28 August 2022.
[5] Ali Yass, The Rainy Days”, How to maneu­ver: Shapeshift­ing texts and oth­er pub­lish­ing tac­tics, eds. Maha Maamoun and Ala You­nis, pub­lished by Kay­fa ta and Warehouse421, Abu Dhabi / Beirut, 2020, 235.
[6] Co-curat­ed by Ala You­nis, Bin­na Choi, June Yap and Nida Ghouse.
[7] THE RAIN SONG by Badr Shakir Al-Sayyab trans­lat­ed from Ara­bic by Khaloud Al-Mut­tal­i­bi. Pub­lished in Knot Mag­a­zine in Badr Shakir Al-Sayyab, FALL ISSUE: 2012. Accessed on 8 Sep­tem­ber 2022 at this link: https://middleeasternliteraturejournal.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/the-rain-song-by-badr-shakir-al-sayyab-translated-from-arabic-by-khaloud-al-muttalib/

guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments