امرأة في الفضاء العام: رمضان في باب سويقة بتونس العاصمة

9 مايو, 2022

شريا بريكه

 

أخرج من منزلي ، منجذبا نحو مزيج غريب من الموسيقى والضجة التي أسمعها أثناء القراءة ، مترددا بشأن ما إذا كنت أريد العودة إلى المشي في مكان عام وعبره. عندما أصل إلى مصدر هذه الأصوات في ساحة باب سويقة - وهي "ساحة" عامة مستديرة تقع في شارع مواز بعيدا عن المنزل - كان الحشد كثيفا جدا بالنسبة لي للحصول على رؤية واضحة للأداء الذي هو في مركز اهتمام الجميع.

للحصول على رؤية أفضل ، قررت تسلق الدرج المفتوح الذي يؤدي إلى المركز الثقافي للحي الذي يواجه ساحة باب سويقة. الدرج يعطي إطلالة مرتفعة على المكان. أحاول أن أميل ببطء إلى الحشد ، على أمل الضغط عليهم للتحرك ، وأبحث عن درابزين للتمسك به. تمتلئ السلالم بالعائلات التي تطل على ساحة باب سويقة حيث تستضيف خيمة مؤقتة ومسرح عرضا موسيقيا ورقصا. رجل يطلب من ابنته أن تفسح المجال لي، أبتسم مرة أخرى لأشكره، وأنتقل إلى المكان الجديد الذي يمنحني رؤية أفضل للمشهد البصري والموسيقي. أقف هناك ، منومة مغناطيسيا من خلال الأداء المتزامن تماما ل mezoued من قبل النساء يرتدين البلوزات البيضاء المتطابقة والتنانير المخططة بألوان الباستيل. يبدو أنهم في غيبوبة أيضا ، شعرهم يتأرجح ذهابا وإيابا في الهواء.

لقد تجاوزت الساعة 10 ليلا ، متأخرة عن وقتي المعتاد للنوم ، لكن يبدو أن الاحتفال بشهر رمضان قد بدأ للتو. برفقة الطبول والعود ولوحة المفاتيح التي تنتج دقات النشوة ، أسمع أصوات طقطقة الفشار يمضغها الأطفال الواقفون حولي ، ونباح الشوارع التي تحاول شق طريقها عبر الحشد الكثيف ، والألعاب النارية التي يلقيها الأولاد الصغار. "للتخلص من العين الشريرة!" يشرح إنسان عابر وأنا أبدو في حيرة من صوته غير المتوقع.

أشم رائحة الكرواسان وآلام الشوكولاتة القادمة من المعجنات القديمة تحتي إلى يميني. عندما أنظر إلى الأسفل من الدرج ، أرى سلسلة من المقاهي أدناه ، تستضيف رجالا يدخنون ويحدقون في مباريات كرة القدم القديمة التي يتم إعادة عرضها على أجهزة تلفزيون صغيرة في هذه المقاهي. كراسي المقهى والطاولات موضوعة في جميع أنحاء الرصيف، وأشاهد العائلات تحاول شق طريقها عبر هذه المتاهة ونحو المسرح، وهي تكافح. بدأت أحلم بالحصول على دايركت (إكسبريسو ممزوج بالحليب الرغوي) وكرواسون. فجأة، يقطع حلمي رجال على الدرج خلفي يصفرون على أنغام اللحن الموسيقي الجديد الذي يعزف على خشبة المسرح في ساحة باب سويقة. كان التغيير في الموسيقى بمثابة تغيير في أسلوب الرقص أيضا. لذلك أحاول التركيز مرة أخرى على العرض. الآن أريد أن صافرة على طول كذلك!

لا أعرف كيف أصفر - هل لأنني امرأة لم أتعلم أبدا كيف أصفر؟ أفكر في نسائي وأدرك أنني لست المرأة الوحيدة في باب سويقة، في الجمهور الذي يزدحم في الساحة. أرى شابات يرتدين بيجاما من الصوف ونعال منزلية يمشين مع عشاقهن ويمسكون بأيديهم. أرى نساء من مختلف الأجيال - جدات مع كناتهن وحفيداتهن - يجلسن على كراسي بلاستيكية بيضاء أمام المسرح المؤقت الذي أصبح ساحة باب سويقة. يقف البعض أمام كراسيهم ، ويرقصون ببطء ، ويقطعون أصابعهم برشاقة في الهواء. أفكر في النعمة ، وارتباطها بالنساء ، وافتقاري التام إليها!

ألم تكن النعمة جزءا من التعليم غير المسمى الذي تلقيته خلال طفولتي؟ ثم ربما علمت ألا أكون رشيقة ، حتى أتمكن بطريقة ما من محو أنوثة جسدي أثناء تحركي في الأماكن العامة ، حتى لا ينظر إلي على أنني "امرأة" ، حتى أتمكن بطريقة ما من تجنب التعرض للتحرش. ولكن، هنا والآن، أشعر بالغيرة من هؤلاء النساء ونعمتهن - هؤلاء النساء في تزامن تام يرقصن على المسرح بنعمة، والنساء في الجمهور يعضن أصابعهن ويتمايلن على أكتافهم. أريد أن أرقص أيضا ، بهذه النعمة!

