Loading Events

« All Events

TMR Book Club Discusses “The Oud Player of Cairo” with author Jasmin Attia

July 28 @ 19:00 - 20:00

Free

Join us for our July Book Club discussion of “The Oud Player of Cairo” with author Jasmin Attia on Sunday, July 28th at 1pm EST/ 6pm UK/ 7pm CET on Zoom.

RSVP here

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Vibrantly descriptive and evocative of the waning colonial world in Egypt during the mid-20th century, this debut historical novel by Jasmin Attia is the compelling story of a young Egyptian woman, Laila, who defies the restrictive traditional roles set for women of that time, and instead follows the path inspired by her musician father, a much-beloved oud player, to become a singer and performer In her own right.

After extricating herself from an abusive marriage, Laila struggles to maintain her independence as a singer in Cairo’s chic international nightclubs, and embarks on an affair that puts her in grave danger, forcing her to make a decision that will forever alter the course of her life.

Published by Schaffner Press, 360 pages.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jasmin Attia is a 2021 graduate of the MFA program at Bennington College, and 2022 winner of the Nicholas Schaffner Award for Music in Literature. She has attended the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, and served as a mentor for the Cream Literary Alliance in West Palm Beach. Her writing appears in AWP’s The Writer’s ChronicleLit HubElectric Lit, the Jewish Book Council’s’ Paper Brigade, and The Millions.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

RSVP here

Details

Date:
July 28
Time:
19:00 - 20:00
Cost:
Free
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAtde-uqTMiHdydXTemWb9wVLTrs7W3DioI

Organizer

The Markaz Review
Email
info@themarkaz.org
View Organizer Website

Venue

Online