 

المقهى الذي لا يحمل اسما في ساحة باب سويقة، استمع إلى المسرح المؤقت.

يمثل Place Bab Souika مركز باب سويقة - وهو ما يسمى بالحي الشعبي (الطبقة العاملة) على أطراف المدينة المنورة في تونس العاصمة. خلف المكان تقع زاوية (ضريح) سيدي محرز ، شفيع مدينة تونس. نشأ العديد من زملائي في أسر من الطبقة المتوسطة والعليا في باب سويقة ويعيشون الآن في مناطق الضواحي السكنية في تونس العاصمة ، مثل المنزه أو باردو أو المرسى. يتحدثون عن باب سويقة بحنين إلى الماضي - حنين يتتبع التدهور الثقافي للحي. أتساءل ما إذا كانت لغة الانحدار الثقافي هذه تخفي اشمئزاز الطبقة المتميزة من "الشعبية".

أصبح باب سويقة بيتي في منتصف الوباء ، بينما فصلت عن كل ما كنت أسميه العائلة على مدار العقد الماضي ، وربما عن ماضي حياتي كلها. لجعله المنزل ، اخترعت الروتين. كل صباح، كنت أتجول في سوق الحلفاوين، متعرجا في سوق اللحوم والخضروات والملابس المستعملة، وأتحدث مع الرجل الذي يبيع الهريسة المفضلة لدي، مع صاحب المتجر الذي أهداني ولاعة شخصية لأن المتجر كان غير متوفر. بدأت أذهب إلى نفس المقهى في ساحة باب سويقة، وأطور روتينا من المحادثات الودية مع الرجال الذين يصنعون القهوة ويقدمون القهوة هناك، والذين يعرفون بالضبط الترتيب الذي أتخذه لدرجة أنه بالكاد يوجد تبادل لفظي بيننا الآن. عندما يرونني آصل، يسألونني "كيما آدا؟" (نفس المعتاد؟) وأومأت برأسي. أصبح الرجال الذين يجعلون هذا الروتين اليومي ممكنا أساسا لبناء منزلي.

خارج الوقت الذي يعلق فيه شهر رمضان ، يعد Place Bab Souika مكانا للرجال. المقاهي التي تحد المكان هي ما يسميه الكثيرون "مقهى الشعبي" أو "شارب المقهى" - المقاهي الشعبية التي تلبي احتياجات الرجال من الحي. سألت ذات مرة الشاب الذي يقدم القهوة في المقهى المجهول الذي أذهب إليه كل يوم إذا كانت هناك مقاهي للنساء حولها. وأشار إلى مساحة مخفية على بعد أمتار قليلة وأطلق عليها اسم صالون دي ثي حيث تذهب العائلات. منذ بداية شهر رمضان ، تختفي جميع المقاهي في النهار حتى قبل ساعة من الأذان عند غروب الشمس ، عندما ينتهي الصيام اليومي. تنضم النساء إلى الرجال في العديد من هذه المقاهي. خارج شهر رمضان ، لم أر أبدا امرأة تجلس وتطلب القهوة في المقهى الذي أذهب إليه كل يوم. الشخصيات النسائية الوحيدة هي نساء مسنات يمشين بأكياس عملاقة من البقالة، ويشقن طريقهن ببطء إلى المنزل من السوق القريب في الحلفاوين، ويتوقفن في المقهى للجلوس على كرسي والتقاط أنفاسهن.

أدرك خلال كل ثانية من وجودي في ساحة باب سويقة، خاصة وأنا جالس في المقهى أشرب القهوة المرة بالطريقة التي أحبها، أن وجودي مقبول ولكن غير مقبول تماما. متسامح لأنني أجنبي. غير مقبول لأنني امرأة. في مقهى كنت أتردد عليه العام الماضي، أخبرني الخادم (الذي أصبحت معه ودودا وثرثارا ببطء) أنه لا ينبغي لي ارتداء التنانير في باب سويقة. منذ ذلك اليوم ، توقفت عن الذهاب إلى هذا المقهى. لقد كان تذكيرا واضحا بأن وجودي خلق توترا ، وولد نظرات من الرجال المارة.

منظر للمقهى المجهول من كافي شانتا.

في كل مرة أمر بها ، ما زلت أحزن على فقدان الروتين الذي يتكون من ذلك المقهى. أثار الحادث العديد من الأسئلة التي ما زلت أواجه صعوبات في حلها - ماذا أفعل عندما تتعارض المعايير "المحلية" مع رغبتي في أن أكون مرتاحا في جسدي الجنساني؟ هل يجب أن "أحترم" هذه المعايير لأنني في بلد أنا أجنبي فيه؟ هل هذا يعني أنني أتوقف عن ارتداء التنانير، وأتوقف عن الذهاب إلى مقاهي الرجال، وأتوقف عن المشي في ساحة باب سويقة، وبدلا من ذلك أسلك الأزقة المخفية للتنقل - كما أرى عددا لا يحصى من النساء؟

يزداد الحشد خلفي على الدرج سمكا ، لذا قررت أن الوقت قد حان للاستسلام لرغبتي في الحصول على كرواسون. أشق طريقي إلى أسفل الدرج ، متعرجا في طريقي عبر طاولات المقهى المزدحمة ، والترامبولين مع أطفال يقفزون ، ونصف دائري فارغ مع شرائط لامعة وردية ملولبة في كل مكان. أشم رائحة الكرواسان! عندما وصلت أخيرا إلى المعجنات ، كان الخط طويلا جدا وهم ينتظرون خروج مخزون الخبز من الكرواسان والآلام au chocolat من الفرن ، لأن المخزون الجاهز قد اختفى. قررت أن ألهي بفكرة التحقق من المصدر الآخر للموسيقى بجوار الملصق العملاق ل "Cafi Chanta" المعلق فوق جدران المقهى المجهول الذي أفضله.

كنت قد سمعت عن "كافي شانتا" كجزء من الماضي الأسطوري لباب سويقة - المقاهي التي تستضيف فنانين محليين مشهورين غنوا طوال الليل. تسميتها هي لغة عامية ل "مقهى شانت" ، والتي يمكن ترجمتها بشكل فضفاض على أنها "مقهى الغناء". نظرا لموقعها في الماضي الحنين إلى الماضي ، لم أكن أتوقع أن أجدها في الوقت الحاضر!

أسير نحو الملصق ، أبحث عن طريقة للوصول إلى الطابق الأول من حيث أسمع الموسيقى قادمة. يصور الملصق العملاق المرسوم باليد امرأة ترتدي سترة طويلة بدرجات مختلفة من اللون الأزرق الفاتح ، وتحمل فانوسا في يد وفنجان قهوة كبير الحجم في اليد الأخرى. بالكاد أستطيع رؤية أي تعبيرات على وجهها. أخيرا ، أجد الدرج مخفيا قليلا خلف الحائط. بينما أصعد الدرج ، أرى لافتة مع امرأة ذات بشرة شاحبة مرسومة يدويا ترتدي حمالة صدر حمراء وتنورة حمراء - ملابس مرتبطة بالرقص الشرقي - مع ملاحظة تقول "100٪ شباب" ، تشير إلى أن النساء في كافي شانتا شابات "100٪". الدرج رائحة البول. الجدران مجردة باللونين الأصفر والأحمر، وهي ألوان فريق كرة القدم الشهير للرجال في باب سويقة، نادي الترجي. أشعر وكأنني أسير في مكان لا أنتمي إليه.

وصلت إلى الطابق الأول ولاحظت الباب الوحيد المفتوح ودخلته. هناك ثلاثة رجال يقفون حول الباب أتجاهلهم لأنني أخشى ألا يسمحوا لي بالدخول إذا نظرت إلى أعينهم. دخلت ولاحظت منطقة المطبخ في المقهى على يساري ، حيث يقوم شاب بإعداد الشاي. أواصل ، متجاهلا وجوده ، خائفا من أن يتم رصدي وطردي في أي لحظة ، وأخيرا أجد في غرفة مظلمة تنبعث منها رائحة الشيشة. هناك موائد مستديرة في كل مكان ، مغطاة بقطعة قماش حمراء ، ولا توجد طاولة واحدة فارغة. أمشي نحو مصدر الموسيقى وأجد كرسيا فارغا على طاولة مشغولة بالفعل. أنا أقمع حدسي الذي يخبرني أنه ليس من المفترض أن أكون هناك ، وأتظاهر بأنني لا أعرف المعايير التي تحكم المكان الذي من المفترض أن يذهب إليه جسدي الطبقي والجنساني ولا يذهب. أخرج الكاميرا من حقيبتي وأبدأ في التقاط الصور بتكتم ، متجاهلا أي نظرة إلي وإلى وجودي الأجنبي.

الأداء في كافي شانتا.

على المسرح المثبت قليلا مضاء بأضواء مستديرة بلون النيون ، هناك خمسة رجال يعزفون على الطبول والمزامير التقليدية. انهم جميعا ارتداء قراءة الشاشية. رجل يرتدي بدلة رمادية فضفاضة للغاية على إطاره يغني أثناء المشي بين الجمهور. لديه العشب من رأسه الأصلع هلام. لاحظت أنه يفتقد بعض الأسنان الأمامية. خلفه امرأتان ترقصان. كلاهما يرتديان بلوزة سوداء ، وطماق سوداء ، وتنورة زرقاء شفافة يلوحان بها أثناء تحركهما ودورانهما. بدأت لدي رغبة دائمة في التحرك في مقعدي ، كما لو كان جسدي حكة ، وربما علامة على قلقي. لذلك أذكر بأداء السياحية - التركيز والابتسام والتقاط الصور!

تجلس عائلة على الطاولة أمامي وأنظر إلى الأم التي ترتدي الحجاب البيج والجلابة وأحمر الشفاه الأحمر والنظارات ذات الحواف السوداء. إنها تذكر زملائي في المدرسة الثانوية في الهند ، من النوع المجتهد ويقومون دائما بواجباتهم المدرسية. أتخيل أنها ربما قامت بكل واجباتها المدرسية في المدرسة. ابنتاها على يسارها ترتديان قمصانا بيضاء فضفاضة. إنهم يقفون أمام كراسيهم ويرقصون ويغنون معهم. يجلس زوجها بجانبها على اليمين ، يدخن الشيشة بيد ، ويد أخرى على أكتاف ابنه الجالس على يمينه. شعره القصير هلامي ومشط للخلف. لا أستطيع أن أتخيل عائلتي في رحلة مماثلة معا.

على يمينهم طاولة مليئة بالشابات. تتناوب جميع هؤلاء النساء على تسجيل أنفسهن على الهاتف ، والابتسام ، ومزامنة الشفاه ، والتقاط أصابعهن والحفاظ على الإيقاع مع حركة أكتافهم. أول امرأة ألاحظها هي تلك التي ترتدي الحجاب الأخضر الباستيل ، وتغني ، وتلتقط فيديو سيلفي مع صديقاتها. أنا أوبخ لأنني لاحظت دائما النساء اللواتي يرتدين الحجاب. عندما صعدت الدرج للوصول إلى هنا ، تخيلت مساحة من الإفراط الجنسي في تلبية احتياجات الرجال. أنا مندهش من وجود النساء هنا.

أنظر مرة أخرى إلى الطاولة المليئة بالنساء وأدرك أن القلق الارتعاش الذي أعاني منه قد لا يعزى إلى حقيقة أنني امرأة في ذلك الفضاء. أنا معتادة جدا على أن أكون المرأة الوحيدة في باب سويقة لدرجة أن رد فعلي الفوري هو أن أعزو انزعاجي إلى الطبيعة التي يهيمن عليها الذكور في الأماكن العامة، بما في ذلك المقاهي والمطاعم.

أجلس هناك وأنظر إلى المرأتين اللتين ترقصان في الغرفة المظلمة مع ومضات من أضواء النيون تسقط في كل مكان. أشعر بالراحة وأدرك أنه ، ربما هذه المرة ، قد يكون السؤال عن كيفية تعليمي العيش في طبقة اجتماعية معينة وأدائها يجعل من المستحيل بالنسبة لي أن أسكن هذا الفضاء بالطريقة التي تسكن بها مجموعة النساء على الطاولة على يميني بشكل مريح.

يصدر الميكروفون صوتا صراخا وألاحظ الأصداء الخشنة للغناء ، وألقي باللوم على إعداد الصوت السيئ. لكن لهذا الحكم الآخر الذي أصدره حول المكان ، أقوم بتوبيخ على الفور. من خلال تدريبي في علم الاجتماع ، من المفترض أن أكون قد تعلمت ألا أحكم دائما ، وأن أكون قادرا على التفكير وتجاوز الأذواق التي تبنتها لأداء طبقة اجتماعية ، الأذواق التي اعتمدتها لتمييز عن الآخر المبني - "الجمهور".

 


 

ملصق من مقهى شانتا في باب سويقة.

خلال طفولتي في الهند ، نشأت وأنا أكره الجمهور - المراحيض العامة والمعارض العامة والأماكن العامة و "الجمهور". في اللغة العامية التي نستخدمها في أحمد أباد ، يرمز الجمهور إلى الناس. ولكن ليس الجميع الناس! "هناك الكثير من الجمهور هناك" هي شكوى شائعة نقدمها لوصف مكان مزدحم من كرهنا في عائلتي. وهذا يشمل حفلات الزفاف التي لا نريد حضورها ، والحدائق العامة ، والحافلات التي تديرها الحكومة. الجمهور هو بناء مصنف. من خلال ذوقنا "المتطور" للأشياء ، تعلمت بناء طرقي في السكن في الفضاء بطريقة تفصل عن هذا "الجمهور" ، وتميز عن هذا "الجمهور". في عائلتي ، كان لدينا الوسائل للدفع لنكون أفرادا منفصلين عن الجمهور. لقد نشأت وأنا أستقل عربات الريكاشة بدلا من الحافلات العامة في أحمد أباد، وأشتري (ولو مؤقتا) مساحة خاصة لنفسي لم أضطر إلى مشاركتها مع الآخرين. في كل مرة نظرت فيها تأملاتي في الطبيعة الطبقية لعادتي في ركوب عربات الريكاشة ، كنت أبرر ذلك بوضعي كامرأة والتعرض للتحرش الجنسي الذي واجهته. لقد حاربت في تسمية العادة والمشكلة. كنت دائما أشعر بالغيرة من زملائي في الفصل الذين كانوا يقودون سياراتهم أثناء انتقالهم من المدرسة إلى المعلمين الخصوصيين إلى السينما. ربما كنت "عامة" بالنسبة لهم!

التهديد بالتحرش الجنسي مشكلة حقيقية في الأماكن العامة الهندية، كما هو الحال في تونس وأماكن أخرى، ولا أريد محو ذلك. إنه موجود في كل مكان ويمكنني أن أسرد الحوادث المتعددة للمضايقات الصغيرة وغير الدقيقة التي واجهتها والتي ما زلت أواجهها في اللحظة التي أضع فيها قدمي خارج منزلي. لكن هذا لا يفسر تماما تجنبي ونفوري من الجمهور في طفولتي. يجب إحضار انعكاس مزعزع للاستقرار حول اندماجي في الطبقة الاجتماعية وأخذه على محمل الجد ، وكان ذلك بداية قبول هذا التفكير المزعزع للاستقرار الذي كنت أعاني منه كامرأة قلقة ، ترتعش أثناء الجلوس في مقهى شانتا.

ربما لا يزال فضولي الحالي في كل شيء عام يكمن في موقف التفوق الأخلاقي الذي تعلمته (دون وعي) كجزء من تربيتي الطبورية. يتم بناء هذه الأخلاق وتنفيذها كل يوم لتمييز أولئك الذين هم في وضع متميز اقتصاديا عن أولئك الذين لا يتمتعون بامتيازات. تعلمت أن أميز عن "الجمهور" باستخدام هذه الأذواق والأخلاق المركبة.


تنتهي الأغنية التي يغنيها الرجل الأصلع ويتراجع الراقصون إلى الكواليس. يضع موسيقي طبله ويتوجه إلى الشرفة للتدخين. أشعر بالملل الشديد والقلق من الجلوس خلال هذه الاستراحة الموسيقية ، لذا أخرج من مقهى شانتا ، على أمل أن يمر خروجي دون أن يلاحظه أحد. أعود عبر الطاولات المزدحمة أمام مقاهي الرجال، وتنتشر عبر الرصيف، وأصعد الدرج إلى المركز الثقافي مرة أخرى للتحديق في ساحة باب سويقة. في منتصف الطريق ، قررت أن أرتدي غطاء معطفي ، على أمل إخفاء غربتي ، على أمل أن أصبح ، مرة واحدة وإلى الأبد ، "الجمهور". أريد أن أشعر بالفرح الذي يشعر به من حولي. يجب أن يكون الأمر مبهجا إذا كان من حولهم يصفقون ويصفرون على الموسيقى! أريد أن أصفق وأصفر أيضا، وأنسى التشابكات الفوضوية لجسدي الطبقي والجنساني، وأغرق في فرحة الجمهور هذه التي هي ساحة باب سويقة.

 

شريا بريكه هي طالبة دكتوراه في كل من علم الاجتماع في CERI-Sciences Po Paris وجامعة نورث كارولينا في تشابل هيل. وهي زميلة في منظمة "ما وراء الحدود" Beyond Borders Fellow (2022-24) في مؤسسة Zeit-Stiftung، وباحثة منتسبة في معهد البحوث حول المغرب العربي المعاصر (IRMC) في تونس. تبحث أطروحتها في التراكيب ومواضع الخلل بخصوص العرق والعنصرية في تونس، من خلال التركيز على دراسة التمييز العنصري للتونسيين السود والمهاجرين من جنوب الصحراء الكبرى. تهتم بريكه بدراسة العرق والحدود والهجرة والمواطنة في شمال إفريقيا وشتاتها. يتم تمويل أبحاثها في تونس من خلال زمالة دكتوراه بلا حدود تمنحها مؤسسة Zeit-Stiftung. وُلدت ونشأت في أحمد أباد - الهند، تغرد من خلال @shreya_parikh.

باب سويقةالأماكن العامة بين الجنسينرمضانالطبقة الاجتماعيةتونس

اترك تعليقًا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

A Woman in the Public Space: Ramadan in Tunis’ Bab Souika

9 May, 2022
Tunis’ tem­po­rary per­for­mance stage in the Place Bab Soui­ka (all pho­tos cour­tesy Shreya Parikh).

 

 

Shreya Parikh

 

I walk out of my home, drawn towards an odd mix­ture of music and com­mo­tion that I hear while read­ing, hes­i­tant about whether I want to be back walk­ing in and through a pub­lic space. When I arrive at the source of these sounds on Place Bab Soui­ka — a roundish pub­lic “square” which lies a par­al­lel street away from home — the crowd is too thick for me to get a clear view of the per­for­mance that is at the cen­ter of everyone’s attention.

To get a bet­ter view, I decide to climb up the open flight of stairs that leads to the neigh­bor­hood cul­tur­al cen­ter which faces Place Bab Soui­ka; the stairs give an ele­vat­ed view onto the Place. I try to lean slow­ly onto the crowd, hop­ing to pres­sure them into mov­ing, look­ing to find a rail­ing to hold onto. The stairs are packed with peek­ing fam­i­lies look­ing onto Place Bab Soui­ka where a tem­po­rary tent and stage hosts a music and dance per­for­mance. A man asks his daugh­ter to make space for me, I smile back to thank him, and I move into the new spot that gives me a bet­ter view to the visu­al and musi­cal spec­ta­cle. I stand there, hyp­no­tized by the per­fect­ly syn­chro­nized per­for­mance of mezoued by women dressed in iden­ti­cal white blous­es and pas­tel striped skirts. They seem to be in a trance as well, their hair going back and forth up in the air.

It is past 10 in the night, lat­er than my usu­al time for bed, but the fes­tiv­i­ty mark­ing Ramadan only seems to be begin­ning. Accom­pa­ny­ing the drums and the oud and the key­board that pro­duce the trance beats, I hear crunch­ing sounds of pop­corn being chewed by chil­dren stand­ing around me, the bark­ing of street dogs try­ing to make their way through the thick­en­ing crowd, the pop­ping fire­works thrown around by lit­tle boys. “To get rid of the evil eye!” a pass­ing human explains as I look per­plexed by its unex­pect­ed sound.

I smell crois­sants and pains au choco­lat com­ing from the old patis­serie below me to my right. As I look down from the stairs, I see a chain of cafés below, host­ing men smok­ing and star­ing at old foot­ball games being replayed on small tele­vi­sions in these cafés. The café chairs and tables are set all over the pave­ment, and I watch as fam­i­lies try to wind their way through this maze and towards the stage, strug­gling. I start to dream of get­ting a directe (expres­so mixed with foamed milk) and a crois­sant. Sud­den­ly, my dream is inter­rupt­ed by men on the stairs behind me who are whistling to the new musi­cal tune being played on the stage on Place Bab Soui­ka; the change in the music has marked a change in the dance style as well. So I try to con­cen­trate again on the show; now I want to whis­tle along as well!

I don’t know how to whis­tle — is it because I am a woman that I nev­er learnt how to whis­tle? I think of my women-ness and I real­ize that I am not the only woman in Bab Soui­ka, in the pub­lic that crowds the square. I see young women in fleece paja­mas and house slip­pers walk­ing with their lovers, hold­ing hands. I see women from across gen­er­a­tions — grand­moth­ers with their daugh­ters-in-law and grand­daugh­ters — sit­ting in white plas­tic chairs in front of the makeshift the­atre that has become Place Bab Soui­ka; some are stand­ing in front of their chairs, danc­ing slow­ly, snap­ping fin­gers grace­ful­ly in the air. I think of grace, its asso­ci­a­tion with women, and my total lack of it!

Wasn’t grace a part of the unnamed edu­ca­tion I received through my child­hood? Then maybe I taught myself to not be grace­ful, so that I could some­how erase the woman-ness of my body as I moved in pub­lic spaces, so that I didn’t get seen as a “woman,” so that I could some­how avoid being harassed. But, here and now, I am jeal­ous of these women and their grace — these women in per­fect syn­chrony danc­ing on the stage with grace, women in the audi­ence snap­ping fin­gers and sway­ing their shoul­ders. I want to dance too, with such grace!

 


 

The café with­out a name on Place Bab Soui­ka, hear the makeshift stage.

Place Bab Soui­ka marks the cen­ter of Bab Soui­ka — a so-called pop­u­laire (work­ing class) neigh­bor­hood on the edges of the med­i­na in Tunis. Behind the Place lies the zaouia (mau­soleum) of Sidi Mehrez, patron saint of the city of Tunis. Many of my col­leagues grew up in mid­dle and upper-mid­dle class fam­i­lies in Bab Soui­ka and now live in res­i­den­tial sub­ur­ban areas of Tunis, like El Men­zah, Bar­do, or La Marsa; they talk about Bab Soui­ka with nos­tal­gia — a nos­tal­gia that traces a cul­tur­al decline of the neigh­bor­hood. I won­der if this lan­guage for cul­tur­al decline hides a priv­i­leged class’s dis­gust for the “pop­u­lar.”

Bab Soui­ka became my home in the mid­dle of the pan­dem­ic, while I sep­a­rat­ed myself from every­thing I had called fam­i­ly for the past decade, and per­haps from the past of my whole life. To make it home, I invent­ed rou­tines; every morn­ing, I would walk around the souk in Hal­faouine, zig-zag­ging through its meat and veg­etable and sec­ond-hand cloth­ing mar­ket, and chat­ting with the man who sells my favorite haris­sa, with the store own­er who gift­ed me his per­son­al lighter because the store was out of stock. I start­ed to go to the same café in Place Bab Soui­ka, devel­op­ing a rou­tine of friend­ly con­ver­sa­tions with men who make and serve cof­fee there, who know exact­ly the order I take to an extent that there is bare­ly a ver­bal exchange between us now; when they see me arrive, they ask “kima a’ada?” (same as usu­al?) and I nod my head. The men who make these every­day rou­tines pos­si­ble became a foun­da­tion of my own con­struc­tion of home.

Out­side of the time sus­pend­ed by Ramadan, Place Bab Soui­ka is a men’s space. Cafés that bor­der the Place are what many call “café chaabi” or “café mous­tache” — cafés pop­u­laires cater­ing to men from the neigh­bor­hood. I once asked the young man who serves cof­fee at the name­less café I go to every­day if there are cafes for women around; he point­ed to a hid­den space a few meters away and called it a salon de thé where fam­i­lies go. Since Ramadan has start­ed, all the cafes dis­ap­pear in the day­time until an hour before the call to prayer at sun­set, when the dai­ly fast­ing ends; women join men in many of these cafés. Out­side of Ramadan, I have nev­er seen a woman sit and order a cof­fee at the café I go to every­day; the only women fig­ures are old women walk­ing with giant bags of gro­ceries, slow­ly mak­ing their way home from the near­by souk in Hal­faouine, stop­ping at the café to sit on a chair and catch their breath.

I am aware dur­ing every sec­ond of my pres­ence in Place Bab Soui­ka, espe­cial­ly while sit­ting in the café drink­ing bit­ter cof­fee made the way I like, that my pres­ence is tol­er­at­ed but not ful­ly accept­ed. Tol­er­at­ed because I am a for­eign­er; not accept­ed because I am a woman. In a café I used to fre­quent last year, I was told by the serv­er (with whom I had slow­ly got­ten friend­ly and chat­ty) that I should not wear skirts in Bab Soui­ka. Since that day, I stopped going to this café. It was a clear reminder that my pres­ence cre­at­ed ten­sion, gen­er­at­ed gazes from men pass­ing by.

View of the name­less café from Cafi Chanta.

Every time I pass by it, I still mourn the loss of the rou­tine that con­sist­ed of that café. The inci­dent raised many ques­tions that I still have dif­fi­cul­ties resolv­ing — what should I do when the “local” norms clash with my desire to be com­fort­able in my very gen­dered body? Should I “respect” these norms because I am in a coun­try where I am a for­eign­er? Does this mean that I stop wear­ing skirts, stop going to men’s cafés, stop walk­ing through Place Bab Soui­ka, and instead take the hid­den alleys to com­mute — as I see count­less women do?

The crowd behind me on the stairs is get­ting thick­er so I decide that it is time to give in to my desire to get a crois­sant. I make my way down the stairs, wind­ing my way through crowd­ed café tables, a tram­po­line with jump­ing chil­dren, a half-emp­ty mer­ry-go-round with pink glit­ter rib­bons thread­ed all over. I smell crois­sants! When I final­ly arrive at the patis­serie, the line is too long and they are wait­ing for the bak­ing stock of crois­sants and pains au choco­lat to come out of the oven, for the ready stock is all gone. I decide to dis­tract myself with the idea of check­ing out the oth­er source of music next to the giant poster of “Cafi Chan­ta” that hangs above the walls of the name­less café of my preference.

I had heard of “Cafi Chan­ta” as a part of the myth­i­cal past of Bab Soui­ka — cafes host­ing famous local artists who sang through the night. Its appel­la­tion is a ver­nac­u­lar­iza­tion of “Café Chan­tant,” which can be loose­ly trans­lat­ed as “singing café.” Giv­en its loca­tion in the nos­tal­gic past, I did not expect to find it in the present!

I walk towards the poster, look­ing for a way to get to the first floor from where I hear the music com­ing. The giant hand-paint­ed poster depicts a woman dressed in a long tunic in var­i­ous shades of light blue, hold­ing a lantern in one hand and an over­sized cof­fee cup in the oth­er. I can bare­ly see any expres­sions on her face. Final­ly, I find the stairs slight­ly hid­den away behind a wall. As I climb the stairs, I see a sign with a hand-paint­ed pale-skin woman dressed in red bra and red skirt — cloth­ing asso­ci­at­ed with bel­ly­danc­ing — with a note that reads “100% jeunes,” indi­cat­ing that the women in Cafi Chan­ta are “100%” young. The stairs smell of urine. The walls are stripped in yel­low and red, the col­ors of Bab Souika’s famous men’s foot­ball team, Club Espérance. I feel like I am walk­ing into a space where I do not belong.

I arrive on the first floor and spot the only open door and enter it. There are three men stand­ing around the door whom I ignore because I am scared that if I look into their eyes, they won’t allow me to enter. I walk in and spot the kitchen area of the café to my left, where a young man is prepar­ing tea. I con­tin­ue, ignor­ing his pres­ence, scared of being spot­ted and kicked out at any moment, and I final­ly find myself in a dark room that smells like hookah. There are round tables every­where, cov­ered in red cloth, and there is not a sin­gle table that is emp­ty. I walk towards the source of music and find an emp­ty chair on a table already occu­pied. I sup­press my intu­ition that tells me that I am not sup­posed to be there, and I pre­tend that I don’t know the norms that gov­ern where my classed and gen­dered body is sup­posed to go and not go. I bring out my cam­era from my bag and start to dis­creet­ly take pic­tures, ignor­ing any gaze at me and my for­eign presence.

The per­for­mance in Cafi Chanta.

On the slight­ly mount­ed stage lit with round neon-col­ored lights, there are five men play­ing tra­di­tion­al drums and flutes. They all wear read chechia. A man dressed in a grey suit too loose on his frame is singing while walk­ing through the audi­ence. He has the turfs of his bald­ing head gelled back; I notice that he is miss­ing a few front teeth. Behind him, two women are danc­ing. They are both dressed in a black top, black leg­gings, and a translu­cent blue skirt that they wave as they move and swirl. I begin to have a con­stant desire to move in my chair, as if my body was itch­ing, and prob­a­bly a sign of my anx­ious­ness; so I remind myself to per­form my tourist-self – con­cen­trate, smile, take pictures!

A fam­i­ly is seat­ed at the table in front of me and I look at the moth­er in beige hijab and jella­ba, red lip­stick, black-rimmed glass­es. She reminds of my class­mates in high school back in India, the kind who are stu­dious and would always do their home­work. I imag­ine she prob­a­bly did all her home­work in school. Her two daugh­ters are to her left, dressed in loose white ironed shirts; they are stand­ing in front of their chairs, danc­ing and singing along. Her hus­band sits next to her on the right, smok­ing hookah with one hand, anoth­er hand on the shoul­ders of his son sit­ting to his right. His short hair is gelled and combed back. I can’t imag­ine my fam­i­ly ever going on a sim­i­lar excur­sion together.

To their right is a table full of young women. These women all take turns in record­ing them­selves on the phone, smil­ing, lip sync­ing, snap­ping their fin­gers and keep­ing the beat with their shoul­ders mov­ing. The first woman I notice is the one wear­ing a pas­tel green hijab, singing along, cap­tur­ing a self­ie video with her friends. I rep­ri­mand myself for always notic­ing women who wear hijab. As I had walked up the stairs to arrive here, I had imag­ined a space of sex­u­al excess cater­ing to men; I am sur­prised by the pres­ence of women here.

I look again at the table filled with women and real­ize that the twitch­ing anx­ious­ness I am expe­ri­enc­ing may not be attrib­ut­able to the fact that I am a woman in that space. I am so used to being the only woman in Bab Soui­ka that my imme­di­ate reac­tion is to attribute my dis­com­fort to the male-dom­i­nat­ed nature of pub­lic spaces, includ­ing their cafes and restaurants.

I sit there and look at the two women who are danc­ing in the dark room with flash­es of neon lights falling every­where. I feel ill at ease and real­ize that, maybe this time, it might be a ques­tion of how I have been taught to live in and per­form a cer­tain social class that makes it impos­si­ble for me to inhab­it that space in the way that the group of women on the table to my right are com­fort­ably inhab­it­ing theirs.

The micro­phone makes a screech­ing sound and I notice the rough echoes of the vocals, blam­ing it on a bad sound set-up. But for this yet anoth­er judge­ment I make about the place, I imme­di­ate­ly rep­ri­mand myself. With my train­ing in soci­ol­o­gy, I am sup­posed to have learnt not to always be judg­ing, to be able to reflect and go beyond the tastes I adopt­ed to per­form a social class, tastes I adopt­ed to dis­tin­guish myself from a con­struct­ed oth­er – the “pub­lic.”

 


 

Poster from a Cafi Chan­ta at Bab Souika.

Dur­ing my child­hood in India, I grew up detest­ing the pub­lic — pub­lic toi­lets, pub­lic fairs, pub­lic spaces, and the “pub­lic.” In the ver­nac­u­lar that we use in Ahmed­abad, the pub­lic stands for peo­ple. But not every­one is peo­ple! “There is too much pub­lic there” is a com­mon com­plaint we make to describe a crowd­ed place of our dis­like in my fam­i­ly. This includes wed­dings that we don’t want to attend, pub­lic gar­dens, and gov­ern­ment-run bus­es. The pub­lic is a classed con­struc­tion. Through our “devel­oped” taste for things, I learnt to con­struct my ways of inhab­it­ing space in a way that sep­a­rat­ed myself from this “pub­lic,” dis­tin­guish­ing myself from this “pub­lic.” In my fam­i­ly, we had the means to pay to be indi­vid­u­als sep­a­rate from the pub­lic; I grew up tak­ing rick­shaws rather than pub­lic bus­es in Ahmed­abad, buy­ing up (even if tem­porar­i­ly) a pri­vate space for myself that I didn’t have to share with oth­ers. Every time my reflec­tions con­sid­ered the classed nature of my habit of tak­ing rick­shaws, I would jus­ti­fy it with my sta­tus as a woman and the vul­ner­a­bil­i­ty to sex­u­al harass­ment that I faced; I fought my own self in nam­ing the habit and the prob­lem. I was always jeal­ous of my class­mates who were chauf­feured around in cars as they went from school to pri­vate tutors to cin­e­ma. Maybe I was “pub­lic” for them!

The threat of sex­u­al harass­ment is a real prob­lem in Indi­an pub­lic spaces, as it is in Tunisia and else­where, and I don’t want to erase that; it is omnipresent and I can recount the mul­ti­ple inci­dents of micro- and not-so-micro harass­ments that I have faced and that I con­tin­ue to face the moment I put my feet out of my home. But that doesn’t ful­ly explain my avoid­ance and my dis­taste for the pub­lic in my child­hood. A desta­bi­liz­ing reflec­tion on my embed­ded­ness in social class needs to be brought in and tak­en seri­ous­ly, and it was the begin­ning of the accep­tance of this desta­bi­liz­ing reflec­tion that I was expe­ri­enc­ing as an anx­ious woman, twitch­ing while sit­ting in Cafi Chanta.

Maybe my cur­rent curios­i­ty in every­thing pub­lic still lies in the posi­tion of moral supe­ri­or­i­ty that I (uncon­scious­ly) learnt as a part of my classed upbring­ing. This moral­i­ty is con­struct­ed and per­formed every day to dis­tin­guish those in an eco­nom­i­cal­ly priv­i­leged posi­tion from those not so priv­i­leged. I learnt to dis­tin­guish myself from the “pub­lic” using these con­struct­ed tastes and morality.

 


 

The song that the bald­ing man is singing comes to an end and the dancers retreat to the back­stage. A musi­cian puts down his drum and heads out to the ter­race to smoke. I am too bored and anx­ious to sit through this musi­cal break and so I walk out of Cafi Chan­ta, hop­ing that my exit goes unno­ticed. I make my way back through the crowd­ed tables in front of the men’s cafés, spread across the pave­ment, and climb up the stairs to the cul­tur­al cen­ter again to stare at Place Bab Soui­ka. Mid­way, I decide to put on the hood of my coat, hop­ing to hide away my for­eign­ness, hop­ing to become, once and for all, the “pub­lic.” I want to feel the joy that those around me are feel­ing. It has to be joy­ous if those around are clap­ping and whistling to the music! I want to clap and whis­tle as well, for­get about the messy entan­gle­ments of my own classed and gen­dered body, and drown myself in this joy of the pub­lic that is Place Bab Souika